Hyundai Ioniq in Trinidad...

snypaz

Re: Hyundai Ioniq in Trinidad...

Postby snypaz » October 24th, 2017, 3:35 pm

No it can't go full EV. There's a full EV Model but we don't carry it (Yet).

Sent from my Z828 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby Chimera » October 24th, 2017, 3:54 pm

Wing like yuh buy a x5 hybrid

wing

Postby wing » October 24th, 2017, 4:36 pm

I wish

Postby Kenjo » October 25th, 2017, 7:16 pm

How is the a/c on gas though ?

snypaz

Postby snypaz » October 25th, 2017, 7:18 pm

I only use A/C. Lol. Mileage still good though.

Sent from my Z828 using TriniTuner mobile app

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » October 26th, 2017, 9:45 pm

snypaz wrote:I wish I had Android Auto in this model. I don't think the Premium version has it either.
The base model comes standard with Apple CarPlay?

Also, what size is the screen?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 26th, 2017, 10:39 pm

From what I saw ... No capability of Android auto or Apple car play.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 29th, 2017, 8:44 pm

Are the projector headlights led or hid

snypaz

Postby snypaz » November 3rd, 2017, 2:01 pm

In the Premium Version, HID. I think I have normal light bulbs. They are bright.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » November 8th, 2017, 11:14 pm

I notice some Ioniqs have a thin blue line at the bottom of the front and rear bumpers, while some don't.

Does it signify anything specific, or is it just a styling option?

snypaz

Postby snypaz » November 9th, 2017, 12:29 pm

I'd like to say it's supposed to represent the Blue Technology in the car, (There's always a blue outline in the headlights And in parts of the dashboard) But the strip varies by the color. Because the Orange in both specifications locally doesn't have the blue strip on either bumpers.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » November 10th, 2017, 11:02 am

Thanks. Was wondering because I thought the same, until I realised all the cars seem to have the "Blue Technology" badge, but not all of them had the blue strip.

mazdatt

Postby mazdatt » November 10th, 2017, 5:29 pm

I was seriously considering buying an Ioniq but the number #1 reason I hear against it is Hyundai resale value and availability of parts. I mostly hear this from old school ppl, any thoughts from owners?

Hyundai Ioniq in Trinidad...

Postby j.o.e » November 10th, 2017, 6:01 pm

mazdatt wrote:I was seriously considering buying an Ioniq but the number #1 reason I hear against it is Hyundai resale value and availability of parts. I mostly hear this from old school ppl, any thoughts from owners?

In my opinion resale value on most cars are not that great and yes sure Koreans are worse but a hybrid sorta balances that. If you commute a lot and you’re willing to keep the car over 5 years gas savings can offset perceived worse resale. I also suspect as time goes by anything that isn’t a hybrid or using some gas saving tech will be a harder sell. This is also my opinion btw #nofacts
I am also a anti Korean hypocrite. I would be hesitant to buy a Korean vehicle in general but the Ioniq has an interesting value proposition.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 10th, 2017, 6:10 pm

mazdatt wrote:I was seriously considering buying an Ioniq but the number #1 reason I hear against it is Hyundai resale value and availability of parts. I mostly hear this from old school ppl, any thoughts from owners?

Moving from a Mazda to a Hyundai would be an upgrade :D

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 10th, 2017, 7:00 pm

j.o.e wrote:

In my opinion resale value on most cars are not that great and yes sure Koreans are worse but a hybrid sorta balances that. If you commute a lot and you’re willing to keep the car over 5 years gas savings can offset perceived worse resale. I also suspect as time goes by anything that isn’t a hybrid or using some gas saving tech will be a harder sell. This is also my opinion btw #nofacts
I am also a anti Korean hypocrite. I would be hesitant to buy a Korean vehicle in general but the Ioniq has an interesting value proposition.
This is exactly it

mazdatt

Postby mazdatt » November 10th, 2017, 7:02 pm

The Ioniq definitely has unique value when you look at the TCO (total cost of ownership) over a 3-5year period and fact that you pay zero VAT and MVT. I personally know several persons with Hyundai's and had no major issues but still interested in getting feedback from persons that drive the vehicle on a day to day basis to see if it lives up to the hype.

foots

Postby foots » November 10th, 2017, 9:01 pm

j.o.e wrote:

I could see this happening for sure. After paying the real/unsubsidised price of gas (i.e putting premium) for the past 5 years and burning off a good deal of it in standstill traffic, I wouldn't dream of buying a car that wasn't a hybrid...any car that is straight gas is immediately less valuable to me. But then again I was thinking that hybrid cars get much better gas mileage in bumper to bumper traffic (typical conditions here) and average/normal gas mileage at highway speeds (80km/h for long periods). Is that truly the case?

