Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Virus » March 19th, 2011, 1:27 pm

M_2NR state the components i always wanted to build me one for the same purpose

Postby M_2NR » March 19th, 2011, 1:38 pm

Apex MI-100 Case with 250W PSU (on sale right now for $13 cheaper)
Intel BOXD525MW w/ D525 Dual Atom @ 1.8Ghz (price was $87 now its $80)
SODIMM RAM, HDD.

Virus

Postby Virus » March 19th, 2011, 4:21 pm

M_2NR wrote:Apex MI-100 Case with 250W PSU (on sale right now for $13 cheaper)
Intel BOXD525MW w/ D525 Dual Atom @ 1.8Ghz (price was $87 now its $80)
SODIMM RAM, HDD.

Thanks bro

Postby M_2NR » March 19th, 2011, 4:25 pm

no probs. :)

ALIEN

Postby ALIEN » March 21st, 2011, 9:58 pm

HIS RADEON HD 5870 EYEFINITY 6 GPU

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=358191

Postby Sinister_Audio » March 23rd, 2011, 2:54 am

gtx590 is almost out :mrgreen:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 23rd, 2011, 5:57 am

Sinister_Audio wrote:gtx590 is almost out :mrgreen:

:O nvidia pushin out cards rel quick

Virus

Postby Virus » March 23rd, 2011, 7:11 am

gracen wrote:
Sinister_Audio wrote:gtx590 is almost out :mrgreen:

:O nvidia pushin out cards rel quick

And to think games taking forever to come out, I just waiting on Dirt 3, Batman Arkham city :D

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » March 23rd, 2011, 3:18 pm

i doh see the need to go sandy bridge......most trinidadians will buy gaming monsters just to play vid games...some do auto cad on it but then ur gpu will be inappropriate cuz graphics cards *render* images produced and autocad *generates objects in a virtual enviroment.....so u wouldnt see a big difference in fps..only by about 5fps in most cases.....but if u upgrading from a old dual core to sandybridge or core i7 then you'll see a bump in frames....so if yuh rocking a hard i7 940 like me then u wont be bothered by the new sandy bridge...nd putting a gpu in a cpu??? come on man why the hell we spending all that money on dictated cards for?

Postby M_2NR » March 23rd, 2011, 7:51 pm

ok big man. plus its DEDICATED CARDS not dictated ;)

___

So today i got the odd feeling to clean my pc... GOD DAMN let me first say... that zalman is a big b!tch to clean! I didnt even start to clean it and got cut :|
Man i wish my floor carpet wasnt so bad though. The amount of dust! I sort of reorganized my Antec900 as I put the two HDD trays on top now. This made cable management a none issue wrt to air flow.
Fun times

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 23rd, 2011, 10:19 pm

nice!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 23rd, 2011, 10:34 pm

shaq090 wrote:i doh see the need to go sandy bridge......most trinidadians will buy gaming monsters just to play vid games...some do auto cad on it but then ur gpu will be inappropriate cuz graphics cards *render* images produced and autocad *generates objects in a virtual enviroment.....so u wouldnt see a big difference in fps..only by about 5fps in most cases.....but if u upgrading from a old dual core to sandybridge or core i7 then you'll see a bump in frames....so if yuh rocking a hard i7 940 like me then u wont be bothered by the new sandy bridge...nd putting a gpu in a cpu??? come on man why the hell we spending all that money on dictated cards for?
if you already have a i7 940 then you can wait until the new set of enthusiast board some out for Sandy Bridge LGS 2011

but a i7 990x is US$999 and a i7 2600k is US$330
the Sandy Bridge comes very close to Extreme performance for 1/3 of the cost
that is the value of Sandy Bridge

also for people with a need to convert video files to watch on their mobile device or TV:
"Sandy Bridge has dedicated video transcode hardware that it demoed during the keynote. The demo used Cyberlink’s Media Espresso to convert a ~1 minute long 30Mbps 1080p HD video clip to an iPhone compatible format. On Sandy Bridge the conversion finished in a matter of a few seconds."
that is the value of a built in GPU

