Digicel Internet Thread

juswil868

Re: Digicel Internet Thread

Postby juswil868 » May 24th, 2024, 10:16 pm

st7 wrote:internet ballsing for you guys?

Chaguanas

Yep. Its upsetting

Postby wagonrunner » May 25th, 2024, 10:34 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Well I got a speed increase and a price reduction

81ab15eb-768f-4b20-a3bf-d2c8e15a8200.jpg

meanwhile this is what is being done to 80+ year old subscribers who don't even netflix.
they just want whatsapp, email, youtube for videos on diy stuff they google.
1.jpg

Postby wagonrunner » May 25th, 2024, 10:35 pm

st7 wrote:internet ballsing for you guys?

Chaguanas

consistently.
San Fernando, Freeport and Woodbrook.

ShadowtheUnknown

Postby ShadowtheUnknown » May 27th, 2024, 9:03 pm

Honestly I’m not getting much buffering during streaming(Both 1080 and 4K) But there is instability. What allyuh streaming with ?

Postby wagonrunner » May 27th, 2024, 10:47 pm

most streamers have adequate buffers so it wont be noticeable
browsing, site response and refresh abysmal at times. vpn connections timing out. heartbeat to foreign servers erratic as hell.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 28th, 2024, 9:06 am

meanwhile this is what is being done to 80+ year old subscribers who don't even netflix.

The problem is that the other major provider also has started frequent price increases.
Flow is increasing effective June having done two price changes in 2023.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » May 28th, 2024, 1:51 pm

The problem is that the other major provider also has started frequent price increases.
Flow is increasing effective June having done two price changes in 2023.
I am that 80 year old

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » May 31st, 2024, 8:39 am

New pricing posted officially ... but that upload with 1GB package is poor. Not sure why they didn't offer at least 500mpbs .

https://www.digicelgroup.com/tt/en/home ... e-internet

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » June 1st, 2024, 7:30 am

For those who were to be upgraded in speed , have you seen the change applied ?

Edit ; Testing out 1GB at the moment

I am able to get 800mbps via my s23 ultra.

MacBook Pro is able to get 700mpbs.

This speed is awesome. Think it's alot better than before, that extra bandwidth did wonders to their network. IPV6 dns is still trash but it works.

death365

Postby death365 » June 1st, 2024, 6:08 pm

Yuh not getting that speed with that sheit Huawei router! What's ur setup?
juswil868 wrote:For those who were to be upgraded in speed , have you seen the change applied ?

This speed is awesome. Think it's alot better than before, that extra bandwidth did wonders to their network. IPV6 dns is still trash but it works.

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » June 1st, 2024, 6:50 pm

death365 wrote:Yuh not getting that speed with that sheit Huawei router! What's ur setup?
juswil868 wrote:For those who were to be upgraded in speed , have you seen the change applied ?

Ubiquity - Cloud Gateway Ultra paired with U6 Mesh Pro.

And you're correct will never get that with current router. Heard that they will be upgrading modems for subs with 500mbps and more.

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » June 3rd, 2024, 8:47 pm

Is the upload speed really only 250 mbps or is it a little faster?

juswil868 wrote:
death365 wrote:Yuh not getting that speed with that sheit Huawei router! What's ur setup?

And you're correct will never get that with current router. Heard that they will be upgrading modems for subs with 500mbps and more.

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » June 4th, 2024, 4:53 am

joshuarshah wrote:Is the upload speed really only 250 mbps or is it a little faster?

juswil868 wrote:

Yep, it hovers around 240. But I understand why they did it.

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » June 4th, 2024, 7:10 pm

juswil868 wrote:
joshuarshah wrote:Is the upload speed really only 250 mbps or is it a little faster?

juswil868 wrote:

Yep, it hovers around 240. But I understand why they did it.

Why'd they do it lol? Limitations on their current infrastructure deployment?

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » June 4th, 2024, 7:16 pm

Is anyone having occasional issues with local servers and some websites as well on Digicel+. I tried to run speed tests but it would fail to connect to local speed test servers with TSTT and Amplia's being the only exception with ping times in excess of 170ms. Regional and Int'l test servers work just fine. TikTok doesn't work when this happen for eg unless i use a vpn and now today instagram isn't working unless i use a vpn. Flow's HubTV app fails to load unless I use cloudflare's warp vpn since it's ip address location is in Chaguanas. This is an on again off again issue but I find it very strange as to why it hasn't been resolved as yet. This happens up UWI side.

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » June 4th, 2024, 8:25 pm

joshuarshah wrote:Is anyone having occasional issues with local servers and some websites as well on Digicel+. I tried to run speed tests but it would fail to connect to local speed test servers with TSTT and Amplia's being the only exception with ping times in excess of 170ms. Regional and Int'l test servers work just fine. TikTok doesn't work when this happen for eg unless i use a vpn and now today instagram isn't working unless i use a vpn. Flow's HubTV app fails to load unless I use cloudflare's warp vpn since it's ip address location is in Chaguanas. This is an on again off again issue but I find it very strange as to why it hasn't been resolved as yet. This happens up UWI side.

