GIBBS CATCHES SPIES

kevcam

Re: GIBBS CATCHES SPIES

Postby kevcam » November 16th, 2010, 9:27 am

RASC wrote:Sandy was reporting to his superiors...his superior is none other than KAMALALSINGH!
So how the flyingfuck she could come lie to us about not knowing of its existance. Is Sandy and all knew, how the hell you could not know. This is the second indication that the PM is using this for political mileage. The first being that she was the AG for a while back in the day, and in close relations with Panday when the SIA was in it's infant years. They instituted the machinery and equipment. So doh give we that nonsense.

http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2010/11/16/dpp-decide-charges-wiretapping-says-pm

DPP to decide on charges of wiretapping says PM
Richard Lord
Published: 16 Nov 2010

Director of Public Prosecutions Roger Gaspard will decide if criminal charges are to be laid against anyone for illegal tapping of citizens’ phones by the Security Intelligence Agency (SIA), Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar said yesterday. At the time she was responding to questions on the matter following an address to an ICT symposium at the Hyatt Regency Hotel, Wrightson Road, Port-of-Spain. “Those will be decisions for the Director of Public Prosecutions. I cannot prejudge and compromise a decision to be made by an independent legal officer of the State—the Director of Public Prosecutions,” she said. The PM was asked if she knew of the work of the SIA, which was in existence during the administration of the Basdeo Panday Government between 1995 and 2001.

Persad-Bissessar acted as Prime Minister during that period and was also Attorney General, which meant she would have served on the National Security Council. She responded: “I cannot recall when the SIA was set up but it is my firm view, and I am very committed to that, that no citizens phones should be tapped outside of the law. It must be within a regulated framework.” She continued: “At no time did anyone in the National Security Council or otherwise with the (security) intelligence... no one, no one at any meeting ever said a single word about phones being tapped. There was a definite silence on that issue.” She said only last month she got a text (message) about “a meeting taking place between certain people, where a request was being made for transcripts and tapes from that particular unit.”

The Prime Minister recalled the sequence of events that followed: “When I got that information I actioned the Special Branch, I spoke with the Commissioner of Police and it was reported back to me by the branch that such a meeting was in fact taking place at the time and venue that the source had indicated.” The PM said: “It was only when we were advised on the evening of October 22 that there appeared to have been some attempts to sanitise what was happening in there (SIA) that the Commissioner of Police undertook the operation that he did on the Saturday (October 23) and shut down the place.” She said the offices of the SIA had remained shut since then. Asked about the future of the SIA officers, Persad-Bissessar said: “The police will have to investigate (and) where there is wrongdoing the law will take its course.” She said Deputy Commissioner Stephen Williams is heading a team which is investigating the matter.

“They are putting things in place to have a forensic audit because of the massive amount of cash that was found at the location and indeed how it was being spent because there is no paperwork to support it,” the PM told reporters. She confirmed that the operations of the SIA was shut down on her instructions last month. Persad-Bissessar said she could not say how many names were on the list. “It’s a database and I don’t know the total offhand. We await the report of the investigators,” the PM added. She said the plan was to restructure “all of these intelligence agencies and setting up one national intelligence agency.” A report on that matter was expected next month, the PM added, and the Williams Committee has been discussing the matter with US officials. Persad-Bissessar said the authorities were considering informing other people not identified in her statement to Parliament last Friday that their names were on the list. She said it would be up to those persons to announce it publicly if they so wished.

“It’s a further invasion of their privacy to be putting their names all over the newspapers as being persons whose (phones) were tapped,” she said. The PM said the Government was seeking comments on the possibility of citizens taking legal action against the State and a Joint Select Committee of Parliament or a Commission of Enquiry is being considered to deal with the matter.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » November 16th, 2010, 9:29 am

UML wrote:
5onDfloor wrote:
UML wrote:i see the removal of Sandy very soon.....this is the second time he contradicted the PM....cant remember what it was for before....i think a comment on strike action or something like that.

