Increased Taxes coming for Turbocharged Vehicles next Budget!

Re: Increased Taxes coming for Turbocharged Vehicles next Budget!

Postby j.o.e » April 23rd, 2016, 3:52 pm

drchaos wrote:Next Mazda speed 3 will be ridiculously priced here ... They going with a 2.5L skyactiv turbo. So after colm increased taxes on 1999 cc and slap on further taxes for turbo engines won't make sense.

Makes no difference , even at 2.3l and less taxes it only had two in the country

drchaos

Re: RE: Re: Increased Taxes coming for Turbocharged Vehicles next Budget!

Postby drchaos » April 23rd, 2016, 4:09 pm

megadoc1 wrote:
drchaos wrote:Next Mazda speed 3 will be ridiculously priced here ... They going with a 2.5L skyactiv turbo. So after colm increased taxes on 1999 cc and slap on further taxes for turbo engines won't make sense.

what u talking about? the tax is on luxury vehicles over 1999 ,the tax concerning the turbo was being considered for luxury vehicles that have lower displacement but have a turbo that will still make great power. its not a double tax

for example. most 2 liter cars are about 1967cc or so and if you add a turbo to that you can still have a luxury vehicle that u dont pay the tax for but yet it have a turbo that gives it more power than a 2.5 Na

You know that for sure? Cause I going on speculation here probably same as you .... All he said was increased taxes on turbo charged engines of an appropriate HP. Which sounds like the tax could be HP based for turbo engines, So taxed on the fact that you over 1999 cc .... then taxed on the fact that you turbo and over a certain HP. Double tax ....

If you 1.8T and over the HP lets say then you only pay the the HP turbo tax.
If you non turbo and over 1999 cc you say the luxury tax based on CC size

So what happens when you fall under both categories with a 2.5L turbo?
Again nothing is concrete but to me this sounds like how he would do it.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » April 23rd, 2016, 4:15 pm

the only reason that turbo became a conversation was due to the tax on luxury vehichles over 1999 ,with a small engine and a turbo one would have avoided this tax. its just a loop hole they are attempting to plug

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 23rd, 2016, 4:35 pm

So you think they will put the tax on Turbo engines lets say 1599cc to 1999cc?

Postby Gladiator » April 23rd, 2016, 8:06 pm

megadoc1 wrote:the only reason that turbo became a conversation was due to the tax on luxury vehichles over 1999 ,with a small engine and a turbo one would have avoided this tax. its just a loop hole they are attempting to plug

There was never a loop hole to begin with... what is there to plug? What really is the objective of the tax, to have less cars on the road or to tax the $hit out of consumers in an attempt to raise revenue?

What is termed a "luxury" vehicle, a nissan patrol with a 3L diesel? These politicians are intellectually bankrupt...

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » April 23rd, 2016, 8:18 pm

Gladiator wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:the only reason that turbo became a conversation was due to the tax on luxury vehichles over 1999 ,with a small engine and a turbo one would have avoided this tax. its just a loop hole they are attempting to plug

There was never a loop hole to begin with... what is there to plug? What really is the objective of the tax, to have less cars on the road or to tax the $hit out of consumers in an attempt to raise revenue?

What is termed a "luxury" vehicle, a nissan patrol with a 3L diesel? These politicians are intellectually bankrupt...
sorry let me rephrase, because of this new tax on vehicles with engines over 1999cc the government is anticipating the rise in vehicles with smaller engines but with turbochargers so as to circumvent the paying of taxes. we all know that with the employment of turbo chargers a 1967cc engine can easily obtain or surpass the power output of lets say a 2.3 or a 2.5 engine

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 23rd, 2016, 9:02 pm

Ey megadoc1 you should check out that new sckyactiv 2.5L turbo.

They using exhaust gas re-circulation to get around having to use a richer mix at higher boost pressure when the turbo is at higher rpms.

