Habit7 wrote:matr1x wrote:Habit7 just doesn't want to say that what good for the pnm not good for east Indian population
Wait wut?
What ethnicity has to do with this?
matr1x wrote:Don't play dumb all of a sudden. For decades the pnm regimes have put in procedures and practices which were discriminatory to people of East Indian descent.
Caroni closure, the many racist statements on pnm platforms, the list goes on
Caroni closure was needed, sugar was dead. Nearly all the ex workers are better off. Most that I know migrated . Took them years to get their lands , it was just a game to frustrate them . Those that held out did well . Caroni could not have continued the way it was going. Sugar was cheaper elsewhere. Management style at caroni was ancient and was left that way to show part reason why it needed closing. Wasa should have been the first to go then Caroni. The only reason Caroni was first to go was for the lands to voter padding.matr1x wrote:Habit7 wrote:matr1x wrote:Habit7 just doesn't want to say that what good for the pnm not good for east Indian population
Wait wut?
Don't play dumb all of a sudden. For decades the pnm regimes have put in procedures and practices which were discriminatory to people of East Indian descent.
Racist pnm statement made are the famous Calcutta ships and Petrosingh . Many racist remarks are made from the PNM Soilders on the ground.Habit7 wrote:matr1x wrote:Don't play dumb all of a sudden. For decades the pnm regimes have put in procedures and practices which were discriminatory to people of East Indian descent.
Tate and Lyle was a private company that going to close and send home everybody. It was Dr Williams that sought to save their jobs and created Caroni 1975 Ltd that continued the same losses that caused Tate and Lyle to closed. When Europe no longer was offering the region preferential access to their markets it basically shut down the sugar industry not just in TT but the entire Caribbean. Closing Caroni was no more of a racial decision than closing BWIA. You have to be a racial dufus to think that closing Caroni was against Indian ppl. I hope you are a grandpa and not a millennial or younger believing in that antiquated racial dotishness.
I don't know about "many racist statements on pnm platforms"
I know about Kamla calling Rowley a racial slur based on his skin colour on a political platform https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/kamla-s ... 9449d203e4
I know about Kamla calling Rowley the Blackman on the other side. https://trinidadexpress.com/elections/2 ... 1fcdd.html
Prakash Ramadhar said Warner's (fmr UNC chairman) culture was different to Chag West and that he will make them barr up themselves after dark https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 7d92d.html
and the list goes on
It is funny how you earlier said that "Pnm threw out accusations without any proof" then you go on to throw out accusations without any proof. The above is the kinda proof I want to see so that we could discuss it and not beat around what you biasedly choose to remember.
Habit7 wrote:I don't know about "many racist statements on pnm platforms"
timelapse wrote:Allyuh does make Williams seem like a saint.His mission was to strip the cultural identity of the people to make them easier to control.He didn't get his 33rd degree for nothing.....
timelapse wrote:Allyuh does make Williams seem like a saint.His mission was to strip the cultural identity of the people to make them easier to control. He didn't get his 33rd degree for nothing.....
bluefete wrote:Habit7 wrote:I don't know about "many racist statements on pnm platforms"
Are you for real???????
https://globalvoices.org/2019/05/13/tri ... king-race/
Petrosingh statement was made by Mr Manning and it was covered on local TV at that time. It was one of those statements that quickly vanished by the media.Habit7 wrote:bluefete wrote:Habit7 wrote:I don't know about "many racist statements on pnm platforms"
Are you for real???????
Yes I am real. Your link mentions 1, the infamous Calcutta Ship statement. An overt racial statement, totally unacceptable, Hilton Sandy apologised, Rowley condemned it.
1 is still not many.
Also "Petrosingh" claim is a lie. It is even a worse of claim than the closure of Caroni was ethnic based. What is worse is that if you could tote the Petrosingh claim which has no evidence and not condemn Oreo and Blackman, then you are just a hypocrit.
matr1x wrote:Habit7 wrote:matr1x wrote:Habit7 just doesn't want to say that what good for the pnm not good for east Indian population
Wait wut?
Don't play dumb all of a sudden. For decades the pnm regimes have put in procedures and practices which were discriminatory to people of East Indian descent.