^^ On what MERIT do u forsee his removal soon?

no I in TEAM!!

crime rate?

u choose!

plus dey cud do wah dey wah!!! :wink:

No I in Team!!! so in other words u forsee his sackin because he refuse to lie to us about the SIA existence?

Crime rate? what crime rate? ent d murder rate fro 2010 will be less than previous years? ent allyuh only in power 6mths so its unrealistic to see any fruiltful gains? ent allyuh still in honeymoon period?

plus dey cud do wah dey wah!!! yuh mean jus as Manning did what he wanted with Rowley for goin against him and udecott?

I stand corrected but i thought this was to be a change and a new age of politics for T&T?

Postby UML » November 16th, 2010, 9:36 am

5onDfloor wrote:
UML wrote:
5onDfloor wrote:
UML wrote:i see the removal of Sandy very soon.....this is the second time he contradicted the PM....cant remember what it was for before....i think a comment on strike action or something like that.

^^ On what MERIT do u forsee his removal soon?

no I in TEAM!!

crime rate?

u choose!

plus dey cud do wah dey wah!!! :wink:

No I in Team!!! so in other words u forsee his sackin because he refuse to lie to us about the SIA existence?

Crime rate? what crime rate? ent d murder rate fro 2010 will be less than previous years? ent allyuh only in power 6mths so its unrealistic to see any fruiltful gains? ent allyuh still in honeymoon period?

plus dey cud do wah dey wah!!! yuh mean jus as Manning did what he wanted with Rowley for goin against him and udecott?

I stand corrected but i thought this was to be a change and a new age of politics for T&T?

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » November 16th, 2010, 9:36 am

kevcam wrote:
RASC wrote:Sandy was reporting to his superiors...his superior is none other than KAMALALSINGH!
So how the flyingfuck she could come lie to us about not knowing of its existance. Is Sandy and all knew, how the hell you could not know. This is the second indication that the PM is using this for political mileage. The first being that she was the AG for a while back in the day, and in close relations with Panday when the SIA was in it's infant years. They instituted the machinery and equipment. So doh give we that nonsense.

http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2010/11/16/dpp-decide-charges-wiretapping-says-pm

DPP to decide on charges of wiretapping says PM
Richard Lord
Published: 16 Nov 2010

Director of Public Prosecutions Roger Gaspard will decide if criminal charges are to be laid against anyone for illegal tapping of citizens’ phones by the Security Intelligence Agency (SIA), Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar said yesterday. At the time she was responding to questions on the matter following an address to an ICT symposium at the Hyatt Regency Hotel, Wrightson Road, Port-of-Spain. “Those will be decisions for the Director of Public Prosecutions. I cannot prejudge and compromise a decision to be made by an independent legal officer of the State—the Director of Public Prosecutions,” she said. The PM was asked if she knew of the work of the SIA, which was in existence during the administration of the Basdeo Panday Government between 1995 and 2001.

Persad-Bissessar acted as Prime Minister during that period and was also Attorney General, which meant she would have served on the National Security Council. She responded: “I cannot recall when the SIA was set up but it is my firm view, and I am very committed to that, that no citizens phones should be tapped outside of the law. It must be within a regulated framework.” She continued: “At no time did anyone in the National Security Council or otherwise with the (security) intelligence... no one, no one at any meeting ever said a single word about phones being tapped. There was a definite silence on that issue.” She said only last month she got a text (message) about “a meeting taking place between certain people, where a request was being made for transcripts and tapes from that particular unit.”

