THE OFFICIAL QUIT SMOKING THREAD

Re: This is what smoking does to your Heart.

Postby Trini Hookah » December 2nd, 2011, 3:34 am

You need to drink ALOT of water with that ecig now.

I still don't know how people get "addicted" to cigs though. *shrugs*

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 2nd, 2011, 3:39 am

I usually drink a lot of water (6liters a day) so thats nothing new lol.

I honestly cannot explain why I started nor how I got addicted but it happened and now I am. I think it started with the "party" lifestyle and got highlighted there majorly.

Postby Trini Hookah » December 2nd, 2011, 3:46 am

Was a social thing for me, still not addicted to it. And I may only have a Clove once in a blue moon if I'm out or i'm too lazy to set up the hookah. Even with the hookah as well, when I now got it I did it ALOT, and that just died down, only set it up if some friends come over or having a lime.

Never was a Du Maurier guy either, Benson & Hedges or MORE ftw oui :oops:

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 2nd, 2011, 4:03 am

I was a menthol dunhil guy, occasionally a red pack when things bad and I broke.

I had mad fun with hookahs in thailand and I smoked quite a few :D An arab guy who ran a hookah store gave me a epic demo with them. Loved the orange and strawberry shisha, considered getting one locally when i saw you brining them but looks too much like a bong, mom would freak out LOL

Postby Mark! » December 2nd, 2011, 6:00 am

vrampersad14 wrote:Never was a Du Maurier guy either, Benson & Hedges or MORE ftw oui :oops:

:cry: :cry: anybody passing through duty free anytime soon? :cry:

Smeed

Postby Smeed » December 2nd, 2011, 6:12 am

Its good to hear about you guys success at quitting.... keep it up!!

I don't drink or smoke but I got a padnah who really badly off.... working at helping him quit or at least ease up a bit before something bad happens.... i've seen him change soooo drastically in the few years i've known him. Its sad really, hope he makes a change soon!!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 2nd, 2011, 6:36 am

good going kurpal_v2, that water will cleanse your entire system and believe it or not will help rid your body of ailments and disease....superhydration, although western thinking may rave at the idea, isn't a new concept but rather is documented in ayurvedic medicine...."Usha Paana Chikitsa" it is called.

My intake now is upwards of 10 litres per day....which reminds me, I'm thirsty!!!

btw vrampersad14, the nicotine drives the addiction....
Prime Health Channel wrote:The metabolites of nicotine that gets accumulated in the body fluids are nicotine isomethonium ion, nicotine glucuronide, nornicotine, nicotine N’-oxide, 2-hydroxynicotine and cotinine. Among these cotinine is the major metabolite affecting the body by giving rise to unpleasant withdrawal symptoms which make it the hardest of addictions to get rid of. Usually a cigarette is found to contain around 1 mg of nicotine which means that just a pack of cigarette contains around 20 mg of nicotine, enough to cause great harm to the body of a chain smoker by its excess accumulation. The most common symptoms of nicotine addiction are depression, gain of weight, impatience, irritation, slow rate of heart beat, difficulty in concentration, hostile attitude and anxiety. However, there are several ways as to detect nicotine in the body.

Postby Trini Hookah » December 2nd, 2011, 9:34 am

^ Yup Vega, I know, that's what stopped me from Ecigs actually.

First night I got it, had the pre-filled Benson HIGH nic cartridges, vaped till I OD'd on nicotine (yes, it is possible, and is one of the worse things ever to OD on) puked my life out, worst headache ever, even your bowels act up a bit, but silly me at the time, thought I caught a bug and brushed it off till I found out what it really was. The day I found out, I put down the ecig for good.

With one cig once in a while, atleast you know there's only a certain amt. of nic in there.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 2nd, 2011, 1:42 pm

So thats what the high is, I got that B&H but when I using it I mix it with the vanilla, 2drops B&H and 2 vanilla lasts me the day.

