The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Swisha

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Swisha » October 22nd, 2011, 9:48 am

yuh know CyanogenMod large when Netflix making updates so their app works on it :lol:

Postby S_2NR » October 22nd, 2011, 9:54 am

CM7 FTW YO!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 22nd, 2011, 1:31 pm

looks like Steve-o went to war with Android but got pwnt

Steve Jobs:
“I will spend my last dying breath if I need to, and I will spend every penny of Apple’s $40 billion in the bank, to right this wrong. I’m going to destroy Android, because it’s a stolen product. I’m willing to go thermonuclear war on this.”

(ah sorry eh, d man death was still tragic) :|

Steve Jobs vowed to 'destroy' Android

achillies

Postby achillies » October 22nd, 2011, 3:37 pm

mitch wrote:looks like Steve-o went to war with Android but got pwnt

Steve Jobs:
“I will spend my last dying breath if I need to, and I will spend every penny of Apple’s $40 billion in the bank, to right this wrong. I’m going to destroy Android, because it’s a stolen product. I’m willing to go thermonuclear war on this.”

The same man said "good artistes copy, great artistes steal"

He was brilliant in his own right, but still had a serious case of Sour Grapes

Swisha

Re: Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Swisha » October 22nd, 2011, 3:46 pm

achillies wrote:
mitch wrote:decided to take the plunge and isntall CM7.1 on the SII in anticipation of getting vanilla ICS on it :lol:

surprisingly this is the first time i ever installed a custom rom :|

CM7.1 is sweet though. anybody using ADW Launcher EX? is it worth the upgrade?

Using it on stock rom but I didn't buy it, it hasn't been updated for months, not gonna buy it unless I see some development, how is CM7 though?

edit: scratch that. Go Launcher EX is full of win! plus it's free 8-)

Postby M_2NR » October 22nd, 2011, 3:56 pm

Confirmed: Galaxy Nexus Includes PenTile
:sick:

so thats why even the atrix looked horrible. sad that up to today the one thing they should copy... isn't. :(

Postby S_2NR » October 22nd, 2011, 9:11 pm

Steve Jobs:

Apple copied the notification centre from Android.. :roll:

achillies

Re: Re: Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby achillies » October 22nd, 2011, 9:26 pm

mitch wrote:
achillies wrote:
mitch wrote:decided to take the plunge and isntall CM7.1 on the SII in anticipation of getting vanilla ICS on it :lol:

surprisingly this is the first time i ever installed a custom rom :|

CM7.1 is sweet though. anybody using ADW Launcher EX? is it worth the upgrade?

Using it on stock rom but I didn't buy it, it hasn't been updated for months, not gonna buy it unless I see some development, how is CM7 though?

edit: scratch that. Go Launcher EX is full of win! plus it's free 8-)

I tried that launcher after reading your post

Wow eh, real customizations here boi.
Last edited by achillies on October 23rd, 2011, 8:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 22nd, 2011, 9:38 pm

yeah boy, real clean and smooth. up to now i still customizing with all the widgets and thing :lol:

the calendar and note widget, wow. gonna try out the contacts widget next.

amazed that this launcher is free :|

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 22nd, 2011, 9:39 pm

S_2NR wrote:

Steve Jobs:

Apple copied the notification centre from Android.. :roll:

shhhh doh say them things. Apple doh rip off nobody. only them does come up with new things :roll:

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » October 22nd, 2011, 10:21 pm

How is the camera on cm7 on sg2? I know the rom is good but i like my camera in working order.

Postby S_2NR » October 22nd, 2011, 10:29 pm

right now i gettin random reboots on cm7.
its a good rom but not as stable as stock.
actually no custom rom is as stable as stock.

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » October 22nd, 2011, 10:55 pm

Hmm..liten'ning rom gives me random reboots also but like 3-5 a day.. Do you recommend it tho?

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » October 22nd, 2011, 10:56 pm

What about the cm7 camera app? Is mhl to mhl supported?

Postby S_2NR » October 22nd, 2011, 11:19 pm

cm7 is probably the most stable of them all.
ive had two reboots for the month.
this is nexus s btw.

i use camera zoom fx as my camera app.

idk what mhl is?

Postby r3iXmann » October 22nd, 2011, 11:29 pm

S_2NR wrote:cm7 is probably the most stable of them all.

not for captivate :lol: :lol:

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » October 22nd, 2011, 11:47 pm

Mhl to hdmi out srry..

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » October 23rd, 2011, 1:54 pm

Something to consider when buying an expensive phone.

Postby S_2NR » October 23rd, 2011, 2:07 pm

Gorilla glass iymc :lol:
Where d apple fanboys

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » October 23rd, 2011, 10:35 pm

Steve Jobs:

this is a classic case of

achillies

Postby achillies » October 23rd, 2011, 11:41 pm

Using Boat Browser, not as smooth as stock but nice nonetheless. Actually posting from it right now.

zahc

Postby zahc » October 24th, 2011, 11:16 am

r3iXmann wrote:

Nah man have to disagree with you there....I've tried fasty, fasty II, serendipity VII and now on CM7.1....this is the best custom rom that I've used to date. Give it a 2nd chance.

achillies

Postby achillies » October 24th, 2011, 12:22 pm

Does anyone who is using Tapatalk have problems with the app forgetting your favorites?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 24th, 2011, 12:50 pm

S_2NR wrote:Apple copied the notification centre from Android.. :roll:

I give you +1.

