Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Re: Local anti-vaxxers

Postby hover11 » September 21st, 2021, 9:40 pm

redmanjp wrote:
drchaos wrote:
adnj wrote:Image

And somehow the majority of them still alive ... Remember they outnumber your rass. 60% to 40% in sweet T&T.
Maybe god is an antivaxxer.

Even so they are carriers and passed it on to hundreds who have died. Thousands who ended up in hospital. Its not all about their own health you know. Same thing with masks. The main reason for the mandate is to prevent spread to others.
So your saying personal responsibility and the 3ws. However we becoming complacent and dropping our guard simply depending on vaccines

Postby Gladiator » September 21st, 2021, 9:46 pm

So hear nah... when last anybody get the normal cold. The one we used to get every year?

Postby timelapse » September 21st, 2021, 9:53 pm

Gladiator wrote:So hear nah... when last anybody get the normal cold. The one we used to get every year?
Me.Every time this damn Sahara dust comes

Postby hover11 » September 21st, 2021, 9:54 pm

Gladiator wrote:So hear nah... when last anybody get the normal cold. The one we used to get every year?
Well before we weren't as hygienic with the masks and sanitizers so that minimized transmission of those viruses as well, tbh I don't mind the sanitary way we living now with sanitizing on entry to businesses compared to before

Postby S_2NR » September 21st, 2021, 10:05 pm

timelapse wrote:
Me.Every time this damn Sahara dust comes

Men really out here thinking allergies is a cold?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 21st, 2021, 10:38 pm

redmanjp wrote:
drchaos wrote:

And somehow the majority of them still alive ... Remember they outnumber your rass. 60% to 40% in sweet T&T.

Even so they are carriers and passed it on to hundreds who have died. Thousands who ended up in hospital. Its not all about their own health you know. Same thing with masks. The main reason for the mandate is to prevent spread to others.

Interesting ... Didn't know that vaccination prevents you from spreading covid.

So once we are all vaccinated then its impossible for covid to spread?
oh thank god I was beginning to get worried that we would never stop the pandemic!

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » September 21st, 2021, 11:09 pm

drchaos wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
drchaos wrote:

oh thank god I was beginning to get worried that we would never stop the pandemic!
If everybody is vaccinated then covid spread basically slows to zero.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 21st, 2021, 11:30 pm

CDC finds unvaccinated 11 times more likely to die of COVID

New US studies released Friday show the COVID-19 vaccines remain highly effective against hospitalisations and death even as the extra-contagious delta variant swept the country.

One study tracked over 600,000 COVID-19 cases in 13 states from April through mid-July. As delta surged in early summer, those who were unvaccinated were 4.5 times more likely than the fully vaccinated to get infected, over 10 times more likely to be hospitalised and 11 times more likely to die, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

“Vaccination works,” Dr Rochelle Walensky, CDC’s director, told a White House briefing Friday. “The bottom line is this: We have the scientific tools we need to turn the corner on this pandemic.”

But as earlier data has shown, protection against coronavirus infection is slipping some: It was 91 per cent in the spring but 78 per cent in June and July, the study found.

So-called "breakthrough” cases in the fully vaccinated accounted for 14 per cent of hospitalisations and 16 per cent of deaths in June and July, about twice the percentage as earlier in the year.

An increase in those percentages isn’t surprising: No one ever said the vaccines were perfect and health experts have warned that as more Americans get vaccinated, they naturally will account for a greater fraction of the cases.

Walensky said Friday that well over 90 per cent of people in US hospitals with COVID-19 are unvaccinated.

https://jamaica.loopnews.com/content/cd ... ie-covid-2

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 21st, 2021, 11:36 pm

Breakthrough Infections Less Likely to Cause Long Covid, Large Study Finds

People who experience breakthrough infections of the coronavirus after being fully vaccinated are about 50 percent less likely to experience long Covid than are unvaccinated people who catch the virus, researchers said in a large new report on British adults.

The study, which was published in The Lancet Infectious Diseases journal on Wednesday, also provides more evidence that the two-shot Pfizer-BioNTech, Moderna and AstraZeneca vaccines offer powerful protection against symptomatic and severe disease.

“This is really, I think, the first study showing that long Covid is reduced by double vaccination, and it’s reduced significantly,” said Dr. Claire Steves, a geriatrician at King’s College London and the study’s lead author.

Although many people with Covid recover within a few weeks, some experience long-term symptoms, which can be debilitating. This constellation of lingering aftereffects that have become known as long Covid may include fatigue, shortness of breath, brain fog, heart palpitations and other symptoms. But much about the condition remains mysterious.

The new findings are based on data from more than 1.2 million adults in the Covid Symptom Study, in which volunteers use a mobile app to log their symptoms, test results and vaccination records. The participants include those who received at least one dose of the Pfizer, Moderna or AstraZeneca vaccines between Dec. 8 and July 4, as well as a control group of unvaccinated people.