The Prime Minister recalled the sequence of events that followed: “When I got that information I actioned the Special Branch, I spoke with the Commissioner of Police and it was reported back to me by the branch that such a meeting was in fact taking place at the time and venue that the source had indicated.” The PM said: “It was only when we were advised on the evening of October 22 that there appeared to have been some attempts to sanitise what was happening in there (SIA) that the Commissioner of Police undertook the operation that he did on the Saturday (October 23) and shut down the place.” She said the offices of the SIA had remained shut since then. Asked about the future of the SIA officers, Persad-Bissessar said: “The police will have to investigate (and) where there is wrongdoing the law will take its course.” She said Deputy Commissioner Stephen Williams is heading a team which is investigating the matter.

“They are putting things in place to have a forensic audit because of the massive amount of cash that was found at the location and indeed how it was being spent because there is no paperwork to support it,” the PM told reporters. She confirmed that the operations of the SIA was shut down on her instructions last month. Persad-Bissessar said she could not say how many names were on the list. “It’s a database and I don’t know the total offhand. We await the report of the investigators,” the PM added. She said the plan was to restructure “all of these intelligence agencies and setting up one national intelligence agency.” A report on that matter was expected next month, the PM added, and the Williams Committee has been discussing the matter with US officials. Persad-Bissessar said the authorities were considering informing other people not identified in her statement to Parliament last Friday that their names were on the list. She said it would be up to those persons to announce it publicly if they so wished.

“It’s a further invasion of their privacy to be putting their names all over the newspapers as being persons whose (phones) were tapped,” she said. The PM said the Government was seeking comments on the possibility of citizens taking legal action against the State and a Joint Select Committee of Parliament or a Commission of Enquiry is being considered to deal with the matter.

now pls somebody pls tell me that OUR PM isnt contradicting herself on the existence of this Unit?

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » November 16th, 2010, 9:37 am

This whole issue is sad but real kicks at the same time lol.... I usually dont get involved too much rather than to carry on superficial convos while networking but this one i am following ardently...

Postby UML » November 16th, 2010, 10:55 am

so is the PNM ignoring the REAL issues about spying being ILLEGAL, $5.9 MILLION in cash....the remainder unaccounted for AND a stash of UNREGISTERED firearms!!!!

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » November 16th, 2010, 11:10 am

UML wrote:so is the PNM ignoring the REAL issues about spying being ILLEGAL, $5.9 MILLION in cash....the remainder unaccounted for AND a stash of UNREGISTERED firearms!!!!

young man the PNM in Opposition. study the fact that ur leader said she had no prior knowledge of the SIA existence but yet she Min of nat'l security had meetings with the SIA head.

Postby UML » November 16th, 2010, 12:22 pm

thanks for reinforcing my point 8-)

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 16th, 2010, 12:52 pm

Imbert :"I have no evidence that my phone was wiretapped."

boy, this man dotish.... how de fack yuh go know when you being wiretapped, much less have empirical evidence?

this man is seriously as intelligent as he is tall..

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » November 16th, 2010, 2:08 pm

5onDfloor wrote:ah boyyyyyy...........................so Sandy knew and Kamla did not?

Sandy and Clement met FOUR TIMES to discuss admin reports and OTHER STUFF THAT HE CANT DIVULGED?

so who Sandy reporting too?
Isn't the PM the head of the national security council?
Isn't the PM also the head of Caricom Security council?

is really WTN!!!!!!!!!

Like allyuh fail reading and comprehension.....for the last time...Kamla was aware of the SIA NOT the 'intercept suite' and definitely not its capabilities nor the operations being carried out by that section. The equipment was acquired, installed and commissioned under the PNM gov't....I was there at that time and worked on this....didn't want to say anything before but because of all the foolishness being posted here I thought it was time to do so especially after working there for 14 years.

And btw no one posting here have even an idea of what was really going on...far less these stupid news reporters.

So talk now......

Postby rollingstock » November 16th, 2010, 2:46 pm

ek4ever wrote:
Like allyuh fail reading and comprehension.....for the last time...Kamla was aware of the SIA NOT the 'intercept suite' and definitely not its capabilities nor the operations being carried out by that section. The equipment was acquired, installed and commissioned under the PNM gov't....I was there at that time and worked on this....didn't want to say anything before but because of all the foolishness being posted here I thought it was time to do so especially after working there for 14 years.

