Habit7 wrote:In the early 90's the economic situation wasn't all that great both for us or the world but we spotted the trend and position ourselves. The Mitsubishi plant is still in line with old plan and is the one out of others that didn't pulled out.
We have spent our largest budgets ever on credit earned over the last 15 years so money is not tight with us. Where is the future innovation, if not, we will be left behind the curve.
zoom rader wrote:After Years of PNM abuse we never made it to the front so how can we be left behind when we are behind.
hustla_ambition101 wrote:Im part of the neither crew, mps from both sides of the fence have proven to be useless. Only the Brazil/Talparo/Las Lomas section has seen any activity. There is still a myriad of transport woes in the La Horquetta area made even worse by the the 'no short drop' for those who utilize maxi taxis and on afternoons into evening those travelling from Arima to home as the traffic on Tumpuna rd is an excuse for cars to go short. Even the Tumpuna rd south is problematic with epic traffic all day long. There are also several roads that need paving. Bring solutions to those problems and you might get my vote, dont try to mamaguy me with box drains.
desifemlove wrote:hustla_ambition101 wrote:Im part of the neither crew, mps from both sides of the fence have proven to be useless. Only the Brazil/Talparo/Las Lomas section has seen any activity. There is still a myriad of transport woes in the La Horquetta area made even worse by the the 'no short drop' for those who utilize maxi taxis and on afternoons into evening those travelling from Arima to home as the traffic on Tumpuna rd is an excuse for cars to go short. Even the Tumpuna rd south is problematic with epic traffic all day long. There are also several roads that need paving. Bring solutions to those problems and you might get my vote, dont try to mamaguy me with box drains.
erm...what did PNM do? ent you'z a PNM?
i know dat area good....PNM was in council in Arima for years, and only paved Tumpuna road in election time to mamaguy.... shouldn't PNMs accept part of we mess is from them?
UML wrote:PNM Divali celebration cah even get commentators and they dare not show the attending "crowd"![]()
Habit7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:After Years of PNM abuse we never made it to the front so how can we be left behind when we are behind.
T&T was the number one supplier in ammonia and methanol and the largest supplier of LNG to the US. That wasn't by mistake, that was by innovative policy making with an eye to the future while spotting the trends.
In your small mind and short vision you might say "we never made it to the front" but for those of us who use facts, know that we are quickly losing the advantage we once had in these areas and know that we have to adjust or be left behind.
hustla_ambition101 wrote:desifemlove wrote:hustla_ambition101 wrote:Im part of the neither crew, mps from both sides of the fence have proven to be useless. Only the Brazil/Talparo/Las Lomas section has seen any activity. There is still a myriad of transport woes in the La Horquetta area made even worse by the the 'no short drop' for those who utilize maxi taxis and on afternoons into evening those travelling from Arima to home as the traffic on Tumpuna rd is an excuse for cars to go short. Even the Tumpuna rd south is problematic with epic traffic all day long. There are also several roads that need paving. Bring solutions to those problems and you might get my vote, dont try to mamaguy me with box drains.
erm...what did PNM do? ent you'z a PNM?
i know dat area good....PNM was in council in Arima for years, and only paved Tumpuna road in election time to mamaguy.... shouldn't PNMs accept part of we mess is from them?
Clearly you can't read
Habit7 wrote:Chalk and cheese ZR.
I am not advocating for any government to run a company, I am for small government.
What I am referencing is policy making. It is policy that made the first step in any local private entity's success. We need innovative policy for the future. Not your anti-PNM anecdotes.
pioneer wrote:PNM can't even manage the TPRC but want to run this country?
Bailiffs have seized all their assets, that's a damn shame.
zoom rader wrote: I said it before only when a non pnm government in office this country moves forward.
All you say?pioneer wrote:PNM can't even manage the TPRC but want to run this country?
T&T municipality levied upon over debt, vehicles seized
OCTOBER 25, 2014 · BY STABROEK EDITOR · 0 COMMENTS 3 hours ago
(Trinidad Express) As People’s National Movement political leader Keith Rowley celebrated his 64th birthday yesterday, the PNM-held Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation was levied upon for failure to pay a debt amounting to about TT$2 million.
Corporation chairman Edwin Gooding told the Express the first time the council knew about the debt was yesterday morning, when the bailiffs moved in to seize vehicles.
Gooding said the debt predated the current administration, which came into office in October 2013 after the local government elections.
He said the management of the corporation knew about it, but the council was never advised of this development.
“Once we came into office, we should have been apprised of the situation, but this particular matter was never brought to our attention,” Gooding said.
He said the debt, which originated in 2009, was owed to a scavenging contractor BK Holdings. Gooding said the contractor had got a judgment against the corporation.
“Once that kicks in, the corporation has to respond or else the plaintiff can seize assets,” he noted.
He said about six vehicles—five SUVs and a pick-up—were seized.
Former chairman of the corporation Khadijah Ameen said the levying upon the corporation was “unfortunate”.
She said she understood the contractor brought legal action in March and no one appeared in court to seek the corporation’s interest.
Ameen said the debt did not occur during her tenure, and that during her stint as chairman she was not aware of any legal claims made by that contractor.
“It is a lack of vigilance on the part of the chairman,” she said.
Ameen added once the corporation received legal notification, it would have been required to either challenge the contractor’s claim or to make arrangements to settle the debt.
She stated further she understood the Ministry of Local Government approved the funding to pay the debt, “so it is not that the corporation does not have the money to pay”.
Ameen said services to the burgesses would be affected.
