School chirren these days :/

Re: School chirren these days :/

Postby Dizzy28 » June 8th, 2022, 9:26 am

Fights happen everywhere - Rhoda Bharath!!

Postby timelapse » June 8th, 2022, 11:53 am

Les Bain wrote:Purely anecdotal but the potential for a teacher to dish out licks certainly was a deterrent in my day. Removing corporal punishment only made it so the bad home children felt empowered to escalate their behaviour knowing they would at worst get a slap on the wrist.

Without an alternate system for consequences, that behaviour just trickled down so that everyone with a monkey gland felt incentivized to not give AF.

Enough with the tepid hand holding good guy MOE anti bullying campaigns. The children who actually want to learn are at risk.
Never let weeds grow in your garden.They will overtake and ruin your crop.

Postby sMASH » June 8th, 2022, 7:08 pm

What if the stabber is teh one that was being bullied and this was the only way she got any redress, and we are treating the one who get stabbed like George Floyd...

Postby paid_influencer » June 8th, 2022, 8:04 pm

sMASH wrote:What if the stabber is teh one that was being bullied and this was the only way she got any redress, and we are treating the one who get stabbed like George Floyd...

trinidadian society in a nutshell

Postby pugboy » June 8th, 2022, 8:16 pm

that may be so and is unfortunate but somebody have to be the first to feel the brunt of the law
hard luck if they now destined to the lower rungs of society
we cant pretend these problems dont exist and say the fights not so bad, the girl hardly injured etc

Postby gastly369 » June 8th, 2022, 8:19 pm

Gen Z need a purge....

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 8th, 2022, 9:18 pm

The person who perpetrated the stabbing now that they aren't in school where will they be, at home, free to roams the streets or institutionalized, like child detention or St. Jude's?

Postby MaxPower » June 8th, 2022, 9:20 pm

sMASH wrote:What if the stabber is teh one that was being bullied and this was the only way she got any redress, and we are treating the one who get stabbed like George Floyd...

sMASH,

Good point, i did mention previously to penalize them both.

I am in strong belief that we have a dual pest situation here.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 8th, 2022, 9:23 pm

^^^Dual pest situation.

Like pests akimbo.

Postby paid_influencer » June 8th, 2022, 9:24 pm

how they could expel the student without a conviction or charges.

even government ministers untouchable without charges

Postby pugboy » June 8th, 2022, 9:44 pm

that person on top the world now
like a bandit who successfully robbed a family
they empowered to keep on doing the same things

Numb3r4 wrote:The person who perpetrated the stabbing now that they aren't in school where will they be, at home, free to roams the streets or institutionalized, like child detention or St. Jude's?

Postby hover11 » June 9th, 2022, 6:04 pm

21 serious fights were recorded since schools reopened, with a rise in incidents at schools which didn’t previously have discipline issues

Knives, sexual misconduct in schools: 1,318 students suspended

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/knives- ... ded-610514

Future looking bright

Postby Dave » June 9th, 2022, 6:20 pm

In other news, some boys were suspended for 2mths after they were caught rolling marijuana at the back of their school.

Postby hover11 » June 9th, 2022, 6:26 pm

Dave wrote:In other news, some boys were suspended for 2mths after they were caught rolling marijuana at the back of their school.
2 months vacation

Postby timelapse » June 9th, 2022, 6:59 pm

hover11 wrote:
Dave wrote:In other news, some boys were suspended for 2mths after they were caught rolling marijuana at the back of their school.
2 months vacation
If they plant some clones now, they might have good buds for a lil after they go back to school

Postby Dave » June 9th, 2022, 7:03 pm

One now and one when school restarts
hover11 wrote:
2 months vacation

Postby Les Bain » June 9th, 2022, 7:07 pm

hover11 wrote:
2 months vacation

2 months to smoke weed at home.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 9th, 2022, 8:58 pm

The minister of education said that the uptick in fights is as a result of social media, some people enjoy seeing themselves on videos on social media and as such they engage in this behaviour in the hopes of getting on there.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 9th, 2022, 9:46 pm

What a dotish take, that can be said of the people recording and uploading.