Yep. Just reboot router. Some of the IP's that are pulled are problematic. Happened many times to me and I just reboot until I got 181.x.x.x.x ip

171.x.x.x.x and 161.x.x.x.x ips are sometimes terrible , worst yet its gonna switch every 3 days ....

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » June 4th, 2024, 10:51 pm

juswil868 wrote:
joshuarshah wrote:Is anyone having occasional issues with local servers and some websites as well on Digicel+. I tried to run speed tests but it would fail to connect to local speed test servers with TSTT and Amplia's being the only exception with ping times in excess of 170ms. Regional and Int'l test servers work just fine. TikTok doesn't work when this happen for eg unless i use a vpn and now today instagram isn't working unless i use a vpn. Flow's HubTV app fails to load unless I use cloudflare's warp vpn since it's ip address location is in Chaguanas. This is an on again off again issue but I find it very strange as to why it hasn't been resolved as yet. This happens up UWI side.

Yep. Just reboot router. Some of the IP's that are pulled are problematic. Happened many times to me and I just reboot until I got 181.x.x.x.x ip

171.x.x.x.x and 161.x.x.x.x ips are sometimes terrible , worst yet its gonna switch every 3 days ....

Makes sense. The landlord had the routers set to restart multiple times a day so when that happens the ipv4 address changes. Surprised that Digicel just allows this to happen on those ip address ranges. Digicel is also the most expensive isp so you'd think that this is something they'd sort out sooner than later

Postby redmanjp » June 4th, 2024, 11:02 pm

Sometimes I lose access to my work email and VPN. I feel it might be the IP I get causing that.

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » June 4th, 2024, 11:25 pm

And mine just changed again right on time. Internet drops for a couple of seconds.

I called explained to their CSR of course which is based in Jamaica and he said it's not supposed to happen, at least in Jamaica it doesn't.

Did some research and based on what I saw and read its something they can't change because of how their network was built. That why every time we get a different IP address the latency is different. I think did areas in clusters and then it interconnects into a bigger feed which goes back to Central office. i'm no network engineer but im sure someone on here can give us better insight into this.

Their internet packages are on par with Amplia now... but that IP issue needs work.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » June 5th, 2024, 12:15 pm

I'm on Digicel+ and got a software update on my cable boxes a week ago.
Since then I've been noticing a slow down in speeds mostly between noon and 6pm almost everyday. Bandwidth tests showing an average of 30Mbps, when I usually get 240Mbps.

The software updates on the cable boxes are also disappointing. The new interface is slow, takes noticeably longer to change channels, and the remotes now have "redundant buttons."

Just to give you an idea, the back button brings up the tv guide you have to press twice to actually use the "back" function. The left and right navigation buttons enter playback mode (which is frustrating to use). The up and down buttons change channels.

The remote already has these functions on properly labelled buttons. This change doesn't make sense.

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » June 5th, 2024, 8:41 pm

Well it seems things may be better now..

Lets hope for the best

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/digicel ... -goes-live

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » June 5th, 2024, 11:56 pm

juswil868 wrote:Well it seems things may be better now..

Lets hope for the best

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/digicel ... -goes-live

This should help with redundancy and it also provides a new fibre route between Trinidad and Tobago which is a blessing for Tobago

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » June 7th, 2024, 9:40 pm

Any one unable to stream anything currently?

Heavy packet loss

Just spoke to their dotish chat and they said technical issue please restart after 30

I so f**king hate their live chat.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 7th, 2024, 9:58 pm

Thought it was just me - restarted the modem, the routers, the devices etc - same issue.
streaming is intermittent
Speedtest takes quite a while to connect

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » June 7th, 2024, 10:27 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Thought it was just me - restarted the modem, the routers, the devices etc - same issue.
streaming is intermittent
Speedtest takes quite a while to connect

Yep.. Got confirmation

Screenshot_20240607_222430_MyDigicel.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 7th, 2024, 11:13 pm

^ cool thanks
It got a bit better now. Youtube not sticking anymore.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 9th, 2024, 10:56 pm

Anyone else having problems with their Digicel connection tonight?

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » June 10th, 2024, 5:28 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Anyone else having problems with their Digicel connection tonight?

Well didn't really notice problems. Most times when I do I reboot until I get a 181 ip scheme. Not sure why their network is configured like that

killercow

Postby killercow » June 10th, 2024, 7:58 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Anyone else having problems with their Digicel connection tonight?
They were doing maintenance from 11pm to 6am

Nexus

Postby Nexus » June 10th, 2024, 8:20 am

Been having buffering issues with netflix, disney and even youtube from around 6 pm. Speedtest saying I getting over 200 mbps, are they deliberately throttling those streaming services?