Of the nearly 1 million people who were fully vaccinated, 0.2 percent reported a breakthrough infection, the researchers found.

Those who did get breakthrough infections were roughly twice as likely to be asymptomatic as were those who were infected and unvaccinated. The odds of being hospitalized were 73 percent lower in the breakthrough group than the infected, unvaccinated group.

https://www.nytimes.com/live/2021/09/01 ... nt-vaccine

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 21st, 2021, 11:37 pm

ed360123 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Interesting
So when the UK had no vaccines their biggest wave was around 25,000 new cases per day.
Now they have 81.9% of their population fully vaccinated they have 35,000 new cases per day?

I'm sure its probably those pesky anti-vaxxers hacking the WHO and UK gov stats to make your last statement look wrong. What else could be causing this catastrophe?

Postby adnj » September 21st, 2021, 11:39 pm

drchaos wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Authorized mRNA vaccines were highly effective among working-age adults in preventing SARS-CoV-2 infection when administered in real-world conditions, and the vaccines attenuated the viral RNA load, risk of febrile symptoms, and duration of illness among those who had breakthrough infection despite vaccination.

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/34192428/

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » September 21st, 2021, 11:43 pm

drchaos wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Interesting
So when the UK had no vaccines their biggest wave was around 25,000 new cases per day.
Now they have 81.9% of their population fully vaccinated they have 35,000 new cases per day?

I'm sure its probably those pesky anti-vaxxers hacking the WHO and UK gov stats to make your last statement look wrong. What else could be causing this catastrophe?
1)You sure it's 81%? Google telling me it's 66.7% vaccinated.

2) I said if EVERYBODY was vaccinated, then it slows to basically zero. 81% is not everybody.

3)The reason the numbers are higher are mostly likely because of the more infectious delta variant. Which spreads a lot more effectively among those who are unvaccinated.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 21st, 2021, 11:49 pm

Risks of the Delta Variant for Vaccinated vs. Unvaccinated People

• The U.S. is experiencing another spike in COVID-19 cases and hospitalizations driven by the emergence of the Delta variant.
  • A large majority of new hospitalizations and deaths from COVID-19 are occurring among unvaccinated people.
  • A new CDC reportTrusted Source shows that since July 26, there have been only 6,587 reports of breakthrough infections that resulted in hospitalization or death among 163 million fully vaccinated people — a percentage of 0.01 percent or less.

https://www.healthline.com/health-news/ ... ted-people

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 21st, 2021, 11:53 pm

Coronavirus vaccines work. But this statistical illusion makes people think they don’t.
In Israel for a time, more vaccinated people were hospitalized for covid-19 than unvaccinated people. There’s no reason to worry.

While there is other evidence that the vaccines’ protection against infection (not severe illness) declines over time — and also some evidence that booster shots work — we shouldn’t be overly concerned about the Israeli hospitalization statistics. The explanation involves a famous old statistical curveball called “Simpson’s paradox”.

Simpson’s paradox is a warning that the whole of the data often looks weirdly different than the sum of its parts. In the case of Israel [and perhaps the UK]— as a number of epidemiologists and other scholars have pointed out — what explains the surprising hospitalization figures is largely the relative ages of vaccinated and unvaccinated people.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/outlook/ ... s-paradox/

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 21st, 2021, 11:56 pm

ed360123 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Interesting

2) I said if EVERYBODY was vaccinated, then it slows to basically zero. 81% is not everybody.

3)The reason the numbers are higher are mostly likely because of the more infectious delta variant. Which spreads a lot more effectively among those who are unvaccinated.

From the UK Gov
https://coronavirus.data.gov.uk/details/vaccinations
81.9%

Ahhhh so you are saying the infection rates could continue to rise till 99.99% vaccination rate then all of a sudden stop when we hit 100%.

You're a beacon of light and knowledge! Keep spreading the good word.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » September 22nd, 2021, 12:10 am

drchaos wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Interesting

From the UK Gov
81.9%

Ahhhh so you are saying the infection rates could continue to rise till 99.99% vaccination rate then all of a sudden stop when we hit 100%.

What? That's not what I said. You asked what happens if everybody is vaccinated and I said that it would slow down gradually. I never said that it would just suddenly stop.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » September 22nd, 2021, 12:23 am

This does a good job of visualizing things.

Postby hover11 » September 22nd, 2021, 12:46 am

ed360123 wrote:Image

I thought the experts emphatically stated herd immunity is impossible so what are we really reaching towards

Postby adnj » September 22nd, 2021, 1:02 am

ed360123 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Interesting

From the UK Gov
81.9%

What? That's not what I said. You asked what happens if everybody is vaccinated and I said that it would slow down gradually. I never said that it would just suddenly stop.
You are correct. UK is 66% fully vaccinated. The other poster misinterpreted his data.

