Trinidad Blackout (16 Feb 2022)

Re: Anyone experiencing electricity issues/outages?

Postby aaron17 » February 17th, 2022, 5:33 am

How much money (estimated)was lost during this outage?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 17th, 2022, 5:33 am

What did we learn from yesterday's events? This is how life will be in Trinidad. Learn to live with it! Save up and buy a generator, inverter and a canister to store at least $200 worth in diesel. Pretty sure this will happen again as I believe this was well planned. Carry on folks, happy hunting!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 17th, 2022, 6:25 am

Today is the day the PM said all public sector workers have to be vaccinated or else. I guess the message was sent.

Postby pugboy » February 17th, 2022, 6:38 am

i did that from the last big outage years ago
we got back current a day later than most places

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:What did we learn from yesterday's events? This is how life will be in Trinidad. Learn to live with it! Save up and buy a generator, inverter and a canister to store at least $200 worth in diesel. Pretty sure this will happen again as I believe this was well planned. Carry on folks, happy hunting!

carluva

Postby carluva » February 17th, 2022, 6:39 am

This is the third time I can recall something like this has happened since 2013.

Occurrences such as this are not unusual and in cases of major faults such things do happen.

This is the nature of power generation especially on a small island.

LED Torch lights, batteries, battery banks for devices perhaps a generator to keep things going are all essential items to keep for emergency.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 17th, 2022, 6:50 am

Could imagine how much $ that cost in losses yesterday. No lights, no water, no comms!!!

Well planned

wing

Postby wing » February 17th, 2022, 7:03 am

aaron17 wrote:How much money (estimated)was lost during this outage?
So you think there would be someone out there calculating the losses from the outage even while places continue to be out of power. And you think that person will have that figure within hours of the event....in this country. You really are quite dense.

Postby hover11 » February 17th, 2022, 7:07 am

Aaron the businessmen said they lost millions.

See here

Businesses lose millions in potential sales

https://www.guardian.co.tt/business/bus ... e46f92a27d

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 17th, 2022, 7:12 am

Wasa water dutty like it stright from the caroni river

xtech

Postby xtech » February 17th, 2022, 7:47 am

Relax folks this was just a test to see what will happen when a Solar flare hits.

Postby hover11 » February 17th, 2022, 7:51 am

Fact of the matter is this was industrial action, remember the days when t&tec workers would come on news and say get your candles and lanterns ready , yea this time there is no warning. Spoke to a worker there this morning and trust and believe they fed up of their 2013 salary.

Postby zoom rader » February 17th, 2022, 8:03 am

sMASH wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Toyopet wrote:An important point to note is that electricity isn't produced and stored like say water. Electricity required is generated at that instant.

So as you explained, when one producer goes down and the demand remains the same, the other plants pick up that slack and that could put serious strain on the infrastructure.

Practical Engineering on YouTube posted an excellent video breaking down the 2003 US blackout.

pugboy wrote:so countries with many sources of power eg europe with many many wind farms all over the place, they suffer these same issues ?
No Pug

Power generation is different.

In this case, the Penal plant took down the rest of the plants. All plants are on the grid. When a plant does down, the other plants try to pump out the Megawatts to make up for the loss. In this case, the load was too demanding and thus a trip to protect the generators. load demand was too high and not enough redundancy to make up for it. All this happens in the blink of an eye.

This happens from time to time and its not new. Its a balancing act. Power demand controllers are use but even those fail.

Within each plant there are a number of generators and all those that are put online need to maintain the same frequency. You can't have frequency not matching, it will be a trip if out of phase.
So basically there is nothing stopping this from happening again?

but why the plants trip out? should it not just be the bus couplers, disconnecting the plants from the grid?

for instance: the sensors detect variable frequency, then trips open the couplers to the grid.

the only way the plants should trip out is if the couplers could not de couple in time, so the next safety measure is to trip off of the generators..

if the couplers cant disconnect in time, then it seems they have some more problems, that not being addressed. sooo, is; once every ting good, every ting good, and once tings get hay wire, they will trip off.

annnd what cause the delays to resume output?
me, i feel the couplers did bun out, thus causing the generators to fail safe, and when time to restart, they had to replace the couplers first.

No, the generators have to all sync . If they dont sync in time then its a tricky situation to supply the power demand . Normally the syncing is done automatically but sometimes generators have tobe sync manually via humans when problems occur . If the phases dont match to 60hz its not going to sync.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 17th, 2022, 8:26 am

pugboy wrote:i did that from the last big outage years ago
we got back current a day later than most places

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:What did we learn from yesterday's events? This is how life will be in Trinidad. Learn to live with it! Save up and buy a generator, inverter and a canister to store at least $200 worth in diesel. Pretty sure this will happen again as I believe this was well planned. Carry on folks, happy hunting!

