Building a house in Trinidad

dtopshottas

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby dtopshottas » July 23rd, 2019, 10:26 pm

Hello 2NRS want to know the cost of a 7ft 10"x10" square column? One place quoted me $650. Is that the regular price or a mad man price? Thanks in advance.

Postby rspann » July 24th, 2019, 5:10 pm

What is a 7ft 10x10 column if you don't mind me asking?

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 24th, 2019, 9:34 pm

rspann wrote:What is a 7ft 10x10 column if you don't mind me asking?

Probably one of those prefab decorative concrete columns that you fill with concrete?

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 25th, 2019, 1:28 pm

Hey folks not familiar with the land/building thing at all but want to get started with smth.
I want to build something modeled after my small apartment where i currently stay but standalone for the hour as its what i can afford to start with.

Basically i want to construct a 25x20 concrete box with a raised partial roof on the concrete decking for like a hammock to chill upstairs or something. So for those experienced in the field what's a rough estimate to do this and how long would it take? Any suggested builders/small contractors for this job?

The land is in the Macaulay area which has real slippage on road and land so i may need someone to do some kind of structural advice on how to proceed beforehand. Same as above any estimate or recommended people...

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » July 25th, 2019, 7:55 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
rspann wrote:What is a 7ft 10x10 column if you don't mind me asking?

Probably one of those prefab decorative concrete columns that you fill with concrete?

Yes, the decorative columns. I need a few for a decking. Just wanted to know the price range.

Postby adnj » July 26th, 2019, 10:10 am

daxt0r wrote:Hey folks not familiar with the land/building thing at all but want to get started with smth.
I want to build something modeled after my small apartment where i currently stay but standalone for the hour as its what i can afford to start with.

Basically i want to construct a 25x20 concrete box with a raised partial roof on the concrete decking for like a hammock to chill upstairs or something. So for those experienced in the field what's a rough estimate to do this and how long would it take? Any suggested builders/small contractors for this job?

The land is in the Macaulay area which has real slippage on road and land so i may need someone to do some kind of structural advice on how to proceed beforehand. Same as above any estimate or recommended people...

Sloped or unstable land indicates the probable need to confer with a structural engineer.

Expect anywhere from $500 to $800 per sq ft. For the 500 sq ft home that you mentioned, that's $250,000 to $500,000. Once your plans and approvals are complete, you should be able to have the construction completed in less than nine months after mobilization, depending on the contractors and other factors.

Of course, you may be able to lower the cost by leaving some things unfinished or doing some things yourself.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 26th, 2019, 11:06 am

adnj wrote:
daxt0r wrote:Hey folks not familiar with the land/building thing at all but want to get started with smth.

Sloped or unstable land indicates the probable need to confer with a structural engineer.

Expect anywhere from $500 to $800 per sq ft. For the 500 sq ft home that you mentioned, that's $250,000 to $500,000. Once your plans and approvals are complete, you should be able to have the construction completed in less than nine months after mobilization, depending on the contractors and other factors.

Of course, you may be able to lower the cost by leaving some things unfinished or doing some things yourself.

You serious??? I see my padna build something [30x30] on his own that is bigger with far far less (-50000), heck i heard people build full upstairs and downstairs for less than that. Given that estimate a large apartment building that has 20 such apartments would cause millions to build then???

ok i definitely need to reconsider my approach with this building ting then. thanks.

Postby adnj » July 26th, 2019, 4:12 pm

daxt0r wrote:
adnj wrote:

You serious??? I see my padna build something [30x30] on his own that is bigger with far far less (-50000), heck i heard people build full upstairs and downstairs for less than that. Given that estimate a large apartment building that has 20 such apartments would cause millions to build then???

ok i definitely need to reconsider my approach with this building ting then. thanks.
You have to decide what you are planning to build. Some do build at about $300 per sq ft.

If you want to economize, you can. Eliminate internal plastering, ceilings, floor tiling, etc. Use unrendered block for the exterior walls, simple galvanized sheeting for the roof, do not air condition any rooms, do not install burglar proofing, etc. You could install your own roofing, plumbing, electrical, septic tank, etc.

You can certainly get started with less than $50k if that is all that you have to spend. But what you end up with will certainly look like it's worth about what you put in to it.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 28th, 2019, 5:59 am

rite rite ihu, i could do the value add stuff after with same said padna for free but i really have to keep the initial costs down as it more important to kinda get the roof over my head first na and money real tight. Is really the concrete/steel structural work i will need assistance in as the electrical, plumbing, painting, etc we go handle to keep cost down.

The guy i bought the land from is paying for the construction of the retaining wall and the excavator to cut the road and prep land i just have to advise them on how i want it done based on the house i want to build and placement but i really don't have a clue about these things so that's where am stuck. Sayin that what kinda person/professional i will need to advise on the SMALL land remodelling(not sure if this is correct term) like this to prepare the land for the structure cuz Macaulay have real land slippage.

One more question, once a deed valuated and registered with new owner after purchase minus the TC stuff can a person start to build immediately? Would there be any problems with utilities without TC given the is behind god back in Macaulay?

thx for help padna.

Postby pugboy » July 28th, 2019, 7:09 am

if land is freehold you might get away with building without t&c
just stay within the rules, road/boundary wall setbacks etc

if it is leasehold they tend to be tighter and well if you have neighbours who like to cause trouble they might report you to the local corporation for spite

you should get a second opinion on how to prep the land from a person in the know with soil conditions and drainage etc
dont want problems down the road esp if neighbours also develop their land and cause effect on yours

Postby Kenjo » July 28th, 2019, 10:46 am

pugboy wrote:if land is freehold you might get away with building without t&c

if it is leasehold they tend to be tighter and well if you have neighbours who like to cause trouble they might report you to the local corporation for spite

you should get a second opinion on how to prep the land from a person in the know with soil conditions and drainage etc
dont want problems down the road esp if neighbours also develop their land and cause effect on yours

Yes it always has one person might do a ratch and next few years Someone else or his walls cracking self

konartis

Postby konartis » July 28th, 2019, 11:23 am

Get a good estimate from a contractor who comes and see the work to be done, explain the money you have to do it etc to get a better understanding.....

