suffocate69

Re: T&T put in Limited State of Emergency

Postby suffocate69 » August 22nd, 2011, 11:44 am

rfari wrote:
silver wrote:hot spots looks suspicious...

same thing i was thinking. dais nah the constituencies that pnm win last elections? :?

Can we please have PNM free thread !

Hoss since when PNM win Arima and Chaguanas?

But anyways it is quite obvious the areas in focus of these Hot Spots are black dominated ghettos....aka free PNM votes.

Nevertheless, this curfew will really hit most of POS hard.

I have friends living Cascade and basically it seems they can't lime for the next 3 weeks.

Postby rfari » August 22nd, 2011, 11:46 am

^^oh yeah. true. my mistake

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » August 22nd, 2011, 11:49 am

But anyways it is quite obvious the areas in focus of these Hot Spots are black dominated ghettos

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » August 22nd, 2011, 11:51 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:I love how the government in power gave these criminals a 4 hour head start of what was going to go down. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Criminals have TV, too, Kamla.

I wonder if Bayshore, Westmoorings, Glencoe, et al on the "hot spot" list?

Curfew party up dey dawdii!!! WHOOPWHOOOP!

Postby S_2NR » August 22nd, 2011, 11:52 am

But anyways it is quite obvious the areas in focus of these Hot Spots are black dominated ghettos

Postby SUPAstarr » August 22nd, 2011, 12:02 pm

Moka is a hotspot WTF!!!! oh well lvl BLOPS

napster

Postby napster » August 22nd, 2011, 12:03 pm

ahah rofl
311402_10150273575346989_520006988_7915029_7775927_n.jpg
311402_10150273575346989_520006988_7915029_7775927_n.jpg (22.5 KiB) Viewed 3028 times

Postby eliteauto » August 22nd, 2011, 12:07 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
pete wrote:WRT people coming in via the airport, on the radio I heard it mentioned that you can go to certain police posts to apply for a pass if you need to travel within the curfew period. They said one would be set up at the airport so you can either go to a police station and find out about getting the pass or wait for more information to confirm that they will be able to get the pass when they come back in.

im a little lost.
what does this mean for people arriving from the US? would they get trouble coming through customs?

My good friend just canceled his trip. A lot of people are canceling their trips to TT. This is going to cost TT millions of dollars.

crime already costs us millions, we can afford this if it gives us results then the long term benefits will be greater

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » August 22nd, 2011, 12:08 pm

16 cycles wrote:press conference at 12 noon today (11am delayed)

most local radio stations should be broadcasting...

Not hearing anything..
Just news.. links please..

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » August 22nd, 2011, 12:08 pm

suffocate69 wrote:
rfari wrote:
silver wrote:hot spots looks suspicious...

same thing i was thinking. dais nah the constituencies that pnm win last elections? :?

Can we please have PNM free thread !

Hoss since when PNM win Arima and Chaguanas?

But anyways it is quite obvious the areas in focus of these Hot Spots are black dominated ghettos....aka free PNM votes.

Nevertheless, this curfew will really hit most of POS hard.

I have friends living Cascade and basically it seems they can't lime for the next 3 weeks.

here we go, over analyzing again!

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » August 22nd, 2011, 12:10 pm

i wonder if i go get wifi in them hot spots

Postby S_2NR » August 22nd, 2011, 12:12 pm

Sabriel wrote:Just got this in an email:

How to know if you live in a hot spot area?

1. If you have to park your car on the road to walk down stairs to get to your house. Your arse live in a hot spot area.

2. If your roof is concrete and your house is pre fab. Your arse live in a hot spot area.

3. If you have to walk tru your neighbour yard to get to your house. Your arse live in a hot spot area.

4. If every 2 in 3 cars that pass in your area is an almera or ah B14. Your arse lives in a hot spot area.

HAH! :lol: :lol:

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » August 22nd, 2011, 12:14 pm

Businesses are already adapting to the curfew hours.

Woodford Cafe
‎*Official Release*

In light of the Government's decision to enforce a State of Emergency and curfews in some areas, all entertainment will be postponed this week. We will advise for next week as more info is released.

We are open for lunch as normal today and will close at 7pm TODAY. We will advise on our opening hours for the rest of the week, including happy hours and early entertainment times in due course.

Be safe...

