Acceptable lifespan for average car battery!

Re: Acceptable lifespan for average car battery!

Postby gastly369 » November 3rd, 2021, 2:16 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Optima Redtop bought at Pricemart in May 2020 no longer holds charge beyond 2 days parked. Going to take it back within the 2 year warranty let's see what they say.

90% sure they will say no issue found. Will report back.
Let us know how it goes

Postby Dave » November 3rd, 2021, 2:49 pm

Damn and I bought weekend!

Postby rollingstock » November 3rd, 2021, 4:04 pm

Steve's or RIK for Optima batteries if you have to purchase

Postby hover11 » November 3rd, 2021, 4:16 pm

rollingstock wrote:Steve's or RIK for Optima batteries if you have to purchase
I bought the yellow top from Steve's last weekend with the battery heat shield hoping I get 3 years from it

david12

Postby david12 » November 3rd, 2021, 5:01 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Optima Redtop bought at Pricemart in May 2020 no longer holds charge beyond 2 days parked. Going to take it back within the 2 year warranty let's see what they say.

That's pretty odd for an Optima to go flat so soon even if it's a Mexican made unit.

Postby rollingstock » November 3rd, 2021, 10:33 pm

It is, if the vehicle is being parked for a few days, check for a parasitic drain. It's easy if you have a dmm

Postby 88sins » November 3rd, 2021, 11:45 pm

rollingstock wrote:It is, if the vehicle is being parked for a few days, check for a parasitic drain. It's easy if you have a dmm

Thats usually the main culprit. Don't even need a dmm.
On a fully charged battery, switch off vehicle disconnect positive terminal, touch it to the negative terminal, count to 5, then reconnect the positive cable back to the positive of the battery.
If you get even the slightest spark when you reconnect the positive, the vehicle wiring has a leak .

Then, is just to figure out where.

david12

Postby david12 » November 4th, 2021, 7:42 am

david12 wrote:

That's pretty odd for an Optima to go flat so soon even if it's a Mexican made unit.
I swear I asked if the vehicle was parked for long periods of time in this post. I guess I didn't.

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 4th, 2021, 11:05 am

david12 wrote:

I swear I asked if the vehicle was parked for long periods of time in this post. I guess I didn't.

Nah bro, this is my daily. Park after work on Friday, doesn't start on Monday morning. Parasitic draw is under 70mA.

Postby MaxPower » November 4th, 2021, 11:13 am

Battery is battery..

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 4th, 2021, 11:55 am

Guys we have a Nissan Note with the diminutive 1.2 engine. It gives a hard start every so often. Voltage when running is 14.1 - 14.2. Voltage when off hovers between 12.1 - 12.3. Took it by my mechanic and he ran a "test" and says my battery needs to change. Could someone explain this test? The horn works fine even when car is off. As for the current battery? It's a 2018 Rocket SMF from L&DG.

Postby 88sins » November 4th, 2021, 12:58 pm

Once resting voltage dropping below 12.4, it's probably on its way out.
Use a dmm, put it on the terminals with a cold engine, and have someone start while you watch the reading.
If it drops below 11v while tumbling change it, or keep a jump-starter handy.

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 4th, 2021, 1:28 pm

Oh I see. I will do this, thanks a lot.

Postby Kenjo » November 4th, 2021, 1:35 pm

SR wrote:Battery recondtioner and charger. Have a pricesmart wet cell battery going on over 5 years with no issues and still in healthy condition

How often do you use this ? I got one from on Amazon but I figure I have to use it on my daily driver and try it out . Had a vehicle that was at home that wasn’t running at all so that how I originally got this one

Postby Dave » November 4th, 2021, 2:10 pm

Which is why Mr. Max you will forever only be an ole talker!
MaxPower wrote:Battery is battery..

Postby Dave » November 4th, 2021, 2:11 pm

Mainly used for cars sitting and not often used. With cheaper batteries, it's only so many times it can be charged over and over.
Kenjo wrote:
SR wrote:Battery recondtioner and charger. Have a pricesmart wet cell battery going on over 5 years with no issues and still in healthy condition

How often do you use this ? I got one from on Amazon but I figure I have to use it on my daily driver and try it out . Had a vehicle that was at home that wasn’t running at all so that how I originally got this one

david12

Postby david12 » November 5th, 2021, 7:00 am

What you doing here?! I know this is your ole talk section but stick to the political threads I think this is a little bit beyond your comprehension. If "Battery is battery" explain how there are varying costs, specifications and different types/ chemistries etc.

