PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Virus

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Virus » March 1st, 2011, 12:47 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR I agree with you, last year when my SSD's fail it stated the lifetime to about about 3000000000 hrs or something so, and i didnt even reach 7% of that in 6mths mind you no constant writes just reads for booting etc and in no time couldnt even access the MBR etc, mounted the drive in Red Hat and still fail send it back to intel tock ages so now i just pray for it never to fail at lease not for this year LOL

Postby M_2NR » March 4th, 2011, 7:16 pm

So umm.. /another/ supershit product i have here just died a Tt PurePower 500W. well im assuming... im gonna test it out properly tonight.

Switching on the pc, no boot, no fan came on. Light on Mobo though. tried another case switch, nothing still. Hoping its the PSU alone.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 4th, 2011, 7:52 pm

M_2NR wrote:So umm.. /another/ supershit product i have here just died a Tt PurePower 500W. well im assuming... im gonna test it out properly tonight.

Switching on the pc, no boot, no fan came on. Light on Mobo though. tried another case switch, nothing still. Hoping its the PSU alone.

If the light on the board on that doesn't mean the psu totally dead.

Try a next psu on the system before u rule out the TT unit eh.

Can't say a psu ever died on me before 3 years nah, generic or branded.

Postby M_2NR » March 4th, 2011, 8:41 pm

YUP i eh ruling out anything yet.

if its the mobo is not like i didnt expect it was an open box that i paid 2/3 the price for it

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 4th, 2011, 10:58 pm

M_2NR wrote:So umm.. /another/ supershit product i have here just died a Tt PurePower 500W. well im assuming... im gonna test it out properly tonight.

A good quality ps will fail protecting your other components, an inferior ps will let a surge through.

Virus

Postby Virus » March 5th, 2011, 10:19 am

Get a Psu tester should cost a few bucks best way to determine failure or failing

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » March 5th, 2011, 11:13 am

^^or just try de paper clip trick

Postby M_2NR » March 7th, 2011, 9:11 pm

thanks guys... ordered a PSU tester a coolmax.

if u all following S2U, here is a great FAQ they put together... I hope it lives up to the hype...

http://speedhunters.com/archive/2011/03 ... tions.aspx

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 7th, 2011, 11:12 pm

S2U take win yes......BTW that Evo IX look the best as always lol

Postby M_2NR » March 7th, 2011, 11:36 pm

it didnt come out yet....

Virus

Postby Virus » March 8th, 2011, 10:13 am

Hope its not a big flop, my hopes are high tho so when it drop i will give reviews

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 10th, 2011, 12:00 am

why is this so cheap?
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications ... u=C13-5706

16GB DDR3 dual channel 1600Mhz PC12800
CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9
US$209.99

is it because it is CAS9?

I need to find decent dual channel memory for a Sandy Bridge build
12GB ram would suffice for me

Virus

Postby Virus » March 10th, 2011, 5:55 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:why is this so cheap?
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications ... u=C13-5706

16GB DDR3 dual channel 1600Mhz PC12800
CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9
US$209.99

is it because it is CAS9?

I need to find decent dual channel memory for a Sandy Bridge build
12GB ram would suffice for me

Simple DDR3 has become mainstream now so like with DDR2 and all others before capacities will go up, CAS in this case would as well but dont be confused with CAS Duane here is an example just to clear it up

CAS is measured in clock cycles, so cas 4 ddr2-800 is .000005 sec latency
where newer DDR3 RAM may be cas 7 ddr3-1600 @.000004375 sec latency

CAS latency is measured in cycles. Clock speed determines how long the cycle is.

For example, DDR2-800 runs at 400MHz, meaning 400 million cycles per second. That means that each cycle is 0.0000000025 seconds. If that is running at CAS 4, then the true CAS latency is 0.0000000025 seconds/cycle x 4 cycles = 0.00000001 seconds.

If you have DDR3-1600, which runs at 800MHz, or 800 million cycles per second, then each cycle is 0.00000000125 seconds. If that is running at CAS 8, then the actual CAS latency is 0.00000000125 seconds/cycle x 8 cycles = 0.00000001 seconds.

Notice how the DDR2 and DDR3 have the exact same actual CAS latency of 0.00000001 seconds.

