Government achievement thread (PNM EDITION 2015-2025)

Re: Government achievement thread.

Postby De Dragon » May 17th, 2016, 4:47 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Rowley: No crime switch
By SEAN DOUGLAS Monday, May 16 2016

PRIME Minister Dr Keith Rowley has condemned the murders plaguing this nation and lamented that there exists no switch by which to turn it off. He spoke to reporters late Saturday night at the VIP Lounge at Piarco Airport upon his return from a 12- day foreign visit. Within the past three days, from Friday last to yesterday, 12 murders were committed in the country with 179 in total for the year.

“This level of unacceptable violent crime has been with us for quite some time,” a sombre Rowley surmised as he sat at the press conference. He recalled the Government had focused on tackling violent crime in a variety of ways, namely by trying to curb the drug trade, firearms availability and gang activities. “But the general behaviour and lack of respect for human life in Trinidad and Tobago have come down now to the level where one is beginning to question general conduct,” he lamented.

“In recent times, I’m seeing a lot of people are being killed without firearms being used and without it being (about) drugs, where it was aggravation of one kind and another.

One could put them under the question mark of ‘senseless’, but at the end of the day the level of violence in Trinidad is just too high and unacceptable,” the Prime Minister said.

He said that in many such cases the Government’s role doesn’t begin until after the crime has been committed, but meanwhile the Government must do nothing to encourage any growth in such misbehaviour.

“Asked if the economic crunch produces personal stresses that could turn trivial spats into murders, he said, “to take your point, insofar as economic stress may contribute to personal behaviour, we (must) work towards lowering that economic stress by improving the economic circumstances.” Yet Dr Rowley also noted that high-crime rates also existed in the economic good times, adding, “So one doesn’t exclude the other (crime and the state of the economic).

“It’s a problem of violent conduct.

Our society is labelling itself as a violent society. And one can lose one’s life for the slightest thing. And that is not a matter that the Government can come and say , ‘Look, I’m going to flick a switch and turn it off ’,” he said.

“Where we can do things we will do. For example, I understand that the speed gun is having an effect.

There are things that we can do and at the end of the day the national security agencies and Government at large have a responsibility to bring about a feeling of safety in the national community and to secure the national community.

And those things we’ll keep on doing on a sustained basis.” Rowley said that while overseas he held talks on national security with both the United States and United Kingdom Governments.

Regarding the US, he said TT could not focus only on performing suppression of illegal activities without help from America. Further, he said he tried to link such TT-US cooperation to getting TT access to US markets to sell traditional items, a move which could help stop TT serving as a nursery for criminal activities.

He said that in London he had met the British National Crime Agency to discuss “significant matters of interest” to TT and the UK, but pressed by Newsday for details he simply said this concerned the ability to share information, monitor threats, prepare for incidents, training and TT accessing support from the UK.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,227860.html

Three years ago somebody beat her daughter to death, somebody want to blame Kamla
Yesterday somebody slit her throat, somebody want to blame Rowley.

Violence pervading the land and before we blame the actual murderers and look within ourselves to see if such violence dwells within our hearts, we blame the politicians.

Utter rubbish, the buck stops at Rowley, there are 3 minsters in charge of National security, they don't care about the small man getting murdered, their focus now is to spy on the opposition and citizens.

No, the buck stops with him when he is in Opposition. Apologists like Habit7 will blame everyone, even the citizens before he lays an iota at the PNM Government's feet. By his logic then we don't need a Min Of Nat Sec. or TTPS, because we have evil in our hearts. What a simplistic, Cuffie-like pot of crock! The Government's role is not to extinguish evil in men, but to ensure that their evil doesn't hold the rest of us to ransom as now obtains, and this Government, and its apologists it seems, have already admitted defeat.

I am a patriot, I dont politicise crime. So even when Kamla was PM I could never hold her responsible for the actions of free individuals especially behind close doors. The may politicians influence how easy crime is done but buck stops with the criminal, not the politician. The criminal goes to jail not Kamla or Rowley.

So running around like an uninformed blather mouth blaming the government for not stopping you and your neighbour chopping up each other, your spouse slitting your throat or gunmen robbing you.
Also to show your inconsistency, you never claimed the buck stops with Kamla when she was PM, why are you doing it now with Rowley? If I am wrong, please quote whenever you blamed Kamla for crime?

It funny to see how simpletons deal with crime in this country.
Murders are soaring in the US, they blame the murderers
Floods havocking Texas, they blame climate change.