And btw no one posting here have even an idea of what was really going on...far less these stupid news reporters.

So talk now......

:lol: :lol: :lol: Funnily Kamla went after SAUTT thinking it was they that did the phone tap on her, and was receiving security updates from her Min of Nat Sec who himself was in the dark.

All the persons posting that Kamla knew what was going on are stoopid, no insult intended, but try to read about intelligence units and partitioning.

racy lady

Postby racy lady » November 16th, 2010, 4:27 pm

Exactly...the issue isn't the Agency but the fact that phone lines were tapped and emails monitored

For those who think that this kinda CIA business is ok then you need to do some research because any company that can be above the law is never a good thing...maybe no one wants privacy anymore... if it affected everyone would it be thought of differently :|

$5.9million in cash and where are the audits or accounts...no wonder there's so much trafficking and nothing's being done about it

whatever_

Postby whatever_ » November 16th, 2010, 8:47 pm

Let us employ less than basic research skills (which are seriously lacking amongst many including journalists, especially the ones that entertain the word 'investigative' in front of their titles). Specifically, let's reveal a tiny portion of information that was available in the public domain years ago. I draw no conclusions, hopefully you are intelligent enough to deduce them correctly yourself.

-
Article #1
Date: 2003
-
Spy tool
by Robert Clarke

An independent US report has expressed concern that privacy of internal
corporate networks can be breached by powerful e-mail interception
Carnivore software being used by this Government’s Strategic
Intelligence Agency (SIA).

The agency is located on St Vincent Street, Port-of-Spain.

A local Intelligence source also said no firewall (internal network
barrier) is safe from the type of equipment brought into T&T. This means
internal corporate networks can be breached and e-mails checked.

The SIA also has the ability to intercept faxes and tap phones. It
reports directly to the Security Council which is headed by the
politically-appointed Prime Minister. The Minister of National Security
also sits on the council.

Carnivore was part of a $61,032,741.10 shipment of intelligence
equipment received by the Prime Minister’s Office in September 2002,
from Ectel Ltd of Israel. The software is capable of grabbing all
e-mails within T&T containing keywords and combinations of keywords such
as “kidnap” and “prime minister”, sources said.

The 2000 report by the Illinois Institute of Technology, based on the
FBI’s use of the Carnivore software, was concerned the surveillance
system cannot trace a search action to a specific FBI technician.

The US report also said the surveillance equipment could be abused “to
grab more data than a court allows”.

Carnivore can only be used with a court order in the US.

However, the judiciary does not control its use in T&T.

The US House Judiciary Committee approved the Electronic Communications
Privacy Act in 2000, requiring law enforcement officials to obtain a
warrant before reading e-mail messages stored on a server.

Intelligence gathered by the SIA, while inadmissible in court, can be
used to build cases against criminals.

The source said making the SIA accountable to the Security Council was a
definite mistake since it leaves the system open to political manipulation.

He said the SIA should be an independent body which reports to the
President as Commander in Chief of the armed forces.

“It wouldn’t serve any purpose if it is being used as a political tool,”
he said.

He said, however, the SIA was “definitely good” at what it does — even
though agents sometimes get tied up with monitoring irrelevant phone
calls such as “who horning who”.

SIA employees have been sent on “Black Hat” (counter-hacking) courses in
the US.

UNC senators last week expressed concerns that their phones were being
tapped.

T&T’s two other intelligence agencies are the Ministry of National
Security’s Strategic Services Agency (SSA), based in Port-of-Spain, and
Special Branch’s Intelligence Unit

---------------------------------

-
Article #2
-
State spy tools 'top class'
Unmasking Crime
Part IX of a special investigation by Camini Marajh
Sunday, May 30th 2004

As Prime Minister Patrick Manning unveiled yet another plan to boost the crime fighting capability of the State's security apparatus, insiders were reporting skepticism about the latest threat to unleash "helicopters with attack capabilities", high-speed intercept boats and state-of-the-art Israeli radar systems to monitor the country's porous border and to track and catch the criminal networks that traverse it.

