Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Yes
47%
No
53%

Total votes: 193

devrat

Re: Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Postby devrat » March 12th, 2020, 9:01 am

devrat wrote:Bonuses are usually the 13th month salary that employees have worked for and entitled to, a real bonus is based on incentives included in an employment contract and will exceed the 13th month salary.

How many months in one of your years bai,? You add on a month between 31/12 & 01/01?
Think about it for payroll

Work week = 40 hrs
Monthly paid 40 x4 =160hrs
Yearly 160 x 12 = 1920 based on 48 weeks

Actual yearly work hours for monthly paid is 2080 hrs inclusive of paid vacation.

Difference of 160 hours, 13th month.

Postby MaxPower » March 12th, 2020, 9:50 am

MaxPower wrote:I would like all my/our Venezuelan brothers and sisters to be cautious out there with the rising cases of coronavirus.

Remember that this is your country an you are entitled to any and every health care service that this government has to offer. Do not be afraid, do not be intimidated. You, just as your beloved Trinidaydians, can also chant together, “WE time now”.

Keep well and be safe.

Max

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 4b93e.html
there goes your entire theory

Hello Reek,

Thank you for the article.

A very inhumane approach as these people have no other choice. They are in desperate need of our accommodations. I am all against the criminal aspect of it, but we must help our neighbors.

Postby 88sins » March 12th, 2020, 12:26 pm

devrat wrote:
devrat wrote:Bonuses are usually the 13th month salary that employees have worked for and entitled to, a real bonus is based on incentives included in an employment contract and will exceed the 13th month salary.

How many months in one of your years bai,? You add on a month between 31/12 & 01/01?

Work week = 40 hrs

Actual yearly work hours for monthly paid is 2080 hrs inclusive of paid vacation.

I follow your thought process, but that isn't how you actually calculate it. you catering for everybody to work exactly & only 40 hrs/week, but many ppl clock 50 hrs per week, even more. Some professionals & even non professionals run on a 60-70 hr work week as a norm. Some do much less, and yuh eh want ppl being paid for work not done monthly paid or not

for monthly paid ppl, just using 1Kfor salary here
1000x12=12000 per yr
to find the daily rate for monthly paid employees
12000/365 days per year=32.88 per day
to find the hourly rate,
32.88/8=4.11/hr

Annual standard work hrs for monthly paid employed persons=
8hrs x 365days=2920 hrs/yr

(N.B. In all truth & honesty, a work day is actually 9hrs going by the international work day standard, this equating to 8 hrs paid working time & 1hr paid lunch break, & one of the many reasons for the acceptance of the 8 is because just that in some situations you DON'T get a paid lunch hour such as hourly rated workers that punch in & out for lunch, there are other reasons why that informal standard has been accepted & become the norm but we eh getting into all that)
All that aside, bear in mind int'l labor laws are treated more as guidelines & are hardly ever superimposed over national labor laws

Postby De Dragon » March 12th, 2020, 12:58 pm

8-) 8-)
*Goes back to listening to Johnny Kemp*

devrat

Postby devrat » March 12th, 2020, 2:21 pm

devrat wrote:

Work week = 40 hrs

I follow your thought process, but that isn't how you actually calculate it. you catering for everybody to work exactly & only 40 hrs/week, but many ppl clock 50 hrs per week, even more. Some professionals & even non professionals run on a 60-70 hr work week as a norm. Some do much less, and yuh eh want ppl being paid for work not done monthly paid or not

1000x12=12000 per yr
to find the hourly rate,
32.88/8=4.11/hr

(N.B. In all truth & honesty, a work day is actually 9hrs going by the international work day standard, this equating to 8 hrs paid working time & 1hr paid lunch break, & one of the many reasons for the acceptance of the 8 is because just that in some situations you DON'T get a paid lunch hour such as hourly rated workers that punch in & out for lunch, there are other reasons why that informal standard has been accepted & become the norm but we eh getting into all that)
All that aside, bear in mind int'l labor laws are treated more as guidelines & are hardly ever superimposed over national labor laws

Many countries adopt the 13th month salary as "law" and it actually is in some.
There is a fundamental error with your calculation, if it was, as you have reversed calculated, then a monthly paid worker would receive a different amount each month based on the number of days contained within.
This is not reality as your base salary is the same every month based on a 28 day / 160 hrs work month. Overtime cannot be considered because it is not consistent and not part of your basic salary.