Clearly one of my neighbours had a generator. Was actually kinda annoying because within an almost absolute silence its noise stood out loudly. Some quiet to go with the darkness would have been nice.

Anyone experiencing electricity issues/outages?

Postby j.o.e » February 17th, 2022, 8:29 am

hover11 wrote:Fact of the matter is this was industrial action, remember the days when t&tec workers would come on news and say get your candles and lanterns ready , yea this time there is no warning. Spoke to a worker there this morning and trust and believe they fed up of their 2013 salary.

This is a lie. It was not industrial action

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » February 17th, 2022, 8:34 am

Hearing talk about planned outages for 9-3 but cant verify.

Postby aaron17 » February 17th, 2022, 8:41 am

wing wrote:
So you think there would be someone out there calculating the losses from the outage even while places continue to be out of power. And you think that person will have that figure within hours of the event....in this country. You really are quite dense.

So why you have to keep attacking me all the time? You saying I am dense all the time.

Postby hover11 » February 17th, 2022, 8:43 am

j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:Fact of the matter is this was industrial action, remember the days when t&tec workers would come on news and say get your candles and lanterns ready , yea this time there is no warning. Spoke to a worker there this morning and trust and believe they fed up of their 2013 salary.

Ok Joe you working t&tec sorry, a company will put out whatever Memo and reason to appease the public but carry on, t&tec workers cannot explicitly state that they are striking

Postby K74T » February 17th, 2022, 8:48 am

Ripe Chenette wrote:Hearing talk about planned outages for 9-3 but cant verify.
FB_IMG_1645102094021.jpg

wing

Postby wing » February 17th, 2022, 8:51 am

hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Ok Joe you working t&tec sorry, a company will put out whatever Memo and reason to appease the public but carry on, t&tec workers cannot explicitly state that they are striking
But you know? Are you working ttec or working from home as you claim? Are you a member of the owtu? Or are you just being an arsehole as usual? Kindly stfu about things u know nothing about.

Postby hover11 » February 17th, 2022, 8:53 am

wing wrote:
hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

But you know? Are you working ttec or working from home as you claim? Are you a member of the owtu? Or are you just being an arsehole as usual? Kindly stfu about things u know nothing about.
If you can read, you would have seen where I explicitly stated that I said I spoke to a seasoned worker there instead of asking stupid and redundant questions and this was the internal info, if you waiting for a memo from t&tec to state it was industrial action by all means wait for that....fool

Re: Trinidad Blackout (16 Feb 2022)

Postby Chimera » February 17th, 2022, 9:13 am

Lol hover always talking to a senior or seasoned person everywhere and have the inside info on everything but always wrong.

Hover=sister devi = rhoda Bharat

Screenshot_20220217-090922_Facebook.jpg

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 17th, 2022, 9:17 am

What the actual firetruck is a medical visionary slash psychic?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 17th, 2022, 9:20 am

she used to talk to dead relatives of persons who want to know if they dead relative ok in the afterlife. then she switched to reading people if they have medical issues and would tell them boil this bush and that grain to drink and now she is a doomsday preacher. yet foolish people follow here saying from reading the comments.

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » February 17th, 2022, 9:20 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:What the actual firetruck is a medical visionary slash psychic?

A median.

Between fools and their money.

Postby hover11 » February 17th, 2022, 9:23 am

12hr blackouts from a system that supposed to be running on cogeneration.... men see nothing wrong with that in 2022 lol . Believe what you want to believe I guess

Postby Chimera » February 17th, 2022, 9:28 am

SPK1983 wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:What the actual firetruck is a medical visionary slash psychic?

A median.

Idk if she does charge ppl for her services . I think she just genuinely crazy and believes in what she says but she does do alot of charity.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 17th, 2022, 9:30 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
SPK1983 wrote:

A median.

Idk if she does charge ppl for her services . I think she just genuinely crazy and believes in what she says but she does do alot of charity.

That crazy contagious, because she chaining up people to be crazy too.

Postby Chimera » February 17th, 2022, 9:32 am

Lol rowley buy a beer and a ole in tobago in some out of the way mini mart and we have video footage.....you feel industrial action would be kept under wraps or kept quiet? Steups.

Postby Chimera » February 17th, 2022, 9:32 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
SPK1983 wrote:

A median.

That crazy contagious, because she chaining up people to be crazy too.
Such are most religions.

She probably 10% more crazy than the regular pastor imam or pundit.

Postby j.o.e » February 17th, 2022, 9:45 am

hover11 wrote:
wing wrote:
hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

If you can read, you would have seen where I explicitly stated that I said I spoke to a seasoned worker there instead of asking stupid and redundant questions and this was the internal info, if you waiting for a memo from t&tec to state it was industrial action by all means wait for that....fool

I don’t care who you spoke to. I don’t care if you lie or they lie.