Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Re: Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Postby hover11 » September 21st, 2024, 9:25 am

hover11 wrote:All these hoops men have to go through to access USD than just demand the government to do better when it comes to the forex situation
The only alternative is devaluation
Unpopular opinion but IMO the situation has been managed to alleviate inflation for the average man.

A 30% official devaluation will affect you more than some businesses buying at black market rates.
Diz,

Even you know that this will only delay the inevitable. The demand for USD is too great than the supply. Eventually they will have no choice but to stop kicking the can down the road.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 21st, 2024, 9:35 am

hover11 wrote:
hover11 wrote:All these hoops men have to go through to access USD than just demand the government to do better when it comes to the forex situation
Unpopular opinion but IMO the situation has been managed to alleviate inflation for the average man.

A 30% official devaluation will affect you more than some businesses buying at black market rates.
Diz,

Even you know that this will only delay the inevitable. The demand for USD is too great than the supply. Eventually they will have no choice but to stop kicking the can down the road.
They cannot hit the public with a devaluation simultaneously with reduced subsidies on utilities and property tax.

Everything has a timing and they starting with the least macro effects ones.

Postby hover11 » September 21st, 2024, 10:38 am

hover11 wrote:

Diz,

They cannot hit the public with a devaluation simultaneously with reduced subsidies on utilities and property tax.

Isn't the government doing more harm than good economically by doing nothing and keeping the exchange rate the same artificially? Forex situation will continue to worsen and prices for goods and services will increase nevertheless, businessness will continue to fail as only the hand picked few have access to such.

Postby adnj » September 21st, 2024, 11:00 am

hover11 wrote:

Diz,

Isn't the government doing more harm than good economically by doing nothing and keeping the exchange rate the same artificially? Forex situation will continue to worsen and prices for goods and services will increase nevertheless, businessness will continue to fail as only the hand picked few have access to such.

Postby hover11 » September 21st, 2024, 11:13 am

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Diz,

Hey genius the forex situation isn't new it started since 2015 show me report since then to present time. The declines are very much present.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 21st, 2024, 12:07 pm

triniterribletim wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:
pugboy wrote:i know a few ppl who have their cards in foreign pretty much permanently with somebody pulling cash every day or another day
another person migrated and this is how they convert

what is the limit for the other banks using debit cards to do this?

Who settles the balance monthly?
How do they renew the card when it expires?

Just pay it off by transferring money from your TTD savings account. Just have someone DHL the new card or you could visit TT if you absolutely have to. It's especially useful if you've sold off some major asset and the money is just sitting there and you can't get forex for transfers.

And how do you replace the replenished ttd?

Postby adnj » September 21st, 2024, 12:16 pm

AlphaMan wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:
pugboy wrote:i know a few ppl who have their cards in foreign pretty much permanently with somebody pulling cash every day or another day

Just pay it off by transferring money from your TTD savings account. Just have someone DHL the new card or you could visit TT if you absolutely have to. It's especially useful if you've sold off some major asset and the money is just sitting there and you can't get forex for transfers.

Sounds to me like you're trying to move overseas and live off of an ATM card with no pre-existing TT$ bankroll. That's the purest form of tuner-think.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 21st, 2024, 12:27 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Diz,

The 2022 figures were massively skewed by commodity prices for energy products being affected upwards by the war in Ukraine.

Our volumes of exports fell but value increased. Things have normalised since

We still need to address the replacement of lost export earnings since 2008 to now.
Screenshot_20240920-184258.jpg

Postby zoom rader » September 21st, 2024, 12:45 pm

Solve Forex?

Kick PNM & 1% out

Small businesses take back your country

Postby The_Honourable » September 21st, 2024, 12:48 pm

AlphaMan wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:

Just pm tim and pugboy all your questions nah :?

Asking similar questions nearly a year now on different cheds

Postby hover11 » September 21st, 2024, 12:54 pm

zoom rader wrote:Solve Forex?

Kick PNM & 1% out

Small businesses take back your country
This is the only way to put an end to all this nonsense

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 21st, 2024, 1:12 pm

How?
Low oil/gas revenue and little foreign investment diversification means that our forex supply is dwindling.
Couple that with a massive unexplained forex leakage, it's like trying to fill a leaking water tank with Wasa's chronic low pressure.

The government does not have an easy answer, and quite frankly neither does the opposition, nor the small party challengers.

The economists have some suggestions, but that is a bitter freaking pill for everyone to swallow, and everyone keeps burying their heads in the sand while calling for more consumer grade liquid USD cash.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » September 21st, 2024, 1:21 pm

AlphaMan wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:

Replace? I'm trying to offshore as much currency as I possibly can. The less the balance in that TTD account, the happier I am. You think I want to have money sitting in the bank when Admiral General Rowley declares a devaluation? If you're asking another sort of question, I have another income stream totally unconnected to Trinidad and Tobago, and several foreign credit cards, look up Nubank Ultraviolet.

