Wayne Kublalsingh Hunger Strike...

NR8

Re: Wayne Kublalsingh Hunger Strike...

Postby NR8 » October 15th, 2014, 3:39 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:the M2 Refurb is part of the 2nd phase

Where did you see that? Just asking because it's not listed in the scope of works on Nidco's website.

Postby Redman » October 15th, 2014, 3:46 pm

UML wrote:ur figures are questionable because u cant read :|

:mrgreen:

baaaaaaaaaaaaa

what are you like 12 years old??

Postby The_Honourable » October 15th, 2014, 4:18 pm

Great piece by Raoul Pantin :D

The truth don’t bleed

By Raoul Pantin

Story Created: Oct 14, 2014 at 8:19 PM ECT
Story Updated: Oct 15, 2014 at 8:12 AM ECT

Columnist Selwyn Ryan’s recent assessment of news values in contemporary Trinidad and Tobago-ie, “if it bleeds, it leads”— was right on target. And explains why so much murderous crime gets front page coverage, as does the Wayne Kublalsingh hunger strike because as each day adds to the length of time he has starved himself, the possibility of his likely demise has also made him the subject of a lot of front page news coverage.

This has remarkably not been the case with a full-page advertisement that appeared in the Express on Wednesday, October 8 by a group calling itself CITIZENS 4 D HIGHWAY.”

Never mind that this advertisement answered some of the very critical questions about the particular stretch of roadway that the Highway Re-Route Movement, and its main protester, Wayne Kublalsingh, are making all the noise about. The advertisement actually takes the form of a question and answer exercise that focusses on at least ten of the main issues involved.

And it is preceded by this telling comment: “While one man and a few supporters stage a human drama to exaggerate and sensationalise their views, hundreds of thousands of us have no such platform. Our voices, our opinions and needs must count for no less.”

The first controversial question posed here is this: “Is the (particular stretch of) highway passing through the Oropouche Lagoon”? This is a claim that has repeatedly been made by the Highway Re-Route Movement and is one of the issues that artist Peter Minshall has raised himself, citing the potential damage to this Lagoon as one of the reasons why he has thrown his support behind Kublalsingh.

But the advertisement answer to this question is simple and straightforward: “NO. The Point Fortin Highway skirts the Oropouche Lagoon and is the best path between the Lagoon and the heart of the communities” in the area.

Another critical question, and an issue that has also been advanced in opposition to this stretch of the highway being built: “Will the highway destroy the Banwari site in San Francique?” This site is an important archeological find that relates to the first peoples (Amerindians) of Trinidad and Tobago.

The answer: “NO. The highway is not passing near the Banwari site. The site is 200 metres away from the highway and (construction of the highway) will not destroy this site. The Archaeological Committee of Trinidad and Tobago was consulted on the protection of this site.”

Another very important question given the Highway Re-Route Movement’s objections: “Is the segment Debe to Mon Desir needed?” The answer: “Studies will show in 2012 the daily volume of traffic at Debe junction was 20,000 vehicles, and a projected increase to 30,000 by 2030. It should also be noted that the (also controversial) Armstrong report indicates that the Highway Re-route Movement’s proposal for an alternative route is short term in nature and does not cater for increase in traffic.”

Critically, this question is also posed: “should the Government stop the highway because one man is on a hunger strike?” The answer: “This is a democratic society and people are free to express themselves. The Highway Re-Route Movement has lost before the courts on three occasions and is now trying to hold the Government to ransom because they did not get their way. There is a process for recourse in the courts and the rule of law has to be adhered to. No one is above the law.”

It is noteworthy that none of the information contained in this advertisement (and some critics will undoubtedly charge that the Government is the real source) has attracted any headlines or substantial follow up. The reason, of course, is simple: there is no “blood” involved here. And therefore, mark my word, it just doesn't fit the sensational news mode.

Source: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commenta ... 17582.html

Postby rspann » October 15th, 2014, 7:05 pm

Redman learn good from Kublalsingh, If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, Baffle them with bulls hit.

Postby UML » October 15th, 2014, 7:26 pm

Kubs have some competition infront the PM office but he staying 24 HRS

North vs South

Let's see who cud lime better!!!

#showsupport

Postby The_Honourable » October 15th, 2014, 7:48 pm

UML wrote:Kubs have some competition infront the PM office but he staying 24 HRS

North vs South

Let's see who cud lime better!!!