In Trinidad we just blame the govt for both and change the govt when we fed up blame one.

Your demi-God PM would make that statement in one form or another ad nauseam while in Opposition. Now that he is the PM, it's fack talk about switch, and Police responsible? Nah soldier, try aginhttp://www.google.tt/url?sa=t&rct=j ... 8Oq9JmmRlQ

Postby Habit7 » May 17th, 2016, 6:57 pm

Habit7 wrote: If I am wrong, please quote whenever you blamed Kamla for crime?

So I guess I was right, you have never blamed Kamla for crime, but now you are blaming Rowley

Unlike you, I have a principled stance on politics and I align myself with the party that most agrees with me. Therefore I will condemn and congratulate both parties when they violate or follow those principles. One of my principles is that I dont politicise the guilt of crime. I didnt do it against Kamla, wont do it against Rowley. I hold them responsible to set policy, but blaming a govt for violators of the policy is like me blaming govt for me speeding. The policy can make it more intimidating for me to speed, but it is still my free choice to do so.

However, you stayed quiet during Kamla about govt blame for crime for 5 years, and now after 8 months you put blame square in Rowley's hands. You are free to do so, but that is being inconsistent. The same inconsistency you accusing Rowley of.

De Dragon wrote:Your demi-God PM would make that statement in one form or another ad nauseam while in Opposition. Now that he is the PM, it's fack talk about switch, and Police responsible? Nah soldier, try aginhttp://www.google.tt/url?sa=t&rct=j ... 8Oq9JmmRlQ
If the article you are trying to post is this http://m.guardian.co.tt/editorial/2011/ ... y-blunders he is criticising Kamla for the Reshmi fiasco, which Kamla later acknowledged as a grave mistake, not blaming Kamla for crime.

Postby zoom rader » May 18th, 2016, 3:50 am

Habit7 will not vote non PNM. He's a true fan of PNM.

I feel he's this guy on Radio they call Mr POS or some some Jamaican

Postby Habit7 » May 18th, 2016, 8:30 am

zoom rader wrote:Habit7 will not vote non PNM. He's a true fan of PNM.

I feel he's this guy on Radio they call Mr POS or some some Jamaican

Thank you very much, for allowing me my contribution.

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2016, 9:31 am

If the buck of crime stops with the criminals, what is our course of action to stop Crime?

Dear criminals,
plz stop crime.
Ktnxby

So, crime swill now stop cause I aks crimists to stop criming.

Postby Habit7 » May 18th, 2016, 10:54 am

sMASH wrote:If the buck of crime stops with the criminals, what is our course of action to stop Crime?

Dear criminals,
plz stop crime.
Ktnxby

So, crime swill now stop cause I aks crimists to stop criming.

Have you ever driven over 80kph? How does the govt/police stop you from going over 80kph?

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2016, 11:26 am

I want back all my taxes that went to fund the police. Because they are not the solution to the problem.
children don't need parents, if they can't do anything right for themselves, hard luck, we just let them be.

Postby De Dragon » May 19th, 2016, 1:37 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Habit7 wrote: If I am wrong, please quote whenever you blamed Kamla for crime?

So I guess I was right, you have never blamed Kamla for crime, but now you are blaming Rowley

Unlike you, I have a principled stance on politics and I align myself with the party that most agrees with me. Therefore I will condemn and congratulate both parties when they violate or follow those principles. One of my principles is that I dont politicise the guilt of crime. I didnt do it against Kamla, wont do it against Rowley. I hold them responsible to set policy, but blaming a govt for violators of the policy is like me blaming govt for me speeding. The policy can make it more intimidating for me to speed, but it is still my free choice to do so.

However, you stayed quiet during Kamla about govt blame for crime for 5 years, and now after 8 months you put blame square in Rowley's hands. You are free to do so, but that is being inconsistent. The same inconsistency you accusing Rowley of.

De Dragon wrote:Your demi-God PM would make that statement in one form or another ad nauseam while in Opposition. Now that he is the PM, it's fack talk about switch, and Police responsible? Nah soldier, try aginhttp://www.google.tt/url?sa=t&rct=j ... 8Oq9JmmRlQ
If the article you are trying to post is this http://m.guardian.co.tt/editorial/2011/ ... y-blunders he is criticising Kamla for the Reshmi fiasco, which Kamla later acknowledged as a grave mistake, not blaming Kamla for crime.