ImageImage

Postby hover11 » September 22nd, 2021, 1:05 am

ed360123 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
drchaos wrote:

One problem, there is no way you can get 100 percent or even high 90s fully vaccinated unless there is mandatory vaccination

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » September 22nd, 2021, 1:08 am

hover11 wrote:

I thought the experts emphatically stated herd immunity is impossible so what are we really reaching towards
Sure it might be impossible. But as you can see in the image. The higher the vaccinated %, the less severe the disease transmission. We might not reach heard immunity, but we can and should get as close to it as possible.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 22nd, 2021, 1:50 am

drchaos wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Interesting

Different strains idiot, and UK is fully fully open right now. Very different comparison.

If 90% of people were vaccinated and those in need (older/weaker) got boosters, this pandemic would be over.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » September 22nd, 2021, 3:36 am

so allyuh wife period coming normal since she take the vaccine ?

Postby De Dragon » September 22nd, 2021, 3:53 am

hover11 wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
gastly369 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:All over social media I am seeing the strangest reasons for not taking the vaccine including
• Big pharma is making a lot of money on this
• They are taking away your personal freedom
• This is communism

None of which have any bearing on the fact that the vaccines work.
Can you introduce proof of being "vaxxed" to use tuner? Asking for a friend

LOL no
I'm curious to see what the proof of vaccination for people in T&T will be though.
QR code on an app or a card?

In Europe you have to show a COVID passport of sorts :wink:

USA is also following this trend .

Trinidad still thinking and pondering and peeps still dying .

Logic dictates we take steps to continue vaccination and be aware who is standing next to us .

You never know that the person next to you in any crowd, in a food line , in the Bank etc., etc., has COVID .

Romania is actually closing down vaccination centers since 70% of the population refuses to get the vax
https://world-signals.com/news/2021/08/ ... -vaccines/

Btw the survival rate is actually 'worse' than us over there, more than 3% and they are still doing this.

Trinis follow crowds too much. Chutney is based on bollywood, trinibad is based on jamaican dancehall.
We cannot think for ourselves.
Very good no vaccine, educate the ppl to change their unhealthy lifestyles and stop making fast food so easily accessible be it in price and locations, encourage taxation through these soft drinks and alcohols. If you want to be unhealthy pay more for it

Yep, no surer way to stop polio, smallpox, measles, Covid etc than clean eating and excercise :roll:

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 22nd, 2021, 4:28 am

hover11 wrote:

Stop looking at it as if it were a binary construct, you can have degrees of herd immunity. Regardless, the more vaccinated we have the less spread we have. You can still catch the virus even if we attain herd immunity, but the concept of herd immunity basically means that it becomes a less likely event and having mass spread becomes impossible given the levels of immunity.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 22nd, 2021, 4:41 am

daring dragoon wrote:so allyuh wife period coming normal since she take the vaccine ?

My current fwb has had no issue. My recent ex has had no issue. My cousin said she is fine as well. Though I have heard reports of delayed cycles, it's just not that common.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 22nd, 2021, 4:46 am

adnj wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
drchaos wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Interesting

From the UK Gov
81.9%

You are correct. UK is 66% fully vaccinated. The other poster misinterpreted his data.

ImageImage

He quoted the adults over 18 figure I believe, not the overall population.

You also can't look at UK as a whole as well, some areas have much higher vaccination rates. London is actually pretty low, which is also where most of the cases are coming from as well. It's mainly due to the high immigrant and black population in London being skeptical of the vax.

CleanShot 2021-09-22 at 9.44.19@2x.png

Postby hover11 » September 22nd, 2021, 7:04 am

hover11 wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
gastly369 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:All over social media I am seeing the strangest reasons for not taking the vaccine including
• This is communism

LOL no
I'm curious to see what the proof of vaccination for people in T&T will be though.

Logic dictates we take steps to continue vaccination and be aware who is standing next to us .

You never know that the person next to you in any crowd, in a food line , in the Bank etc., etc., has COVID .

Romania is actually closing down vaccination centers since 70% of the population refuses to get the vax

Btw the survival rate is actually 'worse' than us over there, more than 3% and they are still doing this.

Trinis follow crowds too much. Chutney is based on bollywood, trinibad is based on jamaican dancehall.
Very good no vaccine, educate the ppl to change their unhealthy lifestyles and stop making fast food so easily accessible be it in price and locations, encourage taxation through these soft drinks and alcohols. If you want to be unhealthy pay more for it

Yep, no surer way to stop polio, smallpox, measles, Covid etc than clean eating and excercise :roll:
We talking about covid how you reach polio?

Postby adnj » September 22nd, 2021, 7:40 am

hover11 wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
gastly369 wrote:
• This is communism

LOL no

Postby De Dragon » September 22nd, 2021, 7:53 am

hover11 wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
gastly369 wrote:
• This is communism

LOL no

In addition to being an uninformed anti vaxxer, you're also apparently blind