Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Re: What is d best/worst food/drink yuh ever buy?

Postby j.o.e » September 21st, 2017, 2:25 pm

I realize everybody have different expectations of taste from doubles. Some of the nastiest doubles i taste have long lines and regular customers. A pardner explain to me doubles is a acquired taste .... whatever you break out on is what you will like.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » September 21st, 2017, 2:26 pm

timelapse wrote:Worst roti-
Any roti on the east/west corridor.
Best Roti-
Channaman's Roti Felicity

Worst Gyro-
Outside of club India Chaguanas
Best Gyro-
Nader on Munroe Road

Tie for best hotdog-
Chatoor that used to be by liquor bank in Princes Town
Syrian on Chase Village Flyover

Worst doubles-
Anything except the white shed in Debe

Worst roast pork-Charlie's Black Pudding -any location
Best Roast pork- La Rex in Hermitage

you have REL chit taste pal.

Postby j.o.e » September 21st, 2017, 2:32 pm

I dunno bout ‘bess’ but I does crave Rising star roast pork .... it consistent

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » September 21st, 2017, 4:21 pm

Monkey Man wrote:
Best Roti-

Worst Gyro-
Best Gyro-
Nader on Munroe Road

Tie for best hotdog-

Worst doubles-

REALL CHIIIIT TASTE. Man only like thing from behind God back. Like thats all his friend and family places.

Anyhow..

Worst Doubles...UWI. I don't understand how them operating still.
Anything from that van in Omera.
Best doubles..I'd have to say Franks.

Worst Chinese...too much to list yes. I once saw a chinese place warm their food in a microwave and sell it to me. Instant throw away.
Best Chinese...some man in shoppes of arima and plus castros, jenny's house of chan.

Worst BBQ..was a place Dinsely junction some one real rate up. I saw they closed down now.
Best...BBQ's Arima, BBQ King..

Worst Roti...lovies. If u want to stay home and die the next day, go there.
Best roti...I rather not say because roti is a varying thing. No one seems consistent and it seems based on the hand and mood of the day.

Worst Creole food...Cafe Caribbean.
Best Creole...I'd have to say the food place in grand bazzar in the middle.

Worst Corn soup or anything corn related...Iphil.
Best Corn Soup...fat man arima.

Worst Gyro....Anyone except Sammie in Curepe. (personal preference i guess)

Worst hot dog/burger..hmm anywhere before grandbazaar.

Postby RedVEVO » September 21st, 2017, 4:33 pm

Monkey Man wrote:
Zetski wrote:
uncle sam wrote:
Zetski wrote:Like allyuh can't read or what?? I say worst.. why d arse allyuh putting best food..

yuh dyslexia showing.. it has "best/ worst" in the thread title

Yuh ent see I edit it? yuh cataract acting up?

but it looking like your cat acting up

Now we have a " Desi Cat " ..

Postby RedVEVO » September 21st, 2017, 4:37 pm

thelem-again wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:
Best Roti-

Worst Gyro-
Best Gyro-
Nader on Munroe Road

Tie for best hotdog-

Worst doubles-

REALL CHIIIIT TASTE. Man only like thing from behind God back. Like thats all his friend and family places.

Anyhow..

Worst Chinese...too much to list yes. I once saw a chinese place warm their food in a microwave and sell it to me. Instant throw away.
Best Chinese...some man in shoppes of arima and plus castros, jenny's house of chan.

Worst BBQ..was a place Dinsely junction some one real rate up. I saw they closed down now.

Best roti...I rather not say because roti is a varying thing. No one seems consistent and it seems based on the hand and mood of the day.

GB = Place in middle = Indian Food

Postby rollingstock » September 21st, 2017, 4:47 pm

Monkey eh even say who have de bess banana

Postby teems1 » September 21st, 2017, 4:52 pm

Worst doubles: UWI or Medford
Best doubles: Dos Santos on the road heading to Edinburgh

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » September 21st, 2017, 5:00 pm

Wey hav the best punch?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 21st, 2017, 6:54 pm

Only place I buy doubles is from red cap...fork everyone else

Sōsuke Aizen

Postby Sōsuke Aizen » September 21st, 2017, 8:47 pm

Best pow is Lu opposite d gas station by macoya.. long time i eh eat a pow so idk d quality now but he maintain d quality for years so i guessing it supposed to still be good, last time i eat it was bess.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 21st, 2017, 9:31 pm

Worst gyro ever, Penal chatoors. Saw one of the gyro guys turn around and gone and pee on unique wall oui.
then they start arguing with the fatman.

best gyro so far, was the place in palmise park opposite the grocery. By the buildings.

Specialist Baboons

Re: Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food?

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 22nd, 2017, 8:34 am

Best fig - Debe market

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 22nd, 2017, 1:30 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Worst gyro ever, Penal chatoors. Saw one of the gyro guys turn around and gone and pee on unique wall oui.
then they start arguing with the fatman.

best gyro so far, was the place in palmise park opposite the grocery. By the buildings.