She said the vehicles seized were acquired during her tenure, with the aim of beefing up the disaster-response capacity of the corporation.
“The corporation has to be more vigilant about defending its assets,” she stated, adding she remained concerned.
Attempts to get Gooding to respond to these claims were unsuccessful, as he was participating in a fund-raising boat cruise, organised by the friends of Diego Martin West, and which Rowley also attended.
However, he had stressed earlier the corporate secretary had brought nothing to his attention with respect to the claims made by the contractor against the council.
The Express contacted PNM general secretary Ashton Ford, who reiterated Gooding was not informed about the issue.
Ford said it was on record the council has been experiencing problems with the corporation CEO, who was appointed during Ameen’s chairmanship.
He said the council has accused the CEO of taking decisions without consultation.
Suggesting there was political motivation behind the withholding of information to the council about the $2 million debt and the legal claims arising, Ford reiterated the council was totally surprised by the levy action yesterday morning.
The PNM held the Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation in 2009, but in 2010, the People’s Partnership took control following the June 2010 local government elections.
One of the vehicles seized
In October 2013, the PNM regained control of the corporation.
www.stabroeknews.com/2014/news/regional ... es-seized/
PNM promises Constitutional reform
Gail Alexander
Published:
Monday, October 27, 2014
Constitutional reform will be on the cards if a PNM government implements the one man-one vote system at national level “as we must,” Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley signalled yesterday. Rowley hinted at this during yesterday’s People’s National Movement (PNM) delegate convention at the Hyatt Regency, Port-of-Spain. At the meeting delegates fine-tuned the Manning Vision 2020 plan for PNM’s Vision 2030 package. Decisions from discussions will form the basis of PNM’s 2015 manifesto.
The opposition party’s policy may be ready in two weeks. Rowley said Vision 2030 will focus on “the road ahead” since PNM will not look back after it is elected to government. He said the next PNM government will make fundamental changes to delivery. He said people liked the one-man one-vote system the PNM used in its May internal election and if the party has to do it at national level “as we must”—since some adjustment were needed—constitutional reform might be involved.
Saying revenue collection is very important, Rowley reiterated PNM’s Revenue Authority plan and expressed concern about mass transportation problems. He also reiterated plans to abolish the Local Government Ministry giving more responsibility to local government bodies and to focus more on primary schools and rolling back crime. Rowley said “pretenders” weren’t giving the truth and the real story on crime is more than the figures “out there.” “The criminal element has too much room to manoeuvre,” he said.
Noting that the Eric Williams’ PNM involved what he said were captains of industry, the professional class, barefoot people, others from St Patrick, Caroni and other areas, Rowley said today’s PNM, adding youths and experienced people, was getting close to its “original moorings as it was in 1956.” He said a vision wouldn’t always go to plan, but when things went wrong, one addressed it, built and stayed the course. He said the PNM hadn’t been the perfect opposition but was vibrant. Rowley said some had felt the PP would last one or two years only, but it seemed likely to last five years. He said no other party has done what PNM did with yesterday’s delegate planning deliberations. PNM chairman Franklin Khan asked delegates to take into consideration T&T attitudes on issues including dependency, lack of self reliance, productivity, space and environmental protection.
zoom rader wrote:Habit7 wrote:Chalk and cheese ZR.
I am not advocating for any government to run a company, I am for small government.
What I am referencing is policy making. It is policy that made the first step in any local private entity's success. We need innovative policy for the future. Not your anti-PNM anecdotes.
The innovative policy for the future is to never let PNM run anything.
I said it before only when a non pnm government in office this country moves forward.
zoom rader wrote:pioneer wrote:PNM can't even manage the TPRC but want to run this country?
Nothing wrong dey, dats typical how PNM run tings. Hope the eletorate learns from this.
Habit7 wrote:zoom rader wrote: I said it before only when a non pnm government in office this country moves forward.
Is forward a re-escalating murder rate, worsen corruption ratings, 5 years of deficit budgeting and recessionary to low growth?
desifemlove wrote:UML, what vision does UNC have? ent it the point of any government to have a vision? Can anybody say in hard terms what UNC does want in terms of economy, healthcare, education? Or is the only plan to carry on what PNM started?
And Habit7, you reckon UNC is to blame for everyting wrong in this country?
UML wrote:so the BIG QUESTION is do you now believe the PP government for having the SOE...or you still believe PNM propaganda of oppression to black ppl?!!!
1UZFE wrote:To further add to the continous spurious asnine asupmtions...
mero wrote:1UZFE wrote:To further add to the continous spurious asnine asupmtions...
O fack!!! Stop trying to use big words with yuh dense self nah you!
viewtopic.php?f=4&p=8302359#p8302359Habit7 wrote:I'm seeing oil prices falling steeply, now below $90. Our budget was pegged at $80.
I hope the slide stops, for our good.
Habit7 wrote:Well could you enlighten us on what the MoH has implemented so I can edify the staff at Sando General?
2wks ago I posted thisviewtopic.php?f=4&p=8302359#p8302359Habit7 wrote:I'm seeing oil prices falling steeply, now below $90. Our budget was pegged at $80.
I hope the slide stops, for our good.
Today it dipped below $80
And Goldman Sachs (probably PNM sycophants) predicts that it will dip to $70 by April-June 2015
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/oilp ... arrel.html
Like it or not, adjustments will have to be made.
Habit7 wrote:Well tell that to men who think today's dip below $80 is some kinda of fluke.
This is significant with our large deficit budget.
I hope we still can afford our "your government working for you" campaign. I'm just about to put up an electronic billboard on the highway.