Quoted for pure unadulterated sheit! You is the SWMCOL of hypocrisy. I have criticized the PP for crime already, but you go and dig up the quotes for yourself, as I don't live my life to pander to people on here to have the last word like you, so not every thing I say or do is on this forum.

Postby eliteauto » May 19th, 2016, 2:57 pm

Postby sMASH » May 19th, 2016, 3:02 pm

Postby K74T » May 19th, 2016, 3:02 pm

Postby Habit7 » May 19th, 2016, 3:27 pm

Remember the good old days when you believed this
toyota2nr wrote:
buzz wrote:toyota2nr, When yuh finish read lemme hear yuh?
typical UNC bandwaggonist again :lol:
support PNM ? :lol: yuh long enough on dis site to see me and scullman and RASC "argue"
i'm being REAL
no govt ever give a fcuk bout allyuh
i wish honestly... that UNC win next election :lol:
crime would be down by 90%
price of food would drop
there would be no more AIDS
right? :lol:

If another government came into power now crime would go down. It happened in 1995 and it will happen again. A new government will have the will to lower food prices, it can be done right now but as usual the PNM don't care. No one wanna fight for their rights but they prefer to come here and open up their beak. What are you doing to make things better in T&T?

:? :? :?
You oversimplify my racist friend. No Government can lower food prices caused by global market influences or recessionary pressure. Also to reduce crime will take more than a new government in power.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 19th, 2016, 3:46 pm

I feel De Dragon and Habit is like Panday and Manning..........when Manning got ill one of the few persons he allowed to come visit him was Panday. We think they enemies but in actuality they are really close buddies.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » May 19th, 2016, 3:50 pm

PPl still arguing over UNC & PNM?

Fadder help us...

Both parties cut fm the same cloth.

Re: RE: Re: Government achievement thread.

Postby Habit7 » May 19th, 2016, 4:13 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:I feel De Dragon and Habit is like Panday and Manning..........when Manning got ill one of the few persons he allowed to come visit him was Panday. We think they enemies but in actuality they are really close buddies.

UML gone, I have nobody to play with :(

Postby eliteauto » May 19th, 2016, 5:22 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:I feel De Dragon and Habit is like Panday and Manning..........when Manning got ill one of the few persons he allowed to come visit him was Panday. We think they enemies but in actuality they are really close buddies.

Ill alone? I know of the two of dem liming tonight and clashing in parliament the very next day

Postby K74T » May 19th, 2016, 5:33 pm

PM1_2NR wrote:Image Clearly Dizzy28 enno whoze we

Postby zoom rader » May 21st, 2016, 12:15 am

PNM sends home workers once again, most likely injuns targeted .

Officials from the Ministry of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries are set to meet with officials of the National Union of Government and Federated Workers (NUGFW) to decide the fate of 67 employees on Monday.
The team, which will be led by Permanent Secretary Joy Persad-Myers, will include other senior and technical officials.
The meeting is scheduled to take place at 1.30 pm at the ministry’s office in St Clair.
Addressing concerns by the workers—most of whom have been classified as casual and regular employees, Minister Clarence Rambharat yesterday explained the rationale behind what he stressed was a “lay off” and not retrenchment.
Speaking to reporters as he left the Ministry of Health’s Anti-Microbial Resistance seminar at the Marriott Hotel, Invaders Bay, Mucurapo, to attend yesterday’s sitting of Parliament, Rambharat said his ministry had employed a “lot of casual workers” because of the particular season.
Having just completed the dry season, Rambharat said there was no longer a need for so many persons. Following an internal exercise, an initial list of 69 workers was identified.
However, Rambharat said this number had been reduced to 67 which included a mix of both regular and casual workers.
Referring to the collective agreement with the NUGFW, Rambharat said, “It provides for the ministry to lay off regular and casual workers when there is no work for them.”
Stressing that “it is a lay off, not retrenchment,” the minister said the agreement stipulated that regular workers be given five days’ notice and that casual workers be given two days’ notice, as to their professional standing.
Although no decision was taken up to yesterday regarding the fate of the 67 workers, Rambharat gave the assurance that the team would “strive for fairness” in their deliberations with the union.
In fact, he said, some of the workers may actually “be retained in other positions.”
However, he warned, “There will be other NUGFW members who will be competing for the same positions.”
Stating that the ministry was not there to create jobs but that there were currently 174 public service positions that needed to be filled along with other contract positions, Rambharat said they wanted to ensure that persons with technical qualifications, competence and capacity in their respective fields were hired.
Workers protested after an internal memo by the permanent secretary regarding the termination of daily rated workers was leaked last week, prompting Mayaro MP Rushton Paray to call on Government to discontinue the practice of sending workers home.
Paray said the move was counter-productive and also posed a threat to the country’s food security.
He said it was an inhumane action which struck at the heart of the working class.
Responding via social media, Rambharat later said that during the period 2014/2015, an excessive number of daily paid casual employees had been retained in the Lands Division, and that there was now insufficient work to sustain the large labour force.
He said the issue of qualified personnel had also arisen and that it was on this basis, the decision to reduce the workforce had been taken.
Rambharat yesterday promised that they would work with the union as they moved forward on the issue.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-05- ... re-workers

