What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

sinnaz25

Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby sinnaz25 » January 11th, 2016, 7:04 pm

All yuh Wa PNM take that

Postby 1UZFE » January 11th, 2016, 7:07 pm

bluesclues wrote:

chick peas and flour aint raise. price of doubles unaffected.

It will. D doubles men have to eat things on dat list to. He will hav to get more income.
#welikeitso

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » January 11th, 2016, 7:29 pm

Could be wrong..cooking oil may increase which may result in increase in doubles price.

Postby redmanjp » January 11th, 2016, 7:38 pm

basic food items like rice going up - dark recession clouds ahead - but ppl paying $700-$900 per fete

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 11th, 2016, 7:44 pm

I read an article on today's guardian which explained the property tax...3% of the capital value is bs....people go dead

I may be late on this...but still

Postby maj. tom » January 11th, 2016, 7:49 pm

so let me get this...

once again ZR was right all along?

hmm

WM_Tuner

Postby WM_Tuner » January 11th, 2016, 7:57 pm

so computers going to be vatable now?>

Postby rspann » January 11th, 2016, 7:59 pm

That 3% on the papers could never be right. It was 3% of the annual rentable value that was proposed.Before it was on the annual rateable value. (Feb. 17, 2010) The Parliament of Trinidad and Tobago has created a new property tax to replace what were commonly referred to as the “house rates” that had been collected under the authority of the Municipal Corporations Act (Trin. and Tob. Rev. Laws, Ch. 25:04 (2006), as amended). The new tax went into effect at the beginning of 2010 and is assessed on 90% of the annual rental value of the land. The tax rates are three percent for residential property, five percent for commercial property, six percent for plants and machinery, and one percent for agricultural property. There are a number of exclusions to the new tax, including ones for churches, schools, charities, foreign governments, and other properties exempted by declarations issued by the Minister of Finance. (Property Tax, 2009 Trin. and Tob. LAWS, No. 18; for an online version of the law, see Government of Trinidad and Tobago, Ministry of Finance website, Jan. 7, 2010, available at http://www.finance.gov.tt/documents/news/mr1DD567.pdf.)

The Government of Trinidad and Tobago has indicated that the new tax was implemented to streamline the collection of property taxes by having it collected by the Inland Revenue Agency instead of by municipal authorities. The Government contends that the tax is in keeping with “international best practice and was arrived at after consultations with several professionals in the field.” (Services, Government of Trinidad and Tobago, Ministry of Finance website, http://
www.finance.gov.tt/services.php?mid=2 (last visited Feb. 16, 2010).) However, the new law was opposed by a group that mounted a petition campaign against it on the grounds that it would punish property owners for realizing their dream. (Sherwyn K, No Property Tax Increase in Trinidad and Tobago, GoPetition website, Sept. 22, 2009, available at http://
gopetition.com/petitions/no-property-tax-increase.html.)

Author: Stephen Clarke

Topic: Taxation

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » January 11th, 2016, 8:06 pm

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1452557201.918236.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Postby redmanjp » January 11th, 2016, 8:17 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:

i cyah make dat out dan

Postby rspann » January 11th, 2016, 8:17 pm

Johnnie blue ,you could do it a little smaller? It too big for me to read.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 11th, 2016, 8:19 pm

Postby redmanjp » January 11th, 2016, 8:20 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:

i cyah make dat out dan

Postby 1UZFE » January 11th, 2016, 8:28 pm

Jonnieblue. Like dat pic supposed to be in d "govt achievement ched"?

Postby shogun » January 11th, 2016, 8:37 pm

redmanjp wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:

i cyah make dat out dan

ingalook

Postby ingalook » January 12th, 2016, 12:12 am

WM_Tuner wrote:so computers going to be vatable now?>

I expected as much... government watching all these laptops and tablets coming in VAT free and cussing

This was the master plan all along... VAT on computers, they couldn't just come out and say that though

ingalook

Postby ingalook » January 12th, 2016, 12:19 am

Redman wrote:so what you saying is you prefer to continue paying the higher taxes until govt gets its sheit together?
yes/no answer please.

