Petrotrin refinery shut down

kstt

Re: Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby kstt » November 30th, 2018, 10:31 pm

Monkey Man wrote:fe5bde42-efb9-4d25-a38d-fd9c33c20cd9.jpg

This is a fine example why trinidad is one foot down the cesspit.

People Dunce like a pile of crap

Petrotrin doesn't have janitors. A contractor cleans the place.

kstt

Postby kstt » November 30th, 2018, 10:34 pm

nervewrecker wrote:How dare you talk sense!

Please don't join the Petrotrin whatsapp group. Dem jakarse still defending the PNM. Glad Rowley did it so we can laugh at them for the rest of our lives.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 30th, 2018, 11:07 pm

kstt wrote:

Please don't join the Petrotrin whatsapp group. Dem jakarse still defending the PNM. Glad Rowley did it so we can laugh at them for the rest of our lives.
If it was done by the PP, all now there would have been roadblocks from Aripero straight to Cap-de-Ville.

sn95

Postby sn95 » November 30th, 2018, 11:17 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:
kstt wrote:

If it was done by the PP, all now there would have been roadblocks from Aripero straight to Cap-de-Ville.
True that. Surprise no riots yet

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 30th, 2018, 11:38 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Petrotrin Santa Flora workers protest non payment on last day of work

They protesting for payment but didnt protest when they hear they loosing their job? That was the time to protest.

That fire is joke. If they wanted to do damage they would light the petro lab storage. Oil and h2s galore. Mammaguy if you ask me.
Where the big bad union?

That is/was an old shed in the car park opposite I think FEM and the fire station, don't know if it is/was in use.

Arguably not the most valuable piece of property, seems like more an act of idleness or pettiness, or child like frustration.

It shows no real bravado or courage.

kstt

Postby kstt » December 1st, 2018, 7:27 am

Starting to think the union really got paid off because they burning a set of old abandoned buildings to gimmicks. To look like they doing something when in fact they saving heritage money from having to pay to demolish those delapidated abandoned buildings

Postby nervewrecker » December 1st, 2018, 7:32 am

kstt wrote:Starting to think the union really got paid off because they burning a set of old abandoned buildings to gimmicks. To look like they doing something when in fact they saving heritage money from having to pay to demolish those delapidated abandoned buildings
Same thing I saying.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 1st, 2018, 11:22 am

The union got good payment. Roget went home with a nice 7 million

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » December 1st, 2018, 11:31 am

Ent this was the same owtu that was firebombing man house, or throwing stones at a TCL bus carrying workers.

Strange how them just roll over so easy...

rebound

Postby rebound » December 1st, 2018, 11:54 am

They are just sheep following a leader blindly....so just buy the leader and the sheep will do what you want without problems...

Postby The_Honourable » December 1st, 2018, 1:25 pm

vaiostation wrote:Ent this was the same owtu that was firebombing man house, or throwing stones at a TCL bus carrying workers.

They must roll over easy, doh go against yuh own who in power. Anything else like UNC in power or under the Queen, shell it down.

PNM is good insurance to invest in to keep pnmites under manners while you take over.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » December 1st, 2018, 1:35 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
vaiostation wrote:Ent this was the same owtu that was firebombing man house, or throwing stones at a TCL bus carrying workers.

They must roll over easy, doh go against yuh own who in power. Anything else like UNC in power or under the Queen, shell it down.

PNM is good insurance to invest in to keep pnmites under manners while you take over.
Oh that FACT gonna raise some blood pressures in here for sure .....

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » December 1st, 2018, 1:51 pm

Diehard eggnogs despite they swimming in shyt

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » December 1st, 2018, 1:52 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:The union got good payment. Roget went home with a nice 7 million

$7,000,000?? Share a copy of his payslip nah. PM me if you're afraid to post it here. I'll share it.

Monkey Man

Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby Monkey Man » December 1st, 2018, 2:17 pm

I hear eggnog

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » December 1st, 2018, 3:09 pm

Monkey Man wrote:I hear eggnog

I love this picture. It reminds me of the last supper. :twisted: :twisted:

ABDULLAH-copy.jpg
ABDULLAH-copy.jpg (42.8 KiB) Viewed 2895 times

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » December 1st, 2018, 3:37 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

The same UNC that rape the country for 5 years and almost collapse the NGC? That UNC?

The same UNC that conspired to create law to keep their corrupt friends and financiers from being extradited to the USA for fraud and corruption? That UNC?