Postby De Dragon » May 22nd, 2016, 5:30 am

zoom rader wrote:PNM sends home workers once again, most likely injuns targeted .

Officials from the Ministry of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries are set to meet with officials of the National Union of Government and Federated Workers (NUGFW) to decide the fate of 67 employees on Monday.
The team, which will be led by Permanent Secretary Joy Persad-Myers, will include other senior and technical officials.
The meeting is scheduled to take place at 1.30 pm at the ministry’s office in St Clair.
Addressing concerns by the workers—most of whom have been classified as casual and regular employees, Minister Clarence Rambharat yesterday explained the rationale behind what he stressed was a “lay off” and not retrenchment.
Speaking to reporters as he left the Ministry of Health’s Anti-Microbial Resistance seminar at the Marriott Hotel, Invaders Bay, Mucurapo, to attend yesterday’s sitting of Parliament, Rambharat said his ministry had employed a “lot of casual workers” because of the particular season.
Having just completed the dry season, Rambharat said there was no longer a need for so many persons. Following an internal exercise, an initial list of 69 workers was identified.
However, Rambharat said this number had been reduced to 67 which included a mix of both regular and casual workers.
Referring to the collective agreement with the NUGFW, Rambharat said, “It provides for the ministry to lay off regular and casual workers when there is no work for them.”
Stressing that “it is a lay off, not retrenchment,” the minister said the agreement stipulated that regular workers be given five days’ notice and that casual workers be given two days’ notice, as to their professional standing.
Although no decision was taken up to yesterday regarding the fate of the 67 workers, Rambharat gave the assurance that the team would “strive for fairness” in their deliberations with the union.
In fact, he said, some of the workers may actually “be retained in other positions.”
However, he warned, “There will be other NUGFW members who will be competing for the same positions.”
Stating that the ministry was not there to create jobs but that there were currently 174 public service positions that needed to be filled along with other contract positions, Rambharat said they wanted to ensure that persons with technical qualifications, competence and capacity in their respective fields were hired.
Workers protested after an internal memo by the permanent secretary regarding the termination of daily rated workers was leaked last week, prompting Mayaro MP Rushton Paray to call on Government to discontinue the practice of sending workers home.
Paray said the move was counter-productive and also posed a threat to the country’s food security.
He said it was an inhumane action which struck at the heart of the working class.
Responding via social media, Rambharat later said that during the period 2014/2015, an excessive number of daily paid casual employees had been retained in the Lands Division, and that there was now insufficient work to sustain the large labour force.
He said the issue of qualified personnel had also arisen and that it was on this basis, the decision to reduce the workforce had been taken.
Rambharat yesterday promised that they would work with the union as they moved forward on the issue.

If there is bloat in these departments, then the Government has to do what it thinks is right, but we need to see the corresponding and expected increase in efficiency and service from these departments. Otherwise the exercise is one in futility, creates bad will on the Government's part and makes the Government look bad.

Postby De Dragon » May 22nd, 2016, 5:30 am

zoom rader wrote:PNM sends home workers once again, most likely injuns targeted .

If there is bloat in these departments, then the Government has to do what it thinks is right, but we need to see the corresponding and expected increase in efficiency and service from these departments. Otherwise the exercise is one in futility, creates bad will on the Government's part and makes the Government look bad.

Government achievement thread.

Postby K74T » May 22nd, 2016, 7:12 am

Proof or rubber talk once again racist

civicman

Postby civicman » May 22nd, 2016, 9:04 am

On the campaign trail the talk was.
"No more contract workers,we doing away with this foolishness,when young people need to buy a little house car or some need they can't go to the bank.Its time to bring back security for workers in the public sector."

And the crowd went wild
Wine jam jam jam wine.
Oh God we red and ready.

Who remember that no one could say that is a fabrication.

After being in government for so many years under Patrick,you didn't know how the government operates.