Kickstart wrote:Petrosingh statement was made by Mr Manning and it was covered on local TV at that time. It was one of those statements that quickly vanished by the media.Habit7 wrote:bluefete wrote:Habit7 wrote:I don't know about "many racist statements on pnm platforms"
Are you for real???????
Yes I am real. Your link mentions 1, the infamous Calcutta Ship statement. An overt racial statement, totally unacceptable, Hilton Sandy apologised, Rowley condemned it.
1 is still not many.
Also "Petrosingh" claim is a lie. It is even a worse of claim than the closure of Caroni was ethnic based. What is worse is that if you could tote the Petrosingh claim which has no evidence and not condemn Oreo and Blackman, then you are just a hypocrit.
:He was soon replaced by Patrick Mervyn Augustus Manning who described Petrotrin as Petrosingh, and went on to put three prominent Indians before the courts-Occah Seepaul, Chief Justice Sat Sharma and Professor Vijay Narinesingh, despite the DPP expressing his reservation on those matters. But, more importantly, Patrick Manning has a duty to rile the PNM supporters."
https://icdn.today/rambharat-aspires-to-lead-the-pnm/
As for Mrs kamala she never used Blackman, it was blankman
Redman wrote:matr1x wrote:Habit7 wrote:matr1x wrote:Habit7 just doesn't want to say that what good for the pnm not good for east Indian population
Wait wut?
It's is Kamla that killed the Cane Farming industry .
Gopaul luck was better than Seepaul luck.
bluefete wrote:Well boy Habit7, you are really wearing blinders and Zo - eermmm Kickstart knows of what he speaketh.
Somewhere inside here is a reference to that Petrosingh: HANSARD from June 23rd 2008!
http://www.ttparliament.org/hansards/hs20080623.pdf
You was a little boy when that Mr Manning made that statement and it was in the age before the Media started online news.Habit7 wrote:bluefete wrote:Well boy Habit7, you are really wearing blinders and Zo - eermmm Kickstart knows of what he speaketh.
Somewhere inside here is a reference to that Petrosingh: HANSARD from June 23rd 2008!
http://www.ttparliament.org/hansards/hs20080623.pdf
That is Wade Mark's claim. Wade Mark is as credible as a $3 bill. Just this month he was claiming vaccines were stolen from Couva Hospital, absolute falsehood.
That is not proof that he made the statement. For years this Petrosingh has taken on a life of its own. It like a fishing story with fish getting bigger and bigger with every tale. Yet nobody has the source.
Redman wrote:Lol what are you ?
Like 12 years old.?
If you don't know just stay quiet.
There was a funded proposal to grow cane as feedstock to produce paper.
The Cane farmers were in place to grow the feedstock and own the crushing assets as part of a co operative.
We needed GORTT to lease or sell the crushing assets to the co op.
Dookeran took it to her before elections and she agreed.
Then changed tune post election.
This isn't hear say.
And here's one other tidbit. Manning told me in a conversation we had in Arima in 1999 that his biggest mistake in his first administration (1991-95) was that he didn't take care of "his people". He also said there were "too many Indians" at "Petrosingh", the name he used to describe what he said was the racial imbalance at the state oil company, Petrotrin.
http://jyoticommunication.blogspot.com/ ... m-for.html
Opposition Leader Basdeo Panday claimed that Prime Minister Patrick Manning had dubbed Petrotrin, “Petrosingh”.
“That was after Patrick called it Petrosingh,” he said during Ramnath’s contribution.
http://archives.newsday.co.tt/2009/07/2 ... petrotrin/
http://trinituner.com/v4/forums/viewtop ... 4#p8591414zoom rader wrote:Petrosingh was first show on TV in the mid 90s with an election speech made by Manning and was never made up by any journalists .
You won't know of these things cause you was still getting clout up in from 1.
Kickstart wrote:Petrosingh statement was made by Mr Manning and it was covered on local TV at that time. It was one of those statements that quickly vanished by the media.
timelapse wrote:That whole fiasco was to boost Guyanese rice and sugar farming.Gop had more to gain down there.
At the time, Ken Valley was the person liaising with them.
