The *Official* Home DIY Recycling thread.

Re: The *Official* Home DIY recycling thread

Postby Chimera » June 29th, 2015, 10:34 am

aeroponic lettuce tower made from 4 inch pvc

yes its working, just need to get the nutrients right as well as this was roughly done, some of the slots are too big

first two pics are approximately 10 days before the 3rd pic

2nd one is a barrel tower/barrel planet

in each of those 36 slots you can plant something
be it strawberries/bandania/chive..even lettuce...anything you want...the barrel is going to be filled with soil

also have to bore some drainage holes

will let allyuh know how it goes

Last edited by Chimera on June 29th, 2015, 11:09 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby dougla_boy » June 29th, 2015, 10:52 am

very nice meng..,love the last one...more deets on both for the noob DIYers

Postby Chimera » June 29th, 2015, 10:55 am

here are some finished one from online

Postby Chimera » June 29th, 2015, 10:59 am

boy dont go la vega to buy plants eh

head up marpa farms or sum

ull get 10 plants for the price you pay for one in vega

Postby black start » June 29th, 2015, 11:13 am

Where is marpa farms?

goviboo

Postby goviboo » June 29th, 2015, 11:16 am

Somewhere biche hoss, I trying to get the exact location too...

Postby Chimera » June 29th, 2015, 11:20 am

http://www.agriculture.gov.tt/main-medi ... ation.html

its somewhere in manzanilla area

for the past few months i planning to go and never reaching

i sure anyone in manzanilla/grande area get hit you some directions

shake d living wake d dead from up that side i believe

Postby Chimera » June 29th, 2015, 11:23 am

look the address dey

me eh know where that is still tho

The Ministry of Food Production hosted a re-commissioning ceremony on Wednesday 13th November, 2013 at the Marper Farm Station, Plum Road, Manzanilla. Located on the foothills of the Central Range on ninety four (94) acres of land, the Marper Farm Station is rich with history as it is with beauty.

Postby black start » June 29th, 2015, 11:29 am

ohhh that what there's called?

I went with a padna there already to buy some plants.....

Postby MG Man » June 29th, 2015, 11:31 am

not hard to find...I passed thru Plum Mitan Saturday night....
when you get to that t-junction where left is to Manzan and right is to Plum Mitan, just follow the road into Plum Mitan and you'll eventually see a sign on the right to Marpa Farms..I remember seeing it on the way to Biche...can't miss it

Postby black start » June 29th, 2015, 11:37 am

nick, thats seems about right

Postby Chimera » June 29th, 2015, 11:45 am

careful mg man set yuh up to rape yuh on a secluded road in plum mitan eh

Postby MG Man » June 29th, 2015, 11:53 am

is only rape if he protest

Postby Chimera » June 29th, 2015, 4:15 pm

heres the video to make the barrel tower

Postby MG Man » June 29th, 2015, 10:43 pm

nick639 wrote:Mg jus come with the Porsche I always asking bout and it have no protesting

dat not even mine :(

Postby DVSTT » June 30th, 2015, 1:07 pm

This seems interesting
51ba3daadbd0cb036a0003d4._w.540_s.fit_.JPEG
51ba3daadbd0cb036a0003d4._w.540_s.fit_.JPEG (69.46 KiB) Viewed 3262 times

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 30th, 2015, 1:39 pm

you can do the same with bamboo

Postby Ted_v2 » July 1st, 2015, 12:25 am

I wonder what's the lifespan of those?

Postby Redman » July 3rd, 2015, 6:03 pm

Hey Guys...Im looking for a solution to a problem we have at home...

My father has Dementia ...so he walks around doing stuff like opening the fridge, moving the bags,opening the windows and the main issue leaving the kitchen sink on....

This is a problem because of the flooding and the fact that if we on the tanks we can run dry....
he has episodes where he wouldnt sleep for more than a 20 minutes for days at a stretch..
Mom and Dad live alone so at times we let him roam while she gets her rest...so he roams and does his thing unsupervised..a

We need a solution to the kitchen tap like a timed tap or a pressure switch -Something like the garden hose nozzles that you need to squeeze.

Weve actually run the garden hose through a nearby window and jerry rigged it so that its now the kitchen tap..he can squeeze it but it will cut off once he walks off

He has hosed down the place but it seems out of vogue thankfully...

IS there a proper solution?

Postby cinco » July 3rd, 2015, 6:16 pm

Why don't u lock the kitchen sink off from underneath ?

goviboo

Postby goviboo » July 3rd, 2015, 6:29 pm

Postby Chimera » July 3rd, 2015, 6:52 pm

cinco wrote:Why don't u lock the kitchen sink off from underneath ?

Because he needs to use the sink still I'm sure

Postby Chimera » July 3rd, 2015, 6:56 pm

What about one of those automatic sensor taps like what they have in bathrooms? Where they come on when you put your hand in front the sensor

Postby cinco » July 3rd, 2015, 6:56 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

Turn it on as needed

Postby Chimera » July 3rd, 2015, 7:28 pm

cinco wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:

Turn it on as needed

Then he would have the same issue. His father will turn it on and leave it.

Postby Redman » July 3rd, 2015, 8:00 pm

Cinco once he sees us doing that he gets curious,and moms physical condition makes the back and forth under the sink tough.
I'm looking at the taps from Brydens

Postby Redman » July 3rd, 2015, 9:24 pm

Well I have to make stuff easy for mom who isn't mobile all the time...they live by themselves ...

We disconnected the pilot light on the stove and mom uses a welders scratchy thingy lighter...so matches are gone...

And the lock off for the stove is used once she is done cooking.

The kitchen sink is the last real issue that remains ...

Postby black start » July 3rd, 2015, 9:53 pm

Redman wrote:Hey Guys...Im looking for a solution to a problem we have at home...

My father has Dementia ...so he walks around doing stuff like opening the fridge, moving the bags,opening the windows and the main issue leaving the kitchen sink on....

This is a problem because of the flooding and the fact that if we on the tanks we can run dry....
he has episodes where he wouldnt sleep for more than a 20 minutes for days at a stretch..
Mom and Dad live alone so at times we let him roam while she gets her rest...so he roams and does his thing unsupervised..a

We need a solution to the kitchen tap like a timed tap or a pressure switch -Something like the garden hose nozzles that you need to squeeze.

Weve actually run the garden hose through a nearby window and jerry rigged it so that its now the kitchen tap..he can squeeze it but it will cut off once he walks off

He has hosed down the place but it seems out of vogue thankfully...

IS there a proper solution?

Amazon has electric 12v water valves and 12v electric timers. I was looking at them for an automated irrigation system for my home garden.

Maybe with some thought they can work for your problem

Postby Chimera » July 3rd, 2015, 9:56 pm

Amazon has push switches for 40 to 80 usd. I think that's the best option

Postby Redman » July 4th, 2015, 7:50 am

Thanks guys,
Aba I've searched Amazon for the push switches only seeing electrical switches