FIFA Officials Arrested on Corruption Charges

Re: FIFA Officials Arrested on Corruption Charges

Postby RASC » May 29th, 2015, 6:02 am

10:1 odds Kamala will be too sick to attend Parliament...

Postby RASC » May 29th, 2015, 6:04 am

Who was that idiot on 93.5FM who, yesterday morning said "I did not know Jack Warner was so big"

With his big fake accent!

Postby bluefete » May 29th, 2015, 6:06 am

RASC wrote:10:1 odds Kamala will be too sick to attend Parliament...

2 puncheon and she good to go.

I remember back in the day that dey used to sap Ellis Clarke head with citrologne / limacol when he drank too much.

Postby RASC » May 29th, 2015, 6:09 am

Right now she under so much pressure. Jack gonna buss the PP wide open.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 29th, 2015, 6:33 am

I starting the campaign, No Calder heart,No Jack Warner

Postby j.o.e » May 29th, 2015, 6:39 am

Say what you want about Jack Warner he is a tactical genius.... who can turn the worse situations to his benefit. Not many ppl can shake up the political scene while the FBI is pointing out that he is a crook to the entire world. Election season will be the most interesting ever.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » May 29th, 2015, 6:40 am

i think jack gonna die in jail jus like jim brown

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » May 29th, 2015, 6:41 am

be murdered*

Postby j.o.e » May 29th, 2015, 6:54 am

We need a Jack Warner movie

Postby pugboy » May 29th, 2015, 6:57 am

it will be interesting to see how the JTA buying US$ part plays out

there are few if any businesses who have not bought US$ on the open market

Postby bluefete » May 29th, 2015, 7:14 am

And STILL FIFA's shameless behaviour continues: Hours after being freed from prison for 'exhaustion', corruption suspect Warner parties hard... then Blatter hints scandal only erupted because US and Britain were not awarded World Cups

Former FIFA vice president danced and wore a garland of flowers at party
Offered bizarre defence against allegations in speech to whooping crowd
He said: 'Why only people from Third World countries have been charged?'
Hours earlier, he left jail in an ambulance after 'complaining of exhaustion'

By Simon Tomlinson for MailOnline

Published: 09:16 GMT, 29 May 2015 | Updated: 10:54 GMT, 29 May 2015

Dancing without a care in the world, shameless Jack Warner parties the night away – hours after being freed from prison in an ambulance suffering from apparent exhaustion.

The disgraced former FIFA vice president claimed he was too ill to face reporters outside the jail in Trinidad where he was being held over eight charges in the FBI corruption case.

But just hours later, he donned a celebratory garland of flowers and whipped a crowd of political allies into a frenzy with an energetic and defiant speech professing his innocence.

'If I have been thiefing FIFA money for 30 years, who give me the money? How come he is not charged?' he declared.

'Why only persons from Third World countries have been charged?,' he added, drawing hoots and applause from supporters in the district he represents as an opposition member of Parliament.

He later insisted that if he has been accused by U.S. prosecutors, then FIFA President Sepp Blatter must also face charges.

Shameless: Former FIFA Vice President Jack Warner (second right) dances with supporters at a political rally organised by his Independent Liberal Party in Chaguanas, in Trinidad and Tobago, hours after leaving prison in an ambulance complaining of exhaustion while facing eight charges in the U.S. corruption case

Energised: Warner gestures while surrounded by supporters during the political rally organised by his Independent Liberal Party. He donned a cap and a garland of flowers during the festivities

Upbeat: Warner gestures next to Rekha Ramjit, chairwoman of his Independent Liberal Party during the rally

An ambulance carrying Jack Warner leaves the state prison in Port-of-Spain on Thursday after he complained of exhaustion. He faces eight counts in the U.S., including conspiracy to defraud and engaging in racketeering

He told the BBC World Service: 'Sure, if am supposed to be this corrupt person... he was my president for 24 years.

'I didn't push my hand in the till of FIFA. I'm not a FIFA treasurer. I didn't write cheques for FIFA. If I am corrupt, it must be someone else who had given me the money.

'If I am this corrupt person, he (Blatter) shouldn't be allowed to go free.'

Judicial officer Ibrahim Ali said the 72-year-old had earlier complained of exhaustion and was taken in an ambulance from prison in the twin-island Caribbean nation off the coast of Venezuela.

Warner had surrendered to authorities Wednesday and was granted a $395,000 (£257,000) bond but spent the night in jail.

He faces eight counts in the U.S., including conspiracy to defraud and to engage in racketeering.

He has not entered a plea and is expected to appear in court in July.