Regards

Woodford Café Management

Space la nouba
Good day everyone,

Due to the country's current "Limited State of Emergency," Space falls under one of the Hot Spot areas and we will be now be temporarily changing our operating time.

FRIDAY: Fashion Fridays ~ DRINKS INCLUSIVE from 4PM to 8PM!!! Ladies FREE B4 5PM!!! Admission $100 between 4PM-5PM!!! Buy 2 bottles of NUVO or Moet Champagne and get the third bottle FREE!!

SATURDAY: BED ROCK ~ Open at 4PM and close promptly at 8PM!!!

Shakers on the Avenue
opening today 2pm - 7pm
Last edited by ~*Pãñdorą*~ on August 22nd, 2011, 12:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 22nd, 2011, 12:15 pm

wondering how this would affect businesses...in particular Movie towne.....and those casinos.....

Postby ismithx » August 22nd, 2011, 12:17 pm

IS 12 OCLOCK, NO NEWS FROM GOVT YET, DEY BULL$HITTING WITH US NOW?

Postby rfari » August 22nd, 2011, 12:20 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Businesses are already adapting to the curfew hours.

Woodford Cafe
‎*Official Release*

In light of the Government's decision to enforce a State of Emergency and curfews in some areas, all entertainment will be postponed this week. We will advise for next week as more info is released.

We are open for lunch as normal today and will close at 7pm TODAY. We will advise on our opening hours for the rest of the week, including happy hours and early entertainment times in due course.

Be safe...

Regards

Woodford Café Management

Space la nouba
Good day everyone,

Due to the country's current "Limited State of Emergency," Space falls under one of the Hot Spot areas and we will be now be temporarily changing our operating time.

FRIDAY: Fashion Fridays ~ DRINKS INCLUSIVE from 4PM to 8PM!!! Ladies FREE B4 5PM!!! Admission $100 between 4PM-5PM!!! Buy 2 bottles of NUVO or Moet Champagne and get the third bottle FREE!!

SATURDAY: BED ROCK ~ Open at 4PM and close promptly at 8PM!!!

Shakers on the Avenue
opening today 2pm - 7pm

Good luck wid tht...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 22nd, 2011, 12:21 pm

Designated Hot Spots that will see curfew from 9pm to 5am

The City of Port of Spain -

St. James East
St. James West
Woodbrook
Northern Port of Spain
Belmont East
Belmont North & West
Southern Port of Spain
East Dry River
St. Ann’s River South
St. Ann’s River Central
St. Ann’s River North
Belmont South

The City of San Fernando –

Cocoyea/Tarouba
Les Efforts East/Cipero
Les Efforts West/La Romain
Marabella East
Marabella South/Vistabella
Marabella West
Mon Repos/Navet
Pleasantville
Spring Vale/Paradise

The Borough of Arima –

Calvary
Arima North East
Arima West
Arima Central
Malabar
Tumpuna
O’Meara

The Borough of Chaguanas –

Charlieville
Edinburgh/Longdonville
Enterprise North
Enterprise South
Cunupia
Montrose
Felicity/Endevour
Munroe Road/Caroni Savannah

The San Juan/Laventille Regional Corporation –

Maracus Bay/Santa Cruz/La Fillette
Febeau/Bourg Mulatresse
Morvant/Upper Malick
San Juan West/Caledonia
St. Ann’s/Cascade/Mon Repos West
St. Barb’s Chinapoo
Beetham/Picton
Success/Trou Macaque
Aranguez/Warner Village
Barataria
Petit Bourg/Champ Fleurs/Mt. Lambert
San Juan East

The Diego Martin Regional Corporation -

Chaguaramas/Glencoe
Goodwood/La Puerta
Covinge/Richplain
Diamond Vale
Morne Coco/Alyce Glen
Petit Valley/Cocorite
St. Lucien/cameron Hill
Belle Vue/Bossiere #1
Moka/Bossiere #2

What you need to know…

· Soldiers will exercise powers enjoyed by police during the period of the Limited State of Emergency:
- Search and seizure powers enhanced because you don’t need a search warrant
- Powers of arrest and detention are included; they will be able to arrest but will hand over detainees to police.

· Police can arrest and detain for up to 24 hours after which a magistrate, or assistant superintendent (or higher), will be able to add an extra 7 days
- No bail for those arrested during the State of Emergency; courts no longer will have the power to grant bail.

