mitch wrote:at the end of the day, everybody "borrows" an idea from someone else to help make their product better.
but leave it to the Apple fanboys to think that they invented everything and everything with an Apple logo on it is d best thing out.
hell, they would copyright the word "apple" if they could
mitch wrote:at the end of the day, everybody "borrows" an idea from someone else to help make their product better.
but leave it to the Apple fanboys to think that they invented everything and everything with an Apple logo on it is d best thing out.
hell, they would copyright the word "apple" if they could
achillies wrote:Strauss wrote:achillies wrote:Strauss wrote:S_2NR wrote:Apple copied the notification centre from Android..
I give you +1.
Now... if there was no iOS from Apple, there'd be no Android.
Me = +100
Hold up their homie, you really think the iphone was all Apple's idea
History is a set of lies agreed upon - Napoleon Bonaparte
But there would be those who know the truth, the real truth
Me=+infinity
The design idea was already there, Apple just slapped a patent on it
Stop! Education time.
Apple been working on the iPhone since what... er... 2002? So they needed components so approached Samsung to supply parts for the iPhone. Apple sent Samsung their secret prototypes of the iPhone and guess what Samsung did?
Yup. The same thing Microsoft did in the mid-80's when Apple sent MS the prototype Macs to get MS's software. It's why Apple sued Microsoft then (and lost because of the lack of patents), and why Apple was quick to sue Samsung, this time with patents, not wanting a repeat of history.
Think of this... the retina display belongs to Samsung because it was developed and enchanced for the iPhone. Samsung is Apple BIGGEST SUPPLIER. i.e. Apple pays Samsung for their components in the iPhone. When Google saw how Apple changed the game with iOS, they wanted in on the action. Apple already did the R&D and developed the business/OS model.
Samsung didn't even try to be different. They took the same parts they were supplying Apple with and made their own phone, slapped on Android and make it look exactly like the iPhone.
You = +infinity ?
Tsk, tsk, tsk
Padna, if you want to believe that Apple invented something, go ahead, again, others will always know the truth, Here is Apple's biggest strengths
1. The are the best at making things better i.e they don't invent anything, they just make it better
2. Public Relations, Apple is brilliant at marketing and selling their image, this should probably be number 1, but apple is the best when it comes to fooling the masses, there are people that would believe anything that comes out of the late Steve Jobs mouth, and there are people who still believe that Apple invented the iPhone from scratch with no inspiration from anywhere else. That's why you could talk and not even respond to what your boy say in the video I posted, you probably didn't even see it....
Now lets deal with real history and not {His story}
Steve Jobs was inspired by the graphical user interface he saw at Xerox PARC and turned that into the Macintosh
Apple didn’t invent the smartphone, they stole the idea and reshaped the industry in their own vision. Yes, Apple has “copied” bits and pieces of iOS from other sources
Apple didn’t invent the tablet computer, they stole the idea and now iOS is the template for the tablet market.
Apple copied the iPod from Kane Kramer, copied the MacOS “dock” from Acorn computers.
Was sued by Burst.com and settled for the technology used in the iPod and iTunes.
Copied the iPhone from LG Prada, NeoNode, and Samsung F700, copied parts of iOS (like swipe to unlock etc) from NeoNode.
Sued by Nokia and settled for patents related to GSM and UMTS standards as well as 802.11 WiFi technologies.
Sued by Cisco and settled for using the “iPhone” name.
Copied the Finder icon from a Picasso painting titled “Two Characters”
Copied the App Store from Jailbreak/Cydia.
Sued by Personal Audio and lost for patents related to playlist implementation on the iPod. Personal Audio was awarded $8 million.
Was sued by Mirror Worlds and lost for patents related to Cover Flow, Time Machine, and Spotlight features found in Mac OS X and iOS. Apple was ordered to pay $625.5 million to Mirror Worlds.
Copied Android features that include Notifications, Wireless syncing, Tabbed browsing, New split keyboard, Open apps from the lock screen, and Over the air updates.
And I am sure I can find more "dirt" no matter how clean and cultivated the image of 'Apple" is. All in all padna, I love android and you love iOS so let's use the OS we love instead of trying to say one better than the other, the biggest saint was a sinner, so stop being the POT trying to call the KETTLE black
After all Steve Jobs done toting off of Android, but he had a lot of people toting in his time too, you know what they say about Karma right, don't hate the player hoss, hate the game
Edited for a bit more clarity
M_2NR wrote::rofl:
at the end of the day buddy it's what works. there are things that i utterly hate in iOS, each OS has its quirks. I know some Apple boys would try their best to love everything. Nothing beats how messed up the phone app is... my word. and the proximity sensor issue is heavily downplayed.