I have no issue really with paying less NOW and the onus being on govt to improve its internal inefficiencies.

You are thinking about VAT like its a sales tax, in Trinidad - since it is included in the price it is a production cost

Any reduction in VAT benefits the retailer - NOT the consumer

The retailer charges the price the consumer is willing to pay, why would they cut their prices when VAT is reduced?

Meanwhile this reduction in VAT will cost the country 7.5 Billion over the next 5 years

You still have not given an upside to all of this Redman

Postby teems1 » January 12th, 2016, 12:32 am

Habit7 wrote:
The only difference is we have a refinery and petrochemical industries. But our diversification into aluminium and aluminium products was shafted. Now we just had 4 years of some of the highest oil prices ever and now 2 years of growing debt.

Was it a blessing in disguise?

Aluminum plants are also closing due to the demand from China dropping. There was an 18.6% drop in the price of aluminum last year, with the price dropping to a 6.5 year low.

http://www.businessinsider.com/r-alcoa-plans-to-close-largest-us-aluminum-smelter-amid-tumbling-prices-2016-1

Postby zoom rader » January 12th, 2016, 4:21 am

Cant believe men vote for dat pack of chit

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 12th, 2016, 6:52 am

is every ched you go type it^ and it won't make a change for the country

you do know that right

Postby Redman » January 12th, 2016, 7:01 am

Shakes,
We all.contribute what we can...ZR does his best.

Postby zoom rader » January 12th, 2016, 9:45 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:is every ched you go type it^ and it won't make a change for the country

you do know that right

Best save yuh money to buy food bro

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » January 12th, 2016, 9:49 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I read an article on today's guardian which explained the property tax...3% of the capital value is bs....people go dead

For residential is 3% of the rental value....at least that was Manning plan.

3% of the capital value is BS , you will end up spending more on taxes than the cost of the land.

Postby zoom rader » January 12th, 2016, 9:50 am

^^^ Another PNM con job, time for riots this chit have to stop

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » January 12th, 2016, 9:56 am

zoom rader wrote:^^^ Another PNM con job, time for riots this chit have to stop

Eh ? We saying the guardian article inaccurate. You calling for riot.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 12th, 2016, 10:20 am

not sure if con. it may be that they actually dont know and cant do any better.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 12th, 2016, 10:41 am

EmilioA wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I read an article on today's guardian which explained the property tax...3% of the capital value is bs....people go dead

3% of the capital value is BS , you will end up spending more on taxes than the cost of the land.

I could live with the rental value figure...

@ ZR...you do know people in the great USA(or so you claim it to be) pay ridiculous property taxes right

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 12th, 2016, 11:50 am

EmilioA wrote:

it is the rental value as far as I know - they would have to be insane to tax 3% of the capital value annually

I think this is the article you are talking about but I think the article is incorrect - there is no way they can tax 3% of the capital value annually

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-01- ... operty-tax

Rapheal John-Lall
Published:
Monday, January 11, 2016

Prakash Ramadhar, political leader for the Congress of the People (COP) said 2016 will be difficult on all fronts and the return of the controversial Property Tax will only make the country’s situation worse.

He said the COP does not believe in redistributive policies but in wealth creation.

“This year ahead of us from all indications will be a challenging one. Not just in relations to the upsurge in crime we have seen recently but the uncertainty of our economic future and the measures that have been indicated by our Government to deal with the financial and economic shortfalls. We have seen now that the tax whatever form of valuations they use, will go to the national consolidated fund, and not to the regional corporations that the tax should go to,” he said.

Ramadhar spoke to the media yesterday at a media conference at COP’s Operations Centre, Charlieville.

In 2009 the Property Tax Act was passed by the Patrick Manning Government but was never implemented and in 2011 it was suspended by the People’s Partnership Government. That tax had replaced the Land and Buildings Tax.

