A mother who turned her own daughter into police after discovering she was allegedly involved in rioting, has urged other parents to do the same.
Adrienne Ives, 47, said the decision to tell detectives she had spotted her 18-year-old Olympics ambassador daughter Chelsea taking part in this week's riots was 'gut-wrenching'.
The talented athlete was stripped of her role as 2012 Olympic ambassador after being charged with burglary, violent disorder and hurling bricks at a police car.
However, Adrienne, 47, said that she had no choice but to contact officers.
She told the Daily Mirror: 'Any parent who loves their child should find the courage to do what we did.'
'If parents keep their mouths shut these kids will keep rampaging through the streets.
Source: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... -ever.html
AllTrac wrote:Baby Guntress wrote: ahi yeaaarl soiyi, yeaaarl yeaaarl soiyi![]()
Majestic12 wrote:In this country everyone, even 14 year old girls, has the freedom to express their opinions or criticize the Government whether or not they agree with its decisions or actions. We have all seen Facebook videos being used for such things, even for some to vent their frustrations and even anger. Even that is cool, once doing so does not infringe on the rights of others.
Not really. Freedom is freedom, even if you step on some toes...toes are free to be mashed. It is one's responsibility to respect the rights of others and infringe upon them.
Many posts here are arguing that she is a child and she did not know better. But I must say, in my opinion (and I'm sure the general population at large), that 14 years of age is no child - she is a young lady. And at the age of 12 and over an individual should very well know the difference between right and wrong. And if she truly did not know, then the fault is clearly the parents.
Lemme ask you this. If YOUR child knows NOT to play cricket in the road, but does anyway, without your knowledge or consent. And said child breaks a neighbour's window. Whose fault is it? Yours?
Would you pay for the broken window or make your child clean yards/collect bottles/do extra chores to earn the money to pay for the replacement for himself/herself?
So what did she do wrong? Many of the posters here fail to realize what she had done. Yes she is a minor, and yes she had indeed made a grave mistake. But a lot of you still don't understand the severity and implications. The issue is not that she has a very forward and frank expression of her displeasure with what is going on. The issue is not that the Government is out to silence everyone that disagrees with it. The issue here is that a threat was made against life of the head of state of Trinidad and Tobago!!!
Okay then, so how exactly how has it been determined that she would carry out said "threat"? What access does she have to weapons and the PM to say that it is NOT just an idle threat? Ent Aunty Kams was threatened before and her vehicle "allegedly" shot at in the run-up to the GE last year?
You all ask why is this being taken so serious from a 14 year old??? Well folks, this is how young they start. In so many places (such as in Iraq, Iran, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, The Philippines, Yugoslavia and numerous nations in Africa) they begin at eight and nine and they are proficient in the use of AK-47's (child soldiers). How many people have been killed right here in T&T by someone described as between the ages of 12 and 15yrs riding a BMX bicycle?
A 14y/o schoolgirl/e-thug in front of a webcam in a twin-island banana republic being compared to a child-militia regime in a country torn apart by war for decades or a ride-by shooter? You can't be serious
How can we not take this seriously??? Are we to continue to encourage kids to disrespect elders and the law and join gangs? We all know how Trinidadians like monkey see, monkey do. If we are to ignore this won't other teens see and do the same? And if they see that a 14 year old can get away with such threats, won't it be only a matter of time before some other teen puts these very same words into action!!! (Then we say, "If we had only known!!!")
So we make Peter pay for Paul and Paul pay for all by monitoring all social media and attempt to charge a little rugrat under some clause in our sedition law? srsly?
Take a page out of this Mother's book:A mother who turned her own daughter into police after discovering she was allegedly involved in rioting, has urged other parents to do the same.
Adrienne Ives, 47, said the decision to tell detectives she had spotted her 18-year-old Olympics ambassador daughter Chelsea taking part in this week's riots was 'gut-wrenching'.
The talented athlete was stripped of her role as 2012 Olympic ambassador after being charged with burglary, violent disorder and hurling bricks at a police car.
She told the Daily Mirror: 'Any parent who loves their child should find the courage to do what we did.'
'If parents keep their mouths shut these kids will keep rampaging through the streets.
Comparing actually physically rioting to e-thugging? Apples and oranges, my friend...apples and oranges...
This girl's "mistake" cannot be allowed to go unpunished. Does she deserve 4yrs imprisonment like those two 20-something year olds in London for similar actions? Of course not!!! However, she must be made to fully understand that her actions weren't really that different than those two young men. I honestly believe that she needs to have some significant detention away from home to come to terms with the serious nature of her actions. Of course all of this will no doubt already be stressful and taking a toll on her (some may argue that this predicament alone is enough punishment considering her age). She will definitely need counseling to deal with all of this. The family should also be involved in the counseling sessions at the detection center (wherever it may be).
Agreed, but not with the fanfare and attention this is receiving. This sounding like another "grand piano" fiasco. What's this particular smokescreen for now?
We the nation need to take a stand against this type of behavior. If we fail to act on this (and let this one slide as we say) then Trinidad and Tobago will forever be in this cesspit of filth. We have an opportunity to correct a mistake (not just for the young lady but for all our children) that could have major consequences for future generations yet we want to sympathize with the 'mistake' because it came in the form of a 'child'.
