Gas not lasting as long since fuel raised?

Re: Gas not lasting as long since fuel raised?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 16th, 2020, 9:21 pm

still getting my ~500 per tank of premium with some spirited driving. Spend the extra 20 dollars and use premium guys

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 17th, 2020, 5:11 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:still getting my ~500 per tank of premium with some spirited driving. Spend the extra 20 dollars and use premium guys

Ever spoke to anyone who used premium in a non injected engine?? Is like the gas tank have a hole :lol: according to one padna

Postby adnj » July 17th, 2020, 6:52 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:still getting my ~500 per tank of premium with some spirited driving. Spend the extra 20 dollars and use premium guys

Ever spoke to anyone who used premium in a non injected engine?? Is like the gas tank have a hole according to one padna
You don't get any benefit from excess octane. However, it is possible to get perceived performance improvement if your engine is improperly tuned.

An old article that is specific to the US market fuel ratings but still relevant.

-----------

Fact or Fiction?: Premium Gasoline Delivers Premium Benefits to Your Car

Exploding the myth that premium gasoline delivers better performance in the average automobile

By David Biello on January 18, 2007

Editor’s Note (10/06/16): A recent report from the AAA automobile club indicates that American drivers wasted more than $2.1 billion dollars in the last year by using premium-grade gasoline in vehicles designed to run on regular fuel. This Fact or Fiction article from Scientific American—originally published online January 18, 2007—explains exactly why so-called “premium” gasoline does not create premium performance in automobiles unless they are specifically designed to take advantage of a higher-octane fuel mixture.

"You rate the gasoline about how it knocks compared to this reference mixture," explains William Green, a chemist at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. "One's that don't knock very much are the premium." That is, they behave in an engine as if they have a high proportion of octane, even if they don't.

Most modern cars, however, are designed to employ a specific compression ratio, a measure of how much room is available to the fuel when the piston is at the bottom and the top of the cylinder. This compression ratio—somewhere in the neighborhood of eight to one—tolerates lower octane fuels (such as regular gasoline, good old 87 octane) without knocking. "The compression ratio is fixed by the designer of the engine," Green says. "The regular fuel will burn properly and the premium fuel will burn properly and therefore there is no reason you should pay the extra money." High-performance engines, such as those in some sports cars or older, heavier automobiles, often boast much higher compression ratios. These cars—for example, Shepherd's Subaru WRX—require premium gasoline and will definitely knock without it. "I have to put the 92 octane in," he says. "It has a turbocharger."

Such high compression ratios—and the premium fuels that go with them—could be turned to efficiency, rather than speed, Green notes, especially if put into the engines of lighter cars like his Honda Civic.

https://www.scientificamerican.com/arti ... premium-g/

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 17th, 2020, 7:49 am

Ever spoke to anyone who used premium in a non injected engine?? Is like the gas tank have a hole according to one padna
Car engines still coming with carb? I used to use super initially in subbie but when the price went up I stopped

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 17th, 2020, 9:30 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:

Car engines still coming with carb? I used to use super initially in subbie but when the price went up I stopped

It still have older vehicles floating around with them

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 18th, 2020, 8:04 am

I went to richmond st gas station and pulled up by a super only pump. Lazy me did not bother to go around to a pump that has premium. Usual scenario, reset all meters on the dash and went my merry way. I got 647kms on a 2.0L port injected vehicle with mixed sort of driving and a fair amount of traffic. When on premium, I might get 550 tops. Richmond st will see me again on monday afternoon.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 19th, 2020, 10:10 pm

Pulled my diesel filter yesterday after 8k in the bt50, and I must say yea it dirty but definitely MUCH cleaner than it used to be.

Regular fill at Monroe rd or wrightson rd np

Postby nervewrecker » July 19th, 2020, 10:28 pm

agent007 wrote:I went to richmond st gas station and pulled up by a super only pump. Lazy me did not bother to go around to a pump that has premium. Usual scenario, reset all meters on the dash and went my merry way. I got 647kms on a 2.0L port injected vehicle with mixed sort of driving and a fair amount of traffic. When on premium, I might get 550 tops. Richmond st will see me again on monday afternoon.

still 24 hours?

Postby Dizzy28 » July 20th, 2020, 8:26 am

agent007 wrote:I went to richmond st gas station and pulled up by a super only pump. Lazy me did not bother to go around to a pump that has premium. Usual scenario, reset all meters on the dash and went my merry way. I got 647kms on a 2.0L port injected vehicle with mixed sort of driving and a fair amount of traffic. When on premium, I might get 550 tops. Richmond st will see me again on monday afternoon.

still 24 hours?

Gas Stations not supposed to be 24hrs with the covid restrictions.
Pulled in Ramco Trincity 2 weeks ago at 11pm and they were closed

Postby Dave » July 20th, 2020, 9:06 am

I saw curepe open for card at pump alone after hrs

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 20th, 2020, 9:08 am

still 24 hours?

Pumps 24 hour. Can’t go buy stuff in the shop. That closes at 10 pm.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 20th, 2020, 9:09 am

Dave wrote:I saw curepe open for card at pump alone after hrs

Ohhh..didn't check for that.
I'm fleet card so need ppl to be there to run the transaction.

wingnut

Postby wingnut » July 20th, 2020, 9:34 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

still 24 hours?