But stop sounding like an android fanboy and appreciate the tech from each OS
derivation or innovation, it is simply wonderful the things we can now do that 10 years ago, we could have only dreamt of doing.
azeem wrote:so if there are better, faster cars than a bmw, why settle for bmw?
M_2NR wrote:at the end of the day, whose tree did android fall from? i just hope to God i dont see siri copies popping up everywhere now.
M_2NR wrote:rofl, btw, you dont need itunes to sync anymore.![]()
men could beat up in here yes. again, to each his own.
Apple, spends a lot of time behind something, I'm surprised Siri was released as a beta. In the beginning, i watched the 2G iPhone when it was first released and said to myself what a fail. Then as generations went by, they learnt, copied, innovated, whatever you wanna call it and it resulted in what it is today.
You can say what you want, apple spends a lot of time behind power consumption and squeezing the most it can from the available hardware. Also ease of use. Why it is an iPhone 4S can have such "specs" and still blaze the trail of the androids with seemingly twice the performance of it?
Why it is a 60 year old or an 8 year old can pick up an iDevice and in a few seconds do amazing things on it?
at the end of the day, whose tree did android fall from? i just hope to God i dont see siri copies popping up everywhere now.
Lemme leave this ched yes. Before the others jump on meh.
achillies wrote:M_2NR wrote:rofl, btw, you dont need itunes to sync anymore.![]()
men could beat up in here yes. again, to each his own.
Apple, spends a lot of time behind something, I'm surprised Siri was released as a beta. In the beginning, i watched the 2G iPhone when it was first released and said to myself what a fail. Then as generations went by, they learnt, copied, innovated, whatever you wanna call it and it resulted in what it is today.
You can say what you want, apple spends a lot of time behind power consumption and squeezing the most it can from the available hardware. Also ease of use. Why it is an iPhone 4S can have such "specs" and still blaze the trail of the androids with seemingly twice the performance of it?
Why it is a 60 year old or an 8 year old can pick up an iDevice and in a few seconds do amazing things on it?
at the end of the day, whose tree did android fall from? i just hope to God i dont see siri copies popping up everywhere now.
Lemme leave this ched yes. Before the others jump on meh.
Not jumping on you, but I have a friend that hates her iphone, she won it in a competition, and she has to call me or someone else to do nearly everything, she has improved now, but to every 2 ppl that find the iphone simple, I could find one that say the same of WP7 or Android, and it have those that don't want nothing to do with any of them because it's too complicated
The real issue here is people having a superiority complex and a lack of respect for other people's choice, I don't own a single apple product so you would never see me in an apple thread or browsing apple websites, I simply do not like the iPhone, I have owned a 3 and a 3G, one was won in a competition and the other was given to me as a gift, both were gone before 7 days and I used a 4 for a week, that was a work thing, can't stand the interface at all, games ran pretty well though, I hate iTunes, and that's just ME, all ME, thank God I had my lil magic through all that.
The thing is I have a SGS2 for over a month now and I can't put it down at all, I always find a reason to use it even when I'm home and have access to a computer, never had that vibe going with any of those iPhones.
The ifon is a great device but to ME Android is a lot greater, and that is just for me, not for everyone else, and I respect that, and that's the type of respect most Apple fanboys can't comprehend so I find my self having to defend my choice a lot, that's why I could punch holes in and Apple fanboy story....
Strauss wrote:I know I'm not as coherent as I am normally... been having a sh!tty time.
But really you have to understand what this "Apple fanboy" thing is about. Hardly anyone ever switches to a Mac ever goes back to Windows. See the PC world see phones as just a device and go after the faster processor, bigger screen; more specs in general.
Strauss wrote:Whereas Apple users see their products as a "Way of Life". And to really understand this religion, you have to clear your mind of all the BS and unlearn tech as you think it should be.
Strauss wrote:It's about complete integration between having an iPhone, iPod, AppleTV Mac, MobileMe/iSync/iCould with all our apps like iTunes, iMovie, iPhoto, iDVD, Keynote et al. When you have these devices that operate like ONE, it's really like living in Star Trek or some distant fantasy.
If you just have an iPhone or used an iPhone, you just have part of the picture and it's easier to choose another phone. Those with Androids, Blackberries, Palm... are NOT living the same lifestyle.
Strauss wrote:Don't want to hijack or troll/spam this thread any further. Just need to say that most of you will NEVER understand unless you are part of the crowd and really using the many products.
Strauss wrote:I know I'm not as coherent as I am normally... been having a sh!tty time.
But really you have to understand what this "Apple fanboy" thing is about. Hardly anyone ever switches to a Mac ever goes back to Windows. See the PC world see phones as just a device and go after the faster processor, bigger screen; more specs in general.
