COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Mmoney607

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 35428 cases, 969 deaths, 5753 active, 28706 recovered in T&T

Postby Mmoney607 » July 16th, 2021, 6:03 pm

j.o.e wrote:Brace for the mother of all spikes in 3-4 weeks time. Lockdown or ride it out will be the question.

So why is our govt doing this?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 35428 cases, 969 deaths, 5753 active, 28706 recovered in T&T

Postby j.o.e » July 16th, 2021, 6:05 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Brace for the mother of all spikes in 3-4 weeks time. Lockdown or ride it out will be the question.

So why is our govt doing this?

There is no easy way out of pandemics like this. Lockdowns save lives but kill livelihoods. In an ideal world we lockdown for a month again and vaccinate aggressively. I don’t think Trinis willing to wait anymore though.

Postby st7 » July 16th, 2021, 6:09 pm

it's good business for the 1% to kill the middle class businesses :)

Postby redmanjp » July 16th, 2021, 6:10 pm

they should just open up street food as it is outdoors with plenty ventilation and allow curbside, delivery and drive through for fast food. no indoor takeaway. cases not going down further.

and why expand vaccination to younger ppl while older ppl still dying in double digits? the younger ppl will go on their computers and make their appointments while we still have older ppl who never use a computer and thus be left to die from covid.

Postby aaron17 » July 16th, 2021, 6:11 pm

Food not opening up ...they could make that decision and roll back on construction if they smart. What their projections seeing?

Postby aaron17 » July 16th, 2021, 6:14 pm

So what caused the spike?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » July 16th, 2021, 6:16 pm

Look. They were instructed to reopen the airport. Then they say it would dotish if borders open but nothing else open. Hence the reason why they had to reopen food places.

Postby j.o.e » July 16th, 2021, 6:17 pm

aaron17 wrote:

The one I predict is coming ? We’re hovering between 150-200 with all the current measures in place. I think the extra movement of people will only cause that to jump. That’s just my guess.

Postby aaron17 » July 16th, 2021, 6:20 pm

aaron17 wrote:
I take it back ..it is construction. I noticed it personally. Workers were mingling close..some i seeing noses. I saw a chinese man shovelling red sand with no mask on close to ppl in the car park.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » July 16th, 2021, 6:22 pm

aaron17 wrote:
I take it back ..it is construction. I noticed it personally. Workers were mingling close..some i seeing noses. I saw a chinese man shovelling red sand with no mask on close to ppl in the car park.

But construction #vaccinatetooperate

Postby aaron17 » July 16th, 2021, 6:25 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:Look. They were instructed to reopen the airport. Then they say it would dotish if borders open but nothing else open. Hence the reason why they had to reopen food places.
We country itself cant open up first and then borders?its like opening bars first... steups.

Postby aaron17 » July 16th, 2021, 6:27 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
aaron17 wrote:

But construction #vaccinatetooperate
Not everyone it seems.

Postby paid_influencer » July 16th, 2021, 6:36 pm

redmanjp wrote:they should just open up street food as it is outdoors with plenty ventilation and allow curbside, delivery and drive through for fast food. no indoor takeaway. cases not going down further.

they should do like the San'do mayor do. The night time food scene creates liming and congregation. He ban vendors from operating in Cross Crossing until Aug 2nd.

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/07/14/sando- ... two-weeks/

“All we are asking is to hold on for another two weeks. You would not die in two weeks. Let’s hope that things would relax somewhat and that would give us some more space to operate. Our responsibility is to save lives.”

(Crowds will have to do the responsible thing and go to KFC instead).

Postby hover11 » July 16th, 2021, 6:52 pm

Remember your words if you end up in ICU
wtf wrote:Time to open up. Who dead dead. That's there fault.

Postby hover11 » July 16th, 2021, 6:57 pm

He changed his words after the uproar everyone made , everyone wants to reopen so food vendors in that area will reopen on Monday as well. Let's see the results of such in two weeks
paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:they should just open up street food as it is outdoors with plenty ventilation and allow curbside, delivery and drive through for fast food. no indoor takeaway. cases not going down further.

they should do like the San'do mayor do. The night time food scene creates liming and congregation. He ban vendors from operating in Cross Crossing until Aug 2nd.

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/07/14/sando- ... two-weeks/

“All we are asking is to hold on for another two weeks. You would not die in two weeks. Let’s hope that things would relax somewhat and that would give us some more space to operate. Our responsibility is to save lives.”

(Crowds will have to do the responsible thing and go to KFC instead).

Postby paid_influencer » July 16th, 2021, 7:01 pm

hover11 wrote:He changed his words after the uproar everyone made , everyone wants to reopen so food vendors in that area will reopen on Monday as well. Let's see the results of such in two weeks

this is very good news imo. Some good food on the cross and not everybody want KFC.

Postby aaron17 » July 16th, 2021, 7:08 pm

hover11 wrote:Remember your words if you end up in ICU
I remember i was known as the quietest person in class in secondary school...early forms. One day we had no teacher and our class was rel loud. So we were caught red handed by another teacher and all of us were penalized...me included.

Postby hover11 » July 16th, 2021, 7:47 pm

CDC warns Covid-19 vaccines might not protect people who are immunocompromised

By Elizabeth Cohen, CNN
Updated 2244 GMT (0644 HKT) July 16, 2021

Despite being fully vaccinated, immunocompromised man shares his Covid diagnosis and 'long haul' struggle 06:25

(CNN)The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention on Friday warned people who are immunocompromised that the Covid-19 vaccine may not have been effective for them and encouraged them to take precautions as if they were not vaccinated.

"People who are immunocompromised should be counseled about the potential for reduced immune responses to COVID-19 vaccines and to follow current prevention measures (including wearing a mask, staying 6 feet apart from others staying they don't live with, and avoiding crowds and poorly ventilated indoor spaces) to protect themselves against COVID-19 until advised otherwise by their healthcare provider," according to the CDC's website.

