PPGPL IPO...

airuma

Re: PPGPL IPO...

Postby airuma » August 28th, 2015, 12:05 pm

The real question that I think will help people decide is of all of the persons chiming in on this thread, who are the ones going after a piece of the pie? It always surprises me to see the ones ill talking something the most yet being the first in line for it!

I am still doing my research but with less than 1% in the bank and 5-6% inflation, putting my $$ in the IPO seems better than leaving it in the bank. Apart from that, if the gas prices continue to drop then, how will that affect our overall economy and value of our dollar? (since our economy is somewhat dependent on oil and gas if the 50% of the GDP statement made by the energy minister is true).

Postby bushwakka » August 28th, 2015, 1:28 pm

airuma wrote:The real question that I think will help people decide is of all of the persons chiming in on this thread, who are the ones going after a piece of the pie? It always surprises me to see the ones ill talking something the most yet being the first in line for it!

I am still doing my research but with less than 1% in the bank and 5-6% inflation, putting my $$ in the IPO seems better than leaving it in the bank. Apart from that, if the gas prices continue to drop then, how will that affect our overall economy and value of our dollar? (since our economy is somewhat dependent on oil and gas if the 50% of the GDP statement made by the energy minister is true).

lol i hope is a good hindu home where ur wife controls the money cuz u would lose all by comparing stocks to banks

mememe

Postby mememe » August 28th, 2015, 1:54 pm

2nd qtr results was better than 1st quarter.

Snatman u still think $10 - $12 a share is a fair price.

Talked to my broker. short term a definite no no.
Wait until after October 12th to buy.

Postby zoom rader » August 28th, 2015, 2:45 pm

airuma wrote:The real question that I think will help people decide is of all of the persons chiming in on this thread, who are the ones going after a piece of the pie? It always surprises me to see the ones ill talking something the most yet being the first in line for it!

Hope you looking at what the big oil producers are doing right now.
They are buying up all the small producer s for long term gain.
Oil and gas price is a cycle of 5 years, it happen in the 70s, 80s 90s and in present.

snatman

Postby snatman » August 28th, 2015, 4:51 pm

$10-$12 might even be too high!!

IPOs are generally priced below fair value to encourage demand. Even taking the improved Q2 into consideration I believe ttngl to be overpriced. The average PE on the local stock exchange has been between 12 and 14. TTNGL is coming into the market with a PE close to 17, so there's little room for capital appreciation. High dividends might not be enough to encourage subscription esp with the uncertainty surrounding energy prices

I said in earlier posts that i'll buy into TTNG after the stock is listed and price stabilises. Your broker concurs.

Anyways, i'm not a financial professional, so talk to your brokers and advisors wrt to this.

mememe wrote:2nd qtr results was better than 1st quarter.

Snatman u still think $10 - $12 a share is a fair price.

Talked to my broker. short term a definite no no.
Wait until after October 12th to buy.
Last edited by snatman on August 28th, 2015, 5:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » August 28th, 2015, 4:53 pm

DVSTT wrote:So fuel subsidy cut, property tax and some social welfare cuts to be expected in the next budget?

Just today I was saying this. Waiting till after elections and probably budget before i buy into anything.
Witco looks nice.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Postby Redman » August 28th, 2015, 5:23 pm

Hope you looking at what the big oil producers are doing right now.
They are buying up all the small producer s for long term gain.
Oil and gas price is a cycle of 5 years, it happen in the 70s, 80s 90s and in present.

Fully agreed

but the finance geeks believe that oil is permanently in the 30-40s...the new new normal...
same guys that said that 100+ was the new normal

allyuh buy NBR

Postby DVSTT » August 30th, 2015, 1:00 pm

Oil price has always been a fluid thing. As redman rightfully said , it doesn't matter if you buy the stock for $20 and its at $50 in 4 years. Even if it drops to $0.20 along the way.

People buying into it thinking its FCB and quick turn over etc, but that's not it, its medium to long term and Phoenix park has consistently been making a profit, though the margin has fluctuated.