A judge ordered Warner to surrender his passport and report to police twice a week.

Warner was forced out of FIFA in 2011 over a bribery scandal but has denied any wrongdoing.
Jack Warner turns himself in amid FIFA corruption probe

Impassioned: Warner gives a lengthy, defiant speech professing his innocence before a crowd of raucous supporters in the district he represents as an opposition member of Parliament

Disgraced: Warner was forced out of FIFA in 2011 over a bribery scandal but has denied any wrongdoing

Trinidad's attorney general, Garvin Nicholas, said the U.S. has two months to issue a formal extradition request.

He said his office has been working with the U.S. Justice Department for about two years on the investigation of Warner.

U.S. justice officials allege, among other things, that Warner received three payments totaling $10 million in 2008 from an unidentified, high-ranking FIFA official.

They said the money was deposited in a U.S. account controlled by Warner.

Frosty: UEFA President Michel Platini (centre) speaks with Sepp Blatter (left) at the 65th FIFA Congress in Zurich a day after he called on the FIFA president to stand down amid the corruption scandal

Defiant: Blatter is facing calls to resign, but he insists he is the man to clean up the sport's governing body

Authorities say the money was allegedly offered to secure Warner's vote and help give South Africa the right to host the 2010 World Cup over Morocco.

South Africa's sports minister on Thursday denied any wrongdoing by his country's government.

Warner also faced scrutiny from FIFA over a sports complex he built in Trinidad more than a decade ago with financial help from the organisation and whose ownership has been disputed.

The Centre of Excellence features a soccer field, a pool and several meeting halls, including ones named after FIFA President Sepp Blatter and former South Africa President Nelson Mandela.

Messages left with the center's officials were not returned. The centre regularly hosts conferences, weddings, soccer matches and other events.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... z3bWarmqaM
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

Postby eliteauto » May 29th, 2015, 7:28 am

^^that article shows a clear bias by the reporter

Postby Redman » May 29th, 2015, 7:30 am

j.o.e wrote:Say what you want about Jack Warner he is a tactical genius.... who can turn the worse situations to his benefit. Not many ppl can shake up the political scene while the FBI is pointing out that he is a crook to the entire world. Election season will be the most interesting ever.

Well he ascended the ranks of FIFA-thats the World Cup of Corruption, Graft and back room deals.
So he is the best prepared for nasty politics locally.
Lets face it-outside of him coming out on a PNM platform there is little that he can do to surprise any one...so we all have LOW expectations of him-So KPB/UNC/PNM/Rowley et al pelting mud at him has no impact on people.
However every one else have cocoa they trying to keep out of the sun....Tactically Jack has the advantage.
Never get into a fight with a ho...yuh cant win

And now he is the broad spectrum Victim.
Whether it be of the heavy handed US
or the FIFA move against Third world colour
or the compliant UNC bending to the US will.
and he hasnt played his race card yet.

So its easy for him to look good politically at least short term.

Postby bluefete » May 29th, 2015, 7:34 am

eliteauto wrote:^^that article shows a clear bias by the reporter

What do you expect from a British newspaper?

Postby dougla_boy » May 29th, 2015, 7:49 am

i hope JW busses files on all....srsly....thats what we need.....ha dem sycophants feeling sick.....go see men park up at the side of the road vomiting and ting.........

JW....make me wish come tru...buss files on all

btw....ah hear thru a grape vine that JW and KPB have an account in the Cayman Isles.....just for contract kickbacks

Postby zoom rader » May 29th, 2015, 7:58 am

dougla_boy wrote:i hope JW busses files on all....srsly....thats what we need.....ha dem sycophants feeling sick.....go see men park up at the side of the road vomiting and ting.........

JW....make me wish come tru...buss files on all

btw....ah hear thru a grape vine that JW and KPB have an account in the Cayman Isles.....just for contract kickbacks

Yeah and Jack and Rowley have another account too from the de same grape vine

Postby dougla_boy » May 29th, 2015, 7:59 am

nuh doubting it....but coming from u bai...ah go take that wit a grain ah salt....

we still have hoes that we cud agree upon tho...we still cool

Postby Slartibartfast » May 29th, 2015, 8:01 am

Redman wrote:Never get into a fight with a ho...yuh cant win

Postby rfari » May 29th, 2015, 8:04 am

Redman wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Say what you want about Jack Warner he is a tactical genius.... who can turn the worse situations to his benefit. Not many ppl can shake up the political scene while the FBI is pointing out that he is a crook to the entire world. Election season will be the most interesting ever.