Reason I know this, I had a villager that imports rice.Apparently he didn't go through Gop. He got a call that his whole shipment got dumped when it arrived and if he didn't want that to keep happening , he should contact Mr. Valley.
Seems that he went through Gop. because he still in business
Habit7 wrote:And here's one other tidbit. Manning told me in a conversation we had in Arima in 1999 that his biggest mistake in his first administration (1991-95) was that he didn't take care of "his people". He also said there were "too many Indians" at "Petrosingh", the name he used to describe what he said was the racial imbalance at the state oil company, Petrotrin.
http://jyoticommunication.blogspot.com/ ... m-for.htmlThose that was around in that era all saw it on TV . As I have said spin all you want on the racist comments coming from the PNM . It happened .Opposition Leader Basdeo Panday claimed that Prime Minister Patrick Manning had dubbed Petrotrin, “Petrosingh”.
“That was after Patrick called it Petrosingh,” he said during Ramnath’s contribution.
http://archives.newsday.co.tt/2009/07/2 ... petrotrin/zoom rader wrote:Petrosingh was first show on TV in the mid 90s with an election speech made by Manning and was never made up by any journalists .
You won't know of these things cause you was still getting clout up in from 1.Kickstart wrote:Petrosingh statement was made by Mr Manning and it was covered on local TV at that time. It was one of those statements that quickly vanished by the media.
Jai first heard it in a private conversation
Panday somehow heard it too.
zoom rader claims it was live on TV
And Kickstarter somehow recalls it exactly like zoom rader
This is what happens when everybody puts their on spin on the same lie
Race talk–national dish–taken with relish
by
Sat Jul 25 2009
Lennox Grant
?As if so fated, race talk suddenly threatened to dominate all discourse, thrusting into a peculiar spotlight two unlikely figures in Henry Louis Gates and Tim Gopeesingh.
In Cambridge, Massachusetts, it was Prof Gates' body language that spoke loudly for him, as his whiskery face and handcuffed hands appeared in news photos. It said a middle-aged academic icon, who happens to be black, is liable in a flash, and inside his own home, to be reduced to small-time felon by police, who happen to be white. It was words from Tim Gopeesingh, long recognised as a creolised, medical man about town, which profiled him in the rhetorical kurta of Indocentric protest. "Gates is tremendously proud of his racial identity, history, and legacy," wrote Melissa Harris-Lacewell, herself an academic and author, but no camp follower of Professor Gates.
"He has no particular political agenda," she added, "beyond the collection and display of black greatness, regardless of its political valence." Dr Gopeesingh, a practising opposition MP, can't be said to lack a political agenda. He charged that, through "ethnic cleansing" of Indian doctors, the Port-of-Spain General Hospital had become "a virtual African hospital." It was to an alleged UNC mission that Prime Minister Patrick Manning and Works Minister Colm Imbert Race pointed. The ministers "latched on to the remark like leeches," Peter Balroop reported, adding that they "pinned Gopeesingh to the cross."
Their response expressed the official disapproval of race talk. Exhausting his own� vocabulary of vituperation, Mr Manning threw at Dr Gopeesingh the word "guttersnipe." The Prime Minister of an administration notoriously incapable of felicitous expression settled for the loose connotation of "gutter." He was likely surfing for the historical and rhetorical resonance of "political leper," the term British Prime Minister Harold Wilson used in 1964 to denounce a race-baiting opposition MP. In 2009, "guttersnipe" is enough to signal, as always, disgust by (imprecise) definition for the other party's race talk.
For race talk is a national indulgence. We can't do without it–not in calypso, not in "contributions" to Hansard, nor on assorted political platforms. During the UNC years, Mr Manning himself had said of the replacement of one PNM-era appointee: "Another black man bites the dust." He also coined the term "Petrosingh," to describe the result of the "ethnic cleansing" of non-Singh surnames from the executive suite of Petrotrin. Mr Imbert last week berated Dr Gopeesingh for his failure to supply evidence of "ethnic cleansing" at the PoS General Hospital.
