Re: Should I get a Credit Card?

Postby pugboy » November 16th, 2024, 8:51 pm

frigidaire

hover11 wrote:What brand?
pugboy wrote:allyuh need to buy local
i just buy a 7cuft chest freezer in standards for $2k

alfa wrote:Getting in my xmas shopping early before this forex thing get even worse

Postby paid_influencer » November 16th, 2024, 9:07 pm

alfa wrote:Getting in my xmas shopping early before this forex thing get even worse

as a practical matter, you should also check what your monthly USD spending limits are and work around them as necessary.

Most transaction caps cycle over on a fixed date every month. RBL, for example, cycles over on the 21st or somewhere thereabouts every month. If you plan your spending accordingly, you can use your whole $500 USD balance in this current cycle and then have a virgin $500 USD cycle for Black Friday.

Note that companies only charge you when the goods ship: so if you order today but your goods ship after the 21st, your transaction falls into the next period. So plan ahead.

Welcome to the wonderful world of getting around currency controls, brethren.

Should I get a Credit Card?

Postby MaxPower » November 16th, 2024, 9:38 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Going to do some damage on Amazon.

Xmas coming up.
Sponsor mih a lil something nah

Yeh boi say d word
Last edited by MaxPower on November 16th, 2024, 9:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 88sins » November 16th, 2024, 9:38 pm

Yeah, and no.
I got zero problem with buying local.
Up to and until the point where if I buy local I paying more for the item than it's worth or if I can get it for significantly less by importing it.

Because lewwe keep it 100
Plenty local small startups does price themselves out of the market, and that is usually the owners/operators own doing.

Don't try to sell me one piece of an item for $100, when I can import 8 of the same item for that to price, and try to convince that I eh want to see you gt
More important to me than whether or not you gt, is whether or not I get my value for my money, and as an alleged "businessman" you need to get very comfortable and familiar with that

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » November 17th, 2024, 12:55 pm

triniterribletim wrote:Cashback rate on my Ultravioleta, a Mastercard black card is 1%, plus it gives me free airport lounge access with one guest, concierge, travel, medical and repatriation insurance and assistance, complementary 10 gigs data every month in more than 100 countries, discounts on flights, hotels and car rentals. Plus you have a private global investments manager, two additional accounts denominated in US and Euro and Global debit function without fees, so you don't get charged CC processing fees, which can be high in some places. The number one rule on a credit card is spend only what you have and never let a period roll over with an open balance. Once you can do that, a credit card is a tool like any other.
What's the requirements to acquire this card?

Postby alfa » November 17th, 2024, 1:02 pm

Yeah, and no.
I got zero problem with buying local.
Up to and until the point where if I buy local I paying more for the item than it's worth or if I can get it for significantly less by importing it.

Because lewwe keep it 100
Plenty local small startups does price themselves out of the market, and that is usually the owners/operators own doing.

Don't try to sell me one piece of an item for $100, when I can import 8 of the same item for that to price, and try to convince that I eh want to see you gt
More important to me than whether or not you gt, is whether or not I get my value for my money, and as an alleged "businessman" you need to get very comfortable and familiar with that

I don't buy much things online but when I do it's because I can research for days the exact product that best suits my needs and be able to find it online, something that can't be done locally.
The reviews on Amazon is also a big motivator into what product to go with as opposed to the local smallie in a store saying ' yeah real people buying this one'.
And of course once I find the exact product I want meen mind paying a higher price. Larger appliances and stuff I do buy locally though

triniterribletim

Re: Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Postby triniterribletim » November 17th, 2024, 1:49 pm

Jerry84 wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:Cashback rate on my Ultravioleta, a Mastercard black card is 1%, plus it gives me free airport lounge access with one guest, concierge, travel, medical and repatriation insurance and assistance, complementary 10 gigs data every month in more than 100 countries, discounts on flights, hotels and car rentals. Plus you have a private global investments manager, two additional accounts denominated in US and Euro and Global debit function without fees, so you don't get charged CC processing fees, which can be high in some places. The number one rule on a credit card is spend only what you have and never let a period roll over with an open balance. Once you can do that, a credit card is a tool like any other.
What's the requirements to acquire this card?