Postby pugboy » September 21st, 2024, 1:53 pm

you the saying bout expensive stores
if yuh have to ask the price better yuh leave the store one time

The_Honourable wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:

Just pm tim and pugboy all your questions nah :?

Asking similar questions nearly a year now on different cheds

Postby pugboy » September 21st, 2024, 1:55 pm

anybody have a link to vid when post covid impsbert boasting how he handled covid well and economy bouncing back?
think around 2021 or 2022

Postby paid_influencer » September 21st, 2024, 6:00 pm

triniterribletim wrote:when Admiral General Rowley declares a devaluation?

just fyi, nobody will declare a devaluation. the currency has been floating since 1993. it changes day by day. they probably going to move it up, then down, then up, then down, then up, etc, until a year later somebody in the media notices the trend and says, wait nah, by which time it would already have happened

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 21st, 2024, 6:15 pm

it's a dirty float and not the real value. It's managed, but there's a wide gap between the last devaluation and today, in terms of $ for $.

Postby hover11 » September 21st, 2024, 6:20 pm

Nobody concerned that the TTD only has value in Trinidad and nowhere else wants to touch it. Eventually it will reach 10 to 1, it's not if but when, they have to do it strategically as to prevent public outcry and possible unrest....no this is trinis we talking about we will just accept it

Postby paid_influencer » September 21st, 2024, 6:30 pm

it probably not going to reach 10:1,
but the average man will have even less access to forex
than he does now

and he will believe it was always that way
and any other way isn't possible

and that the forex in the system
is best left to his betters anyway
because poor people bound to suffer

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 21st, 2024, 6:43 pm

1 of the steps is what NAR did

Only small basic cars could be imported

My manager used to drive a B12

Cars were cheap but basic

However now the 1 percenters will never allow this

But to be honest, they have no problem with foreign exchange

Postby pugboy » September 21st, 2024, 6:56 pm

that’s the catch
govt has to appease the 1% with whatever measures they take
1% businesses can’t afford to be stymied by any economic measures

Postby hover11 » September 21st, 2024, 7:26 pm

This is the problem 1 percent profits and businesses must not take a loss, however the other 99 percent is fair game. The prices of goods and services will continue to rise quickly whether we have a devaluation or not due to the artificial forex shortage.

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » September 21st, 2024, 7:28 pm

We are writing to advise that, effective September 23, 2024, your daily limit for overseas point-of-sale (POS) transactions and ATM withdrawals on your ScotiaCard™ Visa® DEBIT will be reduced from $100 USD to $50 USD. Additionally, the monthly foreign exchange limit on your debit card will be USD $1,200.

We appreciate your business?
We understand that this may be challenging and thank you for your continued understanding throughout these changes.

Anyone else get an email similar to this from their banks locally.

Postby hover11 » September 21st, 2024, 7:29 pm

INDAVID WORKSHOP wrote:We are writing to advise that, effective September 23, 2024, your daily limit for overseas point-of-sale (POS) transactions and ATM withdrawals on your ScotiaCard Visa DEBIT will be reduced from $100 USD to $50 USD. Additionally, the monthly foreign exchange limit on your debit card will be USD $1,200.

We appreciate your business?
We understand that this may be challenging and thank you for your continued understanding throughout these changes.

Anyone else get an email similar to this from their banks locally.
Scroll up , I posted the email yesterday

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 21st, 2024, 7:36 pm

Serious question, what does the average person need all this US for?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 21st, 2024, 7:44 pm

Traveling

Small business purchases

Bringing in their own vehicles to bypass the stealershipd

Buying hard to get parts for your vehicle while trying to avoid excessive markups

Ladies and Shein

Ect ect

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 21st, 2024, 7:50 pm

PariaMan wrote:Traveling

Small business purchases

Bringing in their own vehicles to bypass the stealershipd

Buying hard to get parts for your vehicle while trying to avoid excessive markups

Ladies and Shein

Ect ect

Credit card could take care of most on that list

Postby paid_influencer » September 21st, 2024, 9:18 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:Credit card could take care of most on that list

for now. i don't think we've seen the last of the credit card limit cuts.

I used to get this recurring nightmare about travelling and only having TTD in my wallet

Postby alfa » September 21st, 2024, 9:31 pm

If you're buying cars or parts from Japan shouldn't that be done in Yen or do you still need US, how does that work?

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » September 21st, 2024, 9:41 pm

alfa wrote:If you're buying cars or parts from Japan shouldn't that be done in Yen or do you still need US, how does that work?

You only get Yen if the banks have Yen to sell, and they usually don't. Once upon a time it was very common to get Yen for wire transfers, but that dried up entirely. When I was still close to the foreign used and parts business, all transfers were conducted in USD, and that was when you could get some. A lot of payments went via credit cards and payment processors.