Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby RedVEVO » May 31st, 2018, 6:42 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
88sins wrote:I read it, just refused accept it as the cop out you offered it to be & offered you an alternative while effective;y ignoring it.

but whatever, not like u or they could make anyone care or accept that manure

I am explaining how the tax works though, yall just prefer to shoot the messenger than hear the message

More like prefer to shoot the author. But the messenger will get set straight & sent back with a response that would discourage any further dotish transmissions.

Besides, when a known a--hole sends a negative message that he knows nobody wants, only an idiot would happily carry it & be upset when they realize nobody want to hear it because it brings nothing beneficial to the recipient.
So tell us, are you going to be that idiot?

Protein Head claims he is a messenger.

Similar to Alisons Taxy Westie from Tobago.

Their life's work is to oppress.

It's blind PNM support.

Postby Gladiator » May 31st, 2018, 6:55 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:
88sins wrote:I read it, just refused accept it as the cop out you offered it to be & offered you an alternative while effective;y ignoring it.

but whatever, not like u or they could make anyone care or accept that manure

I am explaining how the tax works though, yall just prefer to shoot the messenger than hear the message

More like prefer to shoot the author. But the messenger will get set straight & sent back with a response that would discourage any further dotish transmissions.

Besides, when a known a--hole sends a negative message that he knows nobody wants, only an idiot would happily carry it & be upset when they realize nobody want to hear it because it brings nothing beneficial to the recipient.
So tell us, are you going to be that idiot?

Protein Head claims he is a messenger.

Similar to Alisons Taxy Westie from Tobago.

Their life's work is to oppress.

It's blind PNM support.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 31st, 2018, 7:21 pm

That is rowlee, stuart, faris, imballs,rohani..

Postby sMASH » May 31st, 2018, 10:26 pm

Encouraging foreign locals to come back and rebuild the country... Why? Why should they return?

Postby 88sins » June 1st, 2018, 6:15 am

ProtonPowder wrote:Your entire point is that you would rather stay ignorant than hear something unpleasant. Exposition is not advocacy.

Apparently you are that idiot. I am fully well aware of all the ramifications of the act that enables this tax & all the implications of it, & I dare say more so than you. Here's an example

Are you aware, that because of the way that property tax act is written, that you don't need to own or even occupy a house, or land, or even live on land, to have a property tax liability?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 1st, 2018, 7:06 am

ProtonPowder wrote:Your entire point is that you would rather stay ignorant than hear something unpleasant. Exposition is not advocacy.

Apparently you are that idiot. I am fully well aware of all the ramifications of the act that enables this tax & all the implications of it, & I dare say more so than you. Here's an example

Are you aware, that because of the way that property tax act is written, that you don't need to own or even occupy a house, or land, or even live on land, to have a property tax liability?

That has nothing to do with what I am saying, and your opinion is now irrelevant; you sound like a child.

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » June 1st, 2018, 8:26 am

Wasn't the property tax formulated before the PP won elections?

They had 5 years to make amendments and table the bill. Did they think they would've been in power forever to not do anything about it?

They deferred the tax for political mileage and knew fully well that it was in the country's best interest to implement it, considering the economic circumstances! Do you really think that it wasn't gonna be implemented if the PP had another term in office?

Obviously they all live and own property valued more than the average man....wouldn't it have been in their best interest to 'fix' the bill before they exited office?

So instead of all the talk bout chicken coop and outhouse and all the other rubbish....shouldn't we be more concerned bout the property tax be put to it's intended use...as is done in other countries? And that the mechanisms put in place are fair?

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » June 1st, 2018, 9:24 am

Galvatron wrote:Wasn't the property tax formulated before the PP won elections?

They had 5 years to make amendments and table the bill. Did they think they would've been in power forever to not do anything about it?

They deferred the tax for political mileage and knew fully well that it was in the country's best interest to implement it, considering the economic circumstances! Do you really think that it wasn't gonna be implemented if the PP had another term in office?

Obviously they all live and own property valued more than the average man....wouldn't it have been in their best interest to 'fix' the bill before they exited office?

So instead of all the talk bout chicken coop and outhouse and all the other rubbish....shouldn't we be more concerned bout the property tax be put to it's intended use...as is done in other countries? And that the mechanisms put in place are fair?
Well said to this tread...prop tax was gonna come...let's look at aunty kams home how much she will pay...where she lives ss Erin rd phillpines

Postby 88sins » June 1st, 2018, 9:46 am

ProtonPowder wrote:That has nothing to do with what I am saying, and your opinion is now irrelevant; you sound like a child.

you really are a special kind of idiot aren't you?

Postby De Dragon » June 1st, 2018, 10:07 am

Like most predecessor initiatives, projects, the PNM would have scrapped it and it would still have been rammed down our throats in the form it is in presently.

Postby 88sins » June 1st, 2018, 11:54 am

Exactly. However...
This is Trinidad, & yuh talkin about politicians.

car

Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby car » June 1st, 2018, 1:30 pm

No need to go into beetham or lavantile to collect tax any more.

Imburt “checkmate”

Postby zoom rader » June 1st, 2018, 1:55 pm

car wrote:Image
No need to go into beetham or lavantile to collect tax any more.

Imburt “checkmate”
As I said it's an injun tax.

Postby RedVEVO » June 1st, 2018, 3:04 pm

Exactly. However...
This is Trinidad, & yuh talkin about politicians.

People pay a health tax and road tax and green tax and online tax ..

You see any improvements Galva ?

