:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Sanctifier

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Sanctifier » August 12th, 2015, 12:21 pm

greenlime100 wrote:For a main line many people use galvanized pipe but because of rusting and other temperature factors people are now changing.
What material do you suggest to eliminate line-corrosion? Copper pipe is VERY expensive... & a pain to install. There are 'alloy quick-connect' systems available but the price is ridiculous. It'll cost $13-15k to plumb my ToyRoom! Image
Last edited by Sanctifier on August 12th, 2015, 12:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 12th, 2015, 12:25 pm

the shop I used to work at , we had a 80 gallon quincy with air lines plumbed with galvanized pipe, air water traps at every outlet, never had a problem but I could imagine inside those pipes now.

we used to get almost a half cup of water every two days from the 80 gallon compressor.

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 12th, 2015, 12:37 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Also my compressor is 20gallons. I usually roll it nearby whatever I'm working with and use it there. I'm don't need anything more than 20ft of hose at any given moment.

Is that the 20 gallon unit from Pricesmart? Is it sufficient for the auto work you do? Or is there a bit of waiting for the pressure to be rebuilt?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » August 12th, 2015, 12:46 pm

Ted I have a Kellogg 5 hp, 80 gal unit... & DRY air [Aftercooler + Refrigerated air-dryer + Auto-bleed Valve & Timer.]

IMHO "Damn sure, better than Cocksure!"... I still want something better than galvanize pipe. Any suggestions?
Last edited by Sanctifier on August 12th, 2015, 12:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 12th, 2015, 12:47 pm

It's not from pricemart but very similar. So far it's perfect but the air hose is one if the problem with it. I'm trying to sort out that. It's too long and very thin.

I use it with that problem and it's excellent. I wash out my engine and use a blow gun to clean out the excess water.
I used it with a blitz gun to do some undercoating and it's fine. I'm going to use it on a low pressure paint gun next.

It's pretty good for impacts and rachets but it takes a while to replace the air. But the unit never lacks.

The good part about it is that Its portable. I roll it around everywhere. Hell I even used a air hammer on it to break up some old bricks.

But for auto work alone something bigger is needed. It can do the job but I don't expect it to last for a daily basis.

For a diy perfect. I hope that's what u needed to know.

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 12th, 2015, 12:51 pm

Yup. Thanks. That's the same one you said in the tools thread makes a lot of noise? I've had my eye on the one in Pricesmart.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 12th, 2015, 12:57 pm

Iv yet to come across a electric direct drive unit that doesn't make noise. Generally speaking they all make noise. This one isn't that bad.

I saw allied had some nice 25 gallon Ingersoll rand compressors. It's one with a motor and a pump. These are lots more quieter and generally speaking built for this on a daily basis. But cost like 6k

The IR is perfect for you and me but I can't afford that right now.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » August 12th, 2015, 7:23 pm

Sanctifier wrote:
greenlime100 wrote:For a main line many people use galvanized pipe but because of rusting and other temperature factors people are now changing.
What material do you suggest to eliminate line-corrosion? Copper pipe is VERY expensive... & a pain to install. There are 'alloy quick-connect' systems available but the price is ridiculous. It'll cost $13-15k to plumb my ToyRoom! Image

I brought in my own tubing last year, its a 3 layer tubing. high-density polyethylene inner layer, aluminium centre layer and another High-density polyethylene outer layer.

Khanico in Gasparillo recently got the agency for it, they as well piped their own workshop in it. They would actually give you a demo with it.
The tubing itself costs about 10$ a foot.

I bought my 60gallon compressor from them for 6300. No complaints and they even came home by me to service to do repairs on a copper line I damaged.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » August 13th, 2015, 12:31 am

^ ^ ^ Thanks for the heads-up. Who is the Manufacturer of the pipe?

Postby Chimera » August 13th, 2015, 7:31 pm

question fellas

i want to make a workbench along these lines

what gauge of sheet should i use ?

it wont really be taking any heavy jamming, just want a bigger space to do the little DIY projects i does be doing

also which is better? galvanize or zinc sheeting

will want to mount a vice in the corner as well

Postby Ted_v2 » August 13th, 2015, 7:42 pm

inside for info,

square tubing is the ultimate thing for the frame tho.

Postby X_Factor » August 13th, 2015, 10:29 pm

yeah, 2" rhs would be nice if its not gonna be getting wet then it shouldnt matter if galvanized or zinc
maybe a 3/4" construction ply top with good bracing to handle the vise

Postby Chimera » August 13th, 2015, 11:51 pm

It might get slight wet depending on how hard rain fall lol. Which better in that case?