Insiders report that there already exists-within the State's crime fighting arsenal-a sophisticated radar surveillance system at the Joint Operational Command Centre (JOCC)-one of several State-run intelligence agencies on the 20th floor of the Twin Towers, two C-26 surveillance aircraft-one equipped with infrared cameras and radar tracking devices-two Navajo airplanes, two high-speed Coast Guard interceptors, four Coast Guard patrol boats and four Customs narcotics interdiction boats.

Security sources, speaking on condition of strict anonymity, told the Sunday Express that the State has had-for more than six years-sophisticated apparatus, including 360 degree radar cover over this country's territorial space, access to electronic surveillance and critical intelligence-gathering equipment at its disposal.

On Wednesday, security experts loudly applauded the PNM Government's latest crime fighting initiative, announced by the Prime Minister in the glare of television lights at a party-hosted breakfast meeting at Crowne Plaza. But there were questions as to how much of a difference the new technological aids would make in the fight against organised crime.

Admitting that the US-donated radar at Central Command on the 20th Floor of the Financial Complex was "less than consistent", providing only partial cover on some days, sources pointed to the continued failure of the State intelligence agencies to collaborate and share critical real-time intelligence necessary to get the goods and intercept suspected individuals, including kidnappers and drug traffickers.

Sources report that the State's ability to acquire information was top class if not the best in the region. This newspaper was told that the State could monitor e-mails, track movements through the use of mobile phones and credit cards, cross-reference information in scattered databases, tap phones, read text messages on mobile phones and on pagers, trace bank accounts and investments in stocks and bonds, and conduct thorough background checks of suspicious individuals and transactions.

Despite this wide sleuthing capability, however, there continues to be State intelligence failures and goof-ups, with organised crime appearing to be very much in control, said top security sources, who attributed the lapses to distrust among the agencies and the continued jostle for turf.

And, while the Manning administration has made several attempts to streamline the flow of intelligence material through a central command at the level of some law enforcement top brass, sources report that the continued reliance on administrators to determine what intelligence material gets passed to whom continues to create critical slippages in the distribution process.

It was such a slip-up in vital intelligence which caught the security forces unawares on July 27, 1990 when the Yasin Abu Bakr-led Jamaat al Muslimeen led a violent and bloody assault against the then ANR Robinson administration.

Law enforcement troops on the ground say they need the critical intelligence to go after the kidnappers, the gang bangers and the drug traffickers. But they report that more often than not, by the time the intelligence reaches them, the targets have long gone and they are left holding the body bags.

Law enforcement responses to rising violent crime continue to be sporadic, with some successes and a growing list of failures. Insiders lay the blame at the doors of the State's intelligence agencies, some of which, this newspaper was told, operate like a post office drops.

There are several state-funded and operated intelligence agencies in Trinidad, among them:

-Police Special Branch, headed by Assistant Commissioner Frank Diaz

-Strategic Services Agency, headed by Lynn Ann Williams

-Strategic Intelligence Agency,headed by Serena Joseph Harris

-JOCC

The security forces, including the Army and Coast Guard and other State agencies like Customs, Immigration, the Licensing Office and the Board of Inland Revenue (BIR), also have units dedicated to intelligence gathering.

The Sunday Express was told that a significant problem which continues to hamper ground operations is the continued lack of coordination among the agencies, which all report to secretary to the National Security Council, Joan Massiah. The retired public servant and current handler of State-collected intelligence reports directly to Manning in his capacity as chairman of the National Security Council.

But security analysts were critical of Massiah's continued handling of State-gathered intelligence, declaring that she was "a good administrator" but a poor intelligence analyst. Critical intelligence was sometimes overlooked, not properly analysed or got lost in the flow of traffic from the different streams of information, said one insider.

