Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby foss » November 29th, 2010, 12:39 pm

ryan99tt wrote:u shud go below ground, it will keep the temp lower and it looks alot better imo...

there is a dentist in South who has two ponds in his business place. Not in the ground. But WOW !!! with Kois and Goldfish.... damn... something to admire there!

If anyone knows who I'm talking about will know how great the ponds look.

Not disclosing who it is (should some bad mind ass mess them up)

Postby Sky » November 29th, 2010, 1:00 pm

foss wrote:
keith wrote:i think some of your fishes have been nipping fins.i have a double sword hilaire which goes on a fin nipping spree & then stops bothering dem.give dem adequate hiding places & keep dem well fed..don't keep barbs.even angelfish & danios also nip fins.

well all the different breeds tend to keep to themselves, nobody harasses anyone.
maybe at night is when it goes down.
the hilaries don't chase anyone either.. sigh.. all the tails bite up :( well almost all

I had an aquarium with a 3 hilaries, 2 small angels, 3 fan tail guppies, a black guppy and a fighter.
The hilaries breed and the babies survived until there was lik 7 of them. One day I saw one of the fan tails with a busted tail. I blamed the fighter and left it.
One morning I woke up and all the aquarium had was the hilaries moving normal and the fighter in the corner busted up. Only he knows what happened that night, and I bet he thank God for his fighting abilities. I put him in his own aquarium but he lost all his zest after that. The hilaries continued to multiply and soon they had their own self sustaining eco system without me having to feed them. All I did was clean the filter.

Postby foss » November 30th, 2010, 8:52 am

I have a Ick situation which I am dealing with. :(

Believe its from some of the new plants I got recently

Postby zoom rader » November 30th, 2010, 9:41 am

JM wrote:So all my kois died randomly..all at once...
its a small outdoor pond...with
1 billion guppies, mollies - none of which seem affected
1 iridescent shark - unaffected
2 comets - unaffected
1 goldfish - unaffected..
10 angels - 2 of which died
1 chinese algae eater - which died
2 Blue Dolphin cichlids - the bigger 1 died
8 butterfly koi - all died

any thoughts? the koi were about 8 inches long..just the body..
the shark is the same size, comets a little smaller, algae eater about the same length..
strangely the bigger fish died except the shark...
it happened over the course of 1 night...i was thinking perhaps the area was sprayed for mosquitoes and they died!? but then why the shark and the comets live?! even the goldfish..

Oh and i need advice on stingray keeping...anyone have experience?

Dude,
I grow Large Kois up to 36 inches. Kois like to live by themselfs and not with any other fishes
2.The larger the kois the more space and deeper the pond has to be.
3.I would say that your kois died because the ammonia level were very high.U need to have a proper filter systerm that can take care of the ammonia & nitrates.
4.Keeping kois is a very hard hobby and u need to know about the water quaily and chemistry

Your kois died becuase of high Ammonia in the water. The more u feed kois the more ammonia it produces.You also need to do water changes and salting the pond.There alot more to this,Kois are not for everybody.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » November 30th, 2010, 11:19 am

anyone knows where i can get frozen blood worms in the east?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » November 30th, 2010, 11:24 am

foss wrote:I have a Ick situation which I am dealing with. :(

buy a heater and crank it up to 2 degrees higher than normal (32-33)
all will be gone in 2 days

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » November 30th, 2010, 11:27 am

IMG00298-20101130-1050.jpg

this is my new stock of discus.

after losing about 5k worth of discus 6 months ago i was skeptical about jumping out again, i i love these fish too mush to have stayed away any longer.

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » November 30th, 2010, 9:44 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:anyone knows where i can get frozen blood worms in the east?

CHAI'S HAD A WHILE BACK

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 30th, 2010, 10:19 pm

foss wrote:I have a Ick situation which I am dealing with. :(

there is a tablet they sell in most petstores called ich-guard. I think jungle is the brand. you just throw in the tablet and it desolves. works real good. bought some at natures world in sando

Postby foss » November 30th, 2010, 10:37 pm

^ thanks bro.

been using Methylene Blue for now. and monitoring daily.
Have the filter switched off also.

Will definitely look into getting some ick-guard as well.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 30th, 2010, 10:44 pm

this works better and faster than meth blue. every once in awhile i throw in one as a precaution. i also use the ones for parasites

Postby foss » November 30th, 2010, 10:47 pm

imma check it out!

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » December 3rd, 2010, 6:25 pm

foss wrote:imma check it out!

malachite green fastest cure but very potent
raj have

JM

Postby JM » December 7th, 2010, 10:06 pm

JM wrote:So all my kois died randomly..all at once...
its a small outdoor pond...with
1 billion guppies, mollies - none of which seem affected
1 iridescent shark - unaffected
2 comets - unaffected
1 goldfish - unaffected..
10 angels - 2 of which died
1 chinese algae eater - which died
2 Blue Dolphin cichlids - the bigger 1 died
8 butterfly koi - all died

any thoughts? the koi were about 8 inches long..just the body..
the shark is the same size, comets a little smaller, algae eater about the same length..
strangely the bigger fish died except the shark...
it happened over the course of 1 night...i was thinking perhaps the area was sprayed for mosquitoes and they died!? but then why the shark and the comets live?! even the goldfish..

