65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

arakaras

Re: RE: Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby arakaras » May 11th, 2016, 6:11 pm

BRZ wrote:
arakaras wrote:It's interesting how many people thinks the 50, 65 and 80 speed limits are good and shouldn't change. What was the speed you were driving before? Cause I can't remember seeing a lot of people driving at the speed limit before the speed guns. Just saying...

What one is accustomed to doing doesn't override the Existing LAWs that were never enforced to begin with.
What a pity you Pickup drivers don't quarrel and argue when you see people littering, I'm sure you usually turn a blind eye! but omg god forbid Police make you drive within the limit of 65!

I know it's the existing law. My point is don't try to take the moral high ground when you were law breakers yourselves.

Yes it's the law and yes we have to follow it like it or not.

As for your statement about the littering it is the same type of irrelevant statements that are made when any group take a stand about anything.
Last edited by arakaras on May 11th, 2016, 6:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

arakaras

Postby arakaras » May 11th, 2016, 6:19 pm

drchaos wrote:
BRZ wrote:
arakaras wrote:It's interesting how many people thinks the 50, 65 and 80 speed limits are good and shouldn't change. What was the speed you were driving before? Cause I can't remember seeing a lot of people driving at the speed limit before the speed guns. Just saying...

What one is accustomed to doing doesn't override the Existing LAWs that were never enforced to begin with.
What a pity you Pickup drivers don't quarrel and argue when you see people littering, I'm sure you usually turn a blind eye! but omg god forbid Police make you drive within the limit of 65!

I am so glad they have to drive at 65 ...
For too long these vehicles have been a burden to T&T, they pay less taxes, their running costs are subsidized by we the tax payers.

Make them drive at 65kph and stick to the left lane, raise the price of diesel to its actual price and charge VAT on it, Make it so you have to have a registered business/farmers card to land them as T vehicles otherwise its landed as a P with P level taxes. Also make inspection necessary for every year after year 4.

Now that is progressive policies

Firstly it is not pickup owner's fault that the taxes are low. Secondly the only thing subsidized was diesel and wasn't gas subsidized as well?
Thirdly you do know that most pickup owner's are taxpayers too.
Finally T vehicles are required to be inspected every year from date of registration. This can only be done at a licencing office.

I will however agree with one of your points. The law should be amended so that pickups can be registered as P vehicles so long as they are not used for business. I know one insurance company that gives you a reduced rate so long as you use the pickup for personal use only.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 11th, 2016, 8:22 pm

arakaras wrote:
drchaos wrote:
BRZ wrote:

For too long these vehicles have been a burden to T&T, they pay less taxes, their running costs are subsidized by we the tax payers.

Make them drive at 65kph and stick to the left lane, raise the price of diesel to its actual price and charge VAT on it, Make it so you have to have a registered business/farmers card to land them as T vehicles otherwise its landed as a P with P level taxes. Also make inspection necessary for every year after year 4.

Firstly it is not pickup owner's fault that the taxes are low. Secondly the only thing subsidized was diesel and wasn't gas subsidized as well?
Thirdly you do know that most pickup owner's are taxpayers too.
Finally T vehicles are required to be inspected every year from date of registration. This can only be done at a licencing office.

I will however agree with one of your points. The law should be amended so that pickups can be registered as P vehicles so long as they are not used for business. I know one insurance company that gives you a reduced rate so long as you use the pickup for personal use only.

Gas no longer subsidized only diesel is (was speaking about the present).
Yes some pickup owners are tax payers (probably not all), but that does not justify why the money I pay in taxes should go to helping raj make a puncheon fueled curry duck cook out by the river in his new Hilux... That adds nothing to the country in anyway.

The yearly inspection I did not know about, thanks!
but is this enforced?

Yes let them register as P and pay the full MVT and Duty on these Vans.

arakaras

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby arakaras » May 11th, 2016, 9:57 pm

Gas no longer subsidized only diesel is (was speaking about the present).
Yes some pickup owners are tax payers (probably not all), but that does not justify why the money I pay in taxes should go to helping raj make a puncheon fueled curry duck cook out by the river in his new Hilux... That adds nothing to the country in anyway.

The yearly inspection I did not know about, thanks!
but is this enforced?

Yes let them register as P and pay the full MVT and Duty on these Vans.

The yearly inspection is enforced but not as strictly as it should be. I believe the fine for not having it is $5000. I do know many pickup owners myself included who gets it done every year.