Sources report a duplication of efforts, poor dissemination of information, an unusually high turnover of intelligence analysts at the various agencies, failure to provide all of law enforcement's top brass with the big security picture, misuse of State resources, and electronic surveillance of individuals not associated with any criminal investigations.

Analysts described Manning's breakfast performance as more political sabre-rattling to calm mounting public unease about the rise in violent crime. They say it will take more than high-tech radar and helicopters with attack capabilities to stem the rise.

Insiders contend that the new anti-crime plan will fall flat if the requisite co-ordination of intelligence on the ground and the maintenance of equipment are not put in place.

Sources said that with all the technological spy tools that the State currently has at its disposal, it is still unable to move intercept teams at a moment's notice or build dossiers on the major drug traffickers, many of whom have reportedly used their ill-gotten wealth to build legitimate empires.

Sources report that many major drug dons now form part of the new corporate and social elite.

Security officials also pointed to the continued failure by the State to maintain expensive equipment, like the radar at the Twin Towers, the four Coast Guard patrol boats which are all down and the growing pile of police vehicles currently in the repair shop.

In a society awash with information where everybody knows who the drug dealers are, State intelligence is still to get its act together with the Board of Inland Revenue and start connecting the wide gaps between some people's lavish lifestyles and their known sources of income.

Analysts say it doesn't always come down to more fighting power. They say some battles are won on better intelligence and better deployment of ground troops.

whatever_

Postby whatever_ » November 16th, 2010, 8:49 pm

Finally we turn to the Hansard for the Parliament of Trinidad and Tobago. We'll look at some mildly amusing snippets of Hansard Reports ranging from 1997 to 2005. I invite you to read them in their entirety for the full picture. In case your wondering, yes our beloved Prime Minister of the current government is present in all of these sittings (if not all, most of them).

NATIONAL SECURITY COUNCIL
(PRIVILEGED INFORMATION)
Friday, March 7, 1997
http://www.ttparliament.org/hansards/hh19970307.pdf

Dr. Keith Rowley (Diego Martin West):
........ Mr. Speaker, I have the privilege and
responsibility to raise in this House the Motion standing in my name which reads as
follows:
Whereas it has been reported that the Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago
at a public political meeting referred to privileged information obtained in his
capacity as Chairman of the National Security Council regarding alleged
internal problems in the People’s National Movement detected by the Security
Services:
Be it resolved that this honourable House condemn the political use to which
the Security Services are reportedly being put and the public use by the Prime
Minister in a political capacity of privileged information so obtained. ....................

............. Mr. Speaker, what is it that concerns us? I draw your attention to what was
reported to the national community. I am quoting from an article headlined “Govt
was spying on the PNM. Panday: Security services informed me of ‘serious
convulsions’” which was carried in the Independent dated February 19, 1997
written by Richard Lord. It states:

“The Country’s national security services had infiltrated the People’s
National Movement and alerted Prime Minister Basdeo Panday about the
troubles within the opposition party.
And the information passed to him by that division of government enabled
Panday to put things in place and even make offers to PNM members of
parliament to join his government...
Panday made these disclosures himself at a public meeting in La Romain...”

The reporter went on to quote Mr. Panday, who is the Prime Minister of Trinidad
and Tobago.
“‘Because I am Chairman of the National Security Council, the Prime
Minister is privy to information which very few people have,’ Panday told his
audience.
He added that their security intelligence had been reporting to him that
there were serious problems, all sorts of disputes and convulsions going on in
the PNM, and that for several months he knew what was going to happen in
that party, although he did not know when.” ............

