Divali/Diwali/Deepavali 2014

rocknrolla

Re: Divali/Diwali/Deepavali 2013

Postby rocknrolla » October 11th, 2013, 12:06 pm

incorrect.. i am in contact with recognized members of the hindu community and this voicing also comes from them with a wider appeal to the public for the loss of the holiday monday. i just did the research.

and if they celebrate divali on any day other than the new moon then what we have in trinidad is not hinduism, but some watered down politicized version. certainly not divali.. ilavid maybe

darkness and confusion
Last edited by rocknrolla on October 11th, 2013, 12:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby tr1ad » October 11th, 2013, 12:06 pm

rocknrolla wrote:
tr1ad wrote:do you require the government to state the date which the holiday is given for you to celebrate it?

the answer would be no

there is nothing watered down with accepting the date which the government chooses to acknowledge

a person of faith would celebrate the correct day not so?
if you determine that the "correct" date is not set by the government, you celebrate when it is right to do so

anything other than that is not a constitutional breach, but your own personal choice

which i believe is not religion based

well in the end is the hindu community that would be affected. yes i think it would be a constitutional breach if the entire community wants the date changed but the spiritual leader insisting on his set date, passing it to the state and then acting as tho above reproach.

this is trinidad.. it always have more in the mortar than the pestle. lol

how exactly are they affected?
again

if they choose to accept the holiday as the day to celebrate so be it, it's their choice
there are those that will celebrate it on the 'correct' date which you have pointed out so many times before

just as some roman catholics do not recognize the birth of jesus on the 25th december, which it probably wasn't
they celebrate on the day that other historical information points to

a religious public holiday doesn't necessarily mean it's that day that it relates to

it's the date that the government recognizes and acknowledges

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » October 11th, 2013, 12:14 pm

tr1ad wrote:
rocknrolla wrote:
tr1ad wrote:do you require the government to state the date which the holiday is given for you to celebrate it?

the answer would be no

there is nothing watered down with accepting the date which the government chooses to acknowledge

if you determine that the "correct" date is not set by the government, you celebrate when it is right to do so

anything other than that is not a constitutional breach, but your own personal choice

well in the end is the hindu community that would be affected. yes i think it would be a constitutional breach if the entire community wants the date changed but the spiritual leader insisting on his set date, passing it to the state and then acting as tho above reproach.

this is trinidad.. it always have more in the mortar than the pestle. lol

how exactly are they affected?
again

if they choose to accept the holiday as the day to celebrate so be it, it's their choice
there are those that will celebrate it on the 'correct' date which you have pointed out so many times before

just as some roman catholics do not recognize the birth of jesus on the 25th december, which it probably wasn't
they celebrate on the day that other historical information points to

a religious public holiday doesn't necessarily mean it's that day that it relates to

it's the date that the government recognizes and acknowledges

lol i kinna done u know. all the info for tuner is there and the rest on the papers. the choice is left up to the hindu community.

u saying what i just say.. government cannot or shouldnt be able to declare a religious date of celebration on some other day or it can be seen as constitutional infringement of freedom to practice your faith accurately.

if the hindu community wants sat to change it, then he should oblige.. especially since it seems he is utterly wrong. this destroys the integrity of the practice in my view. i understand symbolism very well and can tell u this symbolism im seeing for this weekend, together with fudged new moon time frame is bad news..

ask the hog head on the pavement in glencoe with forks in the eye, feathers in the ears and a nail stuck in it head, mouth gagged.

that if im not mistaken is a message to one or more politicians.

Cid

Postby Cid » October 11th, 2013, 12:15 pm

the answer would be no

Yup... This is how hindus have been dealing with it.... Whenever maha sabha sets a date people usually call up their pundits to double chk...
Sat is more of a politician...not a spiritual leader

Postby AllTrac » October 11th, 2013, 12:18 pm

all of this is the Diwali 2013 thread? why is rocknrolla continuing his beatup in here? pls ban.