Well he ascended the ranks of FIFA-thats the World Cup of Corruption, Graft and back room deals.
Lets face it-outside of him coming out on a PNM platform there is little that he can do to surprise any one...so we all have LOW expectations of him-So KPB/UNC/PNM/Rowley et al pelting mud at him has no impact on people.
However every one else have cocoa they trying to keep out of the sun....Tactically Jack has the advantage.

Well put

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 29th, 2015, 8:12 am

bluefete wrote:
eliteauto wrote:^^that article shows a clear bias by the reporter

What do you expect from a British newspaper?
look how they conveniently forget about presumption of innocence

Postby Slartibartfast » May 29th, 2015, 8:21 am

The only thing that Jack Warner said that I will pay attention to is where he said "If I am corrupt, it must be someone else who had given me the money.". This shows he is no longer trying to prove his innocence but playing a game of chicken with the people that want to lock him up. He is basically saying that the person behind all of the corruption is the person behind all of the arrests and he will not go down without him. So basically Jack realises he can't win and is making a move for a stalemate so he doesn't lose.

Basic strategy, safest route, no surprise. But this is where it gets interesting.

That one line is as good as an admission of guilt. Note that he did not try to deny any of the allegations at all. Even though it is not enough to get him arrested on, it should be enough for anyone with a IQ greater than their height (in inches) to understand how corrupt he is, has been and always will. Any sensible person will stop giving him support, if they have not already done so.

So what I am wondering is, where does he get his supporters from? Is idiocy really that prevalent locally or are things so bad that sensible people can be easily persuaded to fake their support for him? Or maybe some third equally sad option that I'm not seeing.

Postby Redman » May 29th, 2015, 8:26 am

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

In his first speech on the ILP stump...the man went through how he rig the election in FIFA and had somebody gyul make the vote etc

and he still win....go figure

which is better- the man who admits his short comings and continues to do the wrong deed
or the person who doing the wrong deed but pretending to be clean?

we all will feel more comfortable with someone who admits their wrong doing...human nature.

He exploits that...people feel if we have to put a teef we might as well put a tief who have some one else to teif from.

Postby Slartibartfast » May 29th, 2015, 8:35 am

So things are really just that bad. I agree with the fact that people will basically choose an honest muffler bearing over a dishonest one, but I'm sure to a lot of upstanding citizens it just feels like living in a trap so they don't bother to vote either way.

I really want to vote this election and "exercise my democratic right" but there is just no one that I can vote for or support :(

Postby dougla_boy » May 29th, 2015, 8:40 am

i jus wah JW buss files....on all politicians....awl....fok party....buss files on all

Postby Redman » May 29th, 2015, 8:41 am

Well IMHO we have an obligation to chose the best option from those that put themselves up.

So Im really close to your POV -neither option is perfect..far from it.

In this election I think we have to select the party that has less of what we dont like.

I will vote ..plenty people world wide never had that option...I eh wasting it.

Postby sMASH » May 29th, 2015, 8:47 am

JW says that IF he is currupt in taking bribes u must proscecute those who offered the bribes as well. U don't have one without the other.
He tried to implicate blater. Hoping the threat would rally blater to cover his skin and JW as well.

He tried to strong arm Kamla into helping him stay out of America.

If things go south and he does spill the beans on unc, it may or may not interest the US. And if it doesn't, he just making himself and enemy of those in state.

If I was in his position I would have only brougt out the comparison with ish and Steve, it would have been enough.

The real saving would be by blater's doings

Postby sMASH » May 29th, 2015, 8:49 am

Next election I would deface my ballot again. Let it be counted, but not for any party I do not like.

Postby Slartibartfast » May 29th, 2015, 8:50 am

That's my point. Regardless of what UML and Zoom Rader say, both parties seem so bad that I am unable to decide which one I think is less worse. I am not in a position to be personally affected to any great extent by either party so I don't have that to persuade me either. I think I may just write in a "None of the Above" option and put the "X" by that.

Deciding which party is less worse right now seems like the flip of a coin to me.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 29th, 2015, 8:51 am

Redman wrote:

Whatever radio station my mother was listening to this morning was playing the race card though. The person on air was talking bout how Ish and Steve are not black ppl and JW is and its no coincidence he will be extradited but not the other two aren't.

(I doh listen to anything but 93.5 and 94.7 on mornings so I had no clue what radio programme it was)

Postby dougla_boy » May 29th, 2015, 8:52 am

sMASH wrote:If things go south and he does spill the beans on unc, it may or may not interest the US. And if it doesn't, he just making himself and enemy of those in state.

how that not affecting the US?