Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thread

sensiman

Re: Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thre

Postby sensiman » May 5th, 2012, 10:37 am

AllTrac wrote:sensiman doh take it on, but iw ould rather people post their actual results and reviews of somethey they have tried and lived. Im tired of supporting someone elses recommendation only until ive tried it myself then i can fully support something once successful. In my time of body building and weight training ive come to learn no 2 bodies are the same so ill continue to say that there is no one size fits all diet. You have to try different diets and exercise regimes to see which one suits your body as everyones metabolic rate is different. Thanks for the research link anyway, so anything you want to share with us that you have experienced or recipes?
The reason im asking for recipes is because most outlined is american based so some of the products is hard to get we would have to substitute, ive done some substituting hopefully i can get some more local low cal/low carb dishes and snacks.

Cool scene. It's actually part of my job to be up to date on nutrition and treatments for obesity inclusive of nutritional diets and supplements so I just assumed that it would have been useful to have evidence based information, which is technically what you are asking for since the reasearch is based on results of many people.

For local diets you can just use common sense to adapt local ingredients into recipes.

I have personally done the Atkin's with really good results. I went from 200 to 165 lbs in less than a year with 1 cheat day a week and moderate exercise. After a few weeks I didn't crave anything as I did before and my stomach capacity decreased so physically could not eat the large portions that I was eating before.

Postby X_Factor » May 5th, 2012, 11:01 am

imo the key for chicken breasts is the seasoning,marinade time and cooking time
i try to marinade them in simple green seasoning, garlic and any acidic stuff
(OJ, vinegar etc)

so i just boil the chicken in the least water as possible or bake them...then shred and chip them up then mix with 2 eggs (1yolk) and some milk.....and grill those into patties...
usually 100g of chicken and 2 eggs will give roughly...50g of protein for less than 7$

imo again.....grilling smaller pieces of breast makes it easier, more juicy an tender than trying to grill an entire breast

but to save on time, i jus boil them and eat it jus so.....

Postby AllTrac » May 5th, 2012, 12:12 pm

sensiman wrote:.

I have personally done the Atkin's with really good results. I went from 200 to 165 lbs in less than a year with 1 cheat day a week and moderate exercise. After a few weeks I didn't crave anything as I did before and my stomach capacity decreased so physically could not eat the large portions that I was eating before.

awesome! :)

give me a run down of your meals for one day

Postby AllTrac » May 5th, 2012, 12:14 pm

X_Factor, where do you buy chicken breast?

Postby X_Factor » May 5th, 2012, 2:21 pm

the meat shop right outside tunapuna market (fred's i believe)
prices are pretty good

Postby AllTrac » May 5th, 2012, 4:14 pm

X_Factor wrote:the meat shop right outside tunapuna market (fred's i believe)
prices are pretty good

skinless?

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 5th, 2012, 4:38 pm

i have been calorie counting since december i use http://caloriecount.about.com
and http://www.livestrong.com/calorie-counter-mobile/ .

These have been excellent for me as you start to see which foods you can eat and which you shouldn't.
You don't really have to give anything up which is nice,
just ensure you keep your calories at the intended level each day and ensure you meet the nutrient requirements. I have lost 24lbs so far with this and have 24 to go to get down to my perfect bmi also if you want to eat more or you give in to temptation you can exercise to regain your calorie deficit (p.s you won want to eat doubles again) .

Postby r3iXmann » May 5th, 2012, 6:04 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:
AllTrac wrote:Vega can confirm this.

Confirmed.....quite good progress was made!

r3iXmann wrote:not applicable to me but GF is on a diet plan and i have her eating a lot of steamed stuff

steamed chicken breast, steamed veg and steamed fish steaks (the latter doesnt taste too bad if you make a little dipping sauce)..no seasoning otherwise

WDMC :shock: put the seasoning.....not only will it make the food taste so much better but it'll give a metabolic boost.....chive, celery, parsley, basil, onion, garlic, rosemary....oh gorm, make the damn thing taste good nah...add some blackpepper and a lil geera or curry powder too....you not killing the meat with it eh...just a lil rub or dash or whatever......I use a varying combination of these in my steamed meats and it's awesome!

The metabolic "boost" is proven to be very minimal at best. Salt and black pepper ftw. We keeping it simple. In any case, sauce could be added to improve the taste

Postby X_Factor » May 5th, 2012, 6:17 pm

AllTrac wrote:
X_Factor wrote:the meat shop right outside tunapuna market (fred's i believe)
prices are pretty good

skinless?

no its plain "undressed" breasts, u can ask the guys to take out the skin if u want and when u get home u can cut out the bones and give ur dogs..

its alot cheaper than buying those fancy dressed meats in the supermarket if u up for the extra work (which i dont really mind)

btw, a little trick...when u eating the breast meat...if u cut it across the grain so that when u bite...you bite along the grain it would be less chewy and tough

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 5th, 2012, 6:28 pm

to each his own dey r3iXmann....also other health benefits and ability to curb hunger but I eh feel to get into that.