Postby X_Factor » August 14th, 2015, 12:13 am

galvanized should provide more protection but either one, hit it with a coat of red oxide and that should be sufficient
I built a table 4.5 feet square table about 3 yrs ago with 2x4 I beam and that was just painted with red oxide and its pretty much outside in the open and hardly ne rusting

You could get a size smaller/larger in the RHS that goes into or over the legs of the table
Weld on some wheels onto that piece so when you need to move the table jus slip them on and u can roll it to where ever without help
( you know those scaffolding with removable wheels, same concept)

Postby Chimera » August 14th, 2015, 6:46 am

Yup was planning to do that with the wheels. What gauge sheet metal tho? 20 gauge?

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2015, 6:51 am

get at thick as you can afford
what is going to be under the sheeting ?
it likely to get dinged up so best get as hard a surface
welders use 1/2" plate,
some of the auto electrical places use similar tables for rebuilding alternators etc

Postby Chimera » August 14th, 2015, 7:06 am

Nah half inch plate would be wayyyy too thick for my purpose. Gonna check out bhags today n see wha dey have.
Last edited by Chimera on August 14th, 2015, 1:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2015, 7:11 am

the 18ga is just a little more, better get 18
how you cutting it ?
there are sheet metal places that can cut for you and if you have the base, the can bend lip around

Postby X_Factor » August 14th, 2015, 7:36 am

there is a place on aranguez main road that may cut it for you, they do mostly vent ducting work for restaurants but i bought a piece of galvanized sheet of a specific size from them a couple yrs ago
If it wont be taking much jamming, 3/4 construction ply or hard board planks should be sufficient once it has good cross bracing to the top

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2015, 7:48 am

b&m sheet metal in Freeport does this kind of stuff
they specialize in this

Postby Chimera » August 14th, 2015, 8:19 am

Cutting with angle grinder most likely

Postby Ted_v2 » August 14th, 2015, 9:31 am

good marking and cutting disc is your friend.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 14th, 2015, 12:01 pm

if u going to be doing like nailing\welding\banging\pounding stuff on that table then i will not suggest no 20g or even 16g sheet

imho for heavy duty outdoor use : 1\8 steel sheet top & frame 1\4 x 2 x 2 angle iron , yes regular 1.5x1.5 or 1x2 rhs will work but they making them so thin nowadays it can rust in weather , if u going RHS then buy d zinc coated kind

this wont be small $ but it will last a life time ...

Postby Chimera » August 14th, 2015, 12:09 pm

Will.probably do that down the line....
Even tho i have 1/4 and 1/8 sheets in the garage right now...i rly doh wanna make the table that heavy

Just want a nice big area to be able to comfortably rest atleast a 10 foot length of 4 inch pvc, with plugs for tools and a 4 foot light. Plus a shelf.

Wont be any welding or nailing.
Might have some pounding.

I have real plenty old burglar proof made with flat steel that i could even use as the base for under the steel sheet

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 14th, 2015, 12:21 pm

we have a 4x8 table with a 1\8" thick top that is 25yrs old

when i used to do welding 15yrs ago i had a 8x16 ft & sometimes put d 4x8 next to it for a 8x20ft , some gates i used to build was even longer than than table too

spend d $ once & make it good & done , u wont regret it

it must have a day u want to weld something on it & it is not a joy on ur back & legs to be bending down on d ground , ur productivity will be ALOT More working around a table

or 1 day u need a large surface to cut a sheet a ply on

bhags have some big casters selling too eh ...

Postby cinco » August 14th, 2015, 12:37 pm

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:spend d $ once & make it good & done , u wont regret it

Best piece of advise right there.
Build a metal frame with rhs and use 1/2inch ply as a top ply cheap and easy to replace

Postby Chimera » August 14th, 2015, 12:39 pm

yeah if that day ever reach, i guh make up two-three saw horse or rest whatever on 4 blue barrel or some foundation blocks.....lol

i wont ever be needing that big a table for any welding project

$350 for a 18gauge 4x8 zinc sheet in bhags

I have a couple lengths of 1x1 RHS at home.....but a 2x2 1.5 length is about $170...so i eh mind buying 2 lengths

Probably spend $1000 to make a 4x8 table....
as opposed to going the heavy route.....which i really don't need

i want to be able to lift and move this table with the help of one other person when I done

Postby 3stagevtec » August 16th, 2015, 10:05 pm

Anyone interested?

Postby pugboy » August 16th, 2015, 10:28 pm

keyless they say

[X]~Outlaw