The exhaust gas is cooled recirculated and mixed with intake gases, because the gases are inert you can maintain higher boost pressure, have a really high compression in the cylinder, have lower temperatures and no need to dump fuel to run a a richer mix at high load to prevent knocking. Leaner mixes now can be used throughout the range now!

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 23rd, 2016, 9:30 pm

Trinidad is facing a situation where there are too many vehicles on the road. That's why this Tax as well as increase in gas prices are upon us. Really and truly it's unsustainable at the rate we are going. I think in the next couple years we can expect to see cost of cars double due to tax

Postby De Dragon » April 23rd, 2016, 9:35 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Trinidad is facing a situation where there are too many vehicles on the road. That's why this Tax as well as increase in gas prices are upon us. Really and truly it's unsustainable at the rate we are going. I think in the next couple years we can expect to see cost of cars double due to tax

Yes, but putting a vehicle out of the reach of the average citizen while having a horrible public transport system, is inane. These two initiatives should go hand in hand

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 23rd, 2016, 10:53 pm

Yes they were supposed to be building a rapid rail and making cars less attractive ... Now they just being retarded and doing the latter alone. Stress on the word retarded.

Postby Gladiator » April 23rd, 2016, 11:14 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Trinidad is facing a situation where there are too many vehicles on the road. That's why this Tax as well as increase in gas prices are upon us. Really and truly it's unsustainable at the rate we are going. I think in the next couple years we can expect to see cost of cars double due to tax

If this is the objective, shouldn't the tax be on the tidas, corollas, wingroads, elantras, diesel vans etc.... the ratio of these cars on the road compared to the "luxury" vehicles is extreme. How exactly is putting a tax on turbo and 2L + engines going to reduce the amount of cars on the road, those cars are already in the minority compared to the masses of NA budget cars.

Added to that the cost of one luxury car may be equivalent to 4 budget cars, compare fuel consumption of one 3L turbo luxury car to the equivalent 4 tidas.... where is the savings. Would pulling 3 or 4 turbo cars off the road reduce fuel consumption and save forex?

I fail to see the PNM/Imbert logic with this!!!

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 23rd, 2016, 11:20 pm

My guess is they trying not to pass off the population in one sweep. Raise gas affects the middle class. But tax the rich to give image of burden all around...next budget who knows..increased tax on regular cars may follow

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 24th, 2016, 3:49 pm

Why not raise the mvt and duty on tiida's! I could get behind colm on that! For too long tiida's have been too cheap and clogging up the nation's roads! Plus the amount of tiida's out there burning way more fuel than the amount of turbo charged vehicles in Trinidad. Tiidas are probably singly one of the largest losses of foreign exchange to the country. Also you can't forget the criminal elements love affair with tiida's.
Tiida Tax Now!

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » April 24th, 2016, 4:16 pm

nah

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » April 24th, 2016, 4:35 pm

Postby shogun » April 24th, 2016, 4:52 pm

drchaos wrote:Why not raise the mvt and duty on tiida's! I could get behind colm on that! For too long tiida's have been too cheap and clogging up the nation's roads! Plus the amount of tiida's out there burning way more fuel than the amount of turbo charged vehicles in Trinidad. Tiidas are probably singly one of the largest losses of foreign exchange to the country. Also you can't forget the criminal elements love affair with tiida's.
Tiida Tax Now!

Just picturing Desha reporting the "wetman march" in front of parliament orn the news

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » April 25th, 2016, 9:48 pm

Buy smaller engined vehicles (once it doh ha tobo)

cnc3.co.tt/news/finance-minister-says-buy-smaller-cars

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 25th, 2016, 10:49 pm

If fuel is set to the market price it would push people to conserve fuel, taxing the crap out of higher end vehicles and forcing people to buy smaller engine cars wont do much for fuel consumption.
They are pushing these higher end vehicles out of the range of the middle class. Too many luxury cars on the road, the rich are losing their exclusivity in this society. So action must be taken.

If you want to conserve fuel, tax cars with lower mpg or higher CO2 emissions. Engine size does not equate to fuel economy or efficiency.

