Re: Best Roti Shop in Trinidad

Postby zoom rader » June 13th, 2019, 7:13 am

eitech wrote:
zoom rader wrote:How times have changed

Years ago when injun kids brought their roti to school as lunch, they had to hid it in a paper bag and eat it out of site. It was level ridicule. Now the very same kids that ridicule them are the one that have to buy.

Injun food come a long way

What decade u speak of?

This was pre 1980s, when you speak to older Injun folk they will tell you of their experiences being ridiculed for what they ate and how they dressed.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 13th, 2019, 8:03 am

A172 wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
Dave wrote:What about the Alpine Bar in chase village?

YES! YES! YES!.... Alpine is the best roti in central. it no longer have any good roti places anywhere else as they cant get good help so they hire guyaneese, vene, jamaicans etc to cook roti and them just making ah mess of the whole thing. same reason you cant get a good doubles again. coupled with that is they want to make it cheap as possible with cracker flour, foreign used chicken, saffron instead of curry and no pepper as it expensive. they using cheap soyabean oil in the box now, cheap is the new way to legally rob you.
wendy's on mc bean stretch plenty btr than alpine
Ent!!!

Postby A172 » June 13th, 2019, 8:04 am

wendy's is the best roti in trinidad rn
change my mind

eitech

Postby eitech » June 13th, 2019, 8:54 am

eitech wrote:

Years ago when injun kids brought their roti to school as lunch, they had to hid it in a paper bag and eat it out of site. It was level ridicule. Now the very same kids that ridicule them are the one that have to buy.

What decade u speak of?

This was pre 1980s, when you speak to older Injun folk they will tell you of their experiences being ridiculed for what they ate and how they dressed.

Was wondering. Lol. I guess i not that old

Postby De Dragon » June 13th, 2019, 12:54 pm

A172 wrote:wendy's is the best roti in trinidad rn
change my mind

Especially when she thick sister or the best Indian serving you!

airuma

Postby airuma » June 13th, 2019, 3:25 pm

eitech wrote:

What decade u speak of?

This is true, most likely to promote bread sales.

Postby De Dragon » June 13th, 2019, 3:37 pm

airuma wrote:
eitech wrote:

What decade u speak of?

Yes, and those common green canvas bags mostly used by poorer Indo children were known as "roti bags"

Postby zoom rader » June 13th, 2019, 5:20 pm

airuma wrote:
eitech wrote:

What decade u speak of?

Yes, and those common green canvas bags mostly used by poorer Indo children were known as "roti bags"
Dem bags was real never done

Postby eliteauto » June 13th, 2019, 5:21 pm

Still have mine

Postby De Dragon » June 13th, 2019, 5:31 pm

eliteauto wrote:Still have mine

:shock: :shock:
Original ones with the brass buckles?

Postby eliteauto » June 13th, 2019, 5:33 pm

Yup, posted a pic on the forum some years ago, over 40 years old

Postby zoom rader » June 13th, 2019, 5:52 pm

I still have mines with graffiti on it..

I ready hated those bags it was a never done bag. Now it's like one of those things I can't get rid of.

Postby rspann » June 13th, 2019, 7:19 pm

I use to put meh mouth inside the bag ,fuss I shame.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » June 14th, 2019, 6:30 am

nick639v2 wrote:
A172 wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
Dave wrote:What about the Alpine Bar in chase village?

YES! YES! YES!.... Alpine is the best roti in central. it no longer have any good roti places anywhere else as they cant get good help so they hire guyaneese, vene, jamaicans etc to cook roti and them just making ah mess of the whole thing. same reason you cant get a good doubles again. coupled with that is they want to make it cheap as possible with cracker flour, foreign used chicken, saffron instead of curry and no pepper as it expensive. they using cheap soyabean oil in the box now, cheap is the new way to legally rob you.
wendy's on mc bean stretch plenty btr than alpine
Ent!!!

wit all dis roti talk i pass by alpin yest in all dat traffic an spend $50 on a duck roti and get a spoon ah duck with punkin,mango,aloo an channa. it taste good eh nut not worth $50 with ah spoon ah duck. a whole mc duck selling cheap rught up d road from dem by masters. idk y businesses like to rob mc people an feel god not seeing dem. big sign carib and stag $10 and d loco old man with glasses charge me $11. god doh sleep dan.