Manning, Panday and Kamla watch Petrotrin deteriotate over the years and did nothing to arrest the situation all because doing so would upset their voting base. Now you all want to be vex with the administration that is doing something about it?

If you all want to be vex with someone be vex with Manning. Is he who have us all in this mess. If you want proof just drive past the waterfront complex or go eat in the Hyatt. All built with taxpayers money when "times were good".

People have been saying that something should be done about Petrotrin for years. Now that something is finally being done we mad?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » December 1st, 2018, 3:43 pm

All those people who "temporary" and now going home with nothing I feeling it for them. But at the same time what made you stay there all these years with such uncertainty regarding your employment status?

Was it the perks and salaries? Was it the status of "having a job at petrotrin"?

How difficult would it have been to retrain and seek permanent employment elsewhere. Why did you stay with such employment even when our economy was experience economic growth just a few years ago.

You can't keep burying your head in the sand in a country with such uncertainty and instability and then be surprised that the ground has fallen out from under you.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 1st, 2018, 3:56 pm

They set fire to the guard booth now?

Postby nervewrecker » December 1st, 2018, 3:59 pm

Since yesterday

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 1st, 2018, 4:07 pm

Redress10 wrote:All those people who "temporary" and now going home with nothing I feeling it for them. But at the same time what made you stay there all these years with such uncertainty regarding your employment status?

Was it the perks and salaries? Was it the status of "having a job at petrotrin"?

How difficult would it have been to retrain and seek permanent employment elsewhere. Why did you stay with such employment even when our economy was experience economic growth just a few years ago.

You can't keep burying your head in the sand in a country with such uncertainty and instability and then be surprised that the ground has fallen out from under you.

Instead of asking here on tuner maybe go ask some temps what their reasoning was?

Postby The_Honourable » December 1st, 2018, 4:09 pm

Redress10 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

The same UNC that rape the country for 5 years and almost collapse the NGC? That UNC?

The same UNC that conspired to create law to keep their corrupt friends and financiers from being extradited to the USA for fraud and corruption? That UNC?

Manning, Panday and Kamla watch Petrotrin deteriotate over the years and did nothing to arrest the situation all because doing so would upset their voting base. Now you all want to be vex with the administration that is doing something about it?

If you all want to be vex with someone be vex with Manning. Is he who have us all in this mess. If you want proof just drive past the waterfront complex or go eat in the Hyatt. All built with taxpayers money when "times were good".

People have been saying that something should be done about Petrotrin for years. Now that something is finally being done we mad?

You are assuming that I support the UNC, didn't vote for them in 2015. The point is that a non-pnm government would have gotten a harder time with the OWTU. I stated earlier that Rowley is the right man to deal with the state entities and public service because there will be little resistance from pnmites and the unions plus he will get a pass by non-affected pnmites (is kamla fault). Anybody else that is non-pnm inclusive of the queen under colonial rule would have seen protests by workers and unions... hence why you invest in the PNM instead to be the buffer so you can get what you want. Many in the Syrian community doing this for decades, others catching on. When the temperature rises, Massy ham for $50 and yuh boil down.

I agree with you that this started in the Manning era. I agree that something needed to be done and i'll give Rowley credit, he did something. The problem is, questionable and secretive decisions are being made and we are seeing the fruits of those decisions week by week. One economist says that the costs associated with the closure of petrotrin can be more than the clico bailout - 25B plus.

Redress, i'm not a Kamla or UNC supporter. I must ask, if Kamla did the EXACT same thing that Rowley did with Petrotrin, do you believe she would have gotten a pass like Rowley did from the OWTU and other quarters?

kstt

Postby kstt » December 1st, 2018, 4:28 pm

47177057_1501064846705155_414053040815865856_o.jpg

kstt

Postby kstt » December 1st, 2018, 5:08 pm

^^^^ funny thing is the now see the need for a train service and want to build one.

Sugar is now King Sugar because it is used as a biofuel

We will live to regret the closing of the refinery yet another failure of the PNM.

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » December 1st, 2018, 5:14 pm

kstt wrote:^^^^ funny thing is the now see the need for a train service and want to build one.

We will live to regret the closing of the refinery yet another failure of the PNM.

yep

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » December 1st, 2018, 5:14 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

You are assuming that I support the UNC, didn't vote for them in 2015. The point is that a non-pnm government would have gotten a harder time with the OWTU. I stated earlier that Rowley is the right man to deal with the state entities and public service because there will be little resistance from pnmites and the unions plus he will get a pass by non-affected pnmites (is kamla fault). Anybody else that is non-pnm inclusive of the queen under colonial rule would have seen protests by workers and unions... hence why you invest in the PNM instead to be the buffer so you can get what you want. Many in the Syrian community doing this for decades, others catching on. When the temperature rises, Massy ham for $50 and yuh boil down.