Professionals working 60 / 70 hour work weeks do not get "extra" salary every month but do so as incentive to complete projects on a timely manner which leads to "incentive" end of year bonuses.

Postby 88sins » March 12th, 2020, 6:22 pm

devrat wrote:

Work week = 40 hrs

1000x12=12000 per yr
to find the hourly rate,
32.88/8=4.11/hr

Many countries adopt the 13th month salary as "law" and it actually is in some.
There is a fundamental error with your calculation, if it was, as you have reversed calculated, then a monthly paid worker would receive a different amount each month based on the number of days contained within.
This is not reality as your base salary is the same every month based on a 28 day / 160 hrs work month. Overtime cannot be considered because it is not consistent and not part of your basic salary.

Professionals working 60 / 70 hour work weeks do not get "extra" salary every month but do so as incentive to complete projects on a timely manner which leads to "incentive" end of year bonuses.

nope
they would recieve a different amount based solely on the days of that month that they actually did report for duty, and th only thing that would change is the number of days paid leave the employee gets each month. Here's why.

eg-1
Jan. has 31 days, & employee was to work 20 days, Mon-Fri for 4 weeks
But
employee only reports to duty for 15 days, & did not work for 5 days
(Base salary) $1000-164.40 (5 days salary) = 835.60 is his gross for Jan

Eg.-2
Feb. has 28 days, & employee was to work 20 days Mon-Fri for 4 weeks
But
employee only reports for duty for 15 days, & did not work for 5 days
(Base monthly salary remains unchanged)
1000-160.40(5 days salary) = 901.36 is his gross for Feb

Notice, there are different number of days in each month, (31 vs 28) but in each month he took the same amount of unpaid time off & got the same gross. This is because as a monthly paid worker he gets paid leave during the month, for example, some businesses don't open on Sat. & Sun., so he isn't expected to report for duty but his salary is calculated to include those days since they are in fact part of the month WHETHER HE WORKS ON THOSE DAYS OR NOT. Remember, the employee's salary is paid by the month, for the month, & NOT for the number of days in the month. So in months where he's to work the same number of days, he gets the same salary, but the only thing that may change is the number of days paid leave he gets during the month.

This is one of the reasons why if in future, the employer decides to start to open on Sat, employee is already paid for Saturdays so has to report for duty and NOT expect an increase for working on a day for which he was already paid but just not accustomed to going out to work on. He may opt to renegotiate his salary at this point as many do, but failure to report for duty on the grounds of the employer making him come out on a saturday won't go over well in court if he gets fired for noncompliance or insubordination.

Postby redmanjp » March 13th, 2020, 12:45 pm

^ aside from getting paid the employee still has to agree to a change in terms which include days of work if the company now opens on a Saturday.

Postby 88sins » March 13th, 2020, 1:54 pm

redmanjp wrote:^ aside from getting paid the employee still has to agree to a change in terms which include days of work if the company now opens on a Saturday.

which all falls under the umbrella of renegotiation of the terms of employment

Postby hydroep » March 13th, 2020, 2:02 pm

Venez gentleman...oh excuse me...A gentleman speaking spanish was walking with a lady and child only to stop and dump their Lucozade bottles and wrappers at the foot of a lamppost opposite Pennywise on Point a Pierre Road in San Fernando.

Trini bad habits? Yeah...they reach...:|

Postby MaxPower » March 13th, 2020, 2:16 pm

Yes i agree,

Some of these Venezuelans are noticing these stink Trinis littering and they are being influenced to do the same.

This must stop.

VII

Postby VII » March 13th, 2020, 3:18 pm

Venezuelans always comment how clean Trinidad is compared to Venezuela where some parts look similar to Beetham and Santa Rosa circa 1970's with car box shanty town highway litter allover the place all the time blowing in the wind and even creating garbage tornados..

No comparison..

Postby De Dragon » March 13th, 2020, 8:46 pm

MaxPower wrote:Yes i agree,

Some of these Venezuelans are noticing these stink Trinis littering and they are being influenced to do the same.

This must stop.

Keep reaching for the brass ring Kantos, keep reaching...................

Postby matr1x » March 13th, 2020, 9:36 pm

Been to Venezuela before. They stink all on their own

Postby MaxPower » March 13th, 2020, 10:01 pm

This must stop.

And you keep littering,

Could imagine how stink that sheit hole you living is.

Sanitize now.

Postby De Dragon » March 13th, 2020, 10:19 pm

This must stop.

And you keep littering,

Could imagine how stink that sheit hole you living is.