I don't think there were any requirements beyond spending a lot of of money while using my old regular gold card. They sent me an invitation via mail and after speaking to a manager there they sent out my new card. This isn't a card issued by a Trinidadian bank though, it's issued by Nubank.

Postby MaxPower » November 17th, 2024, 3:45 pm

The canadian imported chicken cheaper than Fine Choice

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 17th, 2024, 6:45 pm

MaxPower wrote:The canadian imported chicken cheaper than Fine Choice

Fresh Chicken is the best

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 17th, 2024, 6:53 pm

That canadian imported chicken bess tho.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 17th, 2024, 7:05 pm

DMan7 wrote:That canadian imported chicken bess tho.

What it look like?
I hate frozen meat...

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 17th, 2024, 7:21 pm

I bought the canadian frozen chicken legs in the grocery. It has cold pads between it and the packaging below to prevent it from sticking onto the package when frozen. Brilliant stuff unlike over here.

Postby pugboy » November 17th, 2024, 7:33 pm

this is them case box like the tyson leg and thighs?

DMan7 wrote:I bought the canadian frozen chicken legs in the grocery. It has cold pads between it and the packaging below to prevent it from sticking onto the package when frozen. Brilliant stuff unlike over here.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 17th, 2024, 9:17 pm

Nah the regular see through plastic packaging, got about 18 large chicken legs in them.

Postby Chimera » November 18th, 2024, 9:11 am

wtf wrote:
Chimera wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Even if you try, you wouldn't be allowed to have so much credit cards anyway. The banks will do a credit check and once they see you have a credit card with another bank, it is unlikely they will give you another one especially if your income is tight.

The best way so far is for family members to also have credit cards.
Lol allyuh does post info as if it's factual without knowing anything about it

I have 9 credit cards myself.

People who realize what was coming and what needed to be done prepared themselves.

Why exactly do you have 9 credit cards?
For business or travel purposes?
The monthly charges must be alot for those 9 cards?
Cause hes a jackarse

One credit card is too much

Cash is king

that easy for you to say because from your postings i assume you have US bank accounts and don't need to spend the $$ i need to spend

now several years ago....i use to have 4 credit cards which i could have spend 20k USD on each card per month
so i could have spent 80k USD a month...i could have purchased cheap items to make a $100 on
i could have purchased expensive items to make $1500- $2000 on

let me give examples
a iphone 16 pro max is around $1400 USD from apple...thats approximately 10k landed with bank rate 6.8

can you walk into the bank and get 1400 USD to buy ONE high end phone these days? and then you have to wire it? and wait for supplier to acknowledge wire and then ship

years ago when i had access to 80k us a month...it was nothing to buy 20-30 iphones and put it down and it take a month to sell plus buy plenty cheaper items to make a $100 here a $300 there a $500 there

then they start to cut credit cards....they half everything......so from 80k it gone to 40k US suddenly

so then start to have to pick and choose what you could bring

it didnt make sense buying high end phones again, when i could buy 50 cheap phones costing $200 (10k usd total) us each and sell for $400 profit each
rather than that same 10k usd could only buy 7 high end phones that probably making $1000 on each one

at that point they even start to limit how much USD you could get at the counter in the banks even when travelling so i opened accounts in all the banks and they offered me credit cards and i took them

now even with those 8 or 9 cards i only have access to $33k USD a month and that going to drop further in december
and they arent giving new cards to anyone except under strict conditions

now if i didnt have those cards.......how business suppose to run? i hadda apply for a queue and wait for $2000 usd every 2 weeks?

and considering all my cards are paid back every month without interest......i getting usd at 6.8 rather than having to pay black market 7.5 and 8 and 8.50 which i do still end up doing if i have to

i dont even import expensive phones anymore, if someone really want it i would put my markup and go buy it in the mall

imagine i would pay $10,500 for a 16 pro max in westmall and sell back for $11k or $11,500 rather than eat up my little USD to make a extra $1000 because i have to pick and choose what it spending on

and i dont even travel much anymore because that just gonna drain out the credit card USD

Postby Chimera » November 18th, 2024, 9:14 am

just an example...
i have a platinum card from fcb thats $7500 USD a month
when i use out that, i get roughly $800 to $1000 TT in cash back per month (through reward points that can spend like a credit card)

and the card is paid back every month without interest....so no matter what i profiting on that card and all the others

even the scotia black card which fee is 290 to 350 a month now.......thats the only card that has such a high monthly fee
5 to 10k usd a month to spend how u want is worth atleast 80k in spending power.....