Postby Spitfir3 » June 14th, 2019, 11:25 am

Jackie & Son Roti Shop in Enterprise if you want level duck, i does cyah even eat it out and i greddy af

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » June 14th, 2019, 5:30 pm

S&D on Todds Street was the best I had a few years back....can anyone say if it's still good?

matix

Postby matix » June 14th, 2019, 5:39 pm

Galvatron wrote:S&D on Todds Street was the best I had a few years back....can anyone say if it's still good?

Under new management, not like the old days.

Best thing there was a dhalpourie and cup of dhal. Oh gosh

Postby De Dragon » June 14th, 2019, 7:32 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Yup, posted a pic on the forum some years ago, over 40 years old

Some Insect Vector employees still use them, although the ones they move with look real old.

Postby Gem_in_i » June 14th, 2019, 8:01 pm

Best I had was Eddies in Barrackpoore. Their food in general all taste good.

NR8

Postby NR8 » June 14th, 2019, 9:30 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Best I had was Eddies in Barrackpoore. Their food in general all taste good.

Where in Barrackpore?

Postby Gem_in_i » June 14th, 2019, 9:32 pm

#2 Junction.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 14th, 2019, 9:57 pm

Consistency is usually an issue with most roti shops.
Some days good, some days ok-ish, some days horrible.

Well, at least back when I used to throw down level roti. Ease up on that for years now - they are calorie bombs and I'm a fat greedy firetruck. Don't mind the occasional splurge tho :)

cornfused

Postby cornfused » June 15th, 2019, 7:10 am

Not sure of the roti bag term first I am hearing of it. I grew up in the East-West Corridor and attended primary school in that area. Almost everyone had that green canvas bag with the two straps and brass buckles. Black, Indo , White, Chinee, Dougla, Red every one.

Back to the roti, many places make a good roti on their day. Lovey's has gotten smaller. Charlie's is good as well.

Postby zoom rader » June 15th, 2019, 7:23 am

cornfused wrote:Not sure of the roti bag term first I am hearing of it. I grew up in the East-West Corridor and attended primary school in that area. Almost everyone had that green canvas bag with the two straps and brass buckles. Black, Indo , White, Chinee, Dougla, Red every one.

Back to the roti, many places make a good roti on their day. Lovey's has gotten smaller. Charlie's is good as well.

Yeah that was the roti bag.

Postby goalpost » June 15th, 2019, 12:42 pm

Homes in Arima.

Nah I kidding.

Srsly tho, although Alpine roti bess, the portions ridiculously small & they mix up call in orders badly, ALL the time.

Postby Slartibartfast » June 15th, 2019, 1:16 pm

change my mind

Feel I will check there this week. They open on a Sunday? What kinda meat portions you getting?

Postby A172 » June 15th, 2019, 1:26 pm

mon - sat
they aint stingy

Fireflyrain7

Postby Fireflyrain7 » June 15th, 2019, 2:48 pm

Sisters roti shop on the enterprise main road there. Real bess roti, taste like real home cook food

screwbash

Postby screwbash » June 15th, 2019, 2:55 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Consistency is usually an issue with most roti shops.
Some days good, some days ok-ish, some days horrible.

Well, at least back when I used to throw down level roti. Ease up on that for years now - they are calorie bombs and I'm a fat greedy firetruck. Don't mind the occasional splurge tho :)

yuh cyah hire powder neck tuh make roti dem hadda make toolom an benna balls, yuh hadda hire oily heads tuh make roti as they born eating dat. is only den yuh go get it tasting good. all dem roti shops only hiring powder necks and now dey go hire husband teifs as dey legalize tuh wuk. watch in the back ah ratraj and hoseine and see all d cooks have d flour on dey necks.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 15th, 2019, 4:39 pm

change my mind
Where this?