Unemployment Count Thread

Numb3r4

Re: Unemployment Count Thread

Postby Numb3r4 » April 12th, 2017, 4:34 pm

Kronik wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:A big issue with the unemployment in Trinidad could also be because of the GATE programme. It to simply became a free for all. If you have a degree in a STEM field than you maybe a little better off...but no guarantees. If you have qualifications in the humanities well honestly good luck.

Again the problem was poor execution and management, had GATE been better implemented then we could have streamed the workforce to better tackle the market, however we were awash with money ('oh yes money eh no problem') so why bother. Now with slow to moderate growth we have over produced professionals in skill sets that are just not required or not needed as much anyway.

The issue going forward is not that these people are stupid, we have to now figure out how to get the talent to retrain and retool and get them back into the workforce. In so doing you can better weed out the slackers and genuinely bad apples.

It have to much young ppl that just want to do degree and get nice office work and wear shirt and tie. I does see them in school all the time, and in work too. I good with my outside work, more money to be made

True but that too is a culture and a mentality that they learned. The young people often gravitate to this because it was what they were taught in school and the home. Programs like GATE and the OJT only fed and reinforced these ideals that you ned to be in an "office environment" to be considered successful.

As such everybody reached out for the dream, and let's not forget at one time this was a perfectly acceptable means of thinking (remember 'money en no problem') people were "successful with this method."

The problem now is the economic downturn....we are seeing the true worth of all the education. And yes I do agree there will be a need for adjustment both in terms of mentality and expectations.

However it is imperative that the country get the young people back to work and as close to full capacity as it possible. The reason is that this is far more beneficial to the long term to the country when one considers revenue from taxes and NIS contributions. Not to mention young people spend and this does help to support local businesses.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 12th, 2017, 7:12 pm

There are lots of jobs you can get but most people do not want to work for $15 an hour.

With that said anybody realize kiss drop the price of the goodie cake to $1? I didn't even think that was possible

Postby Dizzy28 » April 20th, 2017, 10:04 am

This was pretty fast, announcement on March 16 and closure by April 19

Tears flow

RICHARDSON DHALAI Thursday, April 20 2017

WORKERS of Caroni Green Ltd, hugged each other and wept yesterday after being served termination notices as Government made good on its word to close down the state company. In all, 77 people are now on the breadline. Caroni Green Limited was created by the previous People’s Partnership administration in 2013, out of the ashes of Caroni 1975 Ltd, which was closed in 2003 by the Patrick Manning-led People’s National Movement (PNM) government.

The company’s two farms in Couva and Cunupia, saw a heavy emphasis on planting, harvesting and processing of hot peppers with related products being exported to the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom. A post-Cabinet briefing on March 16, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley announced the company’s closure saying it had an annual administrative bill of $6 million but sold only $700,000 in peppers.

http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,242525.html

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » April 20th, 2017, 11:42 am

the expensive rims on my car is damaged..... oh well i guess i will throw away the whole car and walk to places now.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 21st, 2017, 10:44 am

Monkey Man wrote:the expensive rims on my car is damaged..... oh well i guess i will throw away the whole car and walk to places now.

I like the description here man..we as country was very silly to close the agricultural sector and again gone to repeat the same idiotic move..

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 21st, 2017, 10:54 am

^^Its not a construction project, so nobody could eat ah food and pocket no money, or maybe the pocket money too small.

Postby Chimera » April 21st, 2017, 11:31 am

good thing they close down caroni green

that company firetruck up REAL plenty farmers and left them in a much much worse place than they were before

they came promising guaranteed sales and guaranteed payments...only to leave hundreds of thousands worth of produce rottening when the admin staff wouldnt even bother to try to get sales when they were given the produce by the farmers.

the admin staff real live it up with their fleet of navaras and thousands in kick backs from the chemical supply companies

u see what they say...6million in administrative costs...700k sales in pepper....thats sales eh...not profit

Postby toyolink » April 21st, 2017, 12:05 pm

The 'hot pepper' initiative was presented by the media in a real positive light, now we are being informed that this was a real failure and a drain on the treasury.
I wonder if either the media don't check before publishing or the state telling untruths.
The tears of mothers is real blight (according to the ole people) and it look like plenty blight sharing.

Postby De Dragon » April 21st, 2017, 2:04 pm

toyolink wrote:The 'hot pepper' initiative was presented by the media in a real positive light, now we are being informed that this was a real failure and a drain on the treasury.
I wonder if either the media don't check before publishing or the state telling untruths.
The tears of mothers is real blight (according to the ole people) and it look like plenty blight sharing.