Postby pugboy » July 28th, 2019, 1:16 pm

Not only that, it have plenty so called developers who buying swamp or bad quality land and doing all kinda backfill to make it look good and to make a quick buck.
Not saying that is the case here, if it was possible to see a pic of how the land was prior to development could be helpful too.

Kenjo wrote:

Yes it always has one person might do a ratch and next few years Someone else or his walls cracking self

Postby rspann » July 28th, 2019, 3:04 pm

[quote="pugboy"]Not only that, it have plenty so called developers who buying swamp or bad quality land and doing all kinda backfill to make it look good and to make a quick buck.
Not saying that is the case here, if it was possible to see a pic of how the land was prior to development could be helpful too.

How Greenvale come in thsi?

Postby pugboy » July 28th, 2019, 3:27 pm

nah govt wouldnt do that man

Postby rspann » July 28th, 2019, 5:12 pm

For Rahhaal they would!

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 29th, 2019, 2:56 pm

sounds good, can you recommend someone to do that soil/drainage evaluation? I called CARIRI but that pricing seems more to businesses not potential homeowners.
anyone been up that side recently? Know if they fix the REAL bad landslip around the corner?

Postby adnj » July 29th, 2019, 4:22 pm

daxt0r wrote:

sounds good, can you recommend someone to do that soil/drainage evaluation? I called CARIRI but that pricing seems more to businesses not potential homeowners.
anyone been up that side recently? Know if they fix the REAL bad landslip around the corner?

To lessen the chances that you throw away your hard-earned cash:

You may want to get a drawing of the layout of you proposed home from a draftsman or very inexpensive architect. You can do this yourself with a ruler and pencil.

Stop by Town and Country Planning and ask about applying for outline approvals. If you have the drawing, they will tell you what you need to add or if you are missing anything.

https://planning.gov.tt/content/town-and-country-planning-division-services

Contact the Trinidad and Tobago Board of Engineers for a list of names of structural engineers. If you have hired a draftsman or architect, they will be able to recommend someone.

http://www.boett.org/cms/registrants

An engineer's consultation my be only a few hundred dollars if no drawings or site visits are required.

You could also ask people that have built in your area what they did but in my experience, that typically does not work out well.

If you need the name of a contractor, ask people in the area that you plan to build in. Be sure that the work is up to your standards, also. It's always best to get a contractor that can show you completed projects with satisfied owners.

Edit: you could also consider a shipping container home. It would be immediately livable and you can move it or sell it later, if you wish. Image
Last edited by adnj on July 29th, 2019, 4:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » July 29th, 2019, 9:17 pm

Kronik wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:ah come in here for some guidance

i.e: building of kitchen cupboards(recommend some1, or some people or reputable businesses please)
I think it's roopnarine I see selling complete kitchen units for around 20k

These “dust” within a year

boxy

Postby boxy » August 1st, 2019, 3:42 pm

Sumana.00 wrote:
Kronik wrote:

i.e: building of kitchen cupboards(recommend some1, or some people or reputable businesses please)

What do you mean by dust

Kronik

Postby Kronik » August 1st, 2019, 4:54 pm

ArkAll trading also has real nice stuff for kitchen and flooring and ceiling, they not that big to have real variety, but what they have is nice stuff and the prices not bad compared to these big places

Postby *KRONIK* » August 1st, 2019, 5:23 pm

I wont say so

I did an entire kitchen from them over 5 years now....still good
No “dusting”
Sumana.00 wrote:
Kronik wrote:

Postby rspann » August 1st, 2019, 6:47 pm

Me, I buying teak and melamine board and building cupboards that last.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » August 5th, 2019, 12:24 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:I wont say so

I did an entire kitchen from them over 5 years now....still good
No “dusting”
Sumana.00 wrote:
Kronik wrote:

Maybe it's the batch of proudcts, mine was done about 3-4 years ago

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » August 5th, 2019, 12:24 pm

rspann wrote:Me, I buying teak and melamine board and building cupboards that last.

Usually works out more cost-effective also

Postby rspann » August 5th, 2019, 12:33 pm

Sumana.00 wrote:
rspann wrote:Me, I buying teak and melamine board and building cupboards that last.

Usually works out more cost-effective also

Exactly. People often wonder how I could put Teak cupboards for tenants.

Postby gastly369 » August 5th, 2019, 7:22 pm

Yeh peeps have a little issue .what can you recommend

Have a door similar to this and with the rains I'm getting water coming in bypassing the rubber seal that's around the frame..
I'm looking to change it out any recommendations on what to use and where to get it for a proper water seal?
gloguard.jpeg

Postby rspann » August 5th, 2019, 7:34 pm

Radica trading and Douglas and Douglas upholsterers has a rubber that can replace it if yours bad. Still I cant see why it should leak. Put a skyon polycarbonate awning over it.

Postby gastly369 » August 5th, 2019, 7:46 pm

rspann wrote:Radica trading and Douglas and Douglas upholsterers has a rubber that can replace it if yours bad. Still I cant see why it should leak. Put a skyon polycarbonate awning over it.
Normally rain don't hit it ..but with the "backwards rainfall" hitting entire door ..I do have the awning for it but I'll try a new seal also

eitech

Postby eitech » August 5th, 2019, 8:21 pm

Anyone could recommend a good under the sink water filter?