The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 30th, 2009, 4:12 pm

I want to purchase the latest I-Phone - is it worth it ?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 30th, 2009, 4:16 pm

booge wrote:I want to purchase the latest I-Phone - is it worth it ?

I'd say so.
200 MHz faster,
2x more RAM,
30 FPS video camera,
3MP photo camera
32GB model

Postby M_2NR » October 30th, 2009, 5:22 pm

SRASC wrote:Anyone know about AT&T unlocked iPhone 3GSs?

1uhh

The only place i read you can get them factory unlocked is China (and some europe contries, like belgium). Correct me if im wrong, that aint possible through AT&T. :(

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 30th, 2009, 6:49 pm

got a 2g and i am stuck on the apple logo.... someone please help!!!!!

(i think the OS crashed but everytime i try to upload a new OS i keep getting error 1601.. )

All i did was hit erase iphone and it never came back up.... Just stuck on the apple logo..

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 30th, 2009, 6:55 pm

streetlifestyle wrote:got a 2g and i am stuck on the apple logo.... someone please help!!!!!

(i think the OS crashed but everytime i try to upload a new OS i keep getting error 1601.. )

All i did was hit erase iphone and it never came back up.... Just stuck on the apple logo..

Don't know if it'll help but Apple suggests...

Apple Inc. wrote:Issue
When trying to restore your iPhone in iTunes, you may see the following message followed by an error code 1601 or 1602:

The iPhone could not be restored. An unknown error occurred.
Or when trying to restore your iPod touch in iTunes, you may see the following message:

The iPod "[username]" could not be restored. An unknown error occurred (1602)

Solution
Completely remove iTunes and Apple Mobile Device support and then reinstall iTunes 7.5 or later.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 30th, 2009, 8:30 pm

will try and keep u posted... thanks SRASC.

Here goes

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 30th, 2009, 9:00 pm

well...... that didnt work! SIGH!

what to do???? what to do?????

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 30th, 2009, 9:01 pm

now im getting error 1600

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 30th, 2009, 9:04 pm

this might help perhaps

air wick

Postby air wick » October 30th, 2009, 9:04 pm

^^ i got that error before on windows with my 3g. try putting the phone in dfu mode and try again. if that doesn't work try doing it on a MAC

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 30th, 2009, 9:14 pm

already tried puttin it in dfu and restoring with no luck.... error 1600 and 1601...

Unfortunately i have no Mac

air wick

Postby air wick » October 30th, 2009, 9:29 pm

i know the mac will work, cause i was plagued with that problem once... and my padna did it over for me with his mac and it worked

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 30th, 2009, 11:05 pm

so...... what exactly am i to do with the mac??? Plz gimme some step by step guides...

Postby M_2NR » October 31st, 2009, 12:56 am

let me guess.. you hit erase all data and reset? :lol:

did that on mines.. was freaked out.. i took it off by holding power and home.

then.. plugged her on the pc, with itunes running and then held power + home, then home again. Got the Logo with the usb and itunes emblems. iTunes picked her up and asked if i want to restore. I then held shift, custom restored 3.1.2. Got thru. Voila. And the phone has all data erased as well with 3.1.2.

TRUST ME, take your time and get iTunes to pick her up in that mode where the yellow icon message comes up saying iTunes picked up a phone to restore.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 31st, 2009, 8:50 am

no matter whaat i do im not gettin the logo with the usb and the itunes logo.... Seems to go to dfu......

And this mornin..... Wen i check the phone i see my battery logo.... (almost dead)

Corolla PM me ur number

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 31st, 2009, 9:03 am

corolla_2nr wrote:let me guess.. you hit erase all data and reset? :lol: (correct)

did that on mines.. was freaked out.. (know that feeling) i took it off by holding power and home. (did that too)

then.. plugged her on the pc, with itunes running and then held power + home, then home again. (did that) Got the Logo with the usb and itunes emblems. (i got the black screen) iTunes picked her up and asked if i want to restore. (me too)I then held shift, custom restored 3.1.2. Got thru. (i got a message saying iphone could not be restored error 1600) Voila. And the phone has all data erased as well with 3.1.2.

TRUST ME, take your time and get iTunes to pick her up in that mode where the yellow icon message comes up saying iTunes picked up a phone to restore.

BUT.................... I kept throwing mine into DFU instead of recovery mode..... Seems to be working. Will keep u posted.

To think a man wanted to charge me 600 to do this!! :shock:

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 31st, 2009, 9:14 am

doing a happy dance!!!!!!! hehehehehehehehehe!!!!!

She works again!!! Thx Corolla!!!! again!

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 31st, 2009, 11:53 am

got Video Toggle working on it...

I soooo wish they had that for the 3g!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 31st, 2009, 12:57 pm

GeoHot has posted a video demonstrating the first iPhone unlock being performed with BlackSn0w.

The unlock has an expected release date of November 4th, 2009.

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/g23e9e9zOVI&rel=0&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Postby M_2NR » October 31st, 2009, 2:23 pm

Congrats geohot!

TK!, set your events, 4/10/09 is your day :P

streetlifestyle wrote:doing a happy dance!!!!!!! hehehehehehehehehe!!!!!

She works again!!! Thx Corolla!!!! again!

hehe no probs bro.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 1st, 2009, 9:45 am

Geohot has declined a $10,000 reward for the iPhone unlock and blasts those reselling the unlock calling them scum.

The BlackSn0w unlock will be released November 4th, 2009 and will work with the latest iPhone baseband (05.11.07).

-----
GeoHot wrote:First off, Jody Sanders, I am declining your $10,000. Why? Because you, and the rest of the iPhone unlock sites out there are scum. You make money selling freeware; that's not cool, and I am in no way going to legitimize it.

