Digicel Internet Thread

acesinghit

Re: Digicel 100 down 30 up fibre optic internet.

Postby acesinghit » November 8th, 2015, 12:01 pm

If Dell and Cisco were ISP's in TT then everybody else would have to pack up shop because their response time for ProSupport and SmartNet service is unparalleled. We have Flow and blink for corporate and residential use and we have had little to zero problems with our service. Digicel good for GSM/4G over bmobile GSM/4G which is horrible service. We won't switch because we need 2 providers each.

I suppose we need to give Digicel some more time to iron out certain rough edges before we sign up and as their network receives more subscribers it would really test reliability. I see Massy launching out too so I say by mid 2016 would be ideal to look at the market again and follow feedback from threads like this.

Look at greendot for eg. Their offerings started off pretty good and then they got clogged with subscribers and service fell. Now most people left greendot by now I'm sure and now I'm hearing some of their customers getting better service. :lol:

Apparently everything is cyclical :!:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 8th, 2015, 12:08 pm

Massy doing coverage like Digicel?

or they just like Blink where only GPON in Port of Spain?

RB34

Postby RB34 » November 8th, 2015, 12:30 pm

wonder how they going to handle program blackouts... maybe a red and white screen instead of the blue and white from flow?

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » November 8th, 2015, 12:35 pm

What are the upload speeds on digicel's packages?

25/?
50/?
100/?
200/?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 8th, 2015, 1:37 pm

Digicel should offer a package without TV channel and a basic wired modem for the $200 a month.

Just to be straight the $200 a month comes with 35 free TV Channel? Is there anything lower than 25mb? or $200 is their lowest package? I would expect maybe a $160 Package like what flow has.

M3ga_1

Postby M3ga_1 » November 8th, 2015, 5:52 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Digicel should offer a package without TV channel and a basic wired modem for the $200 a month.

Just to be straight the $200 a month comes with 35 free TV Channel? Is there anything lower than 25mb? or $200 is their lowest package? I would expect maybe a $160 Package like what flow has.

Bro flow is really not for gamers only drop connections on 860 wireless modem. Is a good thing I ent give up my blink 1mb.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 8th, 2015, 9:42 pm

M3ga_1 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Digicel should offer a package without TV channel and a basic wired modem for the $200 a month.

Bro flow is really not for gamers only drop connections on 860 wireless modem. Is a good thing I ent give up my blink 1mb.

Yeah even the wired modem drops connection constantly. I even get 7 days ban from CS GO for disconnecting too many times. Need to see what this Digicel is like, you just can't seem to touch that DSL uptime yes.

blitz83

Postby blitz83 » November 9th, 2015, 4:03 pm

Thanks Digicel!!!

Is level :yankit:

Digicel Business offers the fastest internet speeds for your business
Digicel, the first to provide best in class blazing broadband speeds over a dedicated fibre-optic network exclusively for businesses in Trinidad effectively revolutionised the industry with not only faster download speeds but also unheard of upload speeds. AND NOW Digicel Business is doing even more to empower businesses across Trinidad by unleashing double bandwidth to all customers.

These speeds can only be offered on a wholly Fibre Optic network and only from Digicel Business for the value we are offering you. Existing customers will automatically be upgraded and new customers will experience internet stability and speed like never before. get Digicel Fibre for your business today!!

thatlife

Postby thatlife » November 9th, 2015, 9:44 pm

Just an update on my current situation

After my forum posts and emails to digicel. I received a few calls from digicel reps and had to explain my situation every time which is lengthly. I'm guessing they just keep passing on my situation to a couple persons. In the end they emailed me to ask again and I forwarded my situation and emails, this was last week Thursday. No response yet.

I was a flow customer at first and switched to digicel after I heard "fibre" in their sales pitch. Seeing that flow had some drops in the recent times I switched to digicel.

The digicel service dropped several times. And all day outages. To contact them was a pain. Imagine I had to keep paying flow as a back up for when digicel went down for 5 months. 2 weeks ago I decided to cancel my flow plan and when I did Digicel went down all day for 2 different days

I'm back to paying for flow again and waiting for a resolution from digicel

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » November 9th, 2015, 10:45 pm

thatlife wrote:Just an update on my current situation

After my forum posts and emails to digicel. I received a few calls from digicel reps and had to explain my situation every time which is lengthly. I'm guessing they just keep passing on my situation to a couple persons. In the end they emailed me to ask again and I forwarded my situation and emails, this was last week Thursday. No response yet.

I was a flow customer at first and switched to digicel after I heard "fibre" in their sales pitch. Seeing that flow had some drops in the recent times I switched to digicel.

The digicel service dropped several times. And all day outages. To contact them was a pain. Imagine I had to keep paying flow as a back up for when digicel went down for 5 months. 2 weeks ago I decided to cancel my flow plan and when I did Digicel went down all day for 2 different days

I'm back to paying for flow again and waiting for a resolution from digicel

After your experience in this matter i really skeptical about their upcoming residential offering. Been looking forward to switching from flow but it make no sense having a "faster" connection yet an unreliable service & the customer service sounds like a nightmare.

Ppl bad talk flow but their overall service has been pretty solid for me. Also not a fan of having to accept a 1 yr contract just to try out digicel.

Is the business package also a 1yr contract? Sounding like you need to just stick with what working for you = flow

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 10th, 2015, 12:59 am

wow didn't realize Digicel was this bad, hmmmm. Sounds worse than my Flow internet lol.

seems like that Chinese HUAWEI network fail already? it would make sense seeing that flow does fail with white man brand like CISCO. Why would Chiney man HUAWEI even be able to compete?

