Price of Doubles Increased

Daran

Re: Price of Doubles Increased

Postby Daran » October 11th, 2015, 4:27 pm

Casper23 wrote:
konartis wrote:My parents sells aloe pies, doubles, saheenas etc, its a lot of hard work and very time consuming....granted they made a lot of mo ey doing it....5$ can't start to pay them for all the work they put out.....they up 3am every day...

At the end of the day that is there choice to sell for a living, look at it from the consumer side, how much do you really want to sell two Barra and channa for , no honestly?

uh however much people are willing to pay for it. Remember, it's not the ingredients that you're paying for, it's the service to make it into a tasty doubles, which is why everyone has their preferred doubles man.

The other issue comes in regards to taxes, however, starting with doubles men and small food vendors will:
1) Ensure they raise prices, increasing inflation
2) Be impossible to enforce as who's doing the record keeping, invoices, inventory receipt checking? Too easy to evade
3) If strictly enforced, it will discourage small enterprises like these which contribute a lot to economic stimulation. Yes, they don't pay income tax, but they pay VAT whenever they shop like you and me, government still scraps off their earnings. By having people like them contribute to the economy is for the overall good, it keeps our economy stimulated.

But go a head and complain about $5 doubles, but be fine and accept 20% increases in fete ticket prices yearly.......isn't everything involved in hosting a fete remaining the same?

Postby 1UZFE » October 11th, 2015, 4:46 pm

Casper23 wrote:
konartis wrote:My parents sells aloe pies, doubles, saheenas etc, its a lot of hard work and very time consuming....granted they made a lot of mo ey doing it....5$ can't start to pay them for all the work they put out.....they up 3am every day...

At the end of the day that is there choice to sell for a living, look at it from the consumer side, how much do you really want to sell two Barra and channa for , no honestly?

Look at this from d consumer side. A bag ah raw fries $27 but a small portion in a fast food outlet is $12.
Its all up to d consumer. I aint hear ppl complainin bout Abrahams price of food den Alis sellin d same ting cheaper.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 11th, 2015, 4:54 pm

1UZFE wrote:
Casper23 wrote:

Look at this from d consumer side. A bag ah raw fries $27 but a small portion in a fast food outlet is $12.
Its all up to d consumer. I aint hear ppl complainin bout Abrahams price of food den Alis sellin d same ting cheaper.

wah bag ah fries? home made wedges from a $10 bag ah potato boi. doh talk for with batter, and onion rings, and cheese... hahaha i wonder how much i could sell my egg mc muffin burger to allyuh for. one of these days i will post pics lol. make my own patties and meatballs too.

Postby 1UZFE » October 11th, 2015, 4:58 pm

^ somehow i had d wrong idea what your egg mc muffin will look like. :-D

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 11th, 2015, 5:07 pm

1UZFE wrote:^ somehow i had d wrong idea what your egg mc muffin will look like. :-D

when you eat my burger you will realise what has been missing in your life.

no homo

lel

im talkin double grilled cheese top and bottom, crispy bacon and onion IN the beef patty and egg patty/muffin. done in a nice large coconut bread with meh secret italian sauce.

i thinkin $80 is a fair price for a little taste of heaven lol

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 11th, 2015, 5:08 pm

EmilioA wrote:
Well continue buying KFC on your way to work at 6am in the morning bro

Dat's de Free market in action boy.

It's not going to be free much longer. PNM will tax it

I think they should, these doubles people making money like Engineers and not paying a cent in tax, why everybody else has to pay tax except them? what make them so special? It eh no small money these people making, and they keep raising the price and not lowering it when the price of things like flour goes back down. Quite dishonest of them and to top it off they using super cheap oil made from human sh!t aswell.

Kalisnakov

Postby Kalisnakov » October 11th, 2015, 5:29 pm

Wat time d burger/hotdog man on d van by valpark does com out? On ah Sunday?

Postby zoom rader » October 11th, 2015, 5:39 pm

bluesclues wrote:
heads wrote:chicken n chips gone up no problem bread gone up no problem doubles gone up BIG problem we talking about not buying doubles but we buying d other 2 without talk only d rich will get richer no problem

As I said it's a beat up cause a lil injun raise prices.
Syrian selling their increased priced gyros and no beat up.

to be fair. syrian gyros didnt invent here and sell for as low as 50 cents. doubles we ting. we know what it is. poor man food. two barra slap together with chana.. the indian poor man sandwhich.

if them want to come with gourmet doubles they have to come good. all condiments, thicker barra.. d works. no support for $5 doubles here.

idoes fry my own chicken. wah kfc. bussin a fry up tommorow too. fry bake, alloo pie, chicken wantons. d works. lol

Nice but not all PNM ppl can do the same

Postby zoom rader » October 11th, 2015, 5:41 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

I think they should, these doubles people making money like Engineers and not paying a cent in tax, why everybody else has to pay tax except them? what make them so special? It eh no small money these people making, and they keep raising the price and not lowering it when the price of things like flour goes back down. Quite dishonest of them and to top it off they using super cheap oil made from human sh!t aswell.