You really think in your wildest imagination " .. that the mechanisms put in place are fair? "

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » June 1st, 2018, 3:57 pm

Only slaves pay taxes with no benefit for paying it. Like it or not, we Indians and Africans are being reintroduced to slavery via the 1%. The pm is merely the messenger and their puppet . Like it or not. Take it in yuh duniya.

Postby RedVEVO » June 2nd, 2018, 2:09 am

Premchand1976 wrote:Only slaves pay taxes with no benefit for paying it. Like it or not, we Indians and Africans are being reintroduced to slavery via the 1%. The pm is merely the messenger and their puppet . Like it or not. Take it in yuh duniya.

Tax have nothing to do with the 1 %.

Postby Gladiator » June 2nd, 2018, 8:11 am

RedVEVO wrote:
Premchand1976 wrote:Only slaves pay taxes with no benefit for paying it. Like it or not, we Indians and Africans are being reintroduced to slavery via the 1%. The pm is merely the messenger and their puppet . Like it or not. Take it in yuh duniya.

Really? The reason for the property tax is to surpress the 99% so that the small businesses will close down and no one will dare compete with them.

Injuns with all them land and apartment buildings that are alternative sources of income will now have to pay tax through they teeth and will eventually sell their properties. Guess who sharpen their chops and waiting to buy?

In the meantime they have their midget puppet making up new rules on the fly to make sure the have nots are not affected so as to secure the African vote bank so that they can win another election and continue the onslaught.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 2nd, 2018, 10:16 am

RedVEVO wrote:

Online shopping tax was introduced to make it less competitive. If local stores offer an item for 400tt, and you can get it ordered, cleared and shipped for 360 normally, you might be patient and order it.

The tax was put in to raise the price of ordered goods so that the consumer would see less benefit from ordering it online and go purchase it in a local store.

Postby zoom rader » June 2nd, 2018, 10:19 am

Gladiator wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Really? The reason for the property tax is to surpress the 99% so that the small businesses will close down and no one will dare compete with them.

Injuns with all them land and apartment buildings that are alternative sources of income will now have to pay tax through they teeth and will eventually sell their properties. Guess who sharpen their chops and waiting to buy?

In the meantime they have their midget puppet making up new rules on the fly to make sure the have nots are not affected so as to secure the African vote bank so that they can win another election and continue the onslaught.
Yep this sums it up.

Injun tax

Postby aaron17 » June 2nd, 2018, 11:50 am

Pardon my lack of following but when they collect the tax, what they 'claim' they would be doing with all that money again?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 2nd, 2018, 11:54 am

aaron17 wrote:Pardon my lack of following but when they collect the tax, what they 'claim' they would be doing with all that money again?

The claim is that it will pay for municipal services

But it will be put into the consolidated fund rather than staying with municipal corporations, so they can do anything with it as they please.

Postby aaron17 » June 2nd, 2018, 11:55 am

Oh my...

Postby aaron17 » June 2nd, 2018, 11:56 am

No transparency?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 2nd, 2018, 11:58 am

aaron17 wrote:No transparency?

Same as everything else.

They need to get this "local government reform" that we hearing about for years before under way, before they make the corporations keep the funds.

So never

Postby The_Honourable » June 2nd, 2018, 2:54 pm

That is why i said earlier in this ched that it should have Local Government Reform first and then the Property Tax where the money stays in municipalities or even the counties. We only hear about reform when it have local govt elections which most don't take seriously.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 2nd, 2018, 8:12 pm

The_Honourable wrote:That is why i said earlier in this ched that it should have Local Government Reform first and then the Property Tax where the money stays in municipalities or even the counties. We only hear about reform when it have local govt elections which most don't take seriously.

I remember last local gov election how mad i get that i keep hearing about the need for reform, but nobody comprehensively explaining it.

Just a buzzphrase for people who know it or following a party. I wanted to care but didnt know where to start.

If this reform ever happens it would have to stay within regional corps, as some counties span multiple municipalities. For example Victoria has San Fernando, Penal-Debe, Princes Town and Couva-Tabaquite-Talparo, while St. Patrick for instance has Point Fortin, Siparia and Penal-Debe

Postby The_Honourable » June 2nd, 2018, 9:44 pm

Yeah, i mention counties because a municipality might have a particular project or a number of projects in the area to do but the money from the tax may not be enough. They might have to wait another 2-3 cycles (years) for the project to start, or have to beg central government for additional funds. With our political system, if the area you are in is not a seat won by the government, you ketchin yuh arse while your MP getting licks from constituents even though it is not his/her fault. With a county approach, you can accumulate funds faster and less dependable on central government.

It's an idea which may have its cons.

Postby RedVEVO » June 3rd, 2018, 1:22 am

ProtonPowder wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Online shopping tax was introduced to make it less competitive. If local stores offer an item for 400tt, and you can get it ordered, cleared and shipped for 360 normally, you might be patient and order it.

The tax was put in to raise the price of ordered goods so that the consumer would see less benefit from ordering it online and go purchase it in a local store.

People still buying online .

Online prices still cheaper .

Where the 1% fit into your manic theory ?

Postby RedVEVO » June 3rd, 2018, 1:24 am

Gladiator wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Not really . You watching too much Avengers :D

Where to date has this happened ?

Who has sold to date ?

Postby RedVEVO » June 3rd, 2018, 1:28 am

aaron17 wrote:Pardon my lack of following but when they collect the tax, what they 'claim' they would be doing with all that money again?

Goes into the Consolidated Fund.

Then to create "jobs" for the boys @ Sea Lottery & Beat Ham.

And Rohanni needs to be paid for his Donna :D