TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO FOLKLORE CHARACTERS AND TALES

Re: TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO FOLKLORE CHARACTERS AND TALES

Postby ronsin1 » March 18th, 2012, 2:20 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Friday I saw a box move right infront of me from right to left. :|

what were the characteristics of the box in question

ilove3

Postby ilove3 » May 9th, 2012, 3:00 pm

As a child, there was this young christian couple who rented next to where I grew up. The husband's name was Mr Jerry and his young, fair skinned indian wife, Ms Sumintra were very strong in their faith. One day, while liming with Sumintra, she told me that the landlord's hands were dirty as she said that a few nights before, she felt a presence in her room and woke up, as did her husband. They both started praying and before long, the landlord appeared before them naked and they commanded that he left, which he did without a word, exiting through the closed front door.

The next day, the landlord visited them and his words to them were "Allyuh is some very blessed people....". Who say astral projection?!?

ilove3

Postby ilove3 » August 7th, 2012, 5:42 am

Anyone have something to share?

Postby DVSTT » August 7th, 2012, 9:43 am

ilove3 wrote:Anyone have something to share?

I never had any supernatural run ins so I gots nun :?

Postby dougla_boy » August 7th, 2012, 9:53 am

ched get dead boy, have a brethren living Felicity, he have real stories......

wud link up wit him to get some stories........

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » August 8th, 2012, 7:29 am

My grandfather and his brothers (RIP) were old hunters, dem had stories of shooting behind La Diablesse and Lugarhoo... but dem had real old spanish prayers for every little thing, shame they eh pass it on tho!

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » August 8th, 2012, 7:35 am

Also heard of a story where a Manicou entered someones house, the lady of the house began screaming and her husband tried began beating the manicou but it wouldnt die, eventually the manicou got away. The next day they found their neighbour dead and he looked like he had been beaten about the body.

Also dunno if this counts as anything but, one night i was leaving home and as i approached my car parked on the road, i walked wide of the side of the car and saw a snake under the driver side door. I stood there and called for a cutlass, literally stepped away for 30secs when i came back it was gone. Looked all over for the snake and never found it. Seems like it heard me

aspsounds

Postby aspsounds » August 8th, 2012, 5:37 pm

Lemme add meh 2cents..

About 12 yrs ago a night I was coming back home after a cricket sweat and lime around 9pm. Back then, the roads were gravel and no street lights (Penal nah) . Now while walking home, I heard the gravel being crunched behind me as if someone was following me. So I assumed it was my feet kicking up the stones and I stopped...yet I heard the gravel continue to crush for one more step and stop. So I continued walking and heard the gravel crunching behind me and I stopped yet again only to hear one more footstep and the associated gravel crunch. Well...a man pitch off home and the strange part is on nearing the gate, my dogs were barking at me and biting the gate as if they wanted to attack something. And when I went inside, and looked back, I saw no one, yet the dogs continued to bark and bite the gate, gums bleeding etc etc (this don't normally happen)...I could have seen the road behind me at this point because of the house light..but saw no-one or nothing as far as I can see.

Always thought something followed me there...

Moral of story...Dogs know when sh!t happening

Postby stev » August 8th, 2012, 5:54 pm

went hiking about 5 years ago and got a bit separated from the group on the hike back....its a direct path so i was not lost....everyone was moving at their own pace.....i reached a spot where the breeze stopped blowing, birds stopped chirping...deafening silence in the middle of a noisy forest (in daylight)....heard a bird and the trees rustling (back to normal) when the people behind started catching up to me......it was spooky

never had any other spooky experience really...everything i DID experience was explained logically. :lol: i'm always outside late at night all over the place sometimes but never saw or heard anything. :|

ilove3

Postby ilove3 » August 9th, 2012, 7:38 am

dougla_boy wrote:ched get dead boy, have a brethren living Felicity, he have real stories......

wud link up wit him to get some stories........

Dougla-boy, enty yuh promise this b4? Since den ah been looking forward to read some ah dem encounters...

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » August 9th, 2012, 12:09 pm

The following happened last year during the state of emergency.

The company that i work for was doing work on the highway in the vicinity of Charlieville - Guayamere. We worked in the day only, so we had watchmen to guard the equipment during the night on the highway.
One night, a watchman was sitting in his car relaxing , when a car pulled up a short distance in front of his. One guy came out with and looked at his rear tyre. The watchman was observing him all along, and realized that the guy had gotten a flat tyre, so he decided to go out and help him.
As the watchman started to walk towards the guy and his car, the car and guy suddenly disappeared.
Mih boy say he turn pale instantly with fear.