Whereas Apple users see their products as a "Way of Life". And to really understand this religion, you have to clear your mind of all the BS and unlearn tech as you think it should be.
It's about complete integration between having an iPhone, iPod, AppleTV Mac, MobileMe/iSync/iCould with all our apps like iTunes, iMovie, iPhoto, iDVD, Keynote et al. When you have these devices that operate like ONE, it's really like living in Star Trek or some distant fantasy.
If you just have an iPhone or used an iPhone, you just have part of the picture and it's easier to choose another phone. Those with Androids, Blackberries, Palm... are NOT living the same lifestyle.
Don't want to hijack or troll/spam this thread any further. Just need to say that most of you will NEVER understand unless you are part of the crowd and really using the many products.
achillies wrote:SMH, the borg lost in the end eh, humans are much more dynamic individuals
SMH, you are a true fanboy, probably the biggest I know, FYI, not good, not good at all, fanboys get no respect from me
shagadelic99tt wrote:ne one get Samsung's ChatOn software to work in trinidad?
Strauss wrote:Your reason for Android might be simply cuz it's a bad-ass phone. And you pick it cuz of your needs and wants. At least recognize the company — Apple — that is giving the rest of the industry to driving force to keep introducing amazing products.
/rant.
Strauss wrote:achillies wrote:SMH, the borg lost in the end eh, humans are much more dynamic individuals
SMH, you are a true fanboy, probably the biggest I know, FYI, not good, not good at all, fanboys get no respect from me
Hahah... well perhaps I can be a fanboi at times.
It's brand loyalty. I want to believe I've owned Apple computers/products longer than most folks been using PCs. I been a victim of Windows 2, Windows 3.1 all the way up to present![]()
I love the Apple-ecosystem.
It's why I called it a "religion" before anyone else did. I just don't see a 'smart-phone'. I see a smart-phone as part of a whole consumer/pro-sumer digital lifestyle solution. And I really think I've been living a digital lifestyle since my first blue-tooth phone (Sony Ericsson T610i) in 2003 and having a Wifi environment long before these things were standard on PCs.
I don't mind owning an Android at some point. I wouldn't mind an HTC. Everyone has their preference based on what they use it for.
I love the fact that 10 years ago my address book on my phone was wirelessly synced to my mac at home when I walking into the house, that I could use my cell phone back then to play iTunes or use voice recognition to tell iTunes what to play on my Mac. And when I get to work all my bookmarks, calendar and contacts were also synced there over the internet and early "cloud" backup via iDisk. That a decade ago if I my pictures download to iPhoto when plug in my phone or camera, I can go in iMovie and see my videos and photos with my iTunes playlist showing up... make a home movie then it automatically opens iDVD where I could make chapters, backgrounds, add slide shows and encode and burn my DVD and even export the finished product back to my phone because of Quicktime Pro.
Sorry to rant.
But the reason why I can't get an Android now is lack of integration with my digital life — that I get built-in with every Mac/iPhone/iPod/AppleTV that work together 'like magic' better than all the apps of Microsoft Office or Adobe Suite can.
So there's my reason for Apple. Understand before you call use just "fanboi's". You need to be IN it to understand what the hoopla is about and why we are so smug watching 'new' features that Apple (never invented) but innovated to work seamlessly. It's not about Ghz, Gigabytes or the tech stuff. It's about just working how *I* like.
Your reason for Android might be simply cuz it's a bad-ass phone. And you pick it cuz of your needs and wants. At least recognize the company — Apple — that is giving the rest of the industry to driving force to keep introducing amazing products.
/rant.
mitch wrote:Strauss wrote:Your reason for Android might be simply cuz it's a bad-ass phone. And you pick it cuz of your needs and wants. At least recognize the company — Apple — that is giving the rest of the industry to driving force to keep introducing amazing products.
/rant.
so u say Apple integrates ur digital life.
well i can only speak for me...
email = gmail
contacts = synced with Google contacts
docs = Google docs
social = Google+
photos = automatically uploaded to Google+ (Picasa)
bookmarks = Chrome (synced across both PC and phone)
shall i go on?
so by ur reasoning, it seems as though most of my digital life is synced with Google.
and Android ties it all together. so i'll stick with Android and my "bad-ass phone"
mitch wrote:Strauss i get what yuh saying hoss. you've invested a lot in Apple and their products and it would be difficult to switch to something entirely new.
but at least let's agree to disagree that Apple is not the ONLY option and by no means is it the BEST option. and i'm not saying that Google/Android is either.
i think we can all agree that at least we have a CHOICE and we should never have to stick to one company's way of thinking.
at the end of the day, to each his own...