I agree with you that this started in the Manning era. I agree that something needed to be done and i'll give Rowley credit, he did something. The problem is, questionable and secretive decisions are being made and we are seeing the fruits of those decisions week by week. One economist says that the costs associated with the closure of petrotrin can be more than the clico bailout - 25B plus.

Redress, i'm not a Kamla or UNC supporter. I must ask, if Kamla did the EXACT same thing that Rowley did with Petrotrin, do you believe she would have gotten a pass like Rowley did from the OWTU and other quarters?

I don't think that Rowley gets a pass because of the PNM, I think he gets a pass because people are seeing this as a rational decision. Manning used to speak out both sides of his mouth a lot of the time. Manning was always concerned about being popular and being liked. Rowley not on that. I also think that the unions know who they could bully. They could have bullied manning, kamla and panday because their voting strength lay in those areas. How you gonna bully JUHN? Alluh forget how Patois used to do corruption. If you want to see corruption just remember all the "community leaders" who used to get state contracts for years. All the crime in TnT yuh cud place by his feet.

What does Massy's $50 ham has to do with the PNM? Are you saying that Tru Value's ham deal also linked to PNM? Now you just reaching. Do you even know the Massy family and what their political views are? Massy name in everyone mouth all of a sudden. A simple rebaranding and now everybody have an idea as to the conglomerate that is Massy. Newsflash, a conglomerate is a normal business corporation. There is nothing sinister about it. In trinidad, they are actually very tiny and insignificant. If you want to see their impact just research the japanese kairetsu's such as Mitsubishi.

That's what life is like in Trinidad. Everything is a hush hush. When jobs are hiring, they do it hush hush. When party tickets are available they do it hush hush. When government making deals with taxpayers money they do it hush hush. You can't get vex now when this type of culture has been allowed to fester for decades.

Kamla had no moral authority to close down Petrotrin due to inefficiencies or corruption. You remember SIS being formed overnight and basically winning every contract. How you gonna be blatantly corrupt and then go and take food from Petrotrin wokers mouths. It doh work so.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 1st, 2018, 5:15 pm

Rumor is refinery to be sold. New owner to hire back certain persons to start up refinery. Fewer persons employed to run refinery. Hearing rumors about Shell.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » December 1st, 2018, 5:23 pm

kstt wrote:^^^^ funny thing is the now see the need for a train service and want to build one.

Little Trinidad does not need a Train service. Unless you gonna have fast speed trains moving from Mayaro to Port of Spain and Toco to Pt Fortin then why is there a need for a train service? Don't be fooled that is just another vanity project. Our leaders think that development need to have a certain "look". And no, having the trains not going to put less cars on the roads. Trinis are vain people who need things such as cars to feel good about themselves. Parliamentarians in the UK who make more money, are more qualified and legislate over more important national and international matters still use public transport. The first thing our parliamentarians purchase upon being elected to office is a european car. The irony of it all.

Again, this is what happens when you have leaders who can't see into the future and who are not part of intimate discussions on the way in which the world is going. Caribbean leaders would forever be out of the loop because they just not highly regarded on the world stage.

Not according to world trends that say oil is dead.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » December 1st, 2018, 5:30 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Rumor is refinery to be sold. New owner to hire back certain persons to start up refinery. Fewer persons employed to run refinery. Hearing rumors about Shell.

Wouldn't this just prove the point that Petrotrin was overstaffed?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 1st, 2018, 5:38 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Rumor is refinery to be sold. New owner to hire back certain persons to start up refinery. Fewer persons employed to run refinery. Hearing rumors about Shell.

Wouldn't this just prove the point that Petrotrin was overstaffed?

I don’t think it was ever in question that the company was not overstaffed. The same Solomon’s report that people were sharing mentions that there was too much man power but you can’t just go firing people to solve problems. Increased use of technology needed before reducing staffing figures. New refinery owner would spend money on refinery first before starting back up. Meaning spending on technology and critically needed repairs. Basically you can’t run a refinery poorly and expect no problems. If the refinery does start back up under Shell or new owner successfully and also sustainably one has to ask basically why couldn’t we have run it ourselves? Top down management wise why weren’t good decisions made consistently?