Postby Chimera » August 9th, 2012, 12:16 pm

^^ prolly someone who got killed while changing his flat tyre.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 9th, 2012, 12:25 pm

This happened a while ago,i was helping changing a tyre in my yard ~11 at night so i went to wash my hands but as i flipped on the light i saw something Moving fass through the grass behind the house.

i looked at it and i relised i couldnt even pass throught the grass that fast during the day
i never figured out what it was, but i was leaning towards a dog

Postby Bizzare » August 9th, 2012, 12:28 pm

I had one of those "held down on bed" experience again the other night. Sleep paralysis is a hell of a thing, cuz I actually felt someone holding down my two hands and humping me while I was actually awake. :lol:
No it was not someone real. forget attempting to make lame jokes :roll:
This happened right after I came out of a nightmare where I was being robbed and some guys were holding me down.

Postby Chimera » August 9th, 2012, 3:38 pm

this would be quite funny to plant in a cemetery eh :lol: :lol:

Postby Bizzare » August 9th, 2012, 4:54 pm

I don't think anyone would notice

Postby mitsu_chick941 » August 10th, 2012, 7:29 am

Some really creepy stories in here jed. Heard some from my dad but i chose to forget (yes i izza imps).........dont think i had any personal experiences but i always hearing things when i'm home alone :faint: :stalk: :skurry:

and yes i believe :skurry: i just prefer not to experience

Postby sMASH » August 10th, 2012, 9:24 am

soundboy, hmmn.

a few years ago i was under my house watching the back yard some time in the night after 10 o'clock. it usually is a bit unkept with some small trees. there were no light shining in the lil bit of bush except probably stars so it lookin black. i saw someting white move fast about 30 feet ahead in the bush from the right side to the left. it moved and looked like it could have been the white hunting dog i have, and would end up behind the mango tree out of view.
but just seconds after i saw what seemed to be my dog move, he ran past me from behind under the house into the same bushy area to the right side of the lot. the timing was not long enough for him to make the rounds to come back under the house, and i would have heard him passing on the side of the house any way.

if i stand there, looking at the bush, he would usually run out into the bush excited, probably thinking i looking at sumting in the bush that he might be interested in. and this was no different. if the thing i saw was some kind of animal, he would have noticed it even before me and go ape for at least half an hour after he had lost all sound, smell or sight of the animal. but he didn't so it wasn't an animal.

just not able to figure out what i did see.

Postby Bizzare » August 10th, 2012, 9:31 am

All the creepy things I personally experienced (which i can count on my fingers) has a logical explanation except maybe one or two. Some of y'all too creeped out yes. :lol:
Anyone who has NEVER experienced sleep paralysis? I think everyone experiences this at least once in their life.

Postby sMASH » August 10th, 2012, 9:39 am

^^ if i did, i chalked it up to starting up plant and being dead tired, too tired to even move meh muscles.

my situation is not creeping me out, it just not explainable. is jussss, burrr??? 0.o

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » August 10th, 2012, 9:52 am

One night I had a dream.. I dreamed that he was walking along
the beach with the Lord.

Across the dark sky flashed scenes from his life.
For each scene, I noticed
two sets of footprints in the sand,
one belonging to me and the other to the Lord.

When the last scene of my life flashed before me,
i looked back at the footprints in the sand.
i noticed that many times along the path of my life
there was only one set of footprints.
i also noticed that it happened at the
very lowest and saddest times in my life.
This bothered me and he questioned the Lord about it.

"Lord, you said that once I decided to follow you,
you'd walk with me all the way.
But I have noticed that during the most
troublesome times in my life there is
only one set of footprints.
I don't understand why when I needed you most
you would leave me."

The Lord replied "My precious, precious child,
I love you and would never leave you.
During your times of trial and suffering,
when you see only one set of footprints in the sand,
it was then that I carried you."

Postby sMASH » August 10th, 2012, 10:32 am

waking stuff is bleh, but dreams!! i does have some weird weird kinda thing goin on.