I'll still throw my hat in the ring and weather the storm as I expect that ice to initially drop due to energy price as well as people panic selling their stock and forming a glut in the market. 5 years in the future I expect to make something on it though.

airuma

Postby airuma » September 1st, 2015, 2:39 pm

bushwakka wrote:

lol i hope is a good hindu home where ur wife controls the money cuz u would lose all by comparing stocks to banks

I would have hoped people would look at my "real question" and answer that rather than issuing insults anyway, to each their own.
I was of the impression that since this IPO is being heavily advertised that the general population is the target, not necessarily the subset that invest in stocks only. I have read nowhere where the stocks are limited to only those who are stock investors.
Another assumption I made is that alot of the people (subset that are not stock investors) contemplating this IPO would not take their money out of an investment with good returns.
Yet another assumption I made is that a target may be the persons who have their money tied up as bonds maturing in the next 15 years as a result of the clico fiasco given our recent moody's downgrade.
Other than that, it would be persons who have some savings in the bank that they are willing to gamble with, hence the reason for my comparison

I admit, I am not a financial expert but at least I am placing what I know for others to evaluate my opinion rather than issue a useless inslut with no reasoning whatsoever.

BTW what is NBR?

Postby DVSTT » September 5th, 2015, 9:18 pm

When is the listing date?

Also why isn't there an app for the local market?

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » September 8th, 2015, 9:03 am

Now that we have a new government, do you think the IPO will be cancelled?

Postby sMASH » September 8th, 2015, 9:26 am

A lot of people think that this would be just like fcb. A lot of shares are being bought. They are making a lot of money.

Cancelling it would be foolish.

Basic principle behind a profitable business is buying for a dollar and selling for two.

Imo the ttngl shares are at two dollars. When it lists and settles it should be at its one dollar. I will hold off for now.

Postby zoom rader » September 8th, 2015, 9:34 am

neilsingh100 wrote:Now that we have a new government, do you think the IPO will be cancelled?

Don't think so, but the other IPO will be cancelled. PNM dont like ppl getting rich fast or making money.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » September 8th, 2015, 9:36 am

If individual investors are not interested the institutional ones will take up the slack so don't see the price going below 20.

My question is if the PNM will go through with the IPO. They could easily cancel it and return money to investors.

Postby zoom rader » September 8th, 2015, 9:46 am

neilsingh100 wrote:If individual investors are not interested the institutional ones will take up the slack so don't see the price going below 20.

My question is if the PNM will go through with the IPO. They could easily cancel it and return money to investors.

Nope don't see it happening.
But the others IPO will surely be put on hold
Now is not a time to spend money

Postby Country_Bookie » September 8th, 2015, 11:28 am

Yeah boy they going and cancel this IPO and keep all ah we morney. Then they going and take back dey fcb shares and keep we morney from dey too.

snatman

Postby snatman » September 8th, 2015, 11:28 am

Tomorrow is the last day to subscribe folks.

fay

Postby fay » September 9th, 2015, 12:52 pm

Today is the last day
It will be fully subscribed, so those who waiting on the secondary market will have to pay a premium.

Postby DVSTT » September 9th, 2015, 1:15 pm

Oil prices have a way to drop again and with it gas prices. I think initially the stock price will drop off before it goes up as you'll have a few panicked folks selling out and flooding the market

Postby zoom rader » September 9th, 2015, 1:19 pm

Hope they know this is a long term investment with the current oil and gas price.
If they selling I will buy more, gas will rebound give a year or two

mememe

Postby mememe » September 9th, 2015, 1:55 pm

appears to be close to full subscription,
if not fully subscribed.

Postby Country_Bookie » September 9th, 2015, 2:00 pm

Hardest thing about these IPOs is the month yuh have to wait while they have yuh money.

snatman

Postby snatman » September 9th, 2015, 4:19 pm

fay wrote:Today is the last day
It will be fully subscribed, so those who waiting on the secondary market will have to pay a premium.

mememe wrote:appears to be close to full subscription,
if not fully subscribed.

surprising!
source?

jusjase44

Postby jusjase44 » September 10th, 2015, 6:13 am

snatman wrote:
fay wrote:Today is the last day

mememe wrote:appears to be close to full subscription,
if not fully subscribed.

surprising!
source?