Oh and i need advice on stingray keeping...anyone have experience?

Dude,
I grow Large Kois up to 36 inches. Kois like to live by themselfs and not with any other fishes
2.The larger the kois the more space and deeper the pond has to be.
3.I would say that your kois died because the ammonia level were very high.U need to have a proper filter systerm that can take care of the ammonia & nitrates.
4.Keeping kois is a very hard hobby and u need to know about the water quaily and chemistry

Your kois died becuase of high Ammonia in the water. The more u feed kois the more ammonia it produces.You also need to do water changes and salting the pond.There alot more to this,Kois are not for everybody.

But all that in one night?! Koi's dying regardless of size?!
and howcome some of the other's died as well tho?!
Im not saying ur wrong, i just think that if its an ammonia level issue then they wouldnt all go in one night. What are the proportions used for salting a pond for koi fish tho?
What would a filtration system to remove ammonia entail as well?
I always thought my uncontrollable hyacinth population would deal with the ammonia as well?
No disrespect..i just trying to learn here....

btw would u also object to anyone keeping koi fish permanently in aquariums 6feet and smaller?!

also i need to find carbon to buy...if anyone knows....where i can?!

Postby UML » December 7th, 2010, 10:25 pm

THANK GOD the 72nd Page done!!!

WTF!!!

Foss try not tuh do dat sheit with the pics nah.......it was a real turnoff from viewing the thread when u have tuh wait long tuh see wat in it while pics load.....and ims ure other tuners agree.....well those without the super duper net!!!

Postby foss » December 7th, 2010, 10:30 pm

others still posted. only you complained... so hush yuh mouth! :lol:

slow internetz is so 90's

Postby UML » December 7th, 2010, 10:33 pm

cause nobody want to tell u that ur a fool tuh put a 100 pics....wahm yuh cah decide on 5 like normal ppl?!

link

Postby link » December 8th, 2010, 7:40 am

SHARIFF wrote:
foss wrote:imma check it out!

malachite green fastest cure but very potent
raj have

isn't malachite green carcinogenic ??? & I think 'they' pulling frm market soon...if not done already.......

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 8th, 2010, 10:16 am

UML wrote:THANK GOD the 72nd Page done!!!

WTF!!!

Foss try not tuh do dat sheit with the pics nah.......it was a real turnoff from viewing the thread when u have tuh wait long tuh see wat in it while pics load.....and ims ure other tuners agree.....well those without the super duper net!!!

SURE RITE...............................

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » December 9th, 2010, 1:36 am

isn't malachite green carcinogenic ??? & I think 'they' pulling frm market soon...if not done already.......[/quote]

malachite IS STILL MADE BY KORDON for ornamental fish
it should not used for food fish and ah doh
tink FOSS gon eat dem guppies LOL

link

Postby link » December 9th, 2010, 3:47 am

am I 'pushin' tings' ???
if u can't use it for food fish, why the hell u use it on ornamentals.............IS THIS THING UNSAFE ??? wha' abt d 'funny' fish' ???
the english language is a funny thing.....YO

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 9th, 2010, 5:46 am

^i think they gonna clamp down on its use and regulate it to vet use only. no longer 'off the shelf'. As for the carcinogen...that warning is already present on some off the shelf m.green medication bottles. :|

Postby UML » December 9th, 2010, 1:01 pm

SHARIFF wrote:isn't malachite green carcinogenic ??? & I think 'they' pulling frm market soon...if not done already.......

malachite IS STILL MADE BY KORDON for ornamental fish
it should not used for food fish and ah doh
tink FOSS gon eat dem guppies LOL[/quote]

the reason for mentioning it is a carcinogen wud be to highlight handling and storage of the product.....not eating the fish :|

also remember when u cleaning ur tank, catching fish, etc....you DO come in contact with the water....thus the carcinogen

:idea:

Postby foss » December 9th, 2010, 1:25 pm

fyi.. the page was cleaned up :roll:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 20th, 2010, 6:34 pm

where everybody gone.................... FOSS, LIKE YUH BLIGHT. SINCE U POST UP EVERYBODY IN HIDING

Postby sharkman121 » December 20th, 2010, 6:41 pm

WEYYYY... i forget bout dis ched yes :|

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 20th, 2010, 7:58 pm

like nobody aint get no new fish to talk about self?
ey sharkman, any coraline growing yet?
any new additions.

Postby sharkman121 » December 20th, 2010, 8:06 pm

Nah Dean no new additions... i rel lapsin these days, money diverted as alot of stuff coming up.

Only subtractions as ryan damn wrasse eat mih chromis :?

Coraline algae catching on quite nicely, and eel gettin very big.

Postby foss » December 20th, 2010, 8:33 pm

:lol: :lol: just yesterday the thread crossed my mind.. or was it today? :?

nothing much goin on... all fish intact and loving the tank. (one died, got squeezed when I was doing some remodeling :( )

have another small tank setup for my preggys, they not very active in there though..

Postby sharkman121 » December 20th, 2010, 8:47 pm

foss wrote:nothing much goin on with me.. i got preggys wen a guy squeezed me.

:shock: :shock:

sorry foss i in wk an i bored :|