Seriously, the people who really lose here are the customers. These sites are full of blatant lies, claiming to have unlocks for 05.11.07 People buy them, and are told the unlock is in development, and the release date is unknown. Imagine you bought a cup of coffee and were told it's in development? Recently, many of these sites sent out e-mails saying they made major breakthroughs and the unlock will be ready 11/04/09. Coincidence that that's the release date of blacksn0w?

-----

Geohot implores users to get the truth out. The iPhone unlock is free. "Let's shut all these muffler bearings* down"

*not muffler bearings

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » November 1st, 2009, 11:41 am

What time zone you guys using now? Daylight savings time is here and I used to use Caracas but that and all sent the phone back an hour.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 1st, 2009, 11:43 am

I normally use Bridgetown, Barbados.

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » November 1st, 2009, 11:49 am

Thanx it works. Sucks that it doesn't have Trinidad listed.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 1st, 2009, 11:53 am

Yea it does, seeing as the iPhone name was in part filed in Trinidad & Tobago

Swisha

Postby Swisha » November 2nd, 2009, 1:43 pm

'Endless Racing Game' iPhone demo video isn't endless, is endlessly entertaining

http://www.engadget.com/2009/11/02/endl ... #continued

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/x9Xo8AD6jis&rel=0&color1=0x3a3a3a&color2=0x999999&hl=en&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></embed>

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 2nd, 2009, 7:54 pm

Apple and China had been in negotiations for the past year. An agreemant was finally reached and the iPhone began being sold in China this last weekend.
Unfortunately only 11 iPhones were sold, 10 on one day and 1 the next.
It is said that the official iPhone didn’t sell because of the black market iPhones which come unlocked and have wifi enabled are a better deal.
---
Apple is looking to improve their security team on the iPhone OS System.

The team is responsible for secure booting and installation of the OS, partitioning and hardening of security domains within the OS, cryptographic services, and risk analysis of security threats.

(Possibly to prevent future jailbreaks from happening perhaps?)
---
Geohot has posted the first screenshot of his blacksn0w unlock for the iPhone 3G and 3GS.

The unlock which will be run after completing a jailbreak with the blackra1n jailbreak is expected to be released on November 4th.

Blacksn0w does support the latest 05.11.07 baseband so for those who accidentally upgraded, you will be able to get your unlock back!

---
UPS Mobile is a new app for the iPhone and iPod touch to manage your UPS shipments on the go. The app lets you track and nickname shipments, create shipping labels, find UPS service locations via GPS, and estimate shipment costs and delivery times.

Without logging in, you can:
- Track package and freight shipments
- Find UPS service locations via GPS
- Estimate shipment costs and delivery times

When you log-in with a My UPS ID, you can also:
- Nickname tracked shipments
- See your recent tracks from ups.com
- Create shipping labels to email, then print
- Access your ups.com address book
- Use saved shipping and payment preferences

You can download the free UPS Mobile app from the App Store now.

Postby M_2NR » November 3rd, 2009, 12:21 am

Gameloft has released their Asphalt 5 racing game for the iPhone and iPod touch.

Features:
There's a Dream Car for You
- Take a ride in over 30 of the fastest, most prestigious cars you've ever dreamed, from manufacturers like Ferrari, Lamborghini, Audi and Ducati.

The World is Your Racetrack
- Highly polished HD graphics let you see every detail and animation of the track as you speed over snow, mud, dirt, and more in 12 beautiful locations around the world including St. Tropez, Aspen, and Las Vegas. Discover hidden shortcuts and jump off ramps!

New Ways to Play
- Challenge yourself to 8 different racing events including Drift Contest, Cop Chase, Time Attack, Duel Mode, Last Man Standing and Escape.

Ride With the Pack
- Six-player Bluetooth and Online Multiplayer lets you compete against friends and anyone around the world in tournaments and join the Asphalt Academy on asphalt-5.com. Speed your way to the top of the online leaderboard!

The Sound of Speed
- Tune your car radio to play your favorite songs stored on your iPhone/iPod touch during the race and let the music move you.

Asphalt 5 is available for $6.99 from the App Store and weighs in at 245 MB.

look at the graphics :shock:

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=5880

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 3rd, 2009, 7:18 am

great was getting kinda bored

here: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=ZUB9DH6K

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 3rd, 2009, 8:03 am

Geohot has announced that the BlackSn0w iPhone unlock will be released today at noon EST.

What It Does
"blacksn0w is the unlock for the latest 05.11.07 baseband, and will also enable official tethering. blackra1n, a jailbreak for 3.1.2, has been updated to RC3, with hacktivation support, 15 second speed improvement, Tiger+PPC support, and installation of the latest blackra1n.app."

BlackRa1n Users
"If you are a loyal blackra1n user who kept the blackra1n.app on your iPhone, run it. You will see Icy replaced by an option "ra1n". Install this to upgrade your app. After upgrading, run blackra1n.app again. You will see "sn0w". Install this, and enjoy your unlocked iPhone."

New Users
"Go to blackra1n.com, click on the logo corresponding to your operating system, run the app, and click "make it ra1n". When your phone reboots, you'll see blackra1n.app. Run this, install blacksn0w, and enjoy your unlocked iPhone."

PwnageTool Users
"Sometime later in the sn0wday, blacksn0w will be added to Cydia, and instructions will be posted here."

iPhone 2G Users
BlackSn0w doesn't support the iPhone 2G. BootNeuter will work to unlock your iPhone with no difficulties. You can still use BlackRa1n to jailbreak and hacktivate.