I like enough seasoning....wife does quarrel with me for that actually.....lol

Postby AllTrac » May 5th, 2012, 7:23 pm

thanks x_factor ill check them next week when i need supplies cause i find i making them trips to pricemart to much times for the month and its turning out to be costly.

yea boy vega, i does good manjay de bhartan with dem chicken breast.

Postby r3iXmann » May 5th, 2012, 7:28 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:to each his own dey r3iXmann....also other health benefits and ability to curb hunger but I eh feel to get into that.

I like enough seasoning....wife does quarrel with me for that actually.....lol

she taking psyllium for that 8-)

also, too much of those seasonings are actually bad for you since they can interfere with the ph balance in your stomach

she actually got gastritis a while ago from constantly cooking/eating food laden with the aforementioned seasonings..so she has good reason to stay away from it

not using google science here :lol: :lol:

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » May 5th, 2012, 7:42 pm

wonderfull tread ppl.......

Postby pete » May 5th, 2012, 7:55 pm

When I went on my crazy diet last year it went like this:

Breakfast @ 8AM - Nature valley granola bar 180calories / Bowl of high fiber cereal maybe + small apple 60calories

Mid morning snack @ 10- Kiss wrap with lettuce and sliced ham/turkey/chicken. Roughly 300 calories

Lunch @ 12 - Kiss wrap #2 with a small apple - 360 calories

Afternoon snack @ 4PM - Holiday snacks grainz - 180calories

At 6PM I'd go for a 45 minute walk/run each day trying to run a little more.

Dinner after my walk, a bowl of cereal with low fat milk, maybe another 220calories. Total calories for the day - 1300. In my walk / run I should burn an additional 250-350calories so that's just about 1000 calories / day. I lost about 45 lbs in 8 months.

Not sure if I'm ready to go back to that but I need to get back on a diet/exercise plan. Too bad I can't get those wraps any more and I don't like the ones from pricesmart.

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 6th, 2012, 12:22 am

pete wrote:When I went on my crazy diet last year it went like this:

Breakfast @ 8AM - Nature valley granola bar 180calories / Bowl of high fiber cereal maybe + small apple 60calories

Mid morning snack @ 10- Kiss wrap with lettuce and sliced ham/turkey/chicken. Roughly 300 calories

Dinner after my walk, a bowl of cereal with low fat milk, maybe another 220calories. Total calories for the day - 1300. In my walk / run I should burn an additional 250-350calories so that's just about 1000 calories / day. I lost about 45 lbs in 8 months.

Not sure if I'm ready to go back to that but I need to get back on a diet/exercise plan. Too bad I can't get those wraps any more and I don't like the ones from pricesmart.

1300 calories a day and exercise is not good for long term weight loss,
a man should take in at least 1500 calories a day that is the bare minimum to stay healthy.
try calorie count it will help you set a healthy calorie intake to get a 0.5-2lbs per week loss rate, you may not lose the weight quickly but it will stay off longer as it will teach you healthy eating habits. i used to yoyo diet when i was younger,
i'd starve myself eating very little until the weight came off but i'd be skinny and ill looking and then i'd binge eat because i was hungry.
my intake to lose 1.5lbs a week is 1776 calories if i don't exercise, i average about 1600 a day though,
when i exercise i just eat enough calories to fuel that to maintain the 1600-1800.

Postby pete » May 6th, 2012, 5:36 pm

That was probably a low estimate of my daily calorie intake. I was trying to do 1lb/week of weight loss. My main thing was cutting out soft drinks etc, the food was enough for me to survive. Ah mean where I started was very overweight and I'm still well above my ideal BMI which is why I know I need to start cutting back again and exercising more.

rumbelly

Postby rumbelly » May 6th, 2012, 11:41 pm

AllTrac wrote:X_Factor, where do you buy chicken breast?

I had a similar problem with the visits to Pricesmart. When I worked it out, Pricesmart charges about $27/lb on their boneless chicken breasts.
I happened to visit a meat wholesaler in Macoya last Xmas, and found that they sell boneless chicken breasts in 40lb cases for $720 ($18/lb , PS is a whole 50% more expensive)
They are skinless, but there is some fat to clean off of the meat.

Only problem is finding the space to store the 40lbs of chicken, as some ppl wont have the freezer space.
The name of the place is Westco, in the macoya industrial area opposite the Center of Excellence.

Postby Rooki3 » May 6th, 2012, 11:51 pm

few tuners who know me won't believe i weighed 215lb circa 2007, then the summer of that year i dropped all d way to 150lb, (used to eat a lot f ramen), now i'm a steady 165lbs, can't seem to gain weight, sometime i'll be forcing myself to eat jus to maintain it cause i lose weight very easily, doctors dunno is what, but i def. nuh sick

any thoughts!!!

