COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 33805 cases, 903 deaths, 6378 active, 26524 recovered in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 8th, 2021, 7:41 pm

Wraith King wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
st7 wrote:2 months later and it's proven lockdowns doesn't help?

the peak was 700+ cases/day so it does help. we would be at 5000 per day the rate we were going with 100 deaths per day. thanks to the gamma/Brazilian variant's fast spread. if it was the original strain we might be down to 5 cases per day now.

What's your reasoning behind those figures?

Because less interaction slows the spread
If we went about without a lockdown the numbers would have been considerably higher

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 33805 cases, 903 deaths, 6378 active, 26524 recovered in T&T

Postby pugboy » July 8th, 2021, 8:25 pm

I see pfizer saying after 6 months their jab is now 64% effective and recommending a 3 booster

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 8th, 2021, 8:38 pm

Wraith King wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
st7 wrote:2 months later and it's proven lockdowns doesn't help?

the peak was 700+ cases/day so it does help. we would be at 5000 per day the rate we were going with 100 deaths per day. thanks to the gamma/Brazilian variant's fast spread. if it was the original strain we might be down to 5 cases per day now.

What's your reasoning behind those figures?

Because less interaction slows the spread
If we went about without a lockdown the numbers would have been considerably higher

Yes but how did he arrive at the figures of 5000 cases and 100 deaths per day if there wasn't a lockdown.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 8th, 2021, 8:41 pm

pugboy wrote:I see pfizer saying after 6 months their jab is now 64% effective and recommending a 3 booster

64% effective in what manner?

Postby paid_influencer » July 8th, 2021, 8:47 pm

^this CNN article has the context
https://edition.cnn.com/2021/07/08/heal ... index.html

that 64% number coming out of Israel and the Delta variant.

Pfizer's numbers are against the disease and infection. A third dose seems to dramatically boost immunity. The third dose would be 6-12 months after the second dose.

Israel's health ministry said in a statement earlier this week that it had seen efficacy of Pfizer's vaccine drop from more than 90% to about 64% as the B.1.617.2 or Delta variant spread.

The company said booster doses of its vaccine, developed with BioNTech, produces levels of neutralizing antibodies that are five to 10 times higher than what's produced after two doses.

"The companies expect to publish more definitive data soon as well as in a peer-reviewed journal and plan to submit the data to the FDA, EMA and other regulatory authorities in the coming weeks," Pfizer said in a statement.

And it says it's also developing a new formulation for a booster dose that may more thoroughly protect people from new variants.

Postby pugboy » July 8th, 2021, 8:58 pm

real marketing there
saying you will get a boost at the 6 month mark but at same time your protection already on the way down

Postby hover11 » July 8th, 2021, 9:27 pm

Wondering how sinopharm stands up to Delta very curious

Postby sMASH » July 8th, 2021, 9:56 pm

hover11 wrote:Wondering how sinopharm stands up to Delta very curious

it not standing up to grandpa covid 19, that other countries send it back or issued a third shot of another vaccine, u expect it to tackle the ninja variant??? okay.

Postby pugboy » July 8th, 2021, 10:36 pm

So if a person didn’t get the third Pfizer shot and say a year passed
That person might just as well be an unvaxxed person.
How does this affect their vaccine passport for travel etc?
Are we gonna allow those ppl through our borders?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 8th, 2021, 11:31 pm

adnj wrote:
drchaos wrote:
adnj wrote:
drchaos wrote:
adnj wrote:
drchaos wrote:The actual survival rate is higher than 98%.

THis number is calculated based on the officially declared cases. The majority of people that get covid are asymptomatic and therefore do not get tested and are not counted in the stats.

Survival rate is way higher than 99%.
You have confused case fatality rate with infection fatality rate.

Survival rate refers only to symptomatic or test-detected cases. Asymptomatic infection without testing can only be inferred by infectious disease modeling.

Once hospitalized, the metric shifts again to patient survival rate which has many variables including overcrowding. The patient survival rate is about 90%. So, COVID-19 patients have 10% mortality rate once admitted to a hospital.

Nothing to do with confusion, its keeping it as simple as possible since this is not a epidemiology symposium on covid 19.

If you want to get technical we can, Infection fatality rate is extremely low and below 1%.
https://bmcresnotes.biomedcentral.com/a ... 21-05652-2

"With 154,428 deaths and 10.76 million cases reported as of January 31, 2021 the estimated CFR for wave 1 is 1.435% (95% confidence interval 1.428–1.442%) [1]. The estimated number of infections from the January seroprevalence survey imply an approximate infection fatality rate of 0.09% (i.e. 154,428/172.47 M)."

The above is a good example of india's first wave.

The discussion that you quoted was specific to case fatality rates not infection.

But if you want to go down the current rabbit hole regarding IFR, you must consider excess mortality and modeling along with underreporting of cases in nearly every country.

Additionally, the numbers you cite above for CFR are six months old.

Current Covid-19 CFR is sitting at 2.16% (4m deaths/186m cases).