#showsupport

Study TV6 never reported, or at least in the first 30 mins about Ravi Balgobin Maharaj hunger strike :|

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » October 15th, 2014, 7:57 pm

This turning out to be a comic show

Postby Redman » October 15th, 2014, 8:50 pm

rspann wrote:Redman learn good from Kublalsingh, If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, Baffle them with bulls hit.

just keeping you and pre teen uml company.

So you have a costing for the highway?

grad

Postby grad » October 15th, 2014, 9:50 pm

Now, everything in TT is inflated and overpriced. for example a piece of an interchange at grand bazaar cost almost 500 million TT dollars. the entire thing may have cost close to one billion.

so when this interchange would have been, pretty expensive as well, we need to remember that things like the seven or eight interchanges and bridges also exist in the SHH extension. not to mention land acquistion and capping wells and other associated costs that would not fall in the "cost per mile"

Postby janfar » October 15th, 2014, 10:30 pm

Why ollur can't leave the kublalsingh hiway alone???

Postby pioneer » October 15th, 2014, 10:38 pm

grad wrote:Now, everything in TT is inflated and overpriced. for example a piece of an interchange at grand bazaar cost almost 500 million TT dollars. the entire thing may have cost close to one billion.

so when this interchange would have been, pretty expensive as well, we need to remember that things like the seven or eight interchanges and bridges also exist in the SHH extension. not to mention land acquistion and capping wells and other associated costs that would not fall in the "cost per mile"

Yeh cuz cost of material, labor and transport etc has not gone up at all since 2005.

K.

Postby shogun » October 15th, 2014, 11:47 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:Redman u campaigning hard bai, is bess u do like yur leader & keep quiet,u jus toting bcuz one of allyuh financiers aint geh d wuk, like u forget is WE TIME NOW

Chamar please. Didn't I just see you uber-haggling with a seller for used math books in another forum?. Brahmin/upwardly mobile and that ilk don't deal with your kind. Who you think you fooling?. Typical Punjabi delusions... he so wants to feel included in a windfall. :lol: Lemme behave eh...

The_Honourable wrote:Study TV6 never reported, or at least in the first 30 mins about Ravi Balgobin Maharaj hunger strike :|

Something tells me that dude needs his head checked.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » October 16th, 2014, 12:56 am

relevance????

Postby UML » October 16th, 2014, 5:12 am

shotta 20 wrote:This turning out to be a comic show

It always was. Moreso when a man has an 8-4 hunger strike has a tag team and "continues" a hunger strike :roll:

Postby shogun » October 16th, 2014, 5:33 am

Actually feelin' bad for the man yes.

This issue is now lost in this circus.

Postby pugboy » October 16th, 2014, 6:16 am

just passed after cycling, chap not there......
guy on left from project 40 said he packed up 10pm
rps20141016_061254[1].jpg

Postby Redman » October 16th, 2014, 7:26 am

grad wrote:Now, everything in TT is inflated and overpriced. for example a piece of an interchange at grand bazaar cost almost 500 million TT dollars. the entire thing may have cost close to one billion.

If the people of TnT are asked to pay 7.5B for a 50km hway......what does it cost the people of Tnt???

Are we getting a rebate on all the non cost per mile expenses?
A Tax break?
no...so the 50km highway cost us 7.5B.
Last edited by Redman on October 16th, 2014, 8:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 16th, 2014, 7:30 am

ollor still beating up?
pffffffft

Postby Redman » October 16th, 2014, 7:59 am

Ted_v2 wrote:ollor still beating up?
pffffffft

well this is ting to be aware of...

numbers dont lie....

So we spend 7.5 on 50k of road.

thats 150M

The true road cost per mile as per spann's post SHOULD at highest be about 60M(thats the cost of a 6 lane in the US)

leaving 90 on the table for all the other expenses.

Spann is correct-there is a big difference between what we paying and what it cost........

Postby 16 cycles » October 16th, 2014, 8:24 am

Going down into comparison for costs:

Are the materials used for us highways and trini highways the same?

Do they get their materials at a cheaper/more expensive price?

Is the process used more or less efficient than ours?

Are the lifespans more or less than ours?

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » October 16th, 2014, 8:39 am

pugboy wrote:just passed after cycling, chap not there......

Unfortunately, earlier this evening both me and the members of Project 40 were informed by the St. Clair police that we would not be able to remain at our positions around the Office of the Prime Minister after 10:00 p.m. This is as a result of security procedures related to that office building, and also is in keeping with the law regarding public loitering.