Postby Dizzy28 » November 18th, 2024, 9:18 am

^You are debating someone who doesn't care what your convo merits are

Postby Chimera » November 18th, 2024, 9:22 am

i eh debating with zoomie, just showing him my side and showing the pros of having the card

you cant just tell someone they dotish for having multiple cards if they know what they using it for

most people dont use credit cards properly and thats what the banks like

they glad if u have a credit card and cant pay back on time properly thats why they were always so eager to share it and thats why they allowing you to still have your TT limit on your card because you could spend that without it affecting them and still owe them interest.

Postby MaxPower » November 18th, 2024, 12:42 pm

How much allyuh paying here for USD on the black market?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » November 18th, 2024, 1:41 pm

Awaits more beatup, frothing and nonsensical garbage from a certain user after them posts.

Postby zoom rader » November 18th, 2024, 6:14 pm

Chimera wrote:
wtf wrote:
Chimera wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Even if you try, you wouldn't be allowed to have so much credit cards anyway. The banks will do a credit check and once they see you have a credit card with another bank, it is unlikely they will give you another one especially if your income is tight.

The best way so far is for family members to also have credit cards.
Lol allyuh does post info as if it's factual without knowing anything about it

I have 9 credit cards myself.

People who realize what was coming and what needed to be done prepared themselves.

Why exactly do you have 9 credit cards?
For business or travel purposes?
The monthly charges must be alot for those 9 cards?
Cause hes a jackarse

One credit card is too much

Cash is king

that easy for you to say because from your postings i assume you have US bank accounts and don't need to spend the $$ i need to spend

now several years ago....i use to have 4 credit cards which i could have spend 20k USD on each card per month
so i could have spent 80k USD a month...i could have purchased cheap items to make a $100 on
i could have purchased expensive items to make $1500- $2000 on

let me give examples
a iphone 16 pro max is around $1400 USD from apple...thats approximately 10k landed with bank rate 6.8

can you walk into the bank and get 1400 USD to buy ONE high end phone these days? and then you have to wire it? and wait for supplier to acknowledge wire and then ship

years ago when i had access to 80k us a month...it was nothing to buy 20-30 iphones and put it down and it take a month to sell plus buy plenty cheaper items to make a $100 here a $300 there a $500 there

then they start to cut credit cards....they half everything......so from 80k it gone to 40k US suddenly

so then start to have to pick and choose what you could bring

it didnt make sense buying high end phones again, when i could buy 50 cheap phones costing $200 (10k usd total) us each and sell for $400 profit each
rather than that same 10k usd could only buy 7 high end phones that probably making $1000 on each one

at that point they even start to limit how much USD you could get at the counter in the banks even when travelling so i opened accounts in all the banks and they offered me credit cards and i took them

now even with those 8 or 9 cards i only have access to $33k USD a month and that going to drop further in december
and they arent giving new cards to anyone except under strict conditions

now if i didnt have those cards.......how business suppose to run? i hadda apply for a queue and wait for $2000 usd every 2 weeks?

and considering all my cards are paid back every month without interest......i getting usd at 6.8 rather than having to pay black market 7.5 and 8 and 8.50 which i do still end up doing if i have to

i dont even import expensive phones anymore, if someone really want it i would put my markup and go buy it in the mall

imagine i would pay $10,500 for a 16 pro max in westmall and sell back for $11k or $11,500 rather than eat up my little USD to make a extra $1000 because i have to pick and choose what it spending on

and i dont even travel much anymore because that just gonna drain out the credit card USD
Bro, I don't have US credit, debit cards nor a US bank account.

I have never been to the US nor will I ever visit or plan to.

What I can tell you in the late 1980s, I brought US & £s at every chance i got and saved it cause I saw that later in life US & £s will be a problem to get from PNM mis management in the 1980s. I was correct.