Years before, however, PNM Afrocentric Selwyn Cudjoe flung a rhetorical stinkbomb at Indian schoolteachers. Citing no evidence, he charged that Indian teachers were neglecting Afro-Trinidadian students in their classes.
Neither guttersniped, nor condemned as a political leper, Prof Cudjoe, an Ivy League literary scholar, was actually parachuted by Mr Manning onto the board of the Central Bank. Where he remains. The Government sidestepped Maha Sabha queries about his qualifications for that prestige directorship by exempting the bank from the Freedom of Information Act.
Dr Gopeesingh, of new "ethnic cleansing" fame, was himself in 2007 at the receiving end of an unforgettably low blow in Parliamentary race talk. Then Planning Minister Camille Robinson-Regis, in a "personal explanation" for her abuse of an official credit card, disclosed her medical history. It included the recommendation for a radical hysterectomy "by a prominent gynaecologist who sits in the other place." The surgery, had she accepted the recommendation at age 37, would have left Ms Robinson-Regis incapable of childbearing. Gynaecologist Gopeesingh, then a Senator in that "other place," perfectly matched the reference.
In the open court of Parliament, then, an Indo-Trinidadian physician, was accused by an Afro-Trinidadian Cabinet Minister of recommending surgery to render her unable to produce children. Ms Robinson-Regis' race-talk testimony, however, supported a calypso narrative that year, accusing Indo-Trinidadian doctors of so treating Afro-Trinidadian women as to result in "genocide." The minister took other, foreign, advice. She had her twin girls; and she had her famous last words in Parliamentary race talk. Race in T&T is much yoked to talk. But race is also a source and a prompting of other action.
The Public Service Commission was last week stung into a response to a Solomonesque court judgment, somewhat in favour of Harridath Maharaj, who had been passed over for promotion. The Commission noted the judge's criticism that it had been "unfair and irrational" in deciding not to interview Mr Maharaj. On July 8, too, courts ruled in favour of Ganga Persad Kissoon and of Feroza Ramjohn. The three have in common Indian names and the denial of public service advancement. The courts were also hearing the 1996 Maha Sabha's Privy Council-determined claims for compensation for its denial of a radio licence.
If it isn't already, race talk should be triggered about all such matters, to the end of clarifying what, under the Manning administration, operates to produce court-confirmed adverse impacts upon Indians. Sixteen years ago, Huslie Bhaggan politicised crime, claiming that rapes of Indian women by black men then amounted to "ethnic cleansing" in Central Trinidad.
For the "ethnic cleansing" charge, now renewed at the Port-of-Spain hospital, Dr Gopeesingh's hopes for political credibility stand to flourish or perish. Meanwhile, race talk will remain constant as a staple of national conversation. Denial of its enjoyment qualifies as hypocrisy.
When I buy a used car I make sure and change the Engine oil, brake fluid , Transmission/gear oil, differential oil and colant. I even install a new air fresher as I don't want the old musty smell.Redman wrote:Kickstart....was Manning correct in his assessment?
Kickstart wrote:When I buy a used car I make sure and change the Engine oil, brake fluid , Transmission/gear oil, differential oil and colant. I even install a new air fresher as I don't want the old musty smell.Redman wrote:Kickstart....was Manning correct in his assessment?
These oils could have contaminants in it and destroy my used car. I want the best possible oil to do the job and get good service from it.
I research the best possible oils to use and I employ those oils and colant in my used car.
Getting the job done with the best possible employeesRedman wrote:Kickstart wrote:When I buy a used car I make sure and change the Engine oil, brake fluid , Transmission/gear oil, differential oil and colant. I even install a new air fresher as I don't want the old musty smell.Redman wrote:Kickstart....was Manning correct in his assessment?
These oils could have contaminants in it and destroy my used car. I want the best possible oil to do the job and get good service from it.
I research the best possible oils to use and I employ those oils and colant in my used car.
Avoidance
Kickstart wrote:Getting the job done with the best possible employeesRedman wrote:Kickstart wrote:When I buy a used car I make sure and change the Engine oil, brake fluid , Transmission/gear oil, differential oil and colant. I even install a new air fresher as I don't want the old musty smell.Redman wrote:Kickstart....was Manning correct in his assessment?
Avoidance