COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 32528 cases, 833 deaths, 7177 active, 24518 recovered in T&T

Postby teems1 » July 2nd, 2021, 9:13 am

No one knows.

It's a novel virus.

Only time will tell.
DMan7 wrote:Will the delta variant be the last variant of significance? What do you all think? Notice I said last variant of significance not last variant altogether.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 32528 cases, 833 deaths, 7177 active, 24518 recovered in T&T

Postby timelapse » July 2nd, 2021, 9:23 am

It reach past novel.At this point it's a bestseller

Postby adnj » July 2nd, 2021, 10:42 am

teems1 wrote:No one knows.

It's a novel virus.

Only time will tell.
DMan7 wrote:Will the delta variant be the last variant of significance? What do you all think? Notice I said last variant of significance not last variant altogether.

There is a new variant of concern already.

There’s now a Delta Plus variant of COVID-19 – what does this mean?

The Delta Plus variant – also known as B.1.617.2.1 or AY.1 – contains a new mutation in the spike protein the virus uses to enter human cells, called K417N. As it’s still closely linked to Delta, it’s been called Delta Plus rather than another letter in the Greek alphabet, according to WHO’s naming system for COVID-19 variants. So far, Delta Plus has been found in relatively low numbers.

India has already been ravaged by the Delta variant, and COVID-19 cases reached a horrifying peak of 400,000 daily cases in May. Last week, India’s Ministry of Health released a statement on Delta Plus citing three characteristics for concern.

These are: increased transmissibility, stronger binding to receptors of lung cells (suggesting easier entry into human cells), and a potential reduction in response to monoclonal antibodies (which could imply that people's immune systems may be less effective against this variant, or that they may be less responsive to lifesaving monoclonal antibody treatments).

https://www.gavi.org/vaccineswork/there ... -does-mean

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 2nd, 2021, 10:49 am

redmanjp wrote:all of the variants of concern came about before any significant part of any population was vaccinated. most in fact came about last year before vaccination started.

Large clinical trials for vaccines from the middle to end of last year were mostly done in South Africa, Brazil, UK and India.

I wonder ... why do those places sound soooooo awfully familiar.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 2nd, 2021, 10:58 am

Nope it won't ... We will have further variants end of this year and next year.
By targeting one antigen alone it puts alot of selection pressure on viruses to create antigenic shifts and drifts, Thereby creating more escape variants.

If the vaccine makers can change their formulations to include more antigens beside spike protein alone then this would go a long way in reduce selection pressure on the mutations. Thus reducing the amount of variants we have. Hopefully this happens soon.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 2nd, 2021, 11:12 am

drchaos wrote:
redmanjp wrote:all of the variants of concern came about before any significant part of any population was vaccinated. most in fact came about last year before vaccination started.

Large clinical trials for vaccines from the middle to end of last year were mostly done in South Africa, Brazil, UK and India.

awfully familiar is right

DTAC

Postby DTAC » July 2nd, 2021, 11:18 am

So we have Delta to the east of us and Lambda to the west and we stuck right in the middle. Now is not the time for border opening.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » July 2nd, 2021, 11:56 am

elec2020 wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Vaccine trials were in many more countries including the US many more in South America and Europe.

Postby st7 » July 2nd, 2021, 11:56 am

but how will the govt blame the Delta strain in the country that probably in here before they officially open the borders?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 2nd, 2021, 12:12 pm

l33t2 wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Vaccine trials were in many more countries including the US many more in South America and Europe.

Wasn't there a kent variant? Also the epsilon variant was first found where? in the US?

https://www.who.int/en/activities/track ... -variants/

Postby Habit7 » July 2nd, 2021, 12:30 pm

Listen, Jamaica is much less vaccinated than us and they have been mostly opened to foreign arrivals and they have seen no major rise in cases. We did our best for 1year to keep our cases low and succeeded. But from April onward, we lost. Now we are just like everybody else and we have to learn to deal with this virus. There will be Delta to Zeta, but we cannot afford to continue to live like this.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 2nd, 2021, 12:38 pm

What's next? Epsilon?

Postby paid_influencer » July 2nd, 2021, 12:39 pm

dais not enough letters laff

Postby adnj » July 2nd, 2021, 12:50 pm

DMan7 wrote:Image

What's next? Epsilon?
Lambda is already a variant of interest.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » July 2nd, 2021, 12:59 pm

Habit7 wrote:Listen, Jamaica is much less vaccinated than us and they have been mostly opened to foreign arrivals and they have seen no major rise in cases. We did our best for 1year to keep our cases low and succeeded. But from April onward, we lost. Now we are just like everybody else and we have to learn to deal with this virus. There will be Delta to Zeta, but we cannot afford to continue to live like this.