I believe it is also, I passed FCIS on the 8th and there was a crowd

olton

Postby olton » September 10th, 2015, 6:25 am

YESTERDAY was the final day to subscribe to the Initial Public Offering (IPO) of shares in Trinidad and Tobago NGL Limited (NGL).

In August 2013, the National Gas Company of Trinidad and Tobago Limited (NGC), acquired 39 percent of Phoenix Park Gas Processors Limited’s (PPGPL) equity from Conoco Phillips, making PPGPL a 100 percent locally-owned company.

PPGPL processes natural gas and sells the output. In February 2014, NGC transferred its 39 percent shareholding into a newly formed entity - Trinidad and Tobago NGL Limited (NGL) to allow the public to participate in the IPO and “own an equity interest” in PPGPL.

Questioned yesterday about the demand for shares in the NGL IPO, particularly in the final days of the August 10 to September 9 subscription period, NGC officials told Newsday “demand did pick up in the last few days, as is common with other public offerings. At present the subscription is over-subscribed.” The lead broker in this IPO was First Citizens Brokerage and Advisory Services (FCBAS.

However, investors had a total of ten Approved Distribution Agents (ADA) through which they could have applied for shares. Asked if more requests came through any one ADA, NGC said while it cannot disclose the exact numbers at this time, it is not unusual in an IPO for the lead broker to receive a greater amount of subscriptions than other authorised distributors.

“However,” NGC added, “subscriptions to all authorised brokers were at a healthy level.” Newsday also asked if NGC was satisfied that it had done everything possible to educate the public about investing in NGL. The parent company noted that it provided adequate reliable information about the security offering to the public. “Investors would have performed their individual analyses, to determine whether to invest, and if they are so inclined, the size of their investment.

In disseminating information, NGC had to abide with the rules of the SE C (Securities and Exchange Commission), and work within the law. Although the subscription period ended yesterday (Wed), it will take a few days for FCBAS, as lead broker, to verify the paperwork and confirm there is sufficient money in the accounts of subscribers to cover the cheques written to cover their IPO requests. Therefore, figures related to the total number of shares requested, valid subscriptions, should be available by next Monday, September 14.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/business/0,216820.html

jusjase44

Postby jusjase44 » September 10th, 2015, 7:15 am

expected

russian123

Postby russian123 » September 10th, 2015, 11:05 am

IPO over subscribed, rem when Subhas (bourse chairman ) was on cnc3 ,Buisiness Watch saying that it was really slow, that statement was because no one was subscribing at his company lol. He really thought the public will forget his role in the FCB fiasco. He resigned his SEC portofolio. Any logically thinking new subscriber will not invest their money through his brokerage firm,

Also on that episode of Business Watch CNC3 used the opinion of this disgraced man as the mood of the entire investing community. The 10 brokerage firms that were tasked with administering the IPO were not all interviewed and proper statistics charted. Only Bourse securities.
Just an example of media bias.

Cheers.

Postby RASC » September 10th, 2015, 11:27 am

russian123 wrote:IPO over subscribed, rem when Subhas (bourse chairman ) was on cnc3 ,Buisiness Watch saying that it was really slow, that statement was because no one was subscribing at his company lol. He really thought the public will forget his role in the FCB fiasco. He resigned his SEC portofolio. Any logically thinking new subscriber will not invest their money through his brokerage firm,

Also on that episode of Business Watch CNC3 used the opinion of this disgraced man as the mood of the entire investing community. The 10 brokerage firms that were tasked with administering the IPO were not all interviewed and proper statistics charted. Only Bourse securities.
Just an example of media bias.

Cheers.

Shhhh let's not bring that up again please.
The UNC supporters were saying that Guardian was PNM. So let's not remind them of how foolish that statements sound-when everyone knows its the opposite.

Bourse was basically begging with Hema that morning. Sad.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » September 10th, 2015, 11:46 am

Subscription doesn't matter really, we all want to see how it performs. That is the true test.

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » September 10th, 2015, 11:48 am

5k subscriber checking in