When will we (especially parents) stop making excuses for our children???
I'm not making excuses here, but personally, I think police resources and media attention would be better spent on the arrests and gun-retrievals coming out of this SoE and not persecuting some brat for her extremely failed attempt at humor. Rant and rave about it for a day or two then give her a slap on the wrist and move on man...we have bigger things and actual criminals to study.
Hook wrote:lemmih play devil's advocate for a lil bit here...humour mih nuhMajestic12 wrote:In this country everyone, even 14 year old girls, has the freedom to express their opinions or criticize the Government whether or not they agree with its decisions or actions. We have all seen Facebook videos being used for such things, even for some to vent their frustrations and even anger. Even that is cool, once doing so does not infringe on the rights of others.
Not really. Freedom is freedom, even if you step on some toes...toes are free to be mashed. It is one's responsibility to respect the rights of others and infringe upon them.
Many posts here are arguing that she is a child and she did not know better. But I must say, in my opinion (and I'm sure the general population at large), that 14 years of age is no child - she is a young lady. And at the age of 12 and over an individual should very well know the difference between right and wrong. And if she truly did not know, then the fault is clearly the parents.
Lemme ask you this. If YOUR child knows NOT to play cricket in the road, but does anyway, without your knowledge or consent. And said child breaks a neighbour's window. Whose fault is it? Yours?
Would you pay for the broken window or make your child clean yards/collect bottles/do extra chores to earn the money to pay for the replacement for himself/herself?
So what did she do wrong? Many of the posters here fail to realize what she had done. Yes she is a minor, and yes she had indeed made a grave mistake. But a lot of you still don't understand the severity and implications. The issue is not that she has a very forward and frank expression of her displeasure with what is going on. The issue is not that the Government is out to silence everyone that disagrees with it. The issue here is that a threat was made against life of the head of state of Trinidad and Tobago!!!
Okay then, so how exactly how has it been determined that she would carry out said "threat"? What access does she have to weapons and the PM to say that it is NOT just an idle threat? Ent Aunty Kams was threatened before and her vehicle "allegedly" shot at in the run-up to the GE last year?
You all ask why is this being taken so serious from a 14 year old??? Well folks, this is how young they start. In so many places (such as in Iraq, Iran, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, The Philippines, Yugoslavia and numerous nations in Africa) they begin at eight and nine and they are proficient in the use of AK-47's (child soldiers). How many people have been killed right here in T&T by someone described as between the ages of 12 and 15yrs riding a BMX bicycle?
A 14y/o schoolgirl/e-thug in front of a webcam in a twin-island banana republic being compared to a child-militia regime in a country torn apart by war for decades or a ride-by shooter? You can't be serious
How can we not take this seriously??? Are we to continue to encourage kids to disrespect elders and the law and join gangs? We all know how Trinidadians like monkey see, monkey do. If we are to ignore this won't other teens see and do the same? And if they see that a 14 year old can get away with such threats, won't it be only a matter of time before some other teen puts these very same words into action!!! (Then we say, "If we had only known!!!")
So we make Peter pay for Paul and Paul pay for all by monitoring all social media and attempt to charge a little rugrat under some clause in our sedition law? srsly?
Take a page out of this Mother's book:A mother who turned her own daughter into police after discovering she was allegedly involved in rioting, has urged other parents to do the same.
Comparing actually physically rioting to e-thugging? Apples and oranges, my friend...apples and oranges...
This girl's "mistake" cannot be allowed to go unpunished. Does she deserve 4yrs imprisonment like those two 20-something year olds in London for similar actions? Of course not!!! However, she must be made to fully understand that her actions weren't really that different than those two young men. I honestly believe that she needs to have some significant detention away from home to come to terms with the serious nature of her actions. Of course all of this will no doubt already be stressful and taking a toll on her (some may argue that this predicament alone is enough punishment considering her age). She will definitely need counseling to deal with all of this. The family should also be involved in the counseling sessions at the detection center (wherever it may be).
Agreed, but not with the fanfare and attention this is receiving. This sounding like another "grand piano" fiasco. What's this particular smokescreen for now?
We the nation need to take a stand against this type of behavior. If we fail to act on this (and let this one slide as we say) then Trinidad and Tobago will forever be in this cesspit of filth. We have an opportunity to correct a mistake (not just for the young lady but for all our children) that could have major consequences for future generations yet we want to sympathize with the 'mistake' because it came in the form of a 'child'.
When will we (especially parents) stop making excuses for our children???
I'm not making excuses here, but personally, I think police resources and media attention would be better spent on the arrests and gun-retrievals coming out of this SoE and not persecuting some brat for her extremely failed attempt at humor. Rant and rave about it for a day or two then give her a slap on the wrist and move on man...we have bigger things and actual criminals to study.