Postby rfari » December 4th, 2011, 8:58 am

Up in Smoke – Unhealthy Soccer Greats

(above – the Brazilian legend, Socrates – three packs a day)

Bad medical news out of Brazil today – eighties-era Brazil legend, Socrates, is on life support. This gifted man, once the elegant dictator of midfield, now seemingly under the heel of the demon drink. Years of boozing sprung leaks inside his intestines, septicemia. Socrates is a rare breed in soccer – an intellectual educated to a higher level, a practicing medical doctor. Reports had him smoking three packs a day during his wonderful playing career.

Puffing players and coaches are rarely seen today, health being the proper ticket. During Wayne Rooney’s hooker scandal last year, the ensuing tabloid inquisition reported the England ace tipping a hotel bellman $300 to procure the cheating heart a pack of Marlboro, after a hard night’s bonking. The darkest shadow on the lung of soccer’s smokers belonged to Cesar Menotti (below), the legendary Argentine coach who dragged the nation to World Cup glory in 1978. It was a grim time in junta-ruled Argentina, innocent people “disappeared.” Menotti’s head often vanished in a cloud of tobacco, his body photographed in the dugout, thin as a rake. A trifle nervous, he knew the Generals would settle for nothing less than gold. Occasionally, his wizened head would appear from the fog, to light another cigarette.

Four years after Menotti’s Argentina stubbed out the competition, legendary Italian boss, Enzo Bearzot, smoked his way to World Cup triumph in Spain, as his tough Italian squad hacked their way to victory. Smoking seemed to be the spark for coaching success. But losers were to come – Ricardo Lavolpe, the Mexico coach in World Cup 2006, smoked an acre of tobacco before halftime but it was not enough to spark victory for El Tri. Diego Maradona was often seen chugging on a Monte from Cuba but his national coaching ambitions went up the chimney after the 2010 World Cup.

Perhaps, the anxious soccer coach or player should follow Manchester United’s, Sir Alex Ferguson, who avoids puffing by chewing gum with a smack that can be heard throughout the stadium. No doubt his powerful facial muscles add to the animation when he empties a lungful of anger at a poorly performing player. And with Fergie’s lungs robustly free from the ravages of baccy, the scream is likely to be as loud as his chewing gum smack, about the head.
(Tactics genius, Menotti, lights up)

http://blog.sfgate.com/soccer/2011/12/0 ... er-greats/

Postby Mark! » December 4th, 2011, 9:10 am

rel big players used to and does still smoke

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 6th, 2011, 4:13 am

miscounted somewhere in November...

actually I'm at 93 days smoke free and 362 days alcohol free.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 6th, 2011, 5:59 pm

^ well done dude

Postby rfari » December 6th, 2011, 6:51 pm

Anyone did a chest xray while still smoking?

Invisible

Postby Invisible » January 12th, 2012, 2:42 pm

Yessssss......

Tomorrow will make it 100 days smoke free!!!!! Still get the urges but that's due to activities I associated with smoking in the past.

To the guys trying, don't give up. When I told my wife I was quitting I got the "Hmmm...heard that before" look. No one thought I would stop...but....LOOK AT ME NOW!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 13th, 2012, 9:00 pm

very proud to state that I am 131 days smoke free and 400 days alcohol free!!!

Phatom5000

Postby Phatom5000 » January 13th, 2012, 9:33 pm

Once a smoker always a smoker......you will be back beyotch^

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 13th, 2012, 9:48 pm

maybe - maybe not.....

to overcome that 23+ years of smoking I have to take it one day at a time with firm resolve, focused/strong mind and my personal dialogue.....that keeps me steadfast.

Yodins

Postby Yodins » January 13th, 2012, 10:40 pm

what worse weed or cigs? Weed is natural (obviously) and cigs have a lot of pesticides , fertilisers etc.

Postby S_2NR » January 13th, 2012, 10:46 pm

Yodins wrote:what worse weed or cigs? Weed is natural (obviously) and cigs have a lot of pesticides , fertilisers etc.

cigs

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 23rd, 2012, 8:21 pm

172 days smoke free...