· You must comply with all requests by police to stop for search and seizure protocols
- A special 3-person tribunal will be set up by Chief Justice to oversee and adjudicate all possible cases of abuse of power
- Religious services, educational services, entertainments, etc. are exempt from requesting advanced permission from the Police Commissioner

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 22nd, 2011, 12:22 pm

What station?

Postby Stephon. » August 22nd, 2011, 12:23 pm

For the party on Friday at st John. People talking about going to the venue at 8 and leaving at 6. These ppl mad yes :lol:

suffocate69

Postby suffocate69 » August 22nd, 2011, 12:26 pm

Looks like the IMAX launch may have to get pushed back.

I really don't see the need for this Limited State of Emergency.

When there was rioting in London they simply brought on more police......honestly, there is more to it than just spate of murders over the weekend.

Trust me, doing this is a drastic step and given the reported situation was not required IMO.

This was called for one for the following reasons:

1. Diversion from the National Strike & Union unrest

2. Threats to Government Ministers

3. Impending Coup

4. Rising Crime and instead of just deploying more Police, they went with the brute force approach.

Take your pick...

Postby Stephon. » August 22nd, 2011, 12:28 pm

Even when London rioting, they're more civilized than the animals we have in Trinidad.

Postby rfari » August 22nd, 2011, 12:29 pm

suffocate69 wrote:This was called for one for the following reasons:

1. Diversion from the National Strike & Union unrest

Take your pick...

This right there. And the police/army can be used to break up gatherings.

Can the late night ched hours be adjusted to suit curfew?
Last edited by rfari on August 22nd, 2011, 12:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Stephon. » August 22nd, 2011, 12:30 pm

But no one cares about them, I highly doubt that theory :lol:

Postby S_2NR » August 22nd, 2011, 12:31 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

What station?

they wokin with trini time.

tune in at midnight tonight.

Postby RBphoto » August 22nd, 2011, 12:33 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:I love how the government in power gave these criminals a 4 hour head start of what was going to go down. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Gave their "friends" (for want of a better word) time to protect their assets.

Anyone noticing any mass hysteria/ buying? Just went pricesmart POS and the westerners seem to be buying out the place...only foodstuff from a side. All cashiers backed up to about 8 carts. Hope people doh do the same to gas.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » August 22nd, 2011, 12:33 pm

More Vino
Hey guys, due to the limited state of emergency now in effect, More Vino will be closing today at 6pm to ensure that everyone gets home safely before the curfew begins from 9pm to 5am... we know someone of you can't get enough of this sushi goodness and may be tempted to break curfew to come to get your fix. So for your safety we have taken these measure :-P

We will update you on a daily basis so keep checking this page or our Twitter feed for information; or call us at 622-8466.

Be safe!

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 22nd, 2011, 12:34 pm

suffocate69 wrote:I really don't see the need for this Limited State of Emergency.

When there was rioting in London they simply brought on more police......honestly, there is more to it than just spate of murders over the weekend.

yunno, i wasnt going to comment in this thread eh but i was in the UK during the riots. the main criticism of the police's approach to combating the riots was the fact that THEY TOOK TOO LONG TO TAKE EFFECTIVE ACTION. they simply thought that trying to treat the situation as "anti-social behaviour" in the insipient stages would be enough. you know how many MP is the House of Commons were calling for the army to get involved? or at the very least that the Police Superintendent be granted powers to call for water cannons and rubber bullets?

sometimes you have to get infront of a situation rapidly to stop it escalating out of control. you cant just treat the periphery of the effect and hope it goes away. drastic action is called for in the interim. lets get infront of this immediate situation of mass murders and then we can sort out what needs to be done socially, culturally, politically and morally.

fin

Postby ismithx » August 22nd, 2011, 12:35 pm

orrr dey gon run the press conference now

Postby 16 cycles » August 22nd, 2011, 12:36 pm

S_2NR wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

What station?

they wokin with trini time.

tune in at midnight tonight.

happening now

Postby Stephon. » August 22nd, 2011, 12:38 pm

Just sent a woman in the office home, she was crying saying saying that unc is destroying the country etc etc. I told her to go home until she back in order. :roll:

I really don't want any suicide cases to end up on the news with my name calling na.

Press conference on now btw.