............ We are building our democracy on a foundation exposed to us
by the British which we commonly call the Westminster system. In form and in
substance, our security services have been modelling their conduct on the basis of
acceptable behaviour outlined under the Intelligence Services Act, 1994, of the
United Kingdom.
Trinidad and Tobago has not as yet put on its statute books this particular kind
of legislation. Given our political antecedents that where we have not enacted our
own specific legislation to govern our own jurisdictions in any area, we look to the
British system for guidance. The security Intelligence Agency which is that civilian
body of recent vintage which has been put in place to gather the kind of
information which I presume would have reached the National Security Council in
some form or fashion, has some kind of guideline as to how it should conduct
itself.
Mr. Speaker, I crave your indulgence in drawing to your attention how that is
done in a proper civilized society against which we have been taking some kind of
guidance. I am seeing that in recent times we have been charting new courses into
uncharted waters. ........

............. I said earlier that out of the traumatic events of 1990, this country’s Cabinet, of
which I had the honour to be a part during the 1991 to 1995 term, in reviewing the
country’s security system, took the decision to provide the state with an improved
security system based on a better flow of information to those who are charged
with the responsibility of protecting the state’s integrity. Today, our Friend from
Couva North is the Prime Minister. We created, after proper investigation, an
organization called the Security Intelligence Agency. That civilian agency was
meant to provide that body of information, all in the context of the guidelines laid
down by this Intelligence Service Act, from which I quoted earlier. Heading that
agency was one of our distinguished sons, a gentleman of whom we all could be
proud, the only general who served in our army, General Ralph Brown, who had
the distinction of standing between insurgents and our future in our moment of
need. When all the dust had been cleared from that and we reviewed our security
system, we put him in charge of the Security Intelligence Agency and the next
thing we knew, before the Government had comfortably occupied its position in
the Twin Towers, General Brown was humiliatingly dismissed from office. ..........

The Minister of National Security (Sen. Brig the Hon. Joseph Theodore):

........ These agencies in Trinidad and Tobago consist of the Special Branch, the
Security Intelligence Agency, referred to by the Member, and the Strategic
Services Agency. It is not that these agencies are functioning in a willy-nilly
fashion, they do have their areas of responsibility and they have a mandate to
collect information which comes from various sources, external, internal, and is
done in a covert manner and by overt means. ........

(PRIVILEGED INFORMATION)
Friday, March 14, 1997
http://www.ttparliament.org/hansards/hh19970314.pdf

Mr. C. Imbert:
...... Mr. Speaker, the actions of the Prime Minister in boasting
that he had information, was ready like a cobra waiting to strike and so forth, are
just confirmation of where this Government intends to take this country. It is not
just the fact that they have the Security Intelligence Agency spying on the PNM,
that they have gone after the media, attacking the trade unions, and that they are
after private citizens; it is a whole system of dictatorship that they are instituting in
this country. .....

...... Again, in his weak response last week, the Minister of National Security
attempted to rebut a statement made by the Member for Diego Martin West to the
effect that the Cabinet of this country had demanded to know the names of
security operatives in our security intelligence agencies. He attempted to refute
that. He said it was not so. He said he did not do it. When he caught himself he
said, "At least, I am speaking for myself, I did not do it." Then the Member for
Diego Martin West pointed out to him there was a newspaper report where the
Prime Minister, having learnt that members of the security intelligence agencies
were concerned that their cover would be blown and that they could be assassinated,
and the Members of the Government said that is not true.