Making all kind ah honkey dorey claims
And now saying we didn't know it was like that or it was so bad.blah blah blah.

Well if is one thing he kept part of the promise.He doing away with contract workers.

Postby zoom rader » May 22nd, 2016, 12:26 pm

K74T wrote:

Proof or rubber talk once again racist

My statement says "Most likely " it did not say Injuns ARE targeted.

So we have juss seen an Injun cleansing in the SSA and now Agriculture has a cleaning list.

Who works in Agriculture anyway, laventille and Beetham PNM type ppl who are masters in Agriculture?

Postby zoom rader » May 23rd, 2016, 11:59 pm

Meanwhile the PNM murder rate sores to 192

Postby zoom rader » May 24th, 2016, 12:10 pm

This is a disappointing chead, can someone at least put up a PNM Achievement

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 24th, 2016, 12:58 pm

only ting poo nm achieving is f_ing up d whole country

& dont blame kamla nuh , dat excuse worn out long time ago ..... :|

Miktay

Postby Miktay » May 24th, 2016, 2:37 pm

zoom rader wrote:This is a disappointing chead, can someone at least put up a PNM Achievement

Current or past?

Postby sMASH » May 25th, 2016, 12:14 am

Miktay wrote:
zoom rader wrote:This is a disappointing chead, can someone at least put up a PNM Achievement

Current or past?

No reagents for processing donated blood....

High class negligence

Postby zoom rader » May 27th, 2016, 2:58 pm

So no PNM achievements todate, but Rowely attacks the Independent senators .

There is a long established convention in the Parliament that members of one chamber in general do not comment on the goings-on in another chamber, Independent bench elder Dr Dhanayshar Mahabir has said.

He yesterday declined to address criticism by Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley, who on Wednesday accused Independent senators of “organising themselves as a political party” to obstruct Government progress on the recent Strategic Services Agency (amendment) bill.

Seven of the nine Independents vetoed the bill while Independent Hugh Roach and temporary Independent Justin Junkere supported it towards passage. Rowley also took issue with recent statements by Mahabir.

Rowley said Government had gone to Parliament to amend the SSA bill to give security agencies a better vantage point to respond to crime and “...we have Independent senators who are free to be independent but organising themselves as a political party in the Parliament to obstruct the Government’s progress.”

On Government’s privileges motion against temporary UNC Senator Gerald Ramdeen, and claims that Mahabir said any motion “should have come” from the Independent bench since the issue involved Independent Junkere, the PM had said it wasn’t for Mahabir to tell Government senators what they should and shouldn’t do. He said he didn’t know where an Independent senator “would have got it from, to say it should have been done by any particular person..”

Rowley added if Independents were inclined to raise the matter, he’d have expected Mahabir would have been in the forefront of filing the motion.

The Independent bench under regulations has no leader. But Mahabir, who is the longest serving member, is regarded as an elder and sometimes does administrative chores, but doesn’t “lead” the bench since it involves members who are independent of each other.

Contacted on the PM’s criticisms, Mahabir said: “In the Parliament, the long established convention of members of one chamber—Lower House or Senate—not commenting on the goings-on in the other chamber isn’t written, but is practice of many years.

“Even in our chamber, when we have to refer to Hansard reports from the House of Representatives, the Senate President usually informs us that we need to be on point and cannot refer in any extended way to it and to move on. Given that that convention is in existence, and I respect all Parliament conventions, I cannot at all comment on what a member of another chamber has said about the members on the Independent bench in the Senate.”

Mahabir added, “If people wish to break with Parliament tradition, they have a right to do so and exercise freedom of speech as mandated in the Constitution.

“But I, for one, am a stickler for convention...We have come to develop a certain code that says in a debate that we’re all being very courteous to each other.

I love Parliamentary convention, as it sets standards for civil behaviour and creation of a truly civil society—and because I respect our Parliamentary convention, I hope you understand why I will not comment on the statements by a member from the House of Representatives.”

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-05- ... -criticism

coolfiger

Postby coolfiger » May 27th, 2016, 4:17 pm

Well alyuh aint see nothing yet . 15000 food cards are being cut this week . No attempt has been made to contact the people the ps say cut them if they dont come to the office.
The ps has blatantly said she wants no indian driver to cary her around ... Instructions were given to hr and audit to pressure all senior persons to leave .
They getting rid of the competent people and people who know the systems and replacing them with people who dont even know know to sort cells in excell .

When the staff not there how will the food card program even function .. Crazyness