DFC wrote:An eight member Bhojpuri Dance and Music Group from India is here for Diwali celbrations.
They performed tonight at the Divali Nagar, it was amazing.
Amazing because the native language for most of our Indian Ancestors, is Bhojpuri, which is a dialect form of Hindustani . To hear true bhojpuri in its original form, gave me an epiphany.
From this performance, you can clearly see where Chutney and what we term Classical Indian Singing" has its origins.
I met with the performers today after their performance and i had a really nice talk about Life in Uttar Pradesh and one of the performers came from the same area as my ancestors did, so it was really nice to link with him.
We are generations apart but still share common ancestry.
So come on guys, this is something to take in and appreciate.
They will be performing Thursday, Saturday and Monday at Divali Nagar.
And Sunday @ LRC auditorium in UWI @ 5.pm.
Indian classical dancer Quincy Kendall Charles has travelled a long way from his home at Lajpat Nagar, New Delhi, India, to perform at Divali Nagar 2012 on November 5 and 12. But performance wasn’t the only thing that brought him to T&T. Charles is a son of the soil and wants to give back to his homeland.
Born in rural Mayaro, he says he had a love affair with Indian dance ever since he could remember. Coming from a family that shares a mixed ethnic heritage and growing up in a community with a blend of local cultures, Charles says Indian dance was not new to him.
His early introduction to Indian film dance was under the tutelage of local dancer Michael Salickram. It was during that time he says he felt a divine calling to explore a higher form of dance and began an eight-month dance course under Kathak teacher Susan Mohip, of the Sangeet Mahividyalaya.
Charles eventually left T&T and graduated with first class honours from the New Delhi, India-based Kathak Kendra under the guidance of Pundit Guru Jai Kishan Maharaj, whom he promised he would dance until he dies. He has also trained with Pundit Birju Maharaj, Jayashree Achayra, Saraswati Sen, Shankar Ray and Sushmita Gosh. He has performed at several venues in Europe and the UK, including the Golden Jubilee celebrations of Queen Elizabeth at Buckingham Palace, London.
Charles now runs the Black Diamond International Dance Company.
He says he is convinced T&T has a lot to offer and could prove itself a shining example of what the world seeks to achieve when it comes to harmony and unity.
Sabriel wrote:real sohari leaf ftw !!
WetR wrote:^^i saw him dance earlier this week. it was a really lengthy performance also. not the most graceful dance i've seen, but definitely a conversation piece! but we need more of this activity.
AllTrac wrote:wah kindda chamar thing going on in here?paper soohari? Indian classical dancer Quincy Kendall Charles ? ative language for most of our Indian Ancestors, is Bhojpuri?
sucks to be you all.
maj. tom wrote:I doubt that most Indian indentured laborers came from the Bihar region of India or spoke Bhojpuri.
The people of the northern regions of India have fairer skin due to their climatic evolution, and the majority of Indian laborers that came to Trinidad would have been of lower castes and darker skin from the British capital of Calcutta and Bengal regions and other regions like Brahmapur and maybe as far south as Madras and Pondicherry.
The fairer skinned Indian people would generally have a higher standing in the caste system as Vaisyas (merchants, craftsmen, herders) while darker skinned people would have been the lowest caste Sudras (laborers, workers servants), and these higher caste indentured workers would have claimed that they were of even higher castes (Bramins - priests, holy men and Kshatriyas - warriors) when they stepped off the ships in Trinidad. Very obscure in history since the registering British Officers here would not have been speaking Indian languages. The migration of people from this region in India also explains the simultaneous occurrence of Islam and Hinduism in one boatload of indentured labourers.
A lot of hindi words that those older folks and your great-grandmother used to speak are Bengali/Urdu hindi or a common hindi mixed dialect of that region in India. The majority of hindi words for the spices we use in Trinidad are the Bengali and Urdu names such as methi (fenugreek), gorom masala, amchur, gur (jaggery), jeera (cumin), elaichi (cardamom), haldi (tumeric).
maj. tom wrote:I doubt that most Indian indentured laborers came from the Bihar region of India or spoke Bhojpuri.
The people of the northern regions of India have fairer skin due to their climatic evolution, and the majority of Indian laborers that came to Trinidad would have been of lower castes and darker skin from the British capital of Calcutta and Bengal regions and other regions like Brahmapur and maybe as far south as Madras and Pondicherry.
maj. tom wrote:Very obscure in history since the registering British Officers here would not have been speaking Indian languages.
Sumana.00 wrote:AllTrac wrote:wah kindda chamar thing going on in here?paper soohari? Indian classical dancer Quincy Kendall Charles ? ative language for most of our Indian Ancestors, is Bhojpuri?
sucks to be you all.
Pepper roadie later o wa
George Takei wrote:ohh myyyy
crazybalhead wrote:paper....sohari.....leaf???? WHAT MANNER OF SORCERY IS THAT???
AllTrac wrote:so who coastin de full raj kit today?
gastly369 wrote:crazybalhead wrote:paper....sohari.....leaf???? WHAT MANNER OF SORCERY IS THAT???
from ah 2nr prayers gone![]()