Postby tr1ad » October 11th, 2013, 12:19 pm

rocknrolla wrote:lol i kinna done u know.

good

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » October 11th, 2013, 12:28 pm

tr1ad wrote:

good

on tuner that is.. ,)

Postby tr1ad » October 11th, 2013, 12:36 pm

rocknrolla wrote:
tr1ad wrote:

good

on tuner that is.. ,)

even better

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » October 11th, 2013, 1:13 pm

So lets say u light up on the second.. You do know u would have to light a Deya on the third also... so light up on the third if that is what feels right to you and stop this dotishness
Last edited by OffshoreMarketing on October 11th, 2013, 1:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rfari » October 11th, 2013, 1:22 pm

If sat say is no scn to eat beef, hindoos go eat it too?

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 11th, 2013, 1:52 pm

Sabriel wrote:
OffshoreMarketing wrote:So lets say u light up on the second you do know u would have to light a feta on the third also so light up on the third more if that is what feels right to you stop this dotishness

could you type that back in English?

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » October 11th, 2013, 1:52 pm

rfari wrote:If sat say is no scn to eat beef, hindoos go eat it too?

x50

i suppose as long as it will

a. make money

b. help maintain political power in their minds

then yes. they does done sell beef, only a stone throw away from eating it.. lol

Postby K74T » October 11th, 2013, 1:55 pm

Hadda link some dahee to settle rnr chess

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » October 11th, 2013, 1:59 pm

aye dawg this was a conversation between bam a and bam b inno.. not bam c

lmfaoo

the word is dahi btw

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » October 11th, 2013, 1:59 pm

OffshoreMarketing wrote:So lets say u light up on the second.. You do know u would have to light a Deya on the third also... so light up on the third if that is what feels right to you and stop this dotishness

sorry

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 11th, 2013, 2:07 pm

In northern India the main Diwali celebration is Lakshmi Puja on Amavasya. However, Lakshmi Puja is supposed to be done during a time period called Pradosha. It is the first 2/15 of the night, or about the first 1:36 hours after sunset. It is more important that it is done during the Amavasya tithi than during the Amavasya day, so as we will see below, it will sometimes fall on the Chaturdasi day.

http://www.math.nus.edu.sg/aslaksen/cal ... avali.html

Amavasya = New Moon
Chaturdasi = Day before New Moon

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » October 11th, 2013, 2:27 pm

thing is.. new moon eh fallin on no tithi part of 2nd november. so that talk about the technicality does not apply to us this year. new moon begins and ends totally on the 3rd november.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 11th, 2013, 3:47 pm

better it come earlier so I could break my fast faster.....

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 11th, 2013, 5:28 pm

AllTrac wrote:mouth watering

Allyuh mad yes...dem ting doz taste stink :sick:

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » October 11th, 2013, 7:00 pm

At the end of the day it is a choice, and people can choose to celebrate Diwali on the 2nd / 3rd Nov or both days.

Instead of getting all worked up about it, write to the board/committee and provide your facts and findings.

Postby K74T » October 11th, 2013, 8:16 pm

Postby joker » October 11th, 2013, 8:26 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:
AllTrac wrote:mouth watering

Allyuh mad yes...dem ting doz taste stink :sick:

you r the 1st person i have heard say that !
1 COULD IMAGINE YOUR TASTE IN WOMEN :roll:

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » October 11th, 2013, 8:51 pm

i find if allyuh know better than Sat and the Maha Sabha allyuh should take to the streets and protest lolol

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » October 11th, 2013, 9:48 pm

Since trini like to celebrate...we cud light it up both days...hurrrahhurrah

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » October 11th, 2013, 10:09 pm

I say call a public protest instead of arguing on tuner for those who say its the third

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » October 11th, 2013, 10:24 pm

earthquake confirms.. sat is wrong LOL

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » October 11th, 2013, 10:36 pm

i said protest and earthquake so am no protest k?

TriP

Postby TriP » October 11th, 2013, 10:52 pm

Sabriel wrote:The hindu gods are not pleased....

thejoshman1

Postby thejoshman1 » October 11th, 2013, 10:52 pm

I'm more excited for the birthday of that guy who doesn't exist :/

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 12th, 2013, 2:19 pm

OffshoreMarketing wrote:I say call a public protest instead of arguing on tuner for those who say its the third

Still not seeing proof of the 3rd.
All the calculations so far point to the 2nd.