Re: Most Useless University Degrees in Trinidad

Postby paid_influencer » February 21st, 2023, 9:22 am

alfa wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:Back to the topic.

Another great set of degrees that is somewhat hated here is in the Humanities section such as History, Art and Music.

I know a girl who did a degree in art and was selected to attend the regional design competition in Santo Domingo around 2012. She had hoped to make it big in the design sphere. Today's she's a art teacher in tableland high school. Do not listen to the advice to pursue these degrees.
And Jared you need to be specific as to why you are recommending these courses, is it for personal and national development or for gainful employment?Because if it's for supposedly for employment then you are being naive or disingenuous

secondary school teacher is good stable work with benefits tho. plenty ppl would like that work. double points if it is something easy

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » February 21st, 2023, 9:42 am

Most useless tuner

Jared Mohammed

Postby Jared Mohammed » February 21st, 2023, 9:51 am

alfa wrote:

Another great set of degrees that is somewhat hated here is in the Humanities section such as History, Art and Music.

I know a girl who did a degree in art and was selected to attend the regional design competition in Santo Domingo around 2012. She had hoped to make it big in the design sphere. Today's she's a art teacher in tableland high school. Do not listen to the advice to pursue these degrees.
And Jared you need to be specific as to why you are recommending these courses, is it for personal and national development or for gainful employment?Because if it's for supposedly for employment then you are being naive or disingenuous
She is employed and that is what matters. Being a high school teacher is a great job. And she could do art comissions on the side. There is a huge market for UI/UX designers, if she wanted to go that route. I am unsure of you are leaving out details or if she doesn't know the additional job opportunities available to her.

Postby alfa » February 21st, 2023, 10:30 am

Jared Mohammed wrote:
alfa wrote:

She is employed and that is what matters. Being a high school teacher is a great job. And she could do art comissions on the side. There is a huge market for UI/UX designers, if she wanted to go that route. I am unsure of you are leaving out details or if she doesn't know the additional job opportunities available to her.

I am very sure she knows the opportunities avaliable to her just not locally. Being a high school teacher is indeed a great job except that no one especially her started of wanting to be such. Like many others they took the teaching route when they realized these are dead end degrees locally

Postby st7 » February 21st, 2023, 10:31 am

Jared Mohammed wrote:
alfa wrote:

the point you're missing is that she has a job, but not in her field of study because there isn't a demand for it here in TnT.

is the huge market for ui/ux designers you are referring to based in Trinidad and Tobago?

i think being young, quite inexperienced, and never been employed has you thinking that you know everything. you are not qualified to give advise to anyone regarding degrees and any field of study. i hope nobody listens to you because they're probably gonna regret it.

Postby hover11 » February 21st, 2023, 10:44 am

In my days they had career days where people of different professions used to come to the university and inform students on their jobs and the requirements/qualifications. This impacted knowledge on the students and along with the administrators students were able to focus on fields which were in demand. However, it appears that has been done away with and it's a free for all now. Do whatever you want but your status will change from student to unemployed and remain that way for a very long time if you don't do the necessary research on what you wish to concentrate on in the next 3 to 4 years of your programme.

Postby The_Honourable » February 21st, 2023, 11:04 am

st7 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:
alfa wrote:

the point you're missing is that she has a job, but not in her field of study because there isn't a demand for it here in TnT.

is the huge market for ui/ux designers you are referring to based in Trinidad and Tobago?

i think being young, quite inexperienced, and never been employed has you thinking that you know everything. you are not qualified to give advise to anyone regarding degrees and any field of study. i hope nobody listens to you because they're probably gonna regret it.

Correct.

Jared... you are force riping yourself on topics that you don't know enough about. You haven't even finished your undergraduate degree yet but want to give persons advice on degrees that you "think" would make them employable and happy here in T&T.

An Art degree alone would not cut it for you to do UI and UX. You need additional academics/courses to do so. Some persons it will come naturally, others it would not. Then you have to think about the persons who don't have the time or the funds, or both to achieve this.

Yes she has a job, but is it a job she wanted in the first place when she envisioned doing the art degree? The answer is no. She had big aspirations and the real world humbled her. Now if she migrated to another country where History/Art/Music degrees are in demand, her degree would be worthwhile, and her dreams realized to be happy. If she enjoys being a teacher here in T&T, well that's fine. For all you know, she has regrets, hates teaching but does it for the money.