[https://cdn]

Caught in a 'pickle,' millions of Americans might not have had an adequate response to the Covid-19 vaccine

The CDC did not go so far as to tell the millions of immunocompromised people in the US to get an additional shot of a Covid-19 vaccine, noting that "the safety, efficacy and benefit of additional doses for COVID-19 vaccines in immunocompromised persons continues to be evaluated."

A federal official told CNN that "CDC is looking into ongoing research exploring the possibility that immunocompromised could benefit from an additional dose."

Some immunocompromised people have, on their own, received additional doses of the vaccine, and a study last month by Johns Hopkins researchers suggested that an extra shot may help increase Covid-19 antibody levels for some organ transplant recipients who did not have a full response to their original vaccinations.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » July 16th, 2021, 8:00 pm

aaron17 wrote:
hover11 wrote:Remember your words if you end up in ICU
I remember i was known as the quietest person in class in secondary school...early forms. One day we had no teacher and our class was rel loud. So we were caught red handed by another teacher and all of us were penalized...me included.
Moral of the story?

Postby aaron17 » July 16th, 2021, 8:40 pm

The whole country have to take bull...regardless if the minority doing their chupidness

Postby MaxPower » July 16th, 2021, 8:45 pm

Friends,

The people and the people alone have the power to control what the situation would be when borders are opened and restrictions eased.

If Trinis want to jackass up the place, is the Govt wrong if they shut down again?

So don’t shut doen because OH the place hard and people need money?

Wear allyuh freaking masks, sanitize and keep your distances and STOP doing what allyuh want and expect the Govt to stay quiet.

Postby pugboy » July 16th, 2021, 9:41 pm

Yeah it maybe the reverse, need to see your surgeon and all their staff jab certificate.
Same for dentists, barbers, taxi drivers, optometrists

hover11 wrote:Makes sense we already have a shortage of doctors ....when next ppl have life saving surgeries ask the doctor if he is vaccinated
paid_influencer wrote:
pugboy wrote:Thought those staff would have been jabbed very early

hope the media picks up the story and starts asking what % of Scarborough General staff are unvaxxed. Yes hospital employees have a right to refuse the vaccine but maybe they shouldn't be allowed to work in the hospital if it puts patients' lives at risk.

Postby redmanjp » July 17th, 2021, 2:28 am

Postby redmanjp » July 17th, 2021, 4:13 am

Postby adnj » July 17th, 2021, 5:34 am

pugboy wrote:Yeah it maybe the reverse, need to see your surgeon and all their staff jab certificate.
Same for dentists, barbers, taxi drivers, optometrists

hover11 wrote:Makes sense we already have a shortage of doctors ....when next ppl have life saving surgeries ask the doctor if he is vaccinated
paid_influencer wrote:
pugboy wrote:Thought those staff would have been jabbed very early

hope the media picks up the story and starts asking what % of Scarborough General staff are unvaxxed. Yes hospital employees have a right to refuse the vaccine but maybe they shouldn't be allowed to work in the hospital if it puts patients' lives at risk.

This.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 17th, 2021, 7:40 am

Four more health workers test positive
At last week’s Covid-19 briefing, Thompson reported that three of the 11 patients who tested positive among the cluster had died.
He said 27 hospital workers, including doctors, nurses and physiotherapists also tested positive.
Giving an update on the cluster of cases, Thompson yesterday said four additional healthcare workers received positive results, bringing the total number of positive staff members to 31.
“This included one medical officer. The rest of the staff at the medical records department were tested, 18 persons in total, all of whom tested negative,” he said.
He said surveillance testing is ongoing in other ­departments of the Tobago Regional Health ­Authority.
He said of the 24 nurses tested in the Covid-19 Intensive Care Unit, six were found to be positive, 15 were negative, and results for two were pending.

Thought the rowliar an de-lie-singh say it hav no cluster in scarborough hospital an is jus misinformation and fake news? Dese UNC troublemakers went on dey blasted calcutta ship and give dem covid, lol.
meanswhile we getting reject vaccine that soon to be irrelevant once delta and lambda hits, but then again we can find & spend precious millions of USD on crap vaccines, the failed LNG Train1 that suppliers warned it didn't have gas for and even tax exemptions for ministers luxury cars as things are looking up for them yet businesses cya get USD for nothing yet must pay taxes and levies. banana republic in yuh mc take bull.

Postby paid_influencer » July 17th, 2021, 8:55 am

daxt0r wrote:Thought the rowliar an de-lie-singh say it hav no cluster in scarborough hospital an is jus misinformation and fake news? Dese UNC troublemakers went on dey blasted calcutta ship and give dem covid, lol.
meanswhile we getting reject vaccine that soon to be irrelevant once delta and lambda hits, but then again we can find & spend precious millions of USD on crap vaccines, the failed LNG Train1 that suppliers warned it didn't have gas for and even tax exemptions for ministers luxury cars as things are looking up for them yet businesses cya get USD for nothing yet must pay taxes and levies. banana republic in yuh mc take bull.

tru

31 staff + 11 patients + 4 deaths so far from the Scarborough General outbreak

Postby paid_influencer » July 17th, 2021, 10:21 am

219633739_357888662362394_3774110618163549183_n.jpg

I put some fresh yellow flowers by Lord Ganesh this morning. So lewwe hope.

Postby aaron17 » July 17th, 2021, 10:32 am

paid_influencer wrote:
219633739_357888662362394_3774110618163549183_n.jpg

I put some fresh yellow flowers by Lord Ganesh this morning. So lewwe hope.
Roll back?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » July 17th, 2021, 10:34 am

Time to open everything.