I think Hyundais/Kias are pretty robust cars now though, plenty 10+ year old diesel Sportages and Tucsons around chugging away normal.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 10th, 2017, 10:05 pm

I am waiting for the barely used market ... With a hybrid Korean car the saving to the second hand buyer would be enormous

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 10th, 2017, 11:17 pm

foots wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

I could see this happening for sure. After paying the real/unsubsidised price of gas (i.e putting premium) for the past 5 years and burning off a good deal of it in standstill traffic, I wouldn't dream of buying a car that wasn't a hybrid...any car that is straight gas is immediately less valuable to me. But then again I was thinking that hybrid cars get much better gas mileage in bumper to bumper traffic (typical conditions here) and average/normal gas mileage at highway speeds (80km/h for long periods). Is that truly the case?

I think Hyundais/Kias are pretty robust cars now though, plenty 10+ year old diesel Sportages and Tucsons around chugging away normal.

Premium has a premium tax attached to it... Just so you know.. But I hear you with the fuel savings

snypaz

Postby snypaz » November 10th, 2017, 11:27 pm

Honestly, I'm not worried about the resale value. The car was bought to serve a purpose and it's doing just that. There are quite a few on the roads currently and abroad and there hasn't been a major issue with the car or the parts. I'm also sure Massy is stocking the parts. If not, As with most new cars, Parts will be available via the world wide web if not already.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » November 10th, 2017, 11:30 pm

mazdatt wrote:The Ioniq definitely has unique value when you look at the TCO (total cost of ownership) over a 3-5year period and fact that you pay zero VAT and MVT. I personally know several persons with Hyundai's and had no major issues but still interested in getting feedback from persons that drive the vehicle on a day to day basis to see if it lives up to the hype.

It does. Right now, The car averages 800-850km on a tank. I'm at the gas station once every three weeks. Gas savings alone make this car so amazing. Hey tonight I went POS to UWI on the electric motor alone cause of traffic with AC on. No complaints from me.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 10th, 2017, 11:34 pm

snypaz wrote:
mazdatt wrote:The Ioniq definitely has unique value when you look at the TCO (total cost of ownership) over a 3-5year period and fact that you pay zero VAT and MVT. I personally know several persons with Hyundai's and had no major issues but still interested in getting feedback from persons that drive the vehicle on a day to day basis to see if it lives up to the hype.

It does. Right now, The car averages 800-850km on a tank. I'm at the gas station once every three weeks. Gas savings alone make this car so amazing. Hey tonight I went POS to UWI on the electric motor alone cause of traffic with AC on. No complaints from me.

The gas engine did not turn on once?

snypaz

Postby snypaz » November 10th, 2017, 11:36 pm

foots wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Usually in bumper to bumper traffic like this evening, The car only used the electric motor all the way. Which saved gas. On extended runs, For instance POS to South runs, The car averages around 23-27km/l.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » November 10th, 2017, 11:42 pm

drchaos wrote:
snypaz wrote:

The gas engine did not turn on once?

Nope. Car didn't charge itself either. From Movietowne POS to UWI. About an hour and 15mins. Traffic was slow. No time I crossed 40km/h. Traffic cleared up after UWI to my destination in Trincity. Also, I generally drive slow. I accelerate slow, So to be honest, the car doesn't sense urgency and doesn't initiate the gas engine.

Dgsm2789

Postby Dgsm2789 » November 11th, 2017, 5:19 am

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:

Moving from a Mazda to a Hyundai would be an upgrade :D

Behave yourself. While hyundai has upgraded alot to be what they are now, its not an upgrade from mazda bro. I myself will buy an ioniq, but will never class is it as an upgrade or downgrade.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » November 11th, 2017, 4:17 pm

snypaz wrote:

Honestly, I'm not worried about the resale value. The car was bought to serve a purpose and it's doing just that. There are quite a few on the roads currently and abroad and there hasn't been a major issue with the car or the parts. I'm also sure Massy is stocking the parts. If not, As with most new cars, Parts will be available via the world wide web if not already.

I think there is too much thought put into resale value when some ppl go to purchase vehicles. With this car, the gas and maintenance savings of over the course of let's say 5 years, that savings alone will make up for the potential lower resale value.

I know ppl who pay extra to purchase a normal Toyota car/van compared to a Korean counterpart, but what you get for what you spend is wayyy different. Look the mighty new model hilux, has a driveshaft issue that causes a jerking, but TTTL pretends it doesn't exist unless you specifically tell them what the issue is and what causes it, then they will replace the parts under warranty. 4 guys from my work plus my brother have the same issue, but so much faith is put in Toyota's name that the value is high, but it comes with defects just like any other car manufacturer

Postby Kenjo » November 11th, 2017, 7:34 pm

I can’t remember which thread there was about hybrids but I’m putting this here for anyone who was concerned about the vehicle discharging

Postby sMASH » November 11th, 2017, 9:47 pm

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Bro..

When the car switches to the battery how much mileage do you get from it...on the battery run.....

Seems this is more feasible than cng as I heard that u can only get 100km on a full tank of cng......still need to recheck that info though...

100 KM on a 70 l tank of cng pressured to max 3000 psi, CONFIRMED.
I did a log of the runs and it averaged 100km per fully filled tank

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 11th, 2017, 10:03 pm

Great info.....so if I am doing 2000km for the month it means I have to go to the gas station and fill up 20 times for the month.....wdh