They still in operation??? Looking to make a food run tonight yes..

Feeling for sum gyro or a bad habit

Postby Chimera » September 22nd, 2017, 1:38 pm

None of them gyro men consistent. One day it real besssss....next day it just okay....next day it tasteless

Postby timelapse » September 22nd, 2017, 2:40 pm

thelem-again wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:
Best Roti-

Worst Gyro-
Best Gyro-
Nader on Munroe Road

Tie for best hotdog-

Worst doubles-

Anyhow..

Aaam No hoss, I have no family in the food business.Seems like behind God back is anywhere south of Grand Bazaar to you.I can't fault you for your ignorance then. Your south visa probably expire

Postby black start » September 22nd, 2017, 3:01 pm

Jon's burger on the cross is pretty decent....

shrimp and chicken mix is the go

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 22nd, 2017, 3:14 pm

Bessss gyro is from Jamal by club India.....they even have a bess vege burger also

Drea

Postby Drea » September 22nd, 2017, 3:17 pm

j.o.e wrote:I realize everybody have different expectations of taste from doubles. Some of the nastiest doubles i taste have long lines and regular customers. A pardner explain to me doubles is a acquired taste .... whatever you break out on is what you will like.

I kinda have to agree with this.... like the other day I wake up feeling to have doubles and told my sis lewwe take a drive down Debe to the famous green shed cuz everybody and they mudda does talk bout debe doubles. And honestly it was nothing special, I mean it wasnt bad but it also had no unique taste about it.

For aloo pies S&S white van in Balmain opposite the mandir
Doubles- i'm partial to Sauce in Curepe (the one under the green shed)
Roti- Wings is ok and Sheila's in Pasea

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 22nd, 2017, 3:30 pm

When last u went by wings??? I went last couple weeks an the curry was pretty shiddy.. souse was decent

Drea

Postby Drea » September 22nd, 2017, 3:39 pm

Some months back, around April/ May.... my sis complained it's was very oily. But like I said to me was ok enough to fill the belly

Postby timelapse » September 22nd, 2017, 4:14 pm

nick639v2 wrote:When last u went by wings??? I went last couple weeks an the curry was pretty shiddy.. souse was decent

Wings pop down.
I buy a chicken buss up shot.
Tasted very bland and generic.They used to be better before a long time ago.
As you at it, when last you had a Mona's?

Postby Country_Bookie » September 22nd, 2017, 7:55 pm

anyone knows where papadums food truck located? started seeing them in the front of GB after the Valsayn exodus but haven't seen them there in a while. they had sum decent wings.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 22nd, 2017, 8:29 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:anyone knows where papadums food truck located? started seeing them in the front of GB after the Valsayn exodus but haven't seen them there in a while. they had sum decent wings.

Maraval side or something I remembered seeing on FB.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 22nd, 2017, 8:43 pm

Picture 783.jpg
Picture 782.jpg

unlimited roti arouca $22

Postby Dave » September 22nd, 2017, 10:43 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:anyone knows where papadums food truck located? started seeing them in the front of GB after the Valsayn exodus but haven't seen them there in a while. they had sum decent wings.

Maraval side or something I remembered seeing on FB.

Just after Ellerslie plaza heading into Maraval on the rhs believe outside the veterinary clinic.

Postby Country_Bookie » September 23rd, 2017, 12:38 am

thanks fellas. guess they weren't getting enough sales in the east.

Postby RedVEVO » September 23rd, 2017, 1:58 am

Drea wrote:
j.o.e wrote:I realize everybody have different expectations of taste from doubles. Some of the nastiest doubles i taste have long lines and regular customers. A pardner explain to me doubles is a acquired taste .... whatever you break out on is what you will like.

I kinda have to agree with this.... like the other day I wake up feeling to have doubles and told my sis lewwe take a drive down Debe to the famous green shed cuz everybody and they mudda does talk bout debe doubles. And honestly it was nothing special, I mean it wasnt bad but it also had no unique taste about it.

For aloo pies S&S white van in Balmain opposite the mandir
Doubles- i'm partial to Sauce in Curepe (the one under the green shed)
Roti- Wings is ok and Sheila's in Pasea

Sheila's is OK.

Xtra in GB roti bigger $22 for big chicken roti

Postby RedVEVO » September 23rd, 2017, 2:00 am

Specialist Baboons wrote:Bessss gyro is from Jamal by club India.....they even have a bess vege burger also

Gyro - Hassan Gyro on Ariapita Ave .. Now $35 ( use to be $25 )

Postby pugboy » September 23rd, 2017, 5:22 am

you guys aware that the gyro meat is pretty much the same they are all using ?
any difference in taste is likely to be the garlic/ketchup sauce etc