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 23rd, 2011, 11:57 pm

guys i need a little help please.
i just finished building a new rig
i7 950
asus x58 sabretooth
12gb corsair dominator ram

i bought a hd5870 eyefinity 6 card for it but when i went to boot the system it will not display anything worried that maybe there was a post problem i put my 4870 in there and it posted fine.
is there a special way to get a 5870 eyefinity 6 card to post i have a corsair 850w psu i connected the 8pin and the 6 pin power connectors for it but it will not display the fans are on and everything. i was wandering if it was a mini dp problem i am using a mini dp to dvi then dvi to hdmi adapter that came with the card any help would be very much appreciated i have already organised an rma and the new 5870 will be here this week.
and also how do you get an intel 128gb ssd to register on the 6gb/s satas it would only register on the normal 3gb/s
Last edited by jm3 on March 24th, 2011, 12:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 24th, 2011, 12:01 am

^^Well that cable interconnect setup supposed to work fine.

Could be either the card faulty or the board's BIOS need an update.

The card didn't come with a mini dp to hdmi cable? Seeing the Sapphire card has two of those included.
Last edited by HCCA on March 24th, 2011, 12:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 24th, 2011, 12:03 am

didnt think about the bios on the board i better check that now

i also noticed that the card was extremely hot even though it wasnt doing anything

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 24th, 2011, 12:05 am

jm3 wrote:didnt think about the bios on the board i better check that now

i also noticed that the card was extremely hot even though it wasnt doing anything

Test the card on a different system just in case.

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 24th, 2011, 12:09 am

HCCA wrote:^^Well that cable interconnect setup supposed to work fine.

Could be either the card faulty or the board's BIOS need an update.

The card didn't come with a mini dp to hdmi cable? Seeing the Sapphire card has two of those included.

yeh it came with them but the hdmi on the cable is different to te main cable i have it's bigger it is a sapphire card i have but it is not working whether i use vga dvi or hdmi.

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 24th, 2011, 12:13 am

HCCA wrote:
jm3 wrote:didnt think about the bios on the board i better check that now

Test the card on a different system just in case.

i cant my amd system is giving trouble atm i'm still trying to figure out whats wrong with it.

Virus

Postby Virus » March 24th, 2011, 5:53 am

Thats one of the cons of no onboard gpu else i would have you try post without the card then try and diagnose from there back.

mini dp to dvi then dvi to hdmi :shock: thats real unnecessary connections there pal, 1st thing you should avoid is doing that. mini dp - hdmi is all you need get the correct cables. I am sure you were aware of the setup you were building its only necessary with a rig like that to full proof everything, for all we know that daisy chain of interconnect didnt fry the card. :roll:

intel 128gb ssd to register on the 6gb/s satas it would only register on the normal 3gb/s
I don't understand what you are asking here when you say register what are you talking about?

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » March 24th, 2011, 7:13 am

hmmmmmm u tried connecting just one dp to a monitor? nd the gpu probly running hot because there isnt no drivers installed so it is most likely running @100% and the fans aint recognize it.....if not that then test the cable to see if it actually working....sometimes a bad cable is manufactured every now and then

xaira

Postby xaira » March 24th, 2011, 9:15 am

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS ... 590/1.html

6990 wins, by a hair, but it counts, AMD stays ontop

Virus

Postby Virus » March 24th, 2011, 9:32 am

xaira wrote:http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/GeForce_GTX_590/1.html

6990 wins, by a hair, but it counts, AMD stays ontop

But not in all test, i would consider it a neck and neck but in terms of bang for buck that would be up to user and real world applications