441 days sober....

Postby Trini Hookah » February 23rd, 2012, 8:29 pm

Vega so you doh even take a sip of a little Whiskey etc on occasion?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » February 23rd, 2012, 10:02 pm

Yodins wrote:what worse weed or cigs? Weed is natural (obviously) and cigs have a lot of pesticides , fertilisers etc.

Weed is worse

Smoking
Smoking any drug is unhealthy, and cannabis is no exception. Cannabis smoke actually contains higher concentrations of carcinogenic polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs) than tobacco smoke. Cannabis smokers generally inhale more smoke for longer, depositing more than 4 times as much tar in their lungs as those who smoke cigarettes. To balance this, they smoke fewer joints and smoke less often.
Combining cannabis and tobacco is even worse. If you are a heavy smoker of cannabis and tobacco joints (more than 10 a day), you are significantly increasing your risk of developing lung disease. Recent studies show that the greatest pre-cancerous abnormalities appear in those who smoke the two drugs together.
Another important factor is that most cannabis smokers stop when they reach their 30s. Long term surveys of cigarette smokers showed that those who stop before the age of 35 had only a very slightly increased risk of lung cancer. The same may apply to cannabis.

Source

Doesn't make smoking cigs any better..

Cigs:
Reduces the alveoli in the lungs
Nicotine as an addictive drug...Hence the constant urge to smoke
^ It increases your heart rate and your blood pressure
Leads to Bronchitis, Osteoporosis, Pneumonia
You develop that nasty smoker's cough
Causes Lung Cancer
Causes Anemia as well

The list can go on and on. The fact is that those of you who smoke should sit and think about the harmful effects of cigarettes on your body before you take a smoke...

Postby S_2NR » February 23rd, 2012, 10:08 pm

Allyu have to understand most smokers know and understand the risks but just don't care

So stop telling us all the time :wink:

Postby Trini Hookah » February 23rd, 2012, 10:10 pm

That and I really don't know anyone that smokes 10+ joints a day.

Unless you REALLY that wotless.

Postby shogun » February 23rd, 2012, 10:31 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:172 days smoke free...

I HATE YEWWW VEGA!!!

People stop toturing me, with this ched!!!

You don't think i know my lung is gonna look like Dennis Rodman if i don't quit!?!?!.....i tried and i canna stop!!!

For ole years i tried to quit..... made it to the 3rd January, before i HAD to go buy a pack.

I'll keep trying though.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » February 23rd, 2012, 10:38 pm

shogun wrote:

I HATE YEWWW VEGA!!!

You don't think i know my lung is gonna look like Dennis Rodman if i don't quit!?!?!.....i tried and i canna stop!!!

For ole years i tried to quit..... made it to the 3rd January, before i HAD to go buy a pack.

I'll keep trying though.

That should motivate you to stop :|

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 24th, 2012, 10:22 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:Vega so you doh even take a sip of a little Whiskey etc on occasion?

nope not even a sip...no fruit cake or anything of the sort with alcohol....no one can coerce me again into "take one self nah, how it go look"....I have the firm resolve and commitment to say NO! but can still sit and lime with them normal normal with meh bottles of water..... The only exception with the alcohol intake is a couple dashes of bitters when I season meat or cooking.....

shogun wrote:

I HATE YEWWW VEGA!!!

I'll keep trying though.

It'll happen....took me 23 years but it did happen. Even now I still hack up black phlegm on occasions....

I think the thread serves as a lil support for anyone with the desire to quit or to lend strength to those who are trying.....

Postby S_2NR » February 24th, 2012, 10:24 pm

vega, how come u still coughing up pleghm?
u was smoking du maurier or wa? i hate du maurier

i smoke low tar cigs like marlboro and dunhill fine cut.

Postby A172 » February 24th, 2012, 10:29 pm

I've stopped completely going on 8 weeks now.