Then in the 1990s I stated working offshore and saved 60% of my foreign currency. I Banked and invested it on UK stock exchange . Further to this I used only UK debit cards for foreign transactions.

I sold some currency to fix my apartments in Trinidad and paid off the mortgages via my TT income from rents. I run all my affairs in Trinidad on TTD not in £s.

I worked with Offshore personnel and they was always broke despite making £500 per day in the North sea & Angola. What i leant when I spoke to them is that they had multiple credit cards from when they in their 20s and these are 50 yr old guy's.

Key note I leant is to save ur money and keep foreign currency in an investment account not a bank account. In a bank account ur money gets eaten away from inflation and worth less.

Yes it hard for a trini to buy an IPhone in cash, but does he need an IPhone or a new car every 3 years ?

Trinis are hooked on buying stupid things that does not add value to their investments.

Postby paid_influencer » November 18th, 2024, 6:32 pm

I think Zoom isn't talking about ppl who use multiple credit cards as a currency conversion system like most businessmen does do

more he talking about the people that have multiple credit cards because they have some stable income and a desire to live a particular lifestyle.

plenty ppl I know which big salary does get ketch in that. making "smart" decisions until they look back and wonder where all the money gorne

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » November 18th, 2024, 6:36 pm

Amen Zoom!
For one they should stop importing apples and grapes... just a waste of forex... especially because of the fact the apples and grapes we get here taste like chit.. yet trinis buy it because it "foreign ".
I would rather eat a mango, pommarac, orange, sapodilla, governor plum, etc any day than a force-ripe, sour apple.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 18th, 2024, 6:41 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:Amen Zoom!
For one they should stop importing apples and grapes... just a waste of forex... especially because of the fact the apples and grapes we get here taste like chit.. yet trinis buy it because it "foreign ".
I would rather eat a mango, pommarac, orange, sapodilla, governor plum, etc any day than a force-ripe, sour apple.
Trinidad spends 5m USD on apples and 500m on cars.

I would say apples.should be the least of your worries especially in the context of 6.5b USD annual demand

Postby zoom rader » November 18th, 2024, 6:44 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:Amen Zoom!
Citizens need to understand that clever marketing causing trins to waste money.

Apples & Grapes that land here are low grade fit for pigs to eat. People don't know this.

Plus our fruits are real organic stuff, those apples are really junk

Postby paid_influencer » November 18th, 2024, 7:08 pm

aye doh bad talk apples and grapes. It is cheap and healthy food that stays well in storage. Local fruits good too but not always available and usually more expensive.

As Dizzy pointed out, apples not even that big a forex consumer. I think we should have a system where people pay more TT$ for every US$ they use, as a means of aligning demand with limited forex supply. People who use a lot of costly imported stuff would pay much more money while those using more local stuff would pay relatively less.

Postby paid_influencer » November 18th, 2024, 7:13 pm

red delicious is trash tho literal garbage

Postby Dizzy28 » November 18th, 2024, 7:17 pm

paid_influencer wrote:aye doh bad talk apples and grapes. It is cheap and healthy food that stays well in storage. Local fruits good too but not always available and usually more expensive.

As Dizzy pointed out, apples not even that big a forex consumer. I think we should have a system where people pay more TT$ for every US$ they use, as a means of aligning demand with limited forex supply. People who use a lot of costly imported stuff would pay much more money while those using more local stuff would pay relatively less.
That 5m is not just apples either. It's actually fresh apples and pears cumulatively
Screenshot_20241118-191627.jpg

Postby MaxPower » November 18th, 2024, 8:14 pm

Trinis dont understand how much power they have to control the forex situation.

But greed, big eye, flaunt and neverseecomesee prevails.

Postby st7 » November 18th, 2024, 11:01 pm

study how the cash is king frothers realll loud in this ched lol...

one business man say he has 8 credit cards for his business, and all of a sudden, it's some general statistic. grasping hard for straws to make a point nobody ever gonna take on.

anyway,
1. why people using credit cards affecting allyuh life so?
2. if you doh use credit card, why yuh beating up for?

i swear is only pantyman behaviour :/