Postby timelapse » August 10th, 2012, 7:39 pm

Idk if I missed it somewhere in the thread, anybody ever encounter the young girl that runs across the highway by claxton bay flyover.There was a statue on the hill supposedly built by the girl's family.She died in her youth and has been haunting the area ever since.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 10th, 2012, 8:52 pm

Yup i heard about it, i heard a person saying they always seeing it and swerving all over the road to avoid it, FORK that id bounce it :|

ilove3

Postby ilove3 » August 10th, 2012, 10:14 pm

I heard of this as an explanation about the amount of fatal accidents that take place there. I think that she committed suicide... cant recall for sure.

timelapse wrote:Idk if I missed it somewhere in the thread, anybody ever encounter the young girl that runs across the highway by claxton bay flyover.There was a statue on the hill supposedly built by the girl's family.She died in her youth and has been haunting the area ever since.

Postby shogun » August 11th, 2012, 12:08 am

Bizzare wrote:Anyone who has NEVER experienced sleep paralysis? I think everyone experiences this at least once in their life.

Never.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 11th, 2012, 12:35 am

that happened to me already, was scared as fk.

Postby gt4tified » August 12th, 2012, 5:02 am

ilove3 wrote:I heard of this as an explanation about the amount of fatal accidents that take place there. I think that she committed suicide... cant recall for sure.

timelapse wrote:Idk if I missed it somewhere in the thread, anybody ever encounter the young girl that runs across the highway by claxton bay flyover.There was a statue on the hill supposedly built by the girl's family.She died in her youth and has been haunting the area ever since.

There was a thread on this....she was bitten by a snake and died from what was told to me.

Anyway, I used to date this girl when I was studying and living up UWI side and she used to overnight sometimes. Off and on she would wake up in the morning with these little black/bluish marks on her skin (she was fair skinned so they showed up easily). We never knew where those marks came from. One morning she told me that the night before she dreamt that her father (deceased) who was a very spiritual man, told her to get some red lavender and put it on every window and door in the apartment. Before that she had never heard of red lavender. We went to the Mt. St. Benedict shop and got it and put it, and the marks on her skin stopped after that.

ilove3

Postby ilove3 » August 12th, 2012, 6:40 pm

gt4tified wrote:
ilove3 wrote:I heard of this as an explanation about the amount of fatal accidents that take place there. I think that she committed suicide... cant recall for sure.

True story... heard of this treatment before I must admit

There was a thread on this....she was bitten by a snake and died from what was told to me.

Anyway, I used to date this girl when I was studying and living up UWI side and she used to overnight sometimes. Off and on she would wake up in the morning with these little black/bluish marks on her skin (she was fair skinned so they showed up easily). We never knew where those marks came from. One morning she told me that the night before she dreamt that her father (deceased) who was a very spiritual man, told her to get some red lavender and put it on every window and door in the apartment. Before that she had never heard of red lavender. We went to the Mt. St. Benedict shop and got it and put it, and the marks on her skin stopped after that.

ilove3

Postby ilove3 » August 12th, 2012, 6:57 pm

I have never encountered any kinna jumbies but the weirdest thing that I have ever witnessed happened about 11 years ago.

It was about half seven in the evening and my family was in the gallery of my grandmother's home just relaxing when I noticed what looked like a spotlight on the clouds in the direction over the Port of Spain area.

It was strange to see this light as such a light would have been familiar had it been around Carnival when, during fete props at PSA Grounds would normally include spot lights hitting the clouds. I remember wondering where the source of the light was as the strange looking 'spot light' moved around. As I started looking for the light beam, I noticed that none was to be found as the light darted all over the clouds.

My other family members were alerted to what I was seeing as by then it was obvious that this was no spot light as it was then clear that the light was coming from BEHIIND the clouds! Everyone looked on amazement as the light danced in the clouds. Eventually another light came and both started going around each other in circles... then, suddenly, they both emerged from behind the clouds, looking very much like two small moons and a few seconds after this, they pitched across the sky as fast as you could swing your arm pointing from the west where they were, to the east in the direction of Toco, where they were joined by a few more, about six, where they continued their dance across the sky.

After about 5 minutes, two pitched back to their orginal position where after a while behind the clouds, the lights started getting bigger but faded as if they were increasing their elevation until it faded out and disappeared. News reports indicated that hundreds had reported the strange sight. ranging from Port of Spain in the west to Toco in the east.

I wonder if anyone can honestly recall this?