Postby MaxPower » November 5th, 2021, 7:56 am

david12 wrote:
What you doing here?! I know this is your ole talk section but stick to the political threads I think this is a little bit beyond your comprehension. If "Battery is battery" explain how there are varying costs, specifications and different types/ chemistries etc.

Soldier,

You just said it yourself, this is an ole talk forum, but you are talking about “comprehension” when you yourself cannot even understand. Stick to YOUR respective threads to find the right answers you are looking for and you can act smart there and tote.

Technically this should be in the automotive forum not so? but it is not.

Do you see me contaminating any other forum?

Anyways, you are a newbie here and a nobody, so i don’t have to explain anything to you.

Now run YC.

david12

Postby david12 » November 5th, 2021, 8:07 am

Nobody? lol if you only knew then you would be considered the nobody. The useless input of advice isn't necessary, go bomb up the politics threads not one that pertains to something you know nothing about.

Postby MaxPower » November 5th, 2021, 8:28 am

david12 wrote:Nobody? lol if you only knew then you would be considered the nobody. The useless input of advice isn't necessary, go bomb up the politics threads not one that pertains to something you know nothing about.

Yep, you said it, you’re a nobody.

Now go copy paste the details of your sheit products you’re selling that you dont jack about in the respective forums.

Makes no sense suffering here man.

Postby Dave » November 5th, 2021, 8:45 am

Max as a longer registered member your words and actions are not becoming.
You cannot contribute anything of importance so just let it be. Your blanket statement says it all and for the other member you claim is a noob.... don't let a registered date fool you....you probably could never win most if not any technical debate with him.

Postby Kenjo » November 5th, 2021, 10:00 am

Anyone had the voltages expected when a diesel versus gas vehicle starts up ? With ac / Electricals / headlights on ? Saw different values around

Postby gastly369 » November 5th, 2021, 10:48 am

Ooo what pricemart said? They uphold their 2 years warranty?

Postby Dave » November 5th, 2021, 10:55 am

3 years.....1 full and 2 pro

gastly369 wrote:

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 5th, 2021, 7:39 pm

gastly369 wrote:

Dropped it today. They said they will get back to me in 7-14 days. I ask if I supposed to travel in that time.
They then ask "oh ho it urgent?"

Anyway, I have 1 year replacement (which passed) and 1 year pro rated.

Postby Rovin » November 5th, 2021, 7:57 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
gastly369 wrote:

Dropped it today. They said they will get back to me in 7-14 days. I ask if I supposed to travel in that time.

tell dem nah it eh urgent u go use a bicycle by d time ...... :lol:

Postby 88sins » November 6th, 2021, 1:05 pm

Rovin wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:
gastly369 wrote:

tell dem nah it eh urgent u go use a bicycle by d time ...... :lol:

Nah
They he was supposed to fly with the invisible wings on he back, or start the vehicle with the aquarium filled with electric eels that under the hood.

People out here ridiculikulous :roll:

Postby gastly369 » November 6th, 2021, 6:04 pm

Pricemart warranty is basically to frustrate the end user till the person just say fk it... Get some new or elsewhere..

Postby Gladiator » November 7th, 2021, 10:12 am

gastly369 wrote:Pricemart warranty is basically to frustrate the end user till the person just say fk it... Get some new or elsewhere..

It wasn't always like that eh... in the old days they would just take it at the counter and send you to take a new one. But blasted Trinis abuse this system till it is what it is now. I Remember a woman bring a 4 pack of 2L pepsi with 1/4 of 1 remaining and say it not tasting good and want to change it for another 4. Low classness of the 3rd world...

Postby gastly369 » November 7th, 2021, 10:32 am

Pricemart price plaza great manager....got good help from them after the waste of time electronics tech they hired

We called for a item said yes 10 in stock at price plaza branch went up and not seeing it in shelves we asked the tech he say "if u eh seeing it it not in stock.. Told him if its possible to check as we called and was told it have... He then turn ah say" ah say if it eh here we doh have it"

Went to manager she checked herself and was entire shelf filled with item gave us it normal normal...

Lazy bunch ah faking workers they hire this where ill agree with MP remove them and put someone with costumer training and willing to do their job as big or small as it is