Postby paid_influencer » February 21st, 2023, 11:34 am

I think we should all set our sights lower. A good number of people with degrees do not end up working in their field of study. Doubly so on a small island where the job market is much smaller and the economy changes shape as quickly and dramatically as it does here.

Many of us become a 'jack of all trades' by necessity, since the skills we need to do our work either aren't available on the island or are too expensive to import. We might start from a particular point but have to zig and zag our knowledge base to suit the needs of the island economy.

and, of course, an undergraduate degree is just a starting point. It isn't intended to be your full education. An Art degree is a good jumping off point for persons interested in related fields that intersect with technology, music, tourism, design, or advertising. There might be better, sure, but where you go from there is up to the particular person.

Teaching is hardly a bad career either. I know several that building house with it and are way less stressed out that those of us in the private sector.

Jared Mohammed

Postby Jared Mohammed » February 21st, 2023, 1:21 pm

alfa wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:
alfa wrote:

I am very sure she knows the opportunities avaliable to her just not locally. Being a high school teacher is indeed a great job except that no one especially her started of wanting to be such. Like many others they took the teaching route when they realized these are dead end degrees locally
In life, not everything you want will be automatically given to you. You have to actively work for it or be plain lucky. She could develop have developed her skills elsewhere but she chose teaching, whether it was her calling or not, it is good that she was able to get employment. The degree assisted her journey, it might not have been what she originally wanted but it is better than being unemployed.

Jared Mohammed

Postby Jared Mohammed » February 21st, 2023, 1:22 pm

paid_influencer wrote:I think we should all set our sights lower. A good number of people with degrees do not end up working in their field of study. Doubly so on a small island where the job market is much smaller and the economy changes shape as quickly and dramatically as it does here.

Many of us become a 'jack of all trades' by necessity, since the skills we need to do our work either aren't available on the island or are too expensive to import. We might start from a particular point but have to zig and zag our knowledge base to suit the needs of the island economy.

and, of course, an undergraduate degree is just a starting point. It isn't intended to be your full education. An Art degree is a good jumping off point for persons interested in related fields that intersect with technology, music, tourism, design, or advertising. There might be better, sure, but where you go from there is up to the particular person.

Teaching is hardly a bad career either. I know several that building house with it and are way less stressed out that those of us in the private sector.
Thanks for explaining it to them. Hopefully they would listen to you.

Jared Mohammed

Postby Jared Mohammed » February 21st, 2023, 1:47 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
st7 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:
alfa wrote:

Correct.

Jared... you are force riping yourself on topics that you don't know enough about. You haven't even finished your undergraduate degree yet but want to give persons advice on degrees that you "think" would make them employable and happy here in T&T.

An Art degree alone would not cut it for you to do UI and UX. You need additional academics/courses to do so. Some persons it will come naturally, others it would not. Then you have to think about the persons who don't have the time or the funds, or both to achieve this.

Yes she has a job, but is it a job she wanted in the first place when she envisioned doing the art degree? The answer is no. She had big aspirations and the real world humbled her. Now if she migrated to another country where History/Art/Music degrees are in demand, her degree would be worthwhile, and her dreams realized to be happy. If she enjoys being a teacher here in T&T, well that's fine. For all you know, she has regrets, hates teaching but does it for the money.
You see, in life, you must take whatever opportunities is presented to you. Not everyone is privileged to do what they want or to follow their passion, especially if their passion is within the creative side especially if they choose not to start their own business. Look at Riyality Studios, he dropped out of University and was able to capitalize on his passion. Many people aren't like him, they want other persons to hand them out jobs. No offense, but newsflash, if you are truly interested in something, you would do whatever it takes to achieve that goal. It is the "gimme gimme" behaviour that has perpetuated our society in recent times. This might offend some persons but people should take more responsibility rather than placing the blame on others for their own misfortunes. If a person is motivated enough, they would try to achieve what they set out to be or look for alternatives, that while it might not be their passion, could be something they are interested in or could be used to pay the bills.

Postby st7 » February 21st, 2023, 2:41 pm

Jared Mohammed wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
st7 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:
alfa wrote:

Correct.