As such, I will now be changing my schedule at my camp site to between 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. daily. I will still be continuing my fast every day around the clock, however, I will now be doing so at my home, during the remaining time.

http://protestforprogress.blogspot.com/ ... great.html

Average

Postby Average » October 16th, 2014, 8:45 am

The_Honourable wrote:Great piece by Raoul Pantin :D

The truth don’t bleed

By Raoul Pantin

Story Created: Oct 14, 2014 at 8:19 PM ECT
Story Updated: Oct 15, 2014 at 8:12 AM ECT

Columnist Selwyn Ryan’s recent assessment of news values in contemporary Trinidad and Tobago-ie, “if it bleeds, it leads”— was right on target.
arn.jpg

Postby UML » October 16th, 2014, 10:03 am

shogun wrote:Image

Actually feelin' bad for the man yes.

This issue is now lost in this circus.

Post the entire article nah man!!!!

Highway meeting flops

Geisha Kowlessar

Published:
Thursday, October 16, 2014

Supporter of the San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway, activist Ravi Balgobin Maharaj, sits in the rain on day one of his hunger strike along Gray Street, St Clair, yesterday. Maharaj is calling on Highway Re-route Movement Leader Dr Wayne Kublalsingh to end his hunger strike and will not end his unless Kublalsingh complies. PHOTO: MICHEAL BRUCE

Despite nearly four hours of intense discussions between Government and members of civil society organisations, the controversial Debe to Mon Desir section of the San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway will go on. And there is also no need for mediation, Works Minister Surujrattan Rambachan said yesterday.

The meeting, which was chaired by Rambachan, also included Minister in the Ministry of Works Stacy Roopnarine, head of the National Infrastructure Development Company of T&T (Nidco) Dr Carson Charles and Doolar Ramlal, director of health and safety in the Works Ministry. It was held at the ministry’s head office at Richmond Street, Port-of-Spain.

Initially, some 29 civil society groups had supported the Highway Re-Route Movement (HRM) in its call for mediation and further dialogue but that figure has now grown to 41. The specific areas of concern raised by the groups in a letter were:
1. That Government properly considers the Armstrong report and recommendations.
2. That Government give serious consideration to the new proposal by the HRM as an alternative to the construction of the Debe to Mon Desir Highway.
3. All further work be halted on the Debe to Mon Desir Highway only but work could proceed apace on the San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway.

At the start of yesterday’s meeting, Rambachan made it clear the matter was before the court and was therefore subjudice. Paula Lucie-Smith, founder of the Adult Literacy Tutors Association (ALTA), said civil society groups were not technical experts and as such they could not assess any particular aspect of the Armstrong Report and were also unable to pronounce on the optimum connectivity proposal which the HRM wanted implemented as an alternative route.

“Our concern as civil society is the process and this will help us to be able to live together in our communities. We are not here to discuss the merits or demerits of any particular roadway system,” Lucie-Smith said. There were tense moments during the meeting, as Rambachan pressed civil society members to state exactly what they wanted, noting they kept repeating they were not technical experts and could make no pronouncements.

“I came with the technical team and I made it very clear those are the three points to discuss and they came to say that’s not what they want,” Rambachan said. “They want to discuss the process... the process about what? The highway or about general development and there was no clear answer with regard to that also but I had a duty to meet with them. “I don’t see the need for mediation. What I see is civil society asking three particular questions and we came to respond.”

Charles, in referring to the Armstrong Report, said there was never an agreement on Nidco’s part to abide by it. He said it was the Joint Consultative Council (JCC) which decided to publish the report and make public statements on the issue. Political leader of the Movement for Social Justice (MSJ) David Abdulah, who was also present, said another step was needed, as there were different judgments on technical issues which required determination to the satisfaction of the country.

But some civil society representatives also described yesterday’s meeting as a “charade”, adding that they were forced to listen to a presentation from the Government on the merits of its objectives.

Hunger strike continues

Contacted yesterday, HRM leader Dr Wayne Kublalsingh said he would not budge from his hunger strike as nothing solid or meaningful has been offered by Government. The environmentalist also reiterated his call for mediation.

Saying he was not disappointed at the outcome of yesterday’s meeting between the Government and civil society bodies, Kublalsingh said he was still hopeful an alternative route would be taken into consideration. He also maintained that wetlands would be adversely affected by Government’s plan. “Our position is the Prime Minister has promised to put it on hold and review it. She is yet to do that and so the strike continues,” Kublalsingh said.

so WTF they protesting for if they doh know nuttin...same damn thing i tell Reman and he get emo :roll:

Kubs/you cannot oppose and make recommendations if you have no technical knowledge or training in the area!!!