Sanitize now.

Tell mammy to sanitize your sheitty smelling bamsee. Then let her work on your rancid grease smell after.

Postby MaxPower » March 14th, 2020, 7:43 am

^ come off tuner, u spending too much time here.

Them 2 lil ones home for a week, utilize your time wisely Deadbeat Dragon.

Like father like son? well not right now until you educate/mature yourself, then you are ready to be a leader and a mentor.

I can suggest to prepare over the weekend for a game plan for the week. This is not a vacation.

Topics:

Covid-19 awareness
Personal/Public hygiene
School work review/prep for the following week.

You can start with those and any others you may think of....google/youtube is your friend if you want to act smart.

Beating up and stressing yourself out here isnt helping.....prioritize.

Get Busy.

Max

Postby matr1x » March 14th, 2020, 4:24 pm

Time to ship them back. All of them

Postby MaxPower » March 14th, 2020, 6:17 pm

matr1x wrote:Time to ship them back. All of them

Can’t bro,

Without them, there will be a drastic decline in the service industry.

Postby matr1x » March 14th, 2020, 9:09 pm

What service industry?

Wait, I went to a chinese restaurant and the venue understood English better than the chinks. Send back the chinese

Postby De Dragon » March 14th, 2020, 9:21 pm

MaxPower wrote:^ come off tuner, u spending too much time here.

Them 2 lil ones home for a week, utilize your time wisely Deadbeat Dragon.

Like father like son? well not right now until you educate/mature yourself, then you are ready to be a leader and a mentor.

I can suggest to prepare over the weekend for a game plan for the week. This is not a vacation.

Topics:

Covid-19 awareness
Personal/Public hygiene
School work review/prep for the following week.

You can start with those and any others you may think of....google/youtube is your friend if you want to act smart.

Beating up and stressing yourself out here isnt helping.....prioritize.

Get Busy.

Max

Caxoid, here are some topics for you to research
"So you're impotent, what to do next"
" Stop self loathing, you're pitiful life isn't that bad"
"How to properly clean sheit out of your bamsee in 10 easy steps"
"Failure to launch, both your d*ick, and your life"

Postby hydroep » April 1st, 2020, 6:50 pm

Migrant Misery: What will happen to thousands of Venezuelans?
Khamarie Rodriguez

AS Trinidad and Tobago works to seal all borders and close off small businesses such as bars to combat the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19), its Venezuelan migrant population is facing unique challenges.

Almost one year ago, a registration process was initiated by the Government which allowed 16,543 migrants fleeing a harsh economic climate in Venezuela to live and work in the country for a year.

The status of these registered workers remains in limbo.

The Minister of National Security, Stuart Young, has stated it was currently being reviewed.

Meanwhile, most migrants employed throughout the country are working temporary, minimum wage jobs.

And these jobs have been directly affected by the country’s efforts to practise social distancing.

According to Angie Ramnarine, co-ordinator of the La Romaine Migrants Support (LARMS), the closure of many small businesses to curb the spread of the virus has left many with barely enough money to survive.

“I don’t think people realise how hard this is for the migrant population. Production has ceased.

“Some of our women who had house-cleaning jobs were told to take a two-week break.

“There is a much, much higher rate of unemployment in the community and those who have kept their jobs still struggle because not all employers can afford to continue these payments as businesses have been shut,” she said.

The lack of a steady income and the ability to provide food has put this group within the population at an elevated level of vulnerability as Ramnarine says some face homelessness and starvation.

“Many of these people who may be homeless, many have landlords who already exploit them with high prices.

“The 16,500 who were able to register have no work and no work means having no food and no housing.

“This is unfortunately because many of these migrants were already working and barely getting by to pay rent and bills,” she said.

Grants and social measures

While many citizens of Trinidad and Tobago may face similar problems in light of a struggling economy, Ramnarine said citizens of this country are still able to access grants and social measures recently instituted by the Government such as rental assistance and food cards.

However, of the 50 families under the purview of LARMS, a steady supply of food remains a grave issue.

In the last few weeks, LARMS has been able to provide a few vouchers of $200 each for these families to access groceries.

While some generosity is still practised towards these families, Ramnarine said it has decreased significantly since T&T’s first recorded case of COVID-19.

“People are not giving as generously as they have before.

“Even with the average well-wisher, generosity has dried up. We are currently on a massive food drive to get people to give or donate something to eat, whether it be canned items or dry goods.”