The Keith Rowley Government is to return to the tax, to offset the revenue shortfall from low oil prices.

Ramadhar said in 2009 the COP led a charge against the then Government against the implementation of the Property Tax and now it appears to have returned.

He spoke about “uncertainties” on what the Government meant by the return of this tax.

Clyde Weatherhead, COP’s General Secretary who also spoke at the media briefing, said the Government is not clear about what type of tax will return as in the October budget the Finance Minister indicated that the Property Tax is to be “phased back in” in 2016 at the “old rate and value.”

He also referred to the Prime Minister’s speech at the end of December when Rowley spoke about a Land and Buildings Tax which would be introduced in January 2016.

“Land and Buildings Taxes no longer exist, and the basis on which they were calculated is completely different from that of the Property Tax. So you cannot amend the Property Tax Act to recreate the Land and Building Tax. So it is unclear what the Government is saying. There needs to be clarity on what is the basis for valuation,” Weatherhead said.

He said the Land and Buildings Taxes represented two different taxes, one on land and the other part on buildings.

He added that if in 2009 a person with two acres of land paid $20 on land taxes, in 2016, based on the Property Tax Act of 2009, the owner would pay over $1,000.

“So for a three bedroom house if you use capital value which will be about a million dollars, the Property Tax in 2016 which would be three per cent of that will be $30,000. The rate is three per cent on residential properties, five per cent on commercial property, six per cent on industrial property and one per cent on agricultural land,” he said.

He said the COP will be going to different communities in the country to explain the ramifications of the Property Tax especially in light of the possible rise in prices in gas, water, electricity and food in 2016.

“With all of this, can we deal with a Property Tax that be based on capital value and increase our taxes tremendously? We need to educate the population.”

Explaining property tax

The Property Tax Act of 2009, introduced by the then PNM Government was an act designed to make provision for the assessment, rating and taxation of land and property.

The Act was supposed to have been the basis of a complete revision of the country’s property tax system, insofar as the old Land and Building Taxes and House Rates were concerned.

The new Government has not yet provided any details on how a revised Property Tax will work.

However, using the capital value, if an owner has a three bedroom house worth one million dollars, based on the three per cent rate, the tax the owner would pay would work out to be $30,000 in 2016.

At a rate of one per cent, if someone owns agricultural land worth $750,000, the owner would pay taxes of $7,500.

At a rate of five per cent, if someone owns commercial property of $1,000,000, the owner would pay taxes of $50,000.

The taxes that property owners would pay, would work out to be much higher than the old Land and Building Taxes Act.

Postby Redman » January 12th, 2016, 12:34 pm

You are thinking about VAT like its a sales tax, in Trinidad - since it is included in the price it is a production cost

Any reduction in VAT benefits the retailer - NOT the consumer

The retailer charges the price the consumer is willing to pay, why would they cut their prices when VAT is reduced?

Meanwhile this reduction in VAT will cost the country 7.5 Billion over the next 5 years

You still have not given an upside to all of this Redman

Well from what you have said the consumer is willing to pay.

If the regulation indicate that Vat ex prices be identified on the receipts...and customers are willing to pay then what is the problem???
The consumer has the freedom not to pay the additional 2.5%.

If the consumer does not want to worry then that is their loss.
If they want to give the merchant the money without comparing prices then its their choice.

Caveat Emptor

Over all the consumer-individuals are not able to claim back VAT so therefore the lower the rate...the less VAT we pay.

The GORTT has to enforce compliance....and based on has been said thats what they intend to do.

As to upside....if the Govt does what they say they will do they will collect more.
So the consumer still pays less and the Gortt thinks they will collect more money..

If you have evidence beyond what you feel bring it.

Postby zoom rader » January 12th, 2016, 2:22 pm

EmilioA wrote:

Eh ? We saying the guardian article inaccurate. You calling for riot.

I said a PNM con job. Mis-guided ppl vote for dem and now this chit