PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby M_2NR » February 22nd, 2011, 11:21 pm

Sound quite interesting yo. I remember some of my buddies wanted to do a similar project. I hope u building the whole setup as well like an actual arcade :lol:
i saw a pic recently on one of the guys FB they actually built the thing from scratch. I didnt ask them in a while how far they ever got to making these things.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » February 23rd, 2011, 8:15 am

Humes wrote:Ah, but that isn't the entire thing. :lol:

What I've gotten so far are just games and emulation software. In order to really browse the collection properly, like the guy in that video, you need a lot of front-end detail files. Sorting through thousands of games based on name alone is madness. Every game needs a preview screenshot, a flyer, a cabinet marquee, and a video sample to show just what you're going to play. Cool for archiving and nostalgia reasons too, of course.

I got most of the preview files on this site. That came up to about 8 gigs. Had to do a lot of digging around to find the video previews on this site. 20 gigs, 8000 files, 30-second video previews of just about every damn game released before the original Playstation. It worth the download just to see them clips, really.

I'm yet to put everything together in the front-end and see how it works out. I will do that when I get some time and report back.
Cool... :D

searchingone

Postby searchingone » February 23rd, 2011, 11:41 am

I remember the days I used to ride up to my cousin on a bicycle with a floppy diskette to get the latest ROMS yes :lol:

Postby M_2NR » February 24th, 2011, 8:23 pm

Just up my alley. Glad to see toms doing this:

[source]

I never realized the 6850/70 or even the 5850 used so low wattage. Amazing. The 5850 runs hot and it uses the least :shock:

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » February 25th, 2011, 8:06 am

Yea it is very shocking but if you tune the fan in the 5850 correctly you will not have that problem. The wattage usage is a story by itself, when i use to run 4870 X 2 i had a Corsair TX750W powering up them, i did know a few people who had antec 1000W with 2 260GTX and them PSU blowing out.

The 5970's i had them under a 1000W Corsair and i sold the Corsair and bought the 1500Watts sliverstone, since the system use to show signs of lack of power, anyways i got the 5970's for sale if anyone interested they going cheap.

My latest build is 4 X 580GTX with a silver stone 1500W and that is working real good.

Postby M_2NR » February 25th, 2011, 5:10 pm

nice! 4x580GTX :shock:

k so... i saw this... and came...

:faint:

i actually wanna see what this game offers. The first track looks like the test track in Forza3

Postby Ronaldo95163 » February 25th, 2011, 5:17 pm

M_2NR wrote:nice! 4x580GTX :shock:

k so... i saw this... and came...

:faint:

i actually wanna see what this game offers. The first track looks like the test track in Forza3

That win!!

Postby M_2NR » February 25th, 2011, 5:20 pm

then watch this:

Forza copied like WOW! but i dont care.. it coming to pc so yay!!!

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » February 26th, 2011, 1:29 am

^^ actual gameplay......awww skeet skeet skeet!!

Virus

Postby Virus » February 26th, 2011, 12:51 pm

Guys spread the word am selling my physx card its a XFX 9800GTX 512 edition looking for $700 very neg
current freq
GPU Clock MHz 760 MHz
Shader Clock MHz 1900 MHz
Stream Processors 128
Memory Interface Bus (bit) 256
Memory Clock (MHz) 2280 MHz
http://www.bjorn3d.com/Material/revimages/video/xfx_9800gtx/1b.jpg

HCCA

Postby HCCA » February 26th, 2011, 1:23 pm

Like everybody selling dey 9800Gtx now yes. :lol:

My physx card doh is ah GTX 280 1gb and ah GTX 295 as main in my AMD 6 core system and a GTX 465 1gb physx/2 x 5850's xfire main in my i7 system. :lol:

The 9800 gtx/gts 250 highly sufficient for use as a physx renderer though, a 9600GT is a minimum.