You see, in life, you must take whatever opportunities is presented to you. Not everyone is privileged to do what they want or to follow their passion, especially if their passion is within the creative side especially if they choose not to start their own business. Look at Riyality Studios, he dropped out of University and was able to capitalize on his passion. Many people aren't like him, they want other persons to hand them out jobs. No offense, but newsflash, if you are truly interested in something, you would do whatever it takes to achieve that goal. It is the "gimme gimme" behaviour that has perpetuated our society in recent times. This might offend some persons but people should take more responsibility rather than placing the blame on others for their own misfortunes. If a person is motivated enough, they would try to achieve what they set out to be or look for alternatives, that while it might not be their passion, could be something they are interested in or could be used to pay the bills.

you keep flip flopping. using Riyality Studios as an example where you're saying he dropped out of university (while still living in his parents' house)... there is a film program in UWI (if it's still there), why aren't you saying he should have pursued that instead, then open his business?

was he already pursuing film school and realised it was useless, and can learn much more from youtube?

idk man, pick a lane.

Jared Mohammed

Postby Jared Mohammed » February 21st, 2023, 3:01 pm

He explained it in a video of his. He liked the film courses but didn't feel like it was made for him as he had to do three other courses not related to film, he even stated that it was his own opinion within the video.

The morale of the story is that you don't need others to give you opportunities, you can make them yourself.

A University degree does not always correlate to getting a job immediately but it does teaches one experience about the subject matter. For him, he was better self-learning but that is not the case for alot of people.

Postby The_Honourable » February 21st, 2023, 4:02 pm

Jared Mohammed wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
st7 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:
alfa wrote:

Correct.

Ok so wait...

You want to recommend someone to do a gender studies degree or a psychology degree because you "think" it is good and not because there is a demand for it. But when that person graduates with said degrees and there is no demand in their locality or country, meaning that person is jobless or bankrupt, you want to tell that person that they not interested enough? they are not motivated enough? take responsibility for yourself? look for alternatives? well ent the subject matter was important?

Yet YOU were the one that gave bad advice wasting their time, money and putting that person in said situation?

Bad advice like what you are giving Jared will derail persons who will have a degree in worthlessness on their resume then be forced to "look for some other wuk to pay d bills".

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 21st, 2023, 4:46 pm

Jared is a metaphor for why people never liked Greta Thunberg.

Postby paid_influencer » February 21st, 2023, 5:04 pm

catch 22 situation

gender studies is important for our society to be equitably to all its members
but people who know jack shiet about gender studies say it is worthless

and round and round it goes

Postby paid_influencer » February 21st, 2023, 5:09 pm

whats im saying is the govt should cut back on the hundreds of millions spent on carnival and instead put some of that into examining and fixing our failed culture (which is where those gender studies people come in). there is a cost to our backward gender relations in terms of violence, crime, child abuse, unplanned pregnancies, unemployment, and the general shietholeness of the island.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » February 21st, 2023, 5:36 pm

paid_influencer wrote:whats im saying is the govt should cut back on the hundreds of millions spent on carnival and instead put some of that into examining and fixing our failed culture (which is where those gender studies people come in). there is a cost to our backward gender relations in terms of violence, crime, child abuse, unplanned pregnancies, unemployment, and the general shietholeness of the island.
Best they take that money and fix roads and healthcare instead. Most youth nowadays ARE failures.

Postby The_Honourable » February 21st, 2023, 5:38 pm

paid_influencer wrote:catch 22 situation

gender studies is important for our society to be equitably to all its members
but people who know jack shiet about gender studies say it is worthless

and round and round it goes

paid_influencer wrote:whats im saying is the govt should cut back on the hundreds of millions spent on carnival and instead put some of that into examining and fixing our failed culture (which is where those gender studies people come in). there is a cost to our backward gender relations in terms of violence, crime, child abuse, unplanned pregnancies, unemployment, and the general shietholeness of the island.

All well and fine, is Trinidad you dealing with so good luck with that.

We can rationalize how good the degree is for society all we want. Unless it is for your own personal benefit or that you plan to migrate to another country where there is a demand for this type of degree, brass tax is that there is no demand for it here locally. If someone knows this before doing the degree and they still decide to pursue it, by all means go ahead.

Postby st7 » February 21st, 2023, 6:12 pm

Jared Mohammed wrote:He explained it in a video of his. He liked the film courses but didn't feel like it was made for him as he had to do three other courses not related to film, he even stated that it was his own opinion within the video.