Exploitation

She said Venezuelans who are already at the lower end of the economic spectrum are facing continued issues that place them at a higher social risk due to COVID-19.

“In the wider society this already marginalised population is at further risk now. Because of economic reasons, these individuals have to share closer living quarters, which may or may not affect community spread of this disease, as is likely in any group that may share close spaces.

“In addition to this, they are also at a greater risk of exploitation generally as in some workplaces we know of cases of injury which have not been addressed by employers.

“Some groceries pay Venezuelans under minimum wage. Many have no fixed income which poses challenges in the area of rent and food. It really is a little scary what we are going through right now,” she said.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/migrant-misery-what-will-happen-to-thousands-of-venezuelans/article_f04768e8-7349-11ea-a058-c7140b956379.html

Postby MaxPower » April 1st, 2020, 7:15 pm

Hello hydroep,

Nice article, i saw it.

The Venezuelans will be fine, they are fighters and they know about ambition.

Remember they were unemployed in their homeland for a very long time and survived. Im pretty sure they can do it again in their new homeland.

In this unprecedented crisis, many of us share the burden.

But rest assured, the Venezuelans jobs are waiting for them when things normalize, that i guarantee you.

Postby hydroep » April 3rd, 2020, 1:05 pm

Venezuelans arrested for possession of firearm and ammunition

Five Venezuelan nationals and one Trinidad and Tobago national were arrested for possession of a firearm and ammunition in the Southern Division, yesterday.

According to official police reports, at about 7:00 pm on Thursday 2nd April 2020, Cpl (Ag.), Bahadur and a party of officers acting on information received, intercepted a silver Mitsubishi Libero station wagon at the intersection of Todd Street and the Rienzi Kirton Highway, San Fernando.

The officers searched the vehicle and discovered one Browning pistol with nine rounds of ammunition.

Five men, ages 18 to 26 years, and one female, aged 26 years—all residing in the Southern district—were arrested and taken to the San Fernando Police Station for processing.

Enquiries are continuing.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/venezuelans-arrested-for-possession-of-firearm-and-ammunition-6.2.1092067.693966309b

Postby pugboy » April 3rd, 2020, 1:33 pm

deport they mc
make they collect coughs from 100 ppl first

Postby matr1x » April 5th, 2020, 6:32 am

They are a pestilence.

If someone comes through your window, they are not your friend. They come to steal. Time to find them and make them go back. Or float back. Their choice

Postby MaxPower » April 5th, 2020, 9:17 am

Where are the Covid 19 Venezuelan cases allyuh was complaining about?

So many Venezuelans out of work, do you see them protesting?

All i hear is bump gum from allyuh doubles men.

In this down time, take note of the difference between the two breeds.

Postby 88sins » April 6th, 2020, 7:08 am

MaxPower wrote:Where are the Covid 19 Venezuelan cases allyuh was complaining about?

you strike me as the kinda fella that would live on a mountain of rat droppings, but as long as you eh see no rats you hurry to say it have no rats.

death365

Postby death365 » April 6th, 2020, 8:35 am

Since this week or so... There's at least 5 - 8 new Spanish around the 2 or 3 streets near me.

I'm not saying the are completely new person but u never know. Definitely can't speak any English

Postby MaxPower » April 6th, 2020, 9:46 am

MaxPower wrote:Where are the Covid 19 Venezuelan cases allyuh was complaining about?

you strike me as the kinda fella that would live on a mountain of rat droppings, but as long as you eh see no rats you hurry to say it have no rats.

Hello Reek,

It makes no sense toting that the Venezuelans you hate and jealous so much aren’t acting like the animals/rats you portray them to be in this pandemic.

Trinis were outperformed as usual and as expected.

Btw, what would you say if i told you that there are unregistered Venezuelans who are getting Govt grants as well due to corruption in the system?

Vene have food card like phone card lol.

Postby alfa » April 6th, 2020, 10:11 am

Hello Reek,

It makes no sense toting that the Venezuelans you hate and jealous so much aren’t acting like the animals/rats you portray them to be in this pandemic.

Trinis were outperformed as usual and as expected.

Btw, what would you say if i told you that there are unregistered Venezuelans who are getting Govt grants as well due to corruption in the system?

Vene have food card like phone card lol.

Isn't it enough that we gave these people unrestricted access to our country and now they want to ride the back of hard working taxpayers as well. But we like it so because of our inherent weakness for vene flesh. What we need are more far right nationalist patriots to stand up to this nonsense. Make Trinidad great again