Again he say, she say bullchit :? . Scarfy say $6million loss, Sharma say $700,000 profit. Scarfy is a known peddler of misinformation, and lies( EmailGate, JSC etc) while Sharma is a known shady from since his TCL days. So who to believe?

Postby Chimera » April 22nd, 2017, 1:51 am

Thats 700000 in sales not profit

Postby desifemlove » April 22nd, 2017, 5:36 am

HSA wrote:
desifemlove wrote:
HSA wrote:
sMASH wrote:the work to pay ratio of cepep is hard to compete with...

As ah operator (wackerman) the pay was bout 1200 a fortnight...i donno if things change

600 a week was enough for travelling, food and the occasional liming

I believe you still at cepep.

The struggle was just for a time...god is good and rewards patience...

You on the other hand have been dealing with ED in your young days and guess what.... with time it only gets worst....

No, you only still with CEPEP. and you're an old man who thinks the world demands him respect! haha..get tested for aspergers' dude.

Postby desifemlove » April 22nd, 2017, 5:45 am

haha...i really does tink HSA has some asperger's. He follows me around to cuss me and then tells me "you cannot judge me!" he's a pathetic iron who tries to manipulate people online, and doesn't fall in line like a man. which man out there reckons the world owes him? I bet he's done dude with a big car or six pack, but then he creases me up. haha.. and he and De Dragon started the cussing, but cool.

Postby desifemlove » April 22nd, 2017, 5:46 am

sMASH wrote:U say that as if it is supposed to be insulting.

One of my school mates who worked for his Phd in Chemistry took a free course to learn how to fix small engines aka brush cutter machine.
He is having and absolute ball servicing those small machines.

In working towards the PhD , he did collaboration with some German university to perform studies on the local mud volcanoes, and got their work published in some science journals. The study if the mud volcanoes was contributory work to NASA research into extremofiles... microbes living in extreme conditions.
He is utilized by UWI as a local scientist in their projects, and lends his expertise to coordinating those niherst science fairs.

It doesn't matter what u do, as long as u enjoy it, and it is of a Benefit to society.
He does so much, and fix whacka machine.

I am not ashamed of honest work. No matter what social stratification u apply to it.

Eh? nah, jus part of the cussing dude. it's how tings roll. i know you don't get it, but perhaps learn it. I don't care about your friend, i dont know him.

gencon

Postby gencon » April 22nd, 2017, 8:51 am

Anywho, has anyone tried being an uber yet to help pull in some extra dollars.

kstt

Postby kstt » April 22nd, 2017, 9:35 am

http://www.looptt.com/content/local-hot ... ars#sidr-0

Local hot peppers earn big forex dollars

BY: LOOP NEWS
15:29, July 11, 2016

The Ministry of Agriculture, Land of Fisheries is working towards ensuring that synergies are created to ensure ease in making exports.

Minister Clarence Rambharat gave the assurance while speaking at the Trade and Investment Convention (TIC) at the Centre of Excellence, Macoya yesterday.

He was at the time speaking on the successes of the Caroni Green Limited, which has exported more than 300,000 hot peppers to the United States since September 2015.

State-owned Caroni Green Limited won the Best Small Booth Award at the TIC. It’s also the largest generator of foreign exchange in the agricultural sector.

The Minister remarked that hot peppers produced in Trinidad and Tobago can hold its own on the international export market.

He noted that locally-produced peppers “had a very good break” when the Dominican Republic was unable to offer its product on the market due to pests and diseases which affected its yield.

While there were concerns last November that local hot peppers’ footing in the foreign market would be affected by the return of the Dominican Republic’s peppers, Rambharat said T&T’s exporters have demonstrated that they can hold their own.

He stated that there are issues relating to the support in that the Ministry, Namdevco and other players provide for the export market, which he is looking into with a view to finding solutions to those issues.

Regarding the food import bill, the Minister said a team would be appointed by government to conduct a review and look at opportunities for import substitution.

“The important step now is to push for value added through processing, packaging and cold storage and putting produce on the shelves and through the farmers markets and through the interaction with the supermarket’s associations and the other aspects of the retail trade that is where we are going to put up the fight against the imported products. I believe Trinidad products can stand on their own, Tobago products also and its work that the government has defined as needing to be done.”
Rambharat added that government was pushing for the export of all primary produce especially to fill the demand of West Indian communities in North America

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 22nd, 2017, 10:37 am

instantfrugality wrote:Anywho, has anyone tried being an uber yet to help pull in some extra dollars.