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 24th, 2011, 10:44 am

Virus wrote:Thats one of the cons of no onboard gpu else i would have you try post without the card then try and diagnose from there back.i posted it with a 4870

mini dp to dvi then dvi to hdmi :shock: thats real unnecessary connections there pal, 1st thing you should avoid is doing that.
i had to to that for testing as the projectors that are actually going to be used are not here yet so i hadto get something to connect it to the tv but the tv's hdmi was different to the hdmi adapter for the card
mini dp - hdmi is all you need get the correct cables. I am sure you were aware of the setup you were building its only necessary with a rig like that to full proof everything, for all we know that daisy chain of interconnect didnt fry the card. :roll:
that was actually a reccommended connection configuration in the manual lol but it seems the adapters that come with the card for the mini dp's are some kind of custom oem even the dv'is are slightly different to a normal dvi

intel 128gb ssd to register on the 6gb/s satas it would only register on the normal 3gb/s
I don't understand what you are asking here when you say register what are you talking about? when i entered the bios to check everything over it did not detect the ssd in the 6gb/s sata's when i reconnected the ssd in the 3gb sata it detected it obviously i bought an ssd to be fast so i would prefer it in the 6gb sata slots

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2011, 10:48 am

^ just get one of these
http://3ne2nr.me/iat3yN

Mini HDMI adapter

I use one for my DSLR, works great

always avoid complicated connections

jm3 wrote: when i entered the bios to check everything over it did not detect the ssd in the 6gb/s sata's when i reconnected the ssd in the 3gb sata it detected it obviously i bought an ssd to be fast so i would prefer it in the 6gb sata slots
unless you paid US$1200+ for your SSD chances are it's a SATA II SSD, which means it cannot really make use of the SATA III 6GB/s connection speed

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 24th, 2011, 10:51 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ just get one of these
http://3ne2nr.me/iat3yN

Mini HDMI adapter

I use one for my DSLR, works great

always avoid complicated connections

lol you see you would have fallen for the same thing that is not what the hdmi looks like on the ati adapters that is the kind i expected and have the cables for but the actual ones are completely different

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2011, 10:52 am

^ can you post a photo of it?

you should have gotten this

the passive mini DP to HDMI is what you should use for your HDTV

Virus

Postby Virus » March 24th, 2011, 10:58 am

jm3 wrote:
Virus wrote:Thats one of the cons of no onboard gpu else i would have you try post without the card then try and diagnose from there back.i posted it with a 4870

mini dp to dvi then dvi to hdmi :shock: thats real unnecessary connections there pal, 1st thing you should avoid is doing that.
i had to to that for testing as the projectors that are actually going to be used are not here yet so i hadto get something to connect it to the tv but the tv's hdmi was different to the hdmi adapter for the card
mini dp - hdmi is all you need get the correct cables. I am sure you were aware of the setup you were building its only necessary with a rig like that to full proof everything, for all we know that daisy chain of interconnect didnt fry the card. :roll:
that was actually a reccommended connection configuration in the manual lol but it seems the adapters that come with the card for the mini dp's are some kind of custom oem even the dv'is are slightly different to a normal dvi

I don't understand what you are asking here when you say register what are you talking about? when i entered the bios to check everything over it did not detect the ssd in the 6gb/s sata's when i reconnected the ssd in the 3gb sata it detected it obviously i bought an ssd to be fast so i would prefer it in the 6gb sata slots

But did it post with the 4870?

I now understand what you mean buy register ok well in short Sata 6gb is backward compatible so yes its supposed to read on a 3gb the only issue might be the chipset and its because of the chipset not supporting backward compatibility that's why its not registering as you say check your chipest or board manufacturer for details, Its supposed to work tho

Virus

Postby Virus » March 24th, 2011, 11:01 am

BTW even if it is an SSD using the 6gb port will show no real world difference as the drive will not even have the capabilities to reach that speed unless its a 6gb drive, so having it run in a 3 is the best bet even for performance standards

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2011, 11:02 am

jm3 what SSD are you using?

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 24th, 2011, 11:05 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ can you post a photo of it?

you should have gotten this

the passive mini DP to HDMI is what you should use for your HDTV

yep thats what i got but i didnt get anything with a dp to hdmi or at least not a hdmi that i have seen before i had mini dp- dp, mini dp - dvi. i had several of each the new card comes tomorrow so i will take pictures of it for you if the same happens the projecors are also expected tomorrow so all the problems will hopefully go away lol.