[/quote]Hook wrote:I'm not making excuses here, but personally, I think police resources and media attention would be better spent on the arrests and gun-retrievals coming out of this SoE and not persecuting some brat for her extremely failed attempt at humor. Rant and rave about it for a day or two then give her a slap on the wrist and move on man...we have bigger things and actual criminals to study.
chasemeifyoucan wrote:Hook wrote:I'm not making excuses here, but personally, I think police resources and media attention would be better spent on the arrests and gun-retrievals coming out of this SoE and not persecuting some brat for her extremely failed attempt at humor. Rant and rave about it for a day or two then give her a slap on the wrist and move on man...we have bigger things and actual criminals to study.
It sure sounds like you are.
I have read so many threads here where the same people on here "knocking" the AG has supported the full enforcement on the smallest infringement of the law claiming it disrupts society and such. So this is different because?
The excuse is now that she is 14 and would not be able to carry out the threat? Does her actions and video have any repercussions or influence? Maybe not to the average intelligent citizen........
crazybalhead wrote:Me too dan. And the AG begging her to turn herself in. So the police can't find somebody who is 14 years old, made a video threat and then a video apology??? What does THAT say?
crazybalhead wrote:I think that as a society, we need to be les naive here and realise that this young lady's sentiments are a reflection of her community, and family.
That's what worries me more than the simple bad language and threats.
This is not the mindset of a singular individual.
Maybe I'm giving the AG too much credit, but if this is the thinking, then the hullabaloo may be justified.
That Saha Moh'd/ Janice thing is a different kettle of fish in my opinion.
crazybalhead wrote:I think that as a society, we need to be les naive here and realise that this young lady's sentiments are a reflection of her community, and family.
That's what worries me more than the simple bad language and threats.
This is not the mindset of a singular individual.
Maybe I'm giving the AG too much credit, but if this is the thinking, then the hullabaloo may be justified.
That Saha Moh'd/ Janice thing is a different kettle of fish in my opinion.
Shango_13 wrote:he threatens the PM and indians all the time. y nobody listens to me and want to pick on a little girl instead?????????? Anand be a man n pick on someone your own size![]()
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eltjzd9aOgQ
Habit7 wrote:On the other hand, she could eat a good food after she sues Express for publishing the picture of an accused minor!
Bizzare wrote:Habit7 wrote:On the other hand, she could eat a good food after she sues Express for publishing the picture of an accused minor!
I've been thinkin of that, but she'll be a huge mudda kant to take this any further.
Habit7 wrote:On the other hand, she could eat a good food after she sues Express for publishing the picture of an accused minor!
PM forgives teenager, plans to meet
Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar has forgiven the teenager who posted a You Tube video last week in which she made racist and violent remarks against the Prime Minister due to the imposition of the State of Emergency.
The girl, in another You Tube video, apologised late last week. She has since met with her family attorney, Mr David West, on the matter following the Attorney General's call that she turn herself into the police.
Speaking at a function on Monday, the Prime Minister said she has forgiven the girl.
She added, "I will like to say, I am a mother and grandmother and this is a teenager. This is a child. I am sure you will agree with me when we say I should meet her, I should accept her apologies and we should find out why as a young girl she felt it necessary to do such a thing. I am not of the view that she should be punished in any way. I think first we should talk and find out why, and see what help there can be."
The young woman, in the video, said she was forced to have her voice heard given the curfew restrictions imposed in the St James and Cocorite communities. Disguising her voice as an elderly person, the woman said he had been gravely affected by the curfew restrictions. She also warned that there could be a riot in the country.
"I have a word for Kamla, haul yuh (expletive used). You feel you could keep me out the road after 9. p.m. hell (expletive used) no. So what about the party?"
She said she believed Persad-Bissessar’s brain was being controlled by a mosquito. Recently the prime Minister was bitten by the ades egypti mosquito and she contracted dengue fever.
The woman added: "Don’t ask meh how (the mosquito got in Persad-Bissessar's brains), but I just feel so. But she doing real (expletive). Yuh just can’t tell meh ah mosquito cause all this (expletive). Wah yuh feel is ah freaking 1990?
"So so so so wait, so if Cocorite, St James is ah hotspot and thing, wah about de co.... place? I want to know about them co.... place. Yuh see you (Persad-Bissessar), I hah nutting to say, when dey come and bomb up yuh (expletive used) you go know."
She added: "But one of these days, when (they) fed up of (expletive used)… (they go) get sniper and shoot she unexpected, no evidence nutting. No evidence nuttin. Yuh cah come round me, not me and (expletive used) she. Feel you could keep me. She overdoing it, I doh want to waste allyuh time nah but yuh see the curfew (offensive language used) I was real bored and I ha to do that nah.
"Ah go do for yuh, eh ah swear. Yuh go make riot, yuh go make (expletive used) riot. Ah know. Ah know yuh go make it. I have nutting else to say," the woman ended before hailing out a few of her male friends.
I could not sleep last night. I just want to say I am sorry to the Prime Minister (Kamla Persad-Bissessar) for insulting her like that. I am sorry for the language, I am sorry for all the racist stuff I said. I do not really care about racist things because I am not racist, I do not really look at it like that but I am just real sorry.
zcarz wrote:she should be hanged so as to reduce her chances of one day reproducing
Bizzare wrote:PPl doz still chat on MSN? hahahaha![]()
(sabriel, pm meh yuh msn nah....... plz?)