Postby M_2NR » February 26th, 2011, 1:51 pm

that still alive :lol:
mines in a bag...

ok from ulyuh experience, physx actually makes a difference?

Virus

Postby Virus » February 26th, 2011, 3:02 pm

HCCA wrote:Like everybody selling dey 9800Gtx now yes. :lol:

My physx card doh is ah GTX 280 1gb and ah GTX 295 as main in my AMD 6 core system and a GTX 465 1gb physx/2 x 5850's xfire main in my i7 system. :lol:

The 9800 gtx/gts 250 highly sufficient for use as a physx renderer though, a 9600GT is a minimum.

Thats exactly what i upgrading too a 280 :D or I can use my 260 core 216 ssc

The 9800gtx is really good right now but somehow i feel i can get just a lil more out of my rig with a better physx card mind you its not necessary but heck worth a try.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » February 26th, 2011, 3:17 pm

M_2NR wrote:that still alive :lol:
mines in a bag...

ok from ulyuh experience, physx actually makes a difference?

Yeah it does. Since physics is really about enhanced realism wrt to visuals you can really see better environments and interaction with it enabled. Best game to see the effect of physics is Batman Arkham Asylum.

Some notes on using a dedicated physx card:

You do NOT need to have an NVidia sli based board to run a physics card, just a board with two pcie 16x length slots will suffice, ATi crossfire boards even. Put your main graphics renderer in the master slot and the physx card in the secondary slot.

You CAN run an ATI card as the main graphics renderer and an NVidia cad as a physics processor using this patch in here: http://www.ngohq.com/graphic-cards/1622 ... #post82812

Since only XP and Windows 7 (OS that are widely n use still nah), supports multiple graphics cards to exist simultaneously it's best to use either operating systems. Will NOT work in Vista (yeah ah try).
8-)

Postby M_2NR » February 26th, 2011, 4:06 pm

Thanks HCCA for all the info. Exactly what i needed to know 8)

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » February 27th, 2011, 9:24 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

just now de site will be flooded with used psp for sale

HAFO

Postby HAFO » February 27th, 2011, 11:02 am

Ah looking to buy a GTX 400 series card...anyone willing to sell..check mih....

Humes

Postby Humes » February 27th, 2011, 2:07 pm

What alyuh upgrading from? My 3-year-old 8800GT still runnin almost everything quite well at 1680x1050. Only a handful (like 6 or so) major releases over the last few years have run unacceptable for me. Crysis and Crysis: Warhead are two of them.

I might upgrade sometime next year after Skyrim is patched and modded, but I haven't seen any real reason to get a new card yet.

Postby M_2NR » February 27th, 2011, 7:05 pm

upgrade everything if u upgrading :lol:

if u did like me and slap a 460GTX in a system like what i'd suspect was good back when the 8800gt was king... you will just be creating a nicer bottleneck.

marlo5, keep that stuff in the android ched ;) that posted weeks now in there.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 27th, 2011, 7:27 pm

Humes wrote:What alyuh upgrading from? My 3-year-old 8800GT still runnin almost everything quite well at 1680x1050. Only a handful (like 6 or so) major releases over the last few years have run unacceptable for me. Crysis and Crysis: Warhead are two of them.

I might upgrade sometime next year after Skyrim is patched and modded, but I haven't seen any real reason to get a new card yet.

I doing the same also, those 8800GT was bess value for money

Humes

Postby Humes » February 27th, 2011, 7:44 pm

The 8800GT will go down as one of the best cards of the decade. A partner of mine who pass through 3 cards (and two processors) over the past 3 years does always end up saying, "Wait nah...how that lookin so good?" whenever he pass by me and see games playin.

I suspect the next real era of cards will only begin when the next round of game consoles are released. That's usually how it goes. Most games now are made with console release in mind, so they rarely push beyond what a 360 or PS3 can handle. That's why Modern Warfare 1, 2 and Black Ops all ran fine on my card even though they were released over a period of three years.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » February 27th, 2011, 8:34 pm

Yeah Crysis 2 is a console port apparently for the pc version so it eh stressing your hardware.

