pugboy wrote:Send a pic

1438639902600.jpg

30" space for a range hood

3/4" between the base of cabinet and the side panel

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2015, 7:35 pm

Get a sheet metal shop to bend an l shaped piece to go from top to down right side
Butnless you really cooking full blast for extended periods of time i doubt there be enough time for heat to build up.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 4th, 2015, 11:29 am

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:recently bought 1 of these DEWALT Right Angle Attachment for my drill

http://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-DWARA100-R ... ngle+drill

its not something u gonna use often but for certain jobs its a must have for places ur drill cant fit - it works well .....

not trying to solicit business on a info thread :oops: but since a few ppl asked me : will u guys be interested in it ?

cant recall seeing this being sold in bhags or a few other local hardwares [correct me if im wrong] , have not worked out a price but for sure it will be under $200

let me know so i see what i can work out ...

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 4th, 2015, 7:45 pm

pugboy wrote:Get a sheet metal shop to bend an l shaped piece to go from top to down right side
Butnless you really cooking full blast for extended periods of time i doubt there be enough time for heat to build up.

Maybe the heat retardant material used under automotive carpeting? Cheap and will do what you need easily as there is no direct exposure to flame between the range hood and the cabinet.

Postby X_Factor » August 4th, 2015, 8:22 pm

i tell him, bakelite and talk done...just measure up the area that needs to be covered
3/16 or 1/4" and he in the game
you will not believe the heat blocking capabilities

Postby *KRONIK* » August 5th, 2015, 7:30 am

X_Factor wrote:i tell him, bakelite and talk done...just measure up the area that needs to be covered
3/16 or 1/4" and he in the game
you will not believe the heat blocking capabilities

i will pass by lotec this week and price it out

Postby Chimera » August 5th, 2015, 8:43 am

I heading to miami for 2 days early september. Not rly bringing back any weight for myself, if allyuh want any SMALL items that u wud normally get jam for taxes then lemme know. I is a nice fella. Me eh guh charge allyuh if customs doh charge me.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 5th, 2015, 10:47 am

Will take you up on that offer!

[GRIN]

Postby Ted_v2 » August 5th, 2015, 8:23 pm

So I went today and saw a ryobi bench grinder. 499$ which was a pretty good price. 6".

I have a question tho. What's the price of replacement grinding stones and wire wheels? And what sizes are common.

I'm also interesting getting a cutting torch setup. Sometimes a little heat is needed. I would like to get a portable unit. Maybe a small 20 pound propane bottle from ramco. But do they have smaller than the regular bottles for sale for the oxygen?

I have a bottle for medical gas which is pretty small maybe till the average person belly. Perfect size. Any inputs from you guys?

Postby Ted_v2 » August 5th, 2015, 8:25 pm

I'm ducking from the regular sizes bottles. I heard you can't buy them but rent them and can only fill in certain places.
What's the scene with this?

I know a piper had a full size bottle fs for 600$. I was going to buy it but I'm unaware of the situation.

Postby pugboy » August 5th, 2015, 9:52 pm

I think only company that does gases is IGL
so they can tell if the bottle is one of theirs and stolen or
a fully owned customer

Postby X_Factor » August 5th, 2015, 10:05 pm

the gas bottles that are about 1/3 the regular size is the bomb for a diy-er
my cuz has a set that ne never uses but doesnt wanna sell me
I saw a set upstairs by A1 tools in sanjuan, complete with regulator and cutting torch but i didnt ask for a price

Postby pugboy » August 5th, 2015, 10:16 pm

I have a full sized co2 tank from igl, only costs $20/month
haven't been back in 2 years as I don't use much with my mig welder

it is a real pain in the ass as it is so big and heavy
wish I could get the small aluminum ones coca cola uses

Postby Ted_v2 » August 5th, 2015, 10:21 pm

I saw allied have a nice diy set but I can't remember the cost. A was thinking to piece it together. Might come out better. I want something small and compact. Very rarely I'll use mine

Postby X_Factor » August 5th, 2015, 11:48 pm

Anyone who passes south side there is a place that sells used tools
its on the left side and not too far from the f.used parts places
can anyone get a contact number for them ?

Postby Chimera » August 6th, 2015, 12:02 am

where in south you talking about

Postby supercharged turbo » August 6th, 2015, 12:39 am

Ted_v2 wrote:I saw allied have a nice diy set but I can't remember the cost. A was thinking to piece it together. Might come out better. I want something small and compact. Very rarely I'll use mine
I think is $3200 for the set with regulator.Can't remember if you getting that mask and gloves with it to.

Postby supercharged turbo » August 6th, 2015, 12:40 am

X_Factor wrote:Anyone who passes south side there is a place that sells used tools
its on the left side and not too far from the f.used parts places
can anyone get a contact number for them ?
Wha kinda description is that.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 6th, 2015, 8:02 pm

Interested in any group buys you guys are considering, once funds are permitting.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 6th, 2015, 8:09 pm

Well I'm up for it also. But we need someone to do the purchasing and payments ect.

Raptor?

Postby *KRONIK* » August 6th, 2015, 8:48 pm

I inside for group buy...once we actually getting some savings eh...

Postby X_Factor » August 6th, 2015, 9:21 pm

it depends on what we are buying, the weight etc
if ur not in a hurry seaboxtt seems to be the best option wrt to reasonable shipping for stuff 8lbs up
but it takes about 3weeks

Postby X_Factor » August 6th, 2015, 9:26 pm

this seems like a decent diy sander to start a group buy
http://www.amazon.com/Black-Decker-BDER ... tal+sander

Postby *KRONIK* » August 7th, 2015, 6:46 am

right now....i looking to get one of these....

i have 3 chinese/cheapo jigsaws and NONE can do a good job!

Postby pugboy » August 7th, 2015, 7:42 am

bosch progressor corded
is the best

Postby *KRONIK* » August 7th, 2015, 9:31 am

Wont doubt it...i've used (borrowed) a couple bosch items in the past. They always perform great.
But i was looking at convenience.
1) cordless, in hate lugging a 50ft extension cord and looking for a plug then having to roll it up after.
2) i already have the 18v drill/driver/impact with 1hr charger so 1 more addition will be great
3) all my tools are for DIY. nothing commercial. So i just need good tools, not the best!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 7th, 2015, 12:34 pm

1 feature id advise everybody to look for regarding jigsaws is if it blows d dust off d cutting line

not sure if nowadays models have this but yrsss ago i have a cheap B&D that had that feature & after i bought a dewalt that costs 2 times d price it didnt have it

u will realize how annoying it is while cutting to be blowing dust with ur mouth or do like me & have 1 hand on d jigsaw & 1 hand on a airgun or put a fan nearby to blow d dust , sometimes i wonder if to buy a lil 3-4" box fan box & mount it on d jigsaw over d cut line ...

Postby *KRONIK* » August 7th, 2015, 1:59 pm

Agreed.
My dad's really old jigsaw didnt have that feature.

The dewalt in the previous post has an adjustable blower

Postby Chimera » August 7th, 2015, 2:03 pm

i had a set of these from harbour freight

very useful

lend a worker 3 to use....get back one

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 7th, 2015, 2:12 pm

Good info rovin, presently have a b&d and was considering upgrading.
I think I will hang on to the to it for the while. I also noticed it has a duct for a vacuum cleaner to attach. So probably look out for models with vacuum attachment.