The morale of the story is that you don't need others to give you opportunities, you can make them yourself.

A University degree does not always correlate to getting a job immediately but it does teaches one experience about the subject matter. For him, he was better self-learning but that is not the case for alot of people.

flip flop flip flop

jaredgpt: all university degrees in trinidad are useful

also jaredgpt: you dont have a USE for a university degree in trinidad once you're an opportunist and have the opportunity to create an opportunity for yourself

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 21st, 2023, 6:17 pm

Something I tend to say from time to time, is that we have no idea how much is contained within UWI's libraries. Imagine the hundreds of Masters and PhD dissertations across the Social Sciences and Humanities contained within the 10+ libraries of the four main UWI campuses.

Problem is that knowing is just half the battle. Policy implementations are never sexy. Everybody knows that the gov funnels money into gang warfare and the drug trade via make work contracts. There have already been local and international studies concluding such, and it rears its head every few years. Has anything ever been done despite all this knowledge?

Postby alfa » February 21st, 2023, 6:51 pm

There is no need for a gender studies degree or any degree for that matter to fix that. This is basic parenting 101 where you instill proper values in your child. No need to overcomplicate things

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 22nd, 2023, 8:28 am

Jared Mohammed wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:Knowledge of gender issues does nothing for stemming violence. Many predatory men lurk within within those programmes and NGOs simply because it gives them access to vulnerable women while appearing to be allies.

Jared, you really showing your age and inexperience here.
For the first statement, do you have any sources to back up your claim. If not, it is an assumption.
Example of an article that discredits that claim:
https://bit.ly/3YQgIUd

For the second statement, that is essentially making alot men seem heartless and prone to being predatory. Which is worse than what y'all think I am doing since I am just pointing out the problems and not classifying one group as monsters.
And there is also the fact that you haven't provided a source that verifies your claim.

Jared Mohammed wrote:I am guessing you never heard of Whitehead and Russell's Principia Mathematica, where they took 1000 pages to prove 1+1 = 2. Alot of mathematical equations can be proven with more complex mathematical formulas. The "source" for mathematics is derivation.main-qimg-0bc889422fccc6126e41d32c95499997-pjlq.jpg

And what does this have to do with the fact that you want a source for everything because you can't formulate your own conclusions?

You need a study for everything. You need people to tell you what to think and believe. This is why you like roided up older women, you lack the ability to take charge of a situation. You rather the female be the masculine one.

You think humans in the past needed a company with an agenda to fund a study on why they shouldn't eat certain foods or to not walk on lava? Or they came to their own conclusions?

Random person in 1750 : "Hey man, you shouldn't inhale underwater"

JaredGPT: "S-s-sOURCE???"

Jared Mohammed

Postby Jared Mohammed » February 27th, 2023, 7:35 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:Knowledge of gender issues does nothing for stemming violence. Many predatory men lurk within within those programmes and NGOs simply because it gives them access to vulnerable women while appearing to be allies.

Jared, you really showing your age and inexperience here.
For the first statement, do you have any sources to back up your claim. If not, it is an assumption.
Example of an article that discredits that claim:
https://bit.ly/3YQgIUd

For the second statement, that is essentially making alot men seem heartless and prone to being predatory. Which is worse than what y'all think I am doing since I am just pointing out the problems and not classifying one group as monsters.
And there is also the fact that you haven't provided a source that verifies your claim.

Jared Mohammed wrote:I am guessing you never heard of Whitehead and Russell's Principia Mathematica, where they took 1000 pages to prove 1+1 = 2. Alot of mathematical equations can be proven with more complex mathematical formulas. The "source" for mathematics is derivation.main-qimg-0bc889422fccc6126e41d32c95499997-pjlq.jpg

And what does this have to do with the fact that you want a source for everything because you can't formulate your own conclusions?

You need a study for everything. You need people to tell you what to think and believe. This is why you like roided up older women, you lack the ability to take charge of a situation. You rather the female be the masculine one.

You think humans in the past needed a company with an agenda to fund a study on why they shouldn't eat certain foods or to not walk on lava? Or they came to their own conclusions?

Random person in 1750 : "Hey man, you shouldn't inhale underwater"

JaredGPT: "S-s-sOURCE???"
Other human subjects were the "study" to find out which foods were edible and which were posionous.

Speaking of food, Agriculture and its various sub-categories are also a great field to get into.