As for the diesel subsidy, I believe they would remove that in the next budget.

sentraman

Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby sentraman » May 12th, 2016, 1:57 am

drchaos wrote:
BRZ wrote:

Ammend the law so everyone has to drive at 65. All the car drivers and ppl who traveling that bussing up their mouth that 65 good could do it as well.

trinichubz

Postby trinichubz » May 12th, 2016, 3:22 am

All of a sudden a lot of hostility towards van men here boy... Just keep in mind its not affecting pickup drivers only... All products and services in trinidad depend on transport... I personally worked delivery for a bit and sometimes the amount of stops we had to make was ridiculous and that was before this whole speed limit issue... So with the enforcement of these ancient speed limits productivity is going to make a nose dive... Think about it... Ontop of that look at the number of road fatalities in cars vs pickups... I was in an accident that couldve killed me and my wife two years ago but my pickup is what saved us.... Just putting my two cents.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 12th, 2016, 6:08 am

trinichubz wrote:All of a sudden a lot of hostility towards van men here boy... Just keep in mind its not affecting pickup drivers only... All products and services in trinidad depend on transport... I personally worked delivery for a bit and sometimes the amount of stops we had to make was ridiculous and that was before this whole speed limit issue... So with the enforcement of these ancient speed limits productivity is going to make a nose dive... Think about it... Ontop of that look at the number of road fatalities in cars vs pickups... I was in an accident that couldve killed me and my wife two years ago but my pickup is what saved us.... Just putting my two cents.

While I am for maintaining the speed limit at 80km/h, I am for raising the speed limit of commercial vehicles across the board (trailer or no trailer) from 65km/h to 80km/h. Me eh hate you all van fellas. I go sign the speed limit petition for the van men.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 12th, 2016, 8:28 am

trinichubz wrote:All of a sudden a lot of hostility towards van men here boy... Just keep in mind its not affecting pickup drivers only... All products and services in trinidad depend on transport... I personally worked delivery for a bit and sometimes the amount of stops we had to make was ridiculous and that was before this whole speed limit issue... So with the enforcement of these ancient speed limits productivity is going to make a nose dive... Think about it... Ontop of that look at the number of road fatalities in cars vs pickups... I was in an accident that couldve killed me and my wife two years ago but my pickup is what saved us.... Just putting my two cents.

Pick ups tend to be safer for the passengers in the pickups themselves and more dangerous to people involved who are not in the pickup. Also that margin of safety decreases if you involved in an accident with a similarly sized vehicle/vehicles.

src1983

Postby src1983 » May 12th, 2016, 9:05 am

Think for a moment a ford ranger hitting a swift at 120km per hour

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 12th, 2016, 9:29 am

src1983 wrote:Think for a moment a ford ranger hitting a swift at 120km per hour

If both are going in the same direction on the highway and the Swift is only 20kph lower than the Ranger the most damage will come from hitting any stationary objects along the road as they lose control.
If it is in the opposite direction and both are doing 120.... It will have death in both vehicles.

memphis78644

Postby memphis78644 » May 12th, 2016, 9:34 am

(1) the diesel we getting here is not auto diesel it is industrial grade diesel.
(2) I pay taxes.
(3) T vehicles go for inspection every year even brand new ones.
(4) Diesel goes up, everything goes up.
(5) Check all the vehicles in accident approximately 80% is cars involve.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 12th, 2016, 9:44 am

memphis78644 wrote:(1) the diesel we getting here is not auto diesel it is industrial grade diesel. (Really? you have the specs from Petrotrin to substantiate this)
(2) I pay taxes. (so does the majority of P Plate owners however a van owner gets to pay lower MVT and Duties than a P vehicle owner)
(3) T vehicles go for inspection every year even brand new ones.
(4) Diesel goes up, everything goes up. (Maxi fares haven't gone up yet)
(5) Check all the vehicles in accident approximately 80% is cars involve. (If cars are the majority vehicle on the road it stands to reason statistically they would be involved in more accidents)

depravedmonk

Postby depravedmonk » May 12th, 2016, 10:05 am

I'm a trini, I speed sometimes, I drive slow sometimes, I'm human.
that said, I never saw a tractor with a crumple zone or with bumpers, and I would never want to bounce one of them... THEY ARE NOT MADE FOR ROADS. if I remember correctly they are allowed to be on the roads to get from one access trace to another ( dirt )... we need to revise our laws. ALL not just traffic. and abide and enforce them.
in my humble opinion the speed limits should be adjusted to 80 min and 115/120 max. keep left UNLESS overtaking, and give a man a chance.. forget I driving 80 so nothing could pass me bull. let him go he can't go far.