Postby pugboy » October 16th, 2014, 10:11 am

He could go sit on a bench in Savannah, otherwise he is another possible fraud going home to eat.

Sumana.00 wrote:
pugboy wrote:just passed after cycling, chap not there......

Unfortunately, earlier this evening both me and the members of Project 40 were informed by the St. Clair police that we would not be able to remain at our positions around the Office of the Prime Minister after 10:00 p.m. This is as a result of security procedures related to that office building, and also is in keeping with the law regarding public loitering.

As such, I will now be changing my schedule at my camp site to between 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. daily. I will still be continuing my fast every day around the clock, however, I will now be doing so at my home, during the remaining time.

http://protestforprogress.blogspot.com/ ... great.html

Postby Redman » October 16th, 2014, 10:26 am

so WTF they protesting for if they doh know nuttin...same damn thing i tell Reman and he get emo :roll:

Kubs/you cannot oppose and make recommendations if you have no technical knowledge or training in the area!!!

This is crap

even for a pre teen.

We can comment on anything....you commenting ....but saying that others cant because they 'have no technical knowledge'
The fact remains that comments made by people without technical knowledge should be easily dismissed

Yet here we are.

Yuh have the costing yet-or we staying at 38M USD per mile of hway is worth it???

Postby UML » October 16th, 2014, 10:37 am

AG asks hunger strike supporters: What about Bayshore and MovieTowne?

Yvonne Webb
Published:
Thursday, October 16, 2014

Attorney General Anand Ramlogan has raised questions about the sincerity of some supporters of hunger-striker Wayne Kublalsingh about their concerns when the mangrove was cleared to make way for MovieTowne, Westmoorings and Wrightson Road, Port-of-Spain.

Speaking at the Oropouche West constituency Divali celebrations on Tuesday night, Ramlogan said he noticed people from Bayshore and Westmoorings protesting against the segment of the highway at Debe to Mon Desir outside the St Clair Medical Centre on Sunday as Kublalsingh was being treated. He said: “Wrightson Road area was mangrove and swamp. Is it that we should never have developed Wrightson Road in Port-of-Spain and build no roads in and around those areas.

“When MovieTowne was swamp and mangrove and they had to reclaim the land, no one in Debe or Westmoorings, no one in Port-of-Spain protested the cutting down of the hills so we could have Bayshore and MovieTowne. “No one spoke of the degradation of the environment because they understood the need for human progress.

“Our history teaches us that without some sacrifice there will be no human progress and development,” Ramlogan said, pointing out to objections during the construction of the Solomon Hochoy Highway which split the Caroni Swamp in two. “Did the Caroni Swamp die? No it is larger and better off than it was before,” he added.

Using the story of the Ramayana to underscore his point, Ramlogan said those who sought to block progress must understand the message of the Ramayana that those who sought to thwart the ambition of Lord Ram failed on the altar of prayer. He added: “Those who ask that I must bypass the court system and say that I must enter into any form of mediation, I ask the question:

“If you have lost your court matter against the State and you have been denied an injunction, not once, not twice, but three times, I must now ignore the court’s rulings, bypass the rule of law and engage in a discussion designed to produce one result and one result only, which is to give you that which the court said you are not entitled to in accordance with the laws of T&T.”

Ramlogan said to do that would be setting a precedent that every person who lost a case before the court could go on a hunger strike to get the desired outcome. He said the government would not only build the highway to Point Fortin but the highway to Diego Martin as well as the overpass in Valencia because it was a promise it made to the people who voted for it and it had a duty to fulfill that promise.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-10- ... movietowne

Postby tr1ad » October 16th, 2014, 10:47 am

Yeh cuz cost of material, labor and transport etc has not gone up at all since 2005.

K.

government project have an inflated cost, roughly 24% compared to privatised, add that and the cost of local labour well....

construction industry isn't a cepep salary type market
welders get 50+ TTD an hour for example, these costs add up

worse yet if the union comes into play

Postby Redman » October 16th, 2014, 10:55 am

Average labour in Hway and road construction is $18.99 USD per hr.

Just saying

Postby RBphoto » October 16th, 2014, 10:59 am

D fleck you getting a welder for $50.00 an hour? More like $75.00, plus all PPE changed out on schedule. Welder have to have a junior helper to clean flux so he could keep on burning stick.

Postby tr1ad » October 16th, 2014, 11:25 am

RBphoto wrote:D fleck you getting a welder for $50.00 an hour? More like $75.00, plus all PPE changed out on schedule. Welder have to have a junior helper to clean flux so he could keep on burning stick.

hence 50+