2020/21 Olympics And Survival thread

Daran

Re: 2016 Olympics And Survival thread

Postby Daran » August 15th, 2016, 8:10 am

Agree with 100% of things being said here. Phelps is a superstar but Bolt is a mega star. Only reason phelps has more medals is because there are more opportunities to win medals in swimming events. However, as a world event 100m track is the premiere event of the Olympics and Bolt dominates that sport like no other.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » August 15th, 2016, 8:28 am

the US could haul they so and so...

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » August 15th, 2016, 8:32 am

Postby K74T » August 15th, 2016, 8:34 am

Reyare placed 5th in her heat

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » August 15th, 2016, 8:38 am

Progression rules: First 2 in each heat (Q) and the next 6 fastest (q) advance to the Semifinals.

9 heats to be run.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » August 15th, 2016, 8:49 am

Michelle-Lee Ahye wins heat 3 and advances to semi-finals!!

baigan

Postby baigan » August 15th, 2016, 9:23 am

Semoy Hackett qualifies for semi finals

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » August 15th, 2016, 9:27 am

Semoy @Allstarmoy Hackett finished 2nd in heat 9 of women's 200m in 22.78 sec, joins Michelle @LeeAhye in the semis
https://twitter.com/tv6tnt/status/765177232306401281

2WNBoost

2016 Olympics And Survival thread

Postby 2WNBoost » August 15th, 2016, 9:38 am

This pic is epic.
The man is flashing his pearly whites while running an Olympic 100m Finals!!

Postby rollingstock » August 15th, 2016, 11:01 am

Whey Jehue came last in his heat

Postby mero » August 15th, 2016, 11:02 am

Actually expected him to place 1st yes

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 15th, 2016, 11:02 am

Its all over for him^....

Postby redmanjp » August 15th, 2016, 11:04 am

Gordon last in ah heat

Steups

Postby pugboy » August 15th, 2016, 11:07 am

Man is a big bmobile sponsored and he also launched his own fragrance

Postby pete » August 15th, 2016, 11:07 am

Why is there so much hate for our guys in athletics vs some of the other sports? Other sports it's amazing that the athlete actually qualified but all our athletics guys are required to medal?

Postby pugboy » August 15th, 2016, 11:12 am

Because we celebrate mediocrity

Postby pete » August 15th, 2016, 11:18 am

Nothing about qualifying for the olympics can be classified as mediocre.

Postby redmanjp » August 15th, 2016, 11:19 am

Jehue was a finalist according to the espn host so he's quite capable of doing better

However it seems that he had an injury which affected him

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 15th, 2016, 11:24 am

Gatlin was on a US radio station bragging how he gonna wipe the floor with bolt, how he is Bolt's worst nightmare.

And the funny thing is Bolt wasn't even at max performance. And there is another 99% chance Gatlin got his ass beaten while being juiced as he did twice before and got banned each time

Postby redmanjp » August 15th, 2016, 11:27 am

So why was he allowed to compete this time

killercow

Postby killercow » August 15th, 2016, 11:31 am

redmanjp wrote:Jehue was a finalist according to the espn host so he's quite capable of doing better
This was only round 1 heat
Is not like he come 3rd and barely miss qualifying

I also expected better from him. Imagine a country like Grenada with a population of
approximately 100K have a medal already (silver) and we have a population more than
10 times that and cyah get nun yet. Nevertheless I am happy for Grenada and still hoping
that T&T can win a/some medal(s).

Postby De Dragon » August 15th, 2016, 11:32 am

redmanjp wrote:So why was he allowed to compete this time

Because he completed his 4 year ban and thus is eligible again. Bolt is in a different class, look at picture of him coasting to the finish line in a final, a facking final :shock: , where times are hundredths of a second different from competitor to competitor.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » August 15th, 2016, 11:53 am

From 96.1 Facebook page:
Six months after surgery for a “severely torn lower ab” Jehue Gordon ran Heat 4 in the Men’s 400 meters hurdles at the Rio Olympics on Monday morning, but failed to qualify, finishing eighth in 49:98.

He ran way below his personal best of 47:69.

"The surgery affected his core," ESPN sports commentator, Shaka Hislop explained after the race, adding “you could tell that he was hurting.”

"The core is important to everything you do and it is not a simple fix,” he added.

"To try to do it in six months in an event is punishing, as the 400 meters hurdles is asking much” Shaka said while noting, "by looking at the mechanics of his stride, you could tell that he was in pain.”

bumpie

Postby bumpie » August 15th, 2016, 12:07 pm

I feel them sprangers them would run and win medals for trinidad .they could snatch an run fast an u cyar chetch them.who agree?

Daran

Postby Daran » August 15th, 2016, 12:41 pm

pugboy wrote:Because we celebrate mediocrity

You're an idiot.

baigan

Postby baigan » August 15th, 2016, 12:53 pm

Jehue did good, injured or not he made it to Olympics. Same goes for njisane, two time Olympian at 25.. that right there is an accomplishment. I saw a lot of nasty insulting comments about njisane on facebook. I'd like to see any one of those people do what he does and try to make it to Olympics or even try to win a local cycling race.

Postby RASC » August 15th, 2016, 1:54 pm

Gordon was obviously and visibly injured.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 15th, 2016, 2:10 pm

check the reason njisane not beating the daylights out of everybody TTCF aint slack in joke. De man dont even have a coach
http://www.newsday.co.tt/sport/0,231946.html

Postby toyolink » August 15th, 2016, 2:21 pm

No question about T&T having some really good athletes who can be at the top of their class.
Our country has failed to embrace the possibilities which can be enjoyed through competitive sports, and as yet hasn't created a powerful continuous institutional framework to grow and harness our true potential.
Admittedly a small country that has been graced with oil and gas could very easily overlook other possibilities since the preoccupation is about spending gifted wealth.
I am almost certain we are going to hear the stories about our representatives 'RIO' experience and it probably is going to show weakness in things like prep and other essential support.
Excellence in any sphere requires years of investment and hard support.
I only have total respect for every individual who have put themselves out there in the name of T&T.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 15th, 2016, 2:26 pm

GORTT needs to do a serious inquest into the rio performances and especially into the bodies that are running the various sports. We know about the infractions of swimming, cycling and gymnastics. But why are our male sprinters running in a totally different time zone than everybody else? A start was made in swimming with multiple gold medal winner roland schoemann from SA in swimming. I would strongly suggest that the government keep him here for the next cycle until 2020 with carter or send carter to work with him. Njisane not going to retire, im sure of that so they need to get him a coach. he economy will of course play a factor so you put money where the chances of excelling will be greatest(i.e athletics, cycling and swimming). And they should be afraid to withdraw funding from errant bodies. Like the stunt the ttcf pulled with njisane should have some sort of punishment. Hire foreign coaches, its obvious the local ones arent any good, with the exception of Dr Ian Hypolite. We have the hardware already. Money cant be n issue because Jamaica in the IMF hands 20 years this year and we are seeing what they are producing. We're not even close so we have room