I hope you understand but heres a link for some reading all others should look as well to understand why CAS sometimes doesnt matter with DDR3 since we are talk about pure bandwidth

http://www.techradar.com/blogs/article/is-it-ddr3-time-yet--315401?artc_pg=1

AS for you application 12GB is more than enough, combed with your sandy bridge and some tweaks even going as far to say gpu your system would achieve all your reqirements at amazing speed trust I rasta MAN

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 10th, 2011, 9:35 am

^ in that case at US$200 for 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz I think I'll take the Corsair kit I posted above
unless there is something you can recommend

I figured it didnt matter much after reading this article last night
http://www.anandtech.com/show/2792/13

Virus

Postby Virus » March 10th, 2011, 10:05 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ in that case at US$200 for 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz I think I'll take the Corsair kit I posted above
unless there is something you can recommend

I figured it didnt matter much after reading this article last night
http://www.anandtech.com/show/2792/13

No real recommendations so go for it dont think any recommendations at this stage will have any inpact if others say different then it would be a subject of words no real word application

indianlove

Postby indianlove » March 16th, 2011, 8:41 pm

anybody have a good 5.1 pci sound card for sale?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 18th, 2011, 6:51 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 18th, 2011, 7:13 pm

^ was thinking about the GTX 560 Ti, which is an upgrade on the GTX 460

but I couldnt find out whether it out performs the GTX 460 Super Clocked version

anyone?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 18th, 2011, 7:41 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 18th, 2011, 10:47 pm

^ I saw the SE there - not the superclocked - they sell as different items on amazon - are they the same thing?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 18th, 2011, 11:13 pm

The GTX 560 Ti is about 25-30% faster than the GTX 460 1GB version. Dunno if they benched it against the SSC version of the 460 though.

Review here: http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforce-g ... i-review/1

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 19th, 2011, 6:41 am

Fellas is buying an x58 chipset mobo still a good idea for a gaming rig?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 19th, 2011, 8:01 am

gracen wrote:Fellas is buying an x58 chipset mobo still a good idea for a gaming rig?

Boy to be honest i doh feel so nah. The new Sandy Bridge cpus dem outperforming the Socket 1366 processors for the same price or less. However if u getting a cpu/board cheap u can still get one.

My i7 930 setup still mashing up my AMD Phenom II quad and hex core systems though. :D

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 19th, 2011, 11:51 am

The new 1155 B3 stepping boards are not out and selling so that would be the best choice for a gaming rig right now for the price IMO

SPRANG_A

Postby SPRANG_A » March 19th, 2011, 11:56 am

Asus M4A89TD Pro/USB3 (AMD 890FX ATX)
AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition (3.4GHz) 125W
Kingston 16GB DDR3-1333 (4x4GB)
2 x ATI Radeon HD 6950 2GB

1x 1TB hard drive (preferably seagate or western digital)
1000 watt power supply

thoughts?

Virus

Postby Virus » March 19th, 2011, 12:06 pm

HCCA wrote:
gracen wrote:Fellas is buying an x58 chipset mobo still a good idea for a gaming rig?

Boy to be honest i doh feel so nah. The new Sandy Bridge cpus dem outperforming the Socket 1366 processors for the same price or less. However if u getting a cpu/board cheap u can still get one.

My i7 930 setup still mashing up my AMD Phenom II quad and hex core systems though. :D

You aint bounce up a good hex yet or even a good quad :lol: but dont worry i will arrange that for you

Virus

Postby Virus » March 19th, 2011, 12:12 pm

SPRANG_A wrote:Asus M4A89TD Pro/USB3 (AMD 890FX ATX)

1000 watt power supply

thoughts?

Get 1600-DDR3 yes AM3 is native 1333 blah blah but when you ready to over clock the head room would be great, dont worry about running 1600 out the box the m4a needs to be tweeked in the bios but after that i figure that 3.4 can be 4.2 stable with no bottlenecks.

Get a black edition WB simply because its better (yes thats my thoughts)

Cant comment on ATI cards no real world experiences to date.

Why didnt you get the 1055T pair that with your current mobo and surely 4.ghz is just a trip to the bios

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 19th, 2011, 12:31 pm

Virus wrote:
HCCA wrote:

You aint bounce up a good hex yet or even a good quad :lol: but dont worry i will arrange that for you

Comparing it against an x4 965 @ 3.5GHz and a 1055T hex core at 3.5ghz eh. The 1055T system comes close but only with heavy overclocking on the gpus and cpu.

Postby bushwakka » March 19th, 2011, 12:46 pm

SPRANG_A wrote:Asus M4A89TD Pro/USB3 (AMD 890FX ATX)

1000 watt power supply

thoughts?

get a small SSD just to run ur OS on and ur other 'main' programs and then use another larger conventional HDD to do mass storage

my 2c

Postby M_2NR » March 19th, 2011, 12:47 pm

I ordered a MiniITX setup yesterday. Always wanted one of those. The total was $250.00.
I wanted it to act as a NAS-like setup as it will be on 24/7 and basically share my files to the other pc's and be able to backup to and also download my stuff. =)

Ohh and the motherboard died i assume... because the PSU the error it was going crazy for was PG or Power Good which apparently doesnt matter for new systems.