Pumps 24 hour. Can’t go buy stuff in the shop. That closes at 10 pm.
I thought so too, pull up by the new np aranquez by the highway last night around 10pm and was greeted by two barriers blocking the driveway

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 20th, 2020, 12:48 pm

Honestly I dont know what Richmond st has in their tanks but I just filled up another vehicle. A 1.6 non hybrid port injected motor and the range calculation showing 910. What was the actual range I got prior to filling up? 718kms! I dont drive slow and I always pumping AC. It includes a fairly mixed amount of heavy traffic as well. Fuel this time was premium.

Postby nervewrecker » July 20th, 2020, 4:32 pm

agent007 wrote:Honestly I dont know what Richmond st has in their tanks but I just filled up another vehicle. A 1.6 non hybrid port injected motor and the range calculation showing 910. What was the actual range I got prior to filling up? 718kms! I dont drive slow and I always pumping AC. It includes a fairly mixed amount of heavy traffic as well. Fuel this time was premium.
I kinda suspect about it too.
Did over 1100km on one tank of fuel in my Nissan frontier.
Td27 non turbo.
Anytime I fill there the fuel lasts long

Postby Dave » July 20th, 2020, 8:28 pm

Morvant intersection I have seen this as well. Richmond I can attest to also.

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » August 3rd, 2020, 10:14 am

Anybody heard about Ramco selling a new 100lb cooking gas propane product? Supposed to burn cleaner and better for environment and costs $35 more?

Postby K74T » August 3rd, 2020, 5:01 pm

FB_IMG_1596488429031.jpeg

Postby maj. tom » August 3rd, 2020, 5:32 pm

Any idea what they changed? Probably a higher percentage of butane? Did they release a MSDS for customers?
I thought blackened pots means a poorly adjusted stove/nozzle rather than the fuel.
Last edited by maj. tom on August 3rd, 2020, 5:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby De Dragon » August 3rd, 2020, 5:40 pm

maj. tom wrote:Any idea what they changed? Did they release a MSDS for customers?
I thought blackened pots means a poorly adjusted stove/nozzle rather than the fuel.

They are, I've never had that issue with any stove.

Postby maj. tom » August 3rd, 2020, 5:42 pm

I really think it is just a higher % of butane. Because other countries have different mixes for LPG:
https://www.mylpg.eu/useful/lpg-mixture

Postby adnj » August 4th, 2020, 9:58 am

maj. tom wrote:I really think it is just a higher % of butane. Because other countries have different mixes for LPG:
https://www.mylpg.eu/useful/lpg-mixture
It's more likely the other way around. I would expect it to be a majority propane mix. Propane burns more efficiently and at a higher temperature than butane -- that would reduce sooting.

Different countries have different mixes of LPG due to availability and seasonal temperature. Butane has a relatively high boiling point and doesn't work as a compressed fuel outdoors during cold weather.

rebound

Postby rebound » August 4th, 2020, 2:33 pm

I just had my first prokleen bottle replaced today, would have to wait for the other to finish tho until I can say if any difference. Its $35.00 more than the normal one.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 23rd, 2020, 10:35 pm

My engine is still audibly pinging on the premium available at the pumps and It's bone stock with no mods.

Postby maj. tom » August 23rd, 2020, 11:03 pm

Engine knocking doesn't always have to be related to the fuel knocking resistance rating. There can be many other causes. Could be anything from needing new spark plugs (properly tensioned to specs) or carbon deposits on the cylinders.

Read this: https://www.captoyota.com/service/infor ... lem-or.htm

https://blog.firestonecompleteautocare. ... -knocking/

Postby nervewrecker » August 23rd, 2020, 11:45 pm

I find gas normal, Premium.

Left Fyzabad with just over half tank, Munroe road and back Fyzabad with just under half tank. Needle barely move. Conservative driving, RPM just over 2000.

Did the same some months ago, Fyzabad, Siparia road, Glencoe, Siparia Road, Fyzabad with wayyyy less than 1/4 tank.

On the other hand I can use 1/4 tank Fyzabad - Sando and halfway back to Fyzabad with madman driving.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 26th, 2020, 4:19 pm

For the last 5 months I using a premium / non diesel and checking the mileage I clocked, I would've needed 2 full oil changes and stuff with my diesel van compared to this xv. Considering premium fuel to diesel pricing and service costs it really opened my eyes to how real the diesel tax does hit the pocket yes.

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 26th, 2020, 10:51 pm

Congrats nick, I see yuh gt with the new ride 8-)

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 26th, 2020, 11:32 pm

agent007 wrote:Congrats nick, I see yuh gt with the new ride 8-)
No boi was a loaner, I end up taking a np300 cuz I need that tray for work, so back to diesel. But it's been so long since I drove petrol I was totally blinded to how much refinement, joy and comfort there is with the petrol offerings especially the xv. Might consider getting one permanently for moms in the future

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 27th, 2020, 12:44 am

Makes sense bro, congrats on the np300 nevertheless!