Those are the people who get a kick out of it. Everybody have a phone in their hands and as soon as a man get watch sideways, everybody pulling out phone to record and egg them on into a fight.

Students expelled for in-school violence

Postby RedVEVO » June 10th, 2022, 6:41 am

Did expelled student get due process?

MP Haynes said while the expelled girl had been wrong, she was still a child and in need of an education.
"We need to be doing what we can to help both the perpetrator and the victim.

"We cannot abandon them just because they are in the wrong now, because we will create a further problem for ourselves in the future."

https://newsday.co.tt/2022/06/10/did-ex ... e-process/

Re: More Abuse - Now NO education for T&T Children

Postby RedVEVO » June 10th, 2022, 6:44 am

The four different main types of child abuse are physical abuse, emotional abuse, neglect, and sexual abuse.

Now we have the " no education abuse "

Only in T&T :roll:
Last edited by RedVEVO on June 10th, 2022, 6:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » June 10th, 2022, 6:44 am

what happen to ytc and st michaels ?

worst case she could go to those vene home schools

Postby RedVEVO » June 10th, 2022, 6:46 am

pugboy wrote:what happen to ytc and st michaels ?

worst case she could go to those vene home schools

Can she speak Spanish ?

Postby bluefete » June 10th, 2022, 6:48 am

RedVEVO wrote:Did expelled student get due process?

MP Haynes said while the expelled girl had been wrong, she was still a child and in need of an education.

"We cannot abandon them just because they are in the wrong now, because we will create a further problem for ourselves in the future."

Do you mean, like in the USA, where, if you are 12 years old and kill someone, they shine you up in the papers, with your name and picture, and charge you as an adult?

Postby RedVEVO » June 10th, 2022, 6:50 am

" ..National Parent Teachers Association (NPTA) president Kevin David told Newsday his association has major concerns about violence in school. However, the association wondered whether a proper investigation had been done within the given timeframe before the expulsion .. "

The stabbed student is a victim . But the girl who perpetuated the crime is also a victim .

She is apparently in a police station - She is 15 years !

Abuse !

Postby bluefete » June 10th, 2022, 6:51 am

RedVEVO wrote:" ..National Parent Teachers Association (NPTA) president Kevin David told Newsday his association has major concerns about violence in school. However, the association wondered whether a proper investigation had been done within the given timeframe before the expulsion .. "

The stabbed student is a victim . But the girl who perpetuated the crime is also a victim .

She is apparently in a police station - She is 15 years !

Abuse !

What is wrong with you this morning? Please go and take your meds.

Postby RedVEVO » June 10th, 2022, 6:52 am

bluefete wrote:

Do you mean, like in the USA, where, if you are 12 years old and kill someone, they shine you up in the papers, with your name and picture, and charge you as an adult?

Why you talking about USA ?

Why the comparison ?

Is this problem in USA or in T&T ?

It's in Trinidad happening now in June 2022 - and could be your child ( or chile ) .

Postby bluefete » June 10th, 2022, 7:11 am

RedVEVO wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Why you talking about USA ?

Why the comparison ?

Is this problem in USA or in T&T ?

It's in Trinidad happening now in June 2022 - and could be your child ( or chile ) .

Very true. But I do not agree that children should be treated with 'kid gloves" when they commit heinous crimes. There is alway ssome level of intent (even if the crazy defense is used))

Postby hover11 » June 10th, 2022, 7:15 am

OP what's the problem here , she had the opportunity to gain an education and clearly didn't appreciate such. Let the parents spend their money and send her to a private secondary school or hire a tutor. She put herself in this position nobody is to blame. We are all held accountable for our actions for the exception of politicians :S

Postby alfa » June 10th, 2022, 7:16 am

What we need is a three strikes policy, this one should be considered attempted murder so immediate dismissal. Let the parents find alternate schooling like kids who fail CXC and pay to repeat in a private school