Those double vendors are less likely to get a job by PNM. Once you don't look like Morgan Job then you placed in back burner.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 11th, 2015, 5:47 pm

bluesclues wrote:
heads wrote:chicken n chips gone up no problem bread gone up no problem doubles gone up BIG problem we talking about not buying doubles but we buying d other 2 without talk only d rich will get richer no problem

to be fair. syrian gyros didnt invent here and sell for as low as 50 cents. doubles we ting. we know what it is. poor man food. two barra slap together with chana.. the indian poor man sandwhich.

if them want to come with gourmet doubles they have to come good. all condiments, thicker barra.. d works. no support for $5 doubles here.

idoes fry my own chicken. wah kfc. bussin a fry up tommorow too. fry bake, alloo pie, chicken wantons. d works. lol

buh wah d hell. how i become a pnm now? i never even self vote in meh life yet lol

Daran

Postby Daran » October 11th, 2015, 5:49 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

Effectic, are autistic or something? Anyway, stop making ridiculous allegations of gutter oil, unless you have proof.

Secondly, doubles people and other small vendors pay tax in the form of VAT when they patronize other businesses. That is good for the economy. It's incredibly difficult to enforce taxes on them and it acts a deterrent to self employed activity. Not to mention, it will result in even higher food prices.

If you want to tackle tax evaders look at landlords, lessons teachers/doctors/lawyers (who accept cash), casinos....pretty much any business that accepts cash. You ever get a 5% or 10% if you paid in cash? It wasn't the linx machine chargers they were trying to avoid.

Governments typically use VAT to recuperate these loss in business/income taxes. Which is why lowering VAT blanketly like what PNM did was quite brainless. The PP strategy of zero rated on specific items was far more effective in managing food prices. People were used to a 15% VAT, a 12.5% doesn't affect my pocket noticeably, but does affect the government revenue.

Also, you may say the average salaried person pays income tax, but their salaries are inflated to account for this. Technically, it can be considered the employer being taxed (not the employee), because that employer now has to shell out more to pay an employee due to income tax.
Last edited by Daran on October 11th, 2015, 5:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 11th, 2015, 5:50 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

Doubles men supposed to be paying income tax. if they not , then they are criminal tax evaders.

Postby zoom rader » October 11th, 2015, 5:50 pm

bluesclues wrote:

buh wah d hell. how i become a pnm now? i never even self vote in meh life yet lol

No no, you made your own breakfast which is good and healthy for you pocket.
But for PNM ppl it's their staple diet.

York

Postby York » October 11th, 2015, 6:38 pm

Man say Engineers making real money like doubles men yes! They studied and are being paid for technical skills and knowledge to the benefit and safety of humanity and industry and production.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 11th, 2015, 9:10 pm

ohho.. word. lol

but yeah i cooking home years now. hops now done here. breakfast and dinner for the next few days.

man cant survive on chicken and potato alone lol

bluesclues wrote:

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk

York

Postby York » October 11th, 2015, 10:59 pm

Doubles men are not criminal neither tax evaders. It's not against the law what they do. Or is it? Their business is not registers or regulated so they are working within the system. If JW cud tief millions who is them!! If Panday cud get out of jail cause he sick, who is them!! If Abu Bakr cud stage ah coup and be walking free, who is them!! If Manning and Calder Hart cud ef up this country, who is them!! If Anil Roberts cud walk free, who is Dem!!

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » October 12th, 2015, 6:24 am

York wrote:Doubles men are not criminal neither tax evaders. It's not against the law what they do. Or is it? Their business is not registers or regulated so they are working within the system. If JW cud tief millions who is them!! If Panday cud get out of jail cause he sick, who is them!! If Abu Bakr cud stage ah coup and be walking free, who is them!! If Manning and Calder Hart cud ef up this country, who is them!! If Anil Roberts cud walk free, who is Dem!!