In summary, you may or may not find the likelihood of death at 0.1% to 2.0% acceptable. It is entirely subjective. But if you exhibit symptoms of COVID-19 or test positive, your chances of survival are lower than going into combat during the Viet Nam War.

http://www.healthdata.org/special-analy ... -19-deaths
https://www.worldometers.info/coronavir ... eath-rate/
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nc ... arios.html

CFR is used as the BOOGEYMAN man by you guys to scare people.
When IFR is a better measure of what this virus is actually capable of which shows its not as dangerous as you would like people to believe.
in summary again, you may or may not find the likelihood of death at 0.1% to 2.0% acceptable. It is entirely subjective. But if you exhibit symptoms of COVID-19 or test positive, your chances of survival are lower than going into combat during the Viet Nam War.

Oh wow ... So what you are saying is don't get tested if I have it and my chances of survival dramatically goes up!
Thanks for the tip Bro ... So won't ever get tested then.

This makes so much sense now! thanks :lol:

Postby aaron17 » July 9th, 2021, 3:20 am

So i heard nurses have covid and they spreading it to patients? That cause it?

Postby MaxPower » July 9th, 2021, 3:32 am

aaron17 wrote:So i heard nurses have covid and they spreading it to patients? That cause it?

Yeh bro,

A very high possibility.

Imagine how many people they deal with daily.

Disgusting yes.

I consider nurses that have Covid as Super Spreaders.

Postby adnj » July 9th, 2021, 5:27 am

drchaos wrote:
adnj wrote:
drchaos wrote:
adnj wrote:
drchaos wrote:
adnj wrote:
drchaos wrote:The actual survival rate is higher than 98%.

THis number is calculated based on the officially declared cases. The majority of people that get covid are asymptomatic and therefore do not get tested and are not counted in the stats.

Survival rate is way higher than 99%.
You have confused case fatality rate with infection fatality rate.

Survival rate refers only to symptomatic or test-detected cases. Asymptomatic infection without testing can only be inferred by infectious disease modeling.

Once hospitalized, the metric shifts again to patient survival rate which has many variables including overcrowding. The patient survival rate is about 90%. So, COVID-19 patients have 10% mortality rate once admitted to a hospital.

Nothing to do with confusion, its keeping it as simple as possible since this is not a epidemiology symposium on covid 19.

If you want to get technical we can, Infection fatality rate is extremely low and below 1%.
https://bmcresnotes.biomedcentral.com/a ... 21-05652-2

"With 154,428 deaths and 10.76 million cases reported as of January 31, 2021 the estimated CFR for wave 1 is 1.435% (95% confidence interval 1.428–1.442%) [1]. The estimated number of infections from the January seroprevalence survey imply an approximate infection fatality rate of 0.09% (i.e. 154,428/172.47 M)."

The above is a good example of india's first wave.

The discussion that you quoted was specific to case fatality rates not infection.

But if you want to go down the current rabbit hole regarding IFR, you must consider excess mortality and modeling along with underreporting of cases in nearly every country.

Additionally, the numbers you cite above for CFR are six months old.

Current Covid-19 CFR is sitting at 2.16% (4m deaths/186m cases).

In summary, you may or may not find the likelihood of death at 0.1% to 2.0% acceptable. It is entirely subjective. But if you exhibit symptoms of COVID-19 or test positive, your chances of survival are lower than going into combat during the Viet Nam War.

http://www.healthdata.org/special-analy ... -19-deaths
https://www.worldometers.info/coronavir ... eath-rate/
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nc ... arios.html

CFR is used as the BOOGEYMAN man by you guys to scare people.
When IFR is a better measure of what this virus is actually capable of which shows its not as dangerous as you would like people to believe.
in summary again, you may or may not find the likelihood of death at 0.1% to 2.0% acceptable. It is entirely subjective. But if you exhibit symptoms of COVID-19 or test positive, your chances of survival are lower than going into combat during the Viet Nam War.

Oh wow ... So what you are saying is don't get tested if I have it and my chances of survival dramatically goes up!
Thanks for the tip Bro ... So won't ever get tested then.

This makes so much sense now! thanks

For the third time, you may or may not find the likelihood of death at 0.1% to 2.0% acceptable. It is entirely subjective. But if you exhibit symptoms of COVID-19 or test positive, your chances of survival are lower than going into combat during the Viet Nam War.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 9th, 2021, 5:39 am

pugboy wrote:So if a person didn’t get the third Pfizer shot and say a year passed
That person might just as well be an unvaxxed person.
How does this affect their vaccine passport for travel etc?
Are we gonna allow those ppl through our borders?

Very good question that health authorities need to consider.

I think realistically, in a year or so, things in most countries will be as they were pre-covid and because most populations would have been vaccinated already, vaccine requirements to travel or go places would be rather pointless.

Also, Pfizer is still testing how long their vaccine's antibodies stay active in your system, it might vary from person to person, or in mostly likely scenarios, last shorter for older persons.

Again, just like the flu, in a year or 2, covid vaccine responsibility will lie with you and not others.

Which could mean that complacent populations, large anti-vax segments or countries that couldn't source vaccines, would be in danger of having overwhelming covid outbreaks.