Not yet but I have mixed thoughts on it

HSA

Postby HSA » April 22nd, 2017, 12:28 pm

desifemlove wrote:haha...i really does tink HSA has some asperger's. He follows me around to cuss me and then tells me "you cannot judge me!" he's a pathetic iron who tries to manipulate people online, and doesn't fall in line like a man. which man out there reckons the world owes him? I bet he's done dude with a big car or six pack, but then he creases me up. haha.. and he and De Dragon started the cussing, but cool.

I wouldnt deny that i have asix pack or drive a big car....i usually buy smalta 6 pack and drive an old series 3 landrover....

But you forgot one of my most important attribute......stiff coco

gencon

Postby gencon » April 22nd, 2017, 6:34 pm

urbandilema wrote:
instantfrugality wrote:Anywho, has anyone tried being an uber yet to help pull in some extra dollars.

Well boy we ha to eat ah food dred

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 23rd, 2017, 12:47 am

instantfrugality wrote:
urbandilema wrote:

Well boy we ha to eat ah food dred

I fraid I get jacked up lol

kstt

Postby kstt » April 26th, 2017, 7:41 am

2017-04-26 07.29.16.png

More people to the breadline.

Postby K74T » April 26th, 2017, 9:24 am

Is that confirmed? Marcia Braveboy is in no way a reliable source.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » April 26th, 2017, 11:31 am

Well a man who sells pallet said that they closed down, he had a set of different ice creams that I never hear about

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » April 26th, 2017, 11:40 am

that rel frig up yes :cry: :cry: . i rel like to suck lolliees

Postby Dizzy28 » April 26th, 2017, 12:40 pm

It appears Flavourite is going the way of the typical Trinidad businessman......import cheap products add a mark up and sell it as opposed to manufacturing here (trading as opposed to manufacturing)

It works though..look at Chaguanas.

src1983

Postby src1983 » April 26th, 2017, 12:54 pm

Union??

kstt

Postby kstt » May 2nd, 2017, 1:03 am

Govt to close CISL*

Published on Apr 30, 2017, 10:08 pm AST
By Asha Javeed
asha.javeed@trinidadexpress.com

The Government has earmarked another State enterprise for ­closure.
This time, it’s Couva-based Community Improvement Services Ltd (CISL).
The imminent closure comes weeks after an audit on the company was concluded by the Central Audit Committee of the Ministry of Finance.
In recent weeks, the Government announced the closure of three other State enterprises—Tourism Development Corporation Ltd, Caroni Green Ltd and Government Human ­Resources Ltd.
CISL, a special-purpose company set up in 2002, has 20 ­employees.
The Express understands CISL’s management was given notice two weeks ago from its line ministry, the Ministry of Community Development.

Postby RedVEVO » May 2nd, 2017, 2:04 am

Kronik wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:A big issue with the unemployment in Trinidad could also be because of the GATE programme. It to simply became a free for all. If you have a degree in a STEM field than you maybe a little better off...but no guarantees. If you have qualifications in the humanities well honestly good luck.

Again the problem was poor execution and management, had GATE been better implemented then we could have streamed the workforce to better tackle the market, however we were awash with money ('oh yes money eh no problem') so why bother. Now with slow to moderate growth we have over produced professionals in skill sets that are just not required or not needed as much anyway.

The issue going forward is not that these people are stupid, we have to now figure out how to get the talent to retrain and retool and get them back into the workforce. In so doing you can better weed out the slackers and genuinely bad apples.

It have to much young ppl that just want to do degree and get nice office work and wear shirt and tie. I does see them in school all the time, and in work too. I good with my outside work, more money to be made

.. and pants
Everybody different . Some like shoes while others flip flop.

Gov't (Imbert) handling every thing in TT like an accountant.
It is the people that matter.

Postby sMASH » May 2nd, 2017, 5:43 am

where are all these unemployed people going to find money to pay all these bills?

Postby 88sins » May 2nd, 2017, 9:05 am

RedVEVO wrote:
Gov't (Imbert) handling every thing in TT like an accountant.

I'm somewhat offended by this remark.
Please refrain from comparing that midget-idiot hybrid to smart hard working people.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 2nd, 2017, 11:03 am

confirmed CISL was closed down. happened fri gone