Ran the leaked demo to test on an ATi Radeon Hd 3870 and it run pretty good, somehow i don't expect the final release to put a dent in my i7 system nah. :lol:

It have a section on Tom's hardware which reviews the best gaming cards in various price ranges by month so u can check that out to supplement your upgrade choices.

Ordered a cpu waterblock for my i7 system which should be here soon so i'll post some pics of my systems (is 3 i have). Not the most high end components but they handle everything i throw at it effortlessly. :D

Virus

Postby Virus » March 1st, 2011, 9:28 am

What a wonderful day for SSD user take a read here guys now speed right over the hill from Intel

http://www.engadget.com/2011/02/28/intel-outs-ssd-510-series-with-6gbps-sata-interface-500mbps-tra/

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 1st, 2011, 9:56 am

^ how come Intel using Marvell controller?
Isnt the Cougar Point chipset made with SATA III built in and working?

Humes

Postby Humes » March 1st, 2011, 9:57 am

It will be a wonderful day for SSDs when they drop in price by about 50%.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 1st, 2011, 10:06 am

^ they wont - they will only get faster and the price will stay up - the smaller, slower ones will get cheaper - just like flash memory

CHeck out hybrid SSDs and Intel's Rapid Storage Technology which will be available on their new Sandy Bridge Z68 boards

http://www.macrumors.com/2011/02/28/int ... dy-bridge/

it takes a small cheap SSD and marries it to a regular hard drive and makes one big very fast drive.
instead of having 16MB of cache on your 1TB hard drive, you will now have 60GB of cache (if you have a 60GB SSD) which makes for a very fast 1TB drive that would have cost a fortune if you had to buy a 1TB SSD.

Virus

Postby Virus » March 1st, 2011, 10:21 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ they wont - they will only get faster and the price will stay up - the smaller, slower ones will get cheaper - just like flash memory

CHeck out hybrid SSDs and Intel's Rapid Storage Technology which will be available on their new Sandy Bridge Z68 boards

http://www.macrumors.com/2011/02/28/int ... dy-bridge/

it takes a small cheap SSD and marries it to a regular hard drive and makes one big very fast drive.
instead of having 16MB of cache on your 1TB hard drive, you will now have 60GB of cache (if you have a 60GB SSD) which makes for a very fast 1TB drive that would have cost a fortune if you had to buy a 1TB SSD.

You are correct, and even the smaller slower ones will become discontinued because of manufacturing cost and availability

Humes

Postby Humes » March 1st, 2011, 11:54 am

Wouldn't it make more sense to introduce a more affordable version to the mass market so that sales can increase, economy of scale can kick in and the old HDD technology can phase out?

There's space for elite/expensive SSDs and consumer SSDs. The unavailability of the latter feels like it's holding back PC development in general.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 1st, 2011, 12:31 pm

Humes wrote:Wouldn't it make more sense to introduce a more affordable version to the mass market so that sales can increase, economy of scale can kick in and the old HDD technology can phase out?

There's space for elite/expensive SSDs and consumer SSDs. The unavailability of the latter feels like it's holding back PC development in general.
SSD's have their uses and their faults - they have a limited number of read/writes before dying

for disk intensive work mechanical drives are still better for file servers etc - the big cache is a plus though

PC tech has always been transitional and will continue to be that way - we just have to use the best tech that is available to get the best results at that time.

stable flash memory is expensive right now
a 16GB 90MB/s CF card is US$242

http://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-EXTREME-COMPACT-FLASHCF-CompactFlash/dp/B004KMNLDM/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1298996981&sr=8-5

Humes

Postby Humes » March 1st, 2011, 12:40 pm

Oh well cool...guess that cuts a few hundred US off my next build.