Now... if there was no iOS from Apple, there'd be no Android.
Me = +100

Postby r3iXmann » October 24th, 2011, 1:23 pm

zahc wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:

Nah man have to disagree with you there....I've tried fasty, fasty II, serendipity VII and now on CM7.1....this is the best custom rom that I've used to date. Give it a 2nd chance.

i did..for about 2 weeks straight i tested roms

in order to use cm7 and keep it stable, i had to keep running "captivate keep alive"

serendipity vii was the most stable OOB

achillies

Postby achillies » October 24th, 2011, 1:34 pm

Strauss wrote:

I give you +1.

Me = +100

Hold up their homie, you really think the iphone was all Apple's idea

History is a set of lies agreed upon - Napoleon Bonaparte

But there would be those who know the truth, the real truth

Me=+infinity

The design idea was already there, Apple just slapped a patent on it

Cid

Postby Cid » October 24th, 2011, 2:21 pm

BODOWWWWW !!!!!

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 24th, 2011, 2:49 pm

achillies wrote:
Strauss wrote:

I give you +1.

Me = +100

Me=+infinity

Stop! Education time.

Apple been working on the iPhone since what... er... 2002? So they needed components so approached Samsung to supply parts for the iPhone. Apple sent Samsung their secret prototypes of the iPhone and guess what Samsung did?

Yup. The same thing Microsoft did in the mid-80's when Apple sent MS the prototype Macs to get MS's software. It's why Apple sued Microsoft then (and lost because of the lack of patents), and why Apple was quick to sue Samsung, this time with patents, not wanting a repeat of history.

Think of this... the retina display belongs to Samsung because it was developed and enchanced for the iPhone. Samsung is Apple BIGGEST SUPPLIER. i.e. Apple pays Samsung for their components in the iPhone. When Google saw how Apple changed the game with iOS, they wanted in on the action. Apple already did the R&D and developed the business/OS model.

Samsung didn't even try to be different. They took the same parts they were supplying Apple with and made their own phone, slapped on Android and make it look exactly like the iPhone.

You = +infinity ?

Cid

Postby Cid » October 24th, 2011, 3:02 pm

sweet comeback.....

achillies

Postby achillies » October 24th, 2011, 4:44 pm

Strauss wrote:
achillies wrote:
Strauss wrote:

I give you +1.

Me = +100

Me=+infinity

Stop! Education time.

Apple been working on the iPhone since what... er... 2002? So they needed components so approached Samsung to supply parts for the iPhone. Apple sent Samsung their secret prototypes of the iPhone and guess what Samsung did?

Yup. The same thing Microsoft did in the mid-80's when Apple sent MS the prototype Macs to get MS's software. It's why Apple sued Microsoft then (and lost because of the lack of patents), and why Apple was quick to sue Samsung, this time with patents, not wanting a repeat of history.

Think of this... the retina display belongs to Samsung because it was developed and enchanced for the iPhone. Samsung is Apple BIGGEST SUPPLIER. i.e. Apple pays Samsung for their components in the iPhone. When Google saw how Apple changed the game with iOS, they wanted in on the action. Apple already did the R&D and developed the business/OS model.

Samsung didn't even try to be different. They took the same parts they were supplying Apple with and made their own phone, slapped on Android and make it look exactly like the iPhone.

You = +infinity ?

Tsk, tsk, tsk

Padna, if you want to believe that Apple invented something, go ahead, again, others will always know the truth, Here is Apple's biggest strengths

1. The are the best at making things better i.e they don't invent anything, they just make it better
2. Public Relations, Apple is brilliant at marketing and selling their image, this should probably be number 1, but apple is the best when it comes to fooling the masses, there are people that would believe anything that comes out of the late Steve Jobs mouth, and there are people who still believe that Apple invented the iPhone from scratch with no inspiration from anywhere else. That's why you could talk and not even respond to what your boy say in the video I posted, you probably didn't even see it....

Now lets deal with real history and not {His story}

Steve Jobs was inspired by the graphical user interface he saw at Xerox PARC and turned that into the Macintosh

Apple didn’t invent the smartphone, they stole the idea and reshaped the industry in their own vision. Yes, Apple has “copied” bits and pieces of iOS from other sources

Apple didn’t invent the tablet computer, they stole the idea and now iOS is the template for the tablet market.

Apple copied the iPod from Kane Kramer, copied the MacOS “dock” from Acorn computers.

Was sued by Burst.com and settled for the technology used in the iPod and iTunes.

Copied the iPhone from LG Prada, NeoNode, and Samsung F700, copied parts of iOS (like swipe to unlock etc) from NeoNode.

Sued by Nokia and settled for patents related to GSM and UMTS standards as well as 802.11 WiFi technologies.

Sued by Cisco and settled for using the “iPhone” name.

Copied the Finder icon from a Picasso painting titled “Two Characters”

Copied the App Store from Jailbreak/Cydia.

Sued by Personal Audio and lost for patents related to playlist implementation on the iPod. Personal Audio was awarded $8 million.

Was sued by Mirror Worlds and lost for patents related to Cover Flow, Time Machine, and Spotlight features found in Mac OS X and iOS. Apple was ordered to pay $625.5 million to Mirror Worlds.

Copied Android features that include Notifications, Wireless syncing, Tabbed browsing, New split keyboard, Open apps from the lock screen, and Over the air updates.

And I am sure I can find more "dirt" no matter how clean and cultivated the image of 'Apple" is. All in all padna, I love android and you love iOS so let's use the OS we love instead of trying to say one better than the other, the biggest saint was a sinner, so stop being the POT trying to call the KETTLE black

After all Steve Jobs done toting off of Android, but he had a lot of people toting in his time too, you know what they say about Karma right, don't hate the player hoss, hate the game

Edited for a bit more clarity
Last edited by achillies on October 24th, 2011, 5:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.