Lets hope when it comes online in full, this thing works yes or atleast take away flow customers so the network can get a lil free up. It is possible that if Digicel take away a lot of Flow customers, the network getting lighter would automatically work better for everyone since it currently oversubscribed.

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » November 10th, 2015, 6:44 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:wow didn't realize Digicel was this bad, hmmmm. Sounds worse than my Flow internet lol.

seems like that Chinese HUAWEI network fail already? it would make sense seeing that flow does fail with white man brand like CISCO. Why would Chiney man HUAWEI even be able to compete?

Lets hope when it comes online in full, this thing works yes or atleast take away flow customers so the network can get a lil free up. It is possible that if Digicel take away a lot of Flow customers, the network getting lighter would automatically work better for everyone since it currently oversubscribed.

Digicel needs to get better splicers the amount of fiber breaks unreal.

There internal equipment works fine..

Postby M_2NR » November 10th, 2015, 11:00 am

Good Lord above.. Whatever any of you decide, I see a man rating up Greendot. Let's not ever do that one :lol:
I believe all services are area dependent. In my area flow happens to work the best.
With all services, you have to give them some time for teething issues. Is Digicel contract based for residential use?

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » November 10th, 2015, 11:05 am

M_2NR wrote:Good Lord above.. Whatever any of you decide, I see a man rating up Greendot. Let's not ever do that one :lol:
I believe all services are area dependent. In my area flow happens to work the best.
With all services, you have to give them some time for teething issues. Is Digicel contract based for residential use?

bai i done on this forum yes.... ED have commitment issues with regards to net. As i said before, i have been using the digicel service for a year now and it works fine, i also have been using flow for 3 years and it has been working fine, flow does not use cisco, they use arris. How could a splicer be the cause of a fibre break?? REALLY? then its bess i blame the doubles man for raising the price of flour. Think about what you say before you post it. At the end of the day, ALL ISPs have dumb kinks to iron out.

coolfiger

Postby coolfiger » November 10th, 2015, 11:42 am

Anyone has updates on the digicel coverage areas

thatlife

Postby thatlife » November 11th, 2015, 2:10 pm

so I came here to say that another day gone, still no official call from digicel about my situation or email.

So I thought I would post a speed test to at least show I'm still getting 100mbs

but this is my speed test right now

btw i'm on the metro connection. which supposed to be the fastest and most reliable.

Did I mention digicel could not even supply a router when they came at my business place? they walked with a used cisco that they could not log in to and they didn't have the password. A hard reset didn't work either

Instead I had to let them use my WIFI router for the routing.

thatlife

Postby thatlife » November 11th, 2015, 2:16 pm

ok its back up

ping is still lower than usual

thatlife

Postby thatlife » November 11th, 2015, 2:41 pm

and now..

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 11th, 2015, 6:50 pm

Those pings are very bad, hmm. Fiber should be no more than 1 ms to POS.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 11th, 2015, 6:52 pm

coolfiger wrote:Anyone has updates on the digicel coverage areas

No BUT they running fiber in places like Las Lomas, areas that not even TSTT has coverage with DSL they are aiming for areas where there is no Flow coverage aswell.

So from the looks of it you won't have to worry if you can access DSL or Flow.

It had about 7 Digicel trucks in my area today, big things happening. If they take all flow customers and the network free up and I get no disconnect issues well I golden. I won't even need to switch.

thatlife

Postby thatlife » November 13th, 2015, 11:31 am

been doing tests frequently
and speed now seems to be up

ping is where it should be

its a good service, if it was stable and reliable

Caribnomad

Postby Caribnomad » November 14th, 2015, 2:19 pm

Your previous speedtest posts show Port of Spain (which cannot be a Digicel server) and KINGSTOWN, StVincent, and so your comparisons are not valid.

By the way, I've just been to a Digicel event at Agate Drive, Diamond Vale, where they are demonstrating their Digicel PLAY residential product. Today and tomorrow 11am till 6pm.

coolfiger

Postby coolfiger » November 14th, 2015, 4:43 pm

Im glad to hear they are targeting neglected areas . I only have tstt and airlink available in barrackpore.

thatlife

Postby thatlife » November 15th, 2015, 12:15 am

Caribnomad wrote:Your previous speedtest posts show Port of Spain (which cannot be a Digicel server) and KINGSTOWN, StVincent, and so your comparisons are not valid.

By the way, I've just been to a Digicel event at Agate Drive, Diamond Vale, where they are demonstrating their Digicel PLAY residential product. Today and tomorrow 11am till 6pm.

ok I don't usually select servers, i just go to the site and click test and it auto selects

but there are times when the internet is unusually slow and thats why I chose to do a test.

Shio

Postby Shio » November 15th, 2015, 6:57 am

still waiting on digicel to install
paid over two weeks now
they claim its a third party doing the installations and having problems

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 15th, 2015, 1:01 pm

Does Digicel have a sub $200 price package? like Flow and TSTT does?

thatlife

Postby thatlife » November 15th, 2015, 11:04 pm

Shio wrote:still waiting on digicel to install
paid over two weeks now
they claim its a third party doing the installations and having problems

my installation took about 2 months after I signed the contract
they didnt finish run the fibre.

"problems" is a usual thing, brace for lots of it

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 16th, 2015, 10:45 am

They don't offer an internet only option?

Tried to clear up the images a little

ninjabilly

Postby ninjabilly » November 16th, 2015, 2:21 pm

SRASC what's the upload like

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 16th, 2015, 3:16 pm

I don't have it. Trying to learn about it myself.