take a read..
https://www.gov.uk/speed-limits
on a side note.. we need to start accounting for ourselves and our actions, be our brothers keeper, and stop being ignorant asses... correct ourselves we are all trinis police, politrickans, judges u n me.

arakaras

Postby arakaras » May 12th, 2016, 10:26 am

depravedmonk wrote:I'm a trini, I speed sometimes, I drive slow sometimes, I'm human.
that said, I never saw a tractor with a crumple zone or with bumpers, and I would never want to bounce one of them... THEY ARE NOT MADE FOR ROADS. if I remember correctly they are allowed to be on the roads to get from one access trace to another ( dirt )... we need to revise our laws. ALL not just traffic. and abide and enforce them.
in my humble opinion the speed limits should be adjusted to 80 min and 115/120 max. keep left UNLESS overtaking, and give a man a chance.. forget I driving 80 so nothing could pass me bull. let him go he can't go far.

take a read..
https://www.gov.uk/speed-limits
on a side note.. we need to start accounting for ourselves and our actions, be our brothers keeper, and stop being ignorant asses... correct ourselves we are all trinis police, politrickans, judges u n me.

Well said.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 12th, 2016, 10:43 am

All I see here, is set ah men beating up cause they eh have Raj-Hilux-Revo... :mrgreen:

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 12th, 2016, 12:09 pm

ADONI wrote:All I see here, is set ah men beating up cause they eh have Raj-Hilux-Revo... :mrgreen:

:| All I see here is a set of people who talking out of their asses with respect to what the maximum speed limit should be without a shred of proper data to substantiate what they are requesting.

However, I agree with those wheel tractors and backhoes not being allowed to travel on the highways.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » May 12th, 2016, 12:24 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
ADONI wrote:All I see here, is set ah men beating up cause they eh have Raj-Hilux-Revo... :mrgreen:

:| All I see here is a set of people who talking out of their asses with respect to what the maximum speed limit should be without a shred of proper data to substantiate what they are requesting.

However, I agree with those wheel tractors and backhoes not being allowed to travel on the highways.

Data is out there - Hinds has said they are doing "Scientific Research" all the time "you know"

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 12th, 2016, 12:32 pm

Funny thing is they will have to HIRE a company to do this scientific study, I'm sure they will revise the speed limit for pickups after the study has been completed, for the next 4 years though have fun at 65kms.

65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby tr1ad » May 12th, 2016, 1:55 pm

Well BRZ yuh hatred for pickups might have to be silent now.... They'll be considering to increase the speed limit

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/gov ... h-highways

Postby Les Bain » May 12th, 2016, 2:11 pm

tr1ad wrote:Well BRZ yuh hatred for pickups might have to be silent now.... They'll be considering to increase the speed limit

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/gov ... h-highways

I'd like to believe that has more to do with the public "outcry" and less with the full page truck sale ads in the papers.
But regardless the vehicle, 100 kph is acceptable.

Postby tr1ad » May 12th, 2016, 2:12 pm

Of course it does...they got what they wanted, to quietly slip the SSA bill through and now deal with public outcry

Postby Les Bain » May 12th, 2016, 2:17 pm

Also, this.

Duncee Sumatee.jpg

Postby tr1ad » May 12th, 2016, 2:19 pm

niu yark is the only place she did go oar

Postby K74T » May 12th, 2016, 3:03 pm

Oh goar suematty

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 12th, 2016, 3:38 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

I agree! All these people from arrive alive and the minister talking out of there a$$e$. Where is the evidence that our roads cannot handle more than 80kmph?
Where is the evidence that speed is the cause of over 50% of all accidents in T&T except for that pie chart with nothing to back it up.

Postby pete » May 12th, 2016, 3:52 pm

I wouldn't generalise that much. Where's the proof that speeds under 100kph on the highway caused them.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 12th, 2016, 4:03 pm

Ay allyuh we reach
SPEED LIMITS.jpg

roadhog

Postby roadhog » May 12th, 2016, 5:31 pm

Postby zoom rader » May 12th, 2016, 6:24 pm

tr1ad wrote:Of course it does...they got what they wanted, to quietly slip the SSA bill through and now deal with public outcry

Yep again dumb trinis, I pointed out the SSA bill but these numbskull turners only seem to care about speed limit and no knowing that we are now in a police state

Postby K74T » May 12th, 2016, 6:27 pm

roadhog wrote:Image

Lol "nestle's"