Very good points...
Also, upon purchase of the raw materials utilized for a doubles biz to operate, food & utensils etc, aren't taxes paid at that instance?

Postby pugboy » October 12th, 2015, 6:41 am

I think tax as in income tax was what was meant

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 12th, 2015, 7:38 am

EmilioA wrote:Doubles men supposed to be paying income tax. if they not , then they are criminal tax evaders.

York wrote:Doubles men are not criminal neither tax evaders. It's not against the law what they do. Or is it? Their business is not registers or regulated so they are working within the system. !

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:Very good points...
Also, upon purchase of the raw materials utilized for a doubles biz to operate, food & utensils etc, aren't taxes paid at that instance?

pugboy wrote:I think tax as in income tax was what was meant

Correct.

At this point I wondering is half the posters on this thread evading paying income tax themselves. They seem not to realize that if you dont have an incorporated company then the profits from your business still get taxed under personal income tax .

Postby Slartibartfast » October 12th, 2015, 9:18 am

I think that is really the case there. Many posters here believe that once your business not registered there are no laws that apply to you that you can break.

BTW Bluesclues, dem hops lookin bess... but I didn't know you was PNM. When that happen?

make meh care

Postby make meh care » October 12th, 2015, 10:08 am

Slartibartfast wrote:I think that is really the case there. Many posters here believe that once your business not registered there are no laws that apply to you that you can break.

BTW Bluesclues, dem hops lookin bess... but I didn't know you was PNM. When that happen?

Only since they came in powah

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 12th, 2015, 12:44 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:I think that is really the case there. Many posters here believe that once your business not registered there are no laws that apply to you that you can break.

thanks man, is a work in progress. improve a little with each batch. boy i still dont know how i reach pnm yet lol

i suppose since some have witnessed my anti-unc rhetoric when they was in power they think im pro-pnm.

let me make it clear to them tho. i am pro-patriot. political parties do not have my undying loyalty. they have it until they start doin tootoo and i have to support someone else to get the job done properly.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 12th, 2015, 1:00 pm

If you ever feeling up for a culinary adventure try making olive ciabatta bread. So hard to get right but once you do... amazing. So good you don't need to eat it with anything. Maybe throw a little olive oil on it.

I'm a pro patriot as well. I support ideas not parties or politicians, but, apparently ideas are a PNM creation now so I also got labelled as a die hard PNM by ZR as well.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » October 12th, 2015, 3:04 pm

EmilioA wrote:
EmilioA wrote:Doubles men supposed to be paying income tax. if they not , then they are criminal tax evaders.

York wrote:Doubles men are not criminal neither tax evaders. It's not against the law what they do. Or is it? Their business is not registers or regulated so they are working within the system. !

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:Very good points...

pugboy wrote:I think tax as in income tax was what was meant

Correct.

At this point I wondering is half the posters on this thread evading paying income tax themselves. They seem not to realize that if you dont have an incorporated company then the profits from your business still get taxed under personal income tax .

Bla, bla, bla...!!!
What about apartment COMPLEXES?

vapourone

Postby vapourone » October 12th, 2015, 3:09 pm

Not paying that $5 sorry

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 12th, 2015, 3:10 pm

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:Bla, bla, bla...!!!
What about apartment COMPLEXES?

What about them ? If the landlords hiding income I say jail them too. What do you say ?

zulu atomic

Postby zulu atomic » October 12th, 2015, 3:15 pm

am sure most of you all have back pay too collect,benefits after retirement and vacation leave but these people on the streets have nothing to get not even sick leave.am glad they don't have to pay other taxes

Postby eliteauto » October 12th, 2015, 3:21 pm

"I'm"

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 12th, 2015, 3:25 pm

zulu atomic wrote:am sure most of you all have back pay too collect,benefits after retirement and vacation leave but these people on the streets have nothing to get not even sick leave.am glad they don't have to pay other taxes

1. Backpay does get tax too.

2.What other taxes you referring to ? Right now all we discussing is Income Tax which everyone earning more that 60000 (soon to be 72,000) supposed to pay. Its as simple as that.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » October 12th, 2015, 4:28 pm

vapourone wrote:Not paying that $5 sorry

So I have a habit of comparing and converting $5TT to UK pounds or USD. To me, doubles price can go up to $24 or $30TT and I won't mind paying the price tag. I'm sitting here like "why are they complaining about paying .84 US cents for some scrumptiously loaded doubles? :lol: ." I would gladly take six of those with slight pepper AND tip the vendors for their efforts.

I really think TT citizens don't know how good they have it.