BMW more common than B13's now.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 26th, 2016, 1:04 am

Super is already at market value.... Premium is way above it... Diesel is supposed to be on par with super and is really the only fuel being subsidised

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 26th, 2016, 1:33 am

Still a fixed pricing regime ... Market price that swings with the price of oil is where we need to be.

Postby Spitfir3 » April 26th, 2016, 5:31 pm

Colms being a man of the people like usual

Postby Gladiator » April 26th, 2016, 7:10 pm

drchaos wrote:If fuel is set to the market price it would push people to conserve fuel, taxing the crap out of higher end vehicles and forcing people to buy smaller engine cars wont do much for fuel consumption.
They are pushing these higher end vehicles out of the range of the middle class. Too many luxury cars on the road, the rich are losing their exclusivity in this society. So action must be taken.

If you want to conserve fuel, tax cars with lower mpg or higher CO2 emissions. Engine size does not equate to fuel economy or efficiency.

BMW more common than B13's now.

Hush nah boy... nobody want to hear the sense you talkin!!!
They Recreating the social divide..... PNM Style

Postby De Dragon » April 27th, 2016, 6:39 am

Spitfir3 wrote:Colms being a man of the people like usual

Easy to lecture and exhort people to eat this, drive that, when you yourself are not adversely affected in any way.

Postby Gem_in_i » April 27th, 2016, 6:53 am

What do the Ministers drive?

Re: RE: Re: Increased Taxes coming for Turbocharged Vehicles next Budget!

Postby K74T » April 27th, 2016, 10:55 am

Gem_in_i wrote:What do the Ministers drive?

They drive the people crazy, especially the current opposition.

Advent

Postby Advent » April 27th, 2016, 1:32 pm

novastar1 wrote:
Advent wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:My experience with turbos has Been positive. With the passat I could get 700-900 off a tank of gas if I drive conservative.
Open up the throttle and would easily sink to 400km or less.

Compared to the n/a vehicle I have now which can't get below 10L/100km combined no matter how conservative I drive.

Most manufacturers are moving to turbo charged engines now. Check car advice and their favored vehicles are that are turbo charged for overall efficiency and power balance

wow i avg 240-250 mix driving or 300 straight highway kms. i have a 2ltr NA , that with 100tt a full tank, how much allyuh paying to full allyuh tank?

What is that you're driving with a 30L tank?

think is about 50ltr the tank is, need to get the car tuned

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 27th, 2016, 1:39 pm

Advent wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
Advent wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:My experience with turbos has Been positive. With the passat I could get 700-900 off a tank of gas if I drive conservative.

Compared to the n/a vehicle I have now which can't get below 10L/100km combined no matter how conservative I drive.

Most manufacturers are moving to turbo charged engines now. Check car advice and their favored vehicles are that are turbo charged for overall efficiency and power balance

wow i avg 240-250 mix driving or 300 straight highway kms. i have a 2ltr NA , that with 100tt a full tank, how much allyuh paying to full allyuh tank?

Where are you filling up... That you can get 50L for $100tt
That a diesel?

Advent

Postby Advent » April 27th, 2016, 2:26 pm

novastar1 wrote:
Advent wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
Advent wrote:

Where are you filling up... That you can get 50L for $100tt
That a diesel?

boi that was before the riase, 100 use to full me ip, till needle on full, maybe it coulda take more

Re: Increased Taxes coming for Turbocharged Vehbeicles next Budget!

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2016, 4:09 pm

if these taxes and fuel prices don't have a dent on increasing number of cars then
The next step will be Singapore model of fixed number of cars on road, real bobol
If they start that

novastar1

Re: Increased Taxes coming for Turbocharged Vehbeicles next Budget!

Postby novastar1 » April 27th, 2016, 8:09 pm

pugboy wrote:if these taxes and fuel prices don't have a dent on increasing number of cars then
The next step will be Singapore model of fixed number of cars on road, real bobol
If they start that

Or there can just start decentralising current infrastructure