Postby Rooki3 » May 6th, 2012, 11:52 pm

btw believe it or not, that weight loss was in a month

Postby De Dragon » May 7th, 2012, 12:01 am

pete wrote:When I went on my crazy diet last year it went like this:

The key to any diet is picking one that you can actually stick with.The wholewheat 'Rani' roti is a good wrap substitute. I started fasting for Lent on Feb 20th, no meat,alco,eggs,cheese,soft drinks. I stopped fasting on the 23rd of April, and I've found success with the diet by fasting Lent-style, about 3-4 days a week. I also play semi-regular football, and I've started weight training at home. I really do not miss the meat etc, and I've gone from 196 to 178 lbs in that time.

Postby AllTrac » May 7th, 2012, 5:42 am

Rooki3 wrote:btw believe it or not, that weight loss was in a month

you from bago ent?

diagnosis: AIDS.

:lol: :lol: j/k :lol:

Postby AllTrac » May 7th, 2012, 5:44 am

rumbelly wrote:

I had a similar problem with the visits to Pricesmart. When I worked it out, Pricesmart charges about $27/lb on their boneless chicken breasts.
I happened to visit a meat wholesaler in Macoya last Xmas, and found that they sell boneless chicken breasts in 40lb cases for $720 ($18/lb , PS is a whole 50% more expensive)

Only problem is finding the space to store the 40lbs of chicken, as some ppl wont have the freezer space.
The name of the place is Westco, in the macoya industrial area opposite the Center of Excellence.

thats really good, if you want to put up with me we can split the cost and weight, any other 2nrs want to do this? cause with the other meats in my freezer im not sure I couldnt get 20lbs to fit.

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » May 7th, 2012, 6:02 am

Nuts / Fruit are a great snack in between meals and are healthy.
There is a small store on Coffee Street (next to Master Baker Bakery) in San Fernando that sells them loose and the prices are excellent. They also have a wide variety of dried fruits as well.

Postby X_Factor » May 7th, 2012, 7:11 am

AllTrac wrote:
rumbelly wrote:

thats really good, if you want to put up with me we can split the cost and weight, any other 2nrs want to do this? cause with the other meats in my freezer im not sure I couldnt get 20lbs to fit.

thats alot of meat eh...20lbs!...even 10lbs of breast meat alone is a fair amount and depending on how much and often u eat it, it could last a while in ur freezer

this weekend i'll be buying some this weekend at the meat shop... i can post pics of the quantity before and after i clean it if u guys want...

Postby goalpost » May 7th, 2012, 7:16 am

My normal weight is around 165 lbs (5'11''). Early last year, started to eat real crap: KFC, doubles, Bbq, one I ate an entire cheesecake from Pricesmart over a weekend. Anyways I reached 200 lbs by May, 2011. I wasn't looking fat, just stocky, my face got pretty fat as well. Didn't like it, so I changed my diet from white foods to brown foods. I still ate a good bit, but only clean food: brown rice, lentils, stew chicken, plenty steamed broccoli, grilled chicken, provision (sweet potatoes, eddoes, cassava) and a lot of egg whites. I also upped my fruit intake: a lot of apples, grapes, pears and grapefruit. I stopped drinking Coke and drank plenty plenty water and green tea. By September, 2011 I was back down to 170lbs. In terms of exercise I did 20 mins of High Intensity cardio three times a week.

Postby AllTrac » May 7th, 2012, 8:08 am

X_Factor wrote:
AllTrac wrote:
rumbelly wrote:

thats alot of meat eh...20lbs!...even 10lbs of breast meat alone is a fair amount and depending on how much and often u eat it, it could last a while in ur freezer

this weekend i'll be buying some this weekend at the meat shop... i can post pics of the quantity before and after i clean it if u guys want...

Please do, would appreciate it alot.

Postby crazybalhead » May 7th, 2012, 8:17 am

I eh read the whole thread but,

boneless skinless breast and thighs, in Pmart chaguanas.
Trac, no cottage cheese, but you can get ricotta there as well.

Now, where does doubles fall into this plan?? :(

sensiman

Postby sensiman » May 7th, 2012, 8:35 am

CBH, You can enjoy doubles, just no bara. I have bought channa alone from doubles men, walked with my own container. Sometime I used those high fiber crackers (forgot the brand). Channa is a very good source of protein and fiber.

Postby AllTrac » May 7th, 2012, 8:57 am

sensiman wrote:CBH, You can enjoy doubles, just no bara. I have bought channa alone from doubles men, walked with my own container. Sometime I used those high fiber crackers (forgot the brand). Channa is a very good source of protein and fiber.

sensiman that real hardcore :lol: if i cant have my doubles the original way i just wont have it at all, i would wait till probably once a month or something to take ah lil 2 thats it, no other way for me, but to each his own, plus de way how dey making de channa now it like dhal, is real pressure for me to scoop that up with a cracker, thing running down meh elbow and thing, dats for home :lol:

Postby AllTrac » May 7th, 2012, 8:58 am

Sweet Torque, i know having a hot drink helps with digestion, well with me atleast, i guess its heat in moderation.