Postby pugboy » July 9th, 2021, 6:02 am

well it seems that the only ideal scenario will be for the entire world to get herd immunity before variants get a chance to evolve and in a timeframe before vaccines lose their efficacy and make sure persons get their booster shots in a timely manner, assuming booster shots will work. a real moving target indeed.

granted we are still in uncharted waters as this pfizer losing efficacy has only been now discovered simply because of time required to pass to see how it played out.

I guess the other vaccine makers will also be looking at how theirs perform after time has passed since a person was jabbed
and of course the propaganda spin by those in charge.

Postby sMASH » July 9th, 2021, 7:17 am

the ability to mutate rapidly, will dictate that there will always be a few new strains. so for the few years, u will need boosters tailored for the new strains. until head immunity allows people to have robust enough systems to be able to tackle the virus on a whole.

its already not tht big a deal for the majority of people, it would just be for the few people that cant really deal with it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 9th, 2021, 3:43 pm

Ent de lie singh say no outbreak in bago hospital....well 50+ plus staff members test +

Postby bluefete » July 9th, 2021, 3:50 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Ent de lie singh say no outbreak in bago hospital....well 50+ plus staff members test +

No surprise there at all.

They have tried to gag the doctors and nurses from speaking out but the truth will always prevail.

Postby redmanjp » July 9th, 2021, 4:13 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Ent de lie singh say no outbreak in bago hospital....well 50+ plus staff members test +

50+ :shock: hadda be gamma or perhaps delta? and that's not saying anything about patients who unlike staff won't be wearing masks all the time.

Postby bluefete » July 9th, 2021, 4:16 pm

redmanjp wrote:

50+ :shock: hadda be gamma or perhaps delta? and that's not saying anything about patients who unlike staff won't be wearing masks all the time.

When I mentioned it recently, ent real people wanted to beat me up?

Allyuh go ahead.

Postby pugboy » July 9th, 2021, 4:38 pm

those were in yesterday’s big number?

Postby K74T » July 9th, 2021, 5:06 pm

Numbers late again today. Like is 300+?

Postby A172 » July 9th, 2021, 5:38 pm

nah 161

Postby K74T » July 9th, 2021, 5:41 pm

161/7

FB_IMG_1625866873902.jpg

Postby Habit7 » July 9th, 2021, 5:46 pm

Up until yesterday, it was 27 staff, they got more?

Postby paid_influencer » July 9th, 2021, 6:39 pm

bro here's a history lesson on all the outbreak reports since the start of the pandemic - from the cruise ships on down.

first impressions- well we find a case or two, it not that bad.
then after the first impression settled- announce well it actually a lil worse than that but it alright.
once that ice break - well yea it actually real bad but could have been worse
then lastly - yea its all FUBAR but why focus on old news

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 9th, 2021, 9:07 pm

50 plus staff test positive for Covid-19 at Scarborough General Hospital!

Public Services Association (PSA), Industrial Relations Officer (IRO), Hayden Darren Duke, has reported a Covid-19 outbreak amongst staff at the Scarborough General Hospital, in Tobago.

According to IRO Duke, as of last week, 13 members of staff have tested positive for the Covid-19 virus. He stated that the speed at which positive Covid-19 cases are being reported at the hospital, would suggest that at least 50 plus persons are now Covid positive. He indicated that the numbers may only increase as testing amongst staff is ongoing.

Sources, via phone interviews with the PSA, blamed the hospital’s management for the predicament the hospital’s staff was now in. They indicated that management was culpable, as they neglected and denied all attempts made at protecting the health and safety of staff.

They said that it was extremely poor of management to allow non-testing of many patients that came into the facility. One source specifically indicated that patients entering the psych ward were not tested for the covid-19 virus. The source stated that requests made by employees to have the patients tested were denied, which resulted in health professionals being highly uncomfortable whilst performing their work related duties.

IRO Duke condemned the management’s decision to deny such requests and has stated that testing of all patients was crucial. He beseeched management to engage in proper health care protocols, where all patients were tested for the best interest of employees and the wider public.

He stated that to date the Covid-19 outbreak took place in the following departments:

- Medical Ward

- Medical Records Area

- Intensive Care Unit (ICU)

- Maternity Ward

- Physiotherapy and Occupational Therapy Department

IRO Duke told PSA that he would be closely investigating the matter and addressing it with management for the best interest of workers, patients and the larger public.

“It is imperative for the safety of workers and patients that the system is fixed. I will be monitoring and investigating this closely, ” said IRO Duke.

Reporter: Melissa Goodman

Postby Country_Bookie » July 9th, 2021, 10:17 pm

I'm not saying the hospital is right to not test patients being admitted, but there is a cost to that as well. My best friend was refused admission to 2 health facilities last year until he produced a negative covid-19 test result. He died a few hours before the test showed he was negative. His might still be alive if he had been admitted and treated right away.

Postby adnj » July 10th, 2021, 12:03 am

Now let's find out how many of the health care professionals tested positive with vaccination and without vaccination.

Postby paid_influencer » July 10th, 2021, 8:02 am

I'd love to see what % of hospital staff are vaccinated to begin with.