So you saying the border closure made no sense and it failed to do what was intended?

Postby Habit7 » July 2nd, 2021, 1:15 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Listen, Jamaica is much less vaccinated than us and they have been mostly opened to foreign arrivals and they have seen no major rise in cases. We did our best for 1year to keep our cases low and succeeded. But from April onward, we lost. Now we are just like everybody else and we have to learn to deal with this virus. There will be Delta to Zeta, but we cannot afford to continue to live like this.

So you saying the border closure made no sense and it failed to do what was intended?

I highlighted the counterpoint to what you are trying to put in my mouth.

Postby redmanjp » July 2nd, 2021, 1:20 pm

Postby adnj » July 2nd, 2021, 1:23 pm

l33t2 wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Viral mutations are more likely to occur in a host that is unable to effectively combat the replicating virus.

"Researchers have suggested that multiple mutations can arise in the course of the persistent infection of an immunocompromised patient, particularly when the virus develops escape mutations under the selection pressure of antibody or convalescent plasma treatment, with the same deletions in surface antigens repeatedly recurring in different patients."

https://www.sciencemag.org/news/2020/12 ... 9-pandemic

https://www.scientificamerican.com/arti ... e-systems/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7971772/

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 2nd, 2021, 1:35 pm

adnj wrote:
l33t2 wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Viral mutations are more likely to occur in a host that is unable to effectively combat the replicating virus.

"Researchers have suggested that multiple mutations can arise in the course of the persistent infection of an immunocompromised patient, particularly when the virus develops escape mutations under the selection pressure of antibody or convalescent plasma treatment, with the same deletions in surface antigens repeatedly recurring in different patients."

This statement agrees with what I was saying.
Convalescent plasma and monoclonal treatments work just like vaccines that target a single protein to cause selection pressure on virus to mutate.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 2nd, 2021, 1:36 pm

Habit7 wrote:Listen, Jamaica is much less vaccinated than us and they have been mostly opened to foreign arrivals and they have seen no major rise in cases. We did our best for 1year to keep our cases low and succeeded. But from April onward, we lost. Now we are just like everybody else and we have to learn to deal with this virus. There will be Delta to Zeta, but we
cannot afford to continue to live like this.

Hoss we couldn’t afford to do what the Gov did since last year.

Y’all forget rich countries can print their way out of a economic crisis. We can’t!

Postby bluefete » July 2nd, 2021, 1:51 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:

Can you not see that in the death rate and # of covid cases?

Postby Habit7 » July 2nd, 2021, 1:52 pm

drchaos wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Listen, Jamaica is much less vaccinated than us and they have been mostly opened to foreign arrivals and they have seen no major rise in cases. We did our best for 1year to keep our cases low and succeeded. But from April onward, we lost. Now we are just like everybody else and we have to learn to deal with this virus. There will be Delta to Zeta, but we

Y’all forget rich countries can print their way out of a economic crisis. We can’t!

You are agreeing with me.

Postby bluefete » July 2nd, 2021, 1:53 pm

drchaos wrote:

Jamaica is a rich country?

Postby Habit7 » July 2nd, 2021, 2:22 pm

bluefete wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Covid care about your wealth? What is your point?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » July 2nd, 2021, 3:02 pm

Habit7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
drchaos wrote:

You saying that Dr Rowley, Dr parasram and the rest of the pnm totally failed the country.

*applause*

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 2nd, 2021, 3:17 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
drchaos wrote:

You saying that Dr Rowley, Dr parasram and the rest of the pnm totally failed the country.

*applause*

Habit finally admitting the border closure was the stupidest most pointless thing ever. Nice.

Postby adnj » July 2nd, 2021, 3:27 pm

drchaos wrote:
adnj wrote:
l33t2 wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
drchaos wrote:

This statement agrees with what I was saying.
Convalescent plasma and monoclonal treatments work just like vaccines that target a single protein to cause selection pressure on virus to mutate.

No. It is saying something that is quite different from your vaccine vs. placebo thesis.

Postby Habit7 » July 2nd, 2021, 4:26 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
drchaos wrote:

*applause*

Habit finally admitting the border closure was the stupidest most pointless thing ever. Nice.

Where did I say that?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 2nd, 2021, 4:46 pm

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » July 2nd, 2021, 4:48 pm

implying our glorious commander wants private businesses to resume