Well I have here a report in the Newsday, Friday May 10, 1996: "Panday to
meet spies." So here's the report the Member said did not exist. The newspaper reports:
"Prime Minister Basdeo Panday in his capacity as chairman of the National
Security Council will meet next week with members of the elite Security
Intelligence Agency—20 civilian men and women—to allay their fears about
their safety in light of changes in the agency...
Responding to Newsday's exclusive report that the 20 civilians who were
recruited for intelligence gathering were concerned that their ‘cover’ would be
blown under the new system of reporting, Mr. Panday told Newsday that in his
45-minute meeting with the secretariat of the National Security Council on
Wednesday, he raised the concerns of the SIA officers, and a decision was
made to meet with the officer in charge of SIA operations and his staff.
‘I will meet with them to allay any fears,’ Mr. Panday said."
The Prime Minister admitted—check this one out—the same Member for Couva
North sat in this Parliament last week and said, "That never happened and I never
gave any newspaper report, I do not know anything." Check this out. The quote
continues:
"The Prime Minister admitted that he also became concerned when
informed of the fears being expressed by the civilian members of the SIA."
And what were they worried about? That a request had been made that their names
be made known to persons who should not know them, and they were worried that
hey would now be targeted for assassination. This newspaper report of May 10,
1996, has never been refuted, Mr. Speaker, almost a year ago, never rebutted,
never refuted. Only when the Member for Diego Martin West pointed out another
one of the Government's indiscretions did they say it never happened and there
never was any newspaper report. ........

(PRIVILEGED INFORMATION)
Friday, May 23, 1997
http://www.ttparliament.org/hansards/hh19970523.pdf

The Prime Minister (Hon. Basdeo Panday):
...... Why does the Member for Diego Martin West make this statement? This
Motion was also filed in the context of the problems he is having with his political
leader. I see that they have gone to a new phase—hugging by day and stabbing by
night. After my colleague and friend, the hon. Member for Diego Martin West,
made that statement, he forced his leader to run to the press and disassociate
himself completely. The headline reads: “Manning: We used to spy too.”
The purpose of this Motion, therefore, as you see, had nothing to do with
condemning the Prime Minister. It had to do with an internal political battle. He
used this Parliament to fight his internal political battles with his leader.
[Interruption] I say it again. It may very well be because I made that statement on
he last occasion that he hugged him. So he must not regard me as his enemy. I am
his friend. I got a whole hug-up for him by pointing out to him and his leader that
he was undermining his leader. Having done what his leader did, there was no
alternative.
I read from page 4 of The Independent dated Tuesday, March 4, 1997:

“Manning: We used to spy too
Opposition Leader Patrick Manning has admitted that when his
Government was in power, he too used the National Security Council to find
out what was happening with other political parties.”
I did not say that I used the security forces to find out what happened with
other political parties, but that leader is saying they used to do it, too. That is a
confession. For the first time we know that the PNM used the security forces to spy
on political parties. That was forced out of him by his erstwhile colleague, the hon.
Member for Diego Martin West.

When I raised this point on the last occasion, he said that this Motion was filed
with the consent of his leader. I said that his leader was a much smarter politician
than I thought he was. He led him up the garden path; forced him to agree to file
the Motion and then publicly said he is talking nonsense. I did not say that. His
leader said that. I will never say that the Member is speaking nonsense even when
he does speak nonsense.
His leader said that he used the security forces to find out what was going on
with the other political parties. We on this side never said that we used the security
forces to find out what was going on in other political parties. Trinidad and
Tobago is the most “bacchanal”, “commessy” country one can find anywhere north
of the equator, and everybody knows what is going on in the PNM. One does not
have to use the security forces to find that out. ......

INDEPENDENT TRIBUNAL
(POLICE SERVICE)
Friday, January 28, 2005
http://www.ttparliament.org/hansards/hh20050128.pdf

Mr. G. Singh:
The problem facing this Government is certainly not money.
Because of the approach of the previous government, and the continued approach
of this present Government, it is the beneficiary of tremendous windfalls from oil
and gas royalties; therefore, money is not a constraint. In fact, the Minister of
National Security has one of the highest budgetary allocations. The Ministry of
National Security has, at its disposal, the tremendous manpower, resources and
equipment of the police service. How many thousand strong is the manpower of
he police service? How many thousand strong is the army? How many thousand
strong is the coastguard? Yet in Guatemala, 60 persons tamed the explosion of
kidnapping. Tragedy in this country! They have the resources of the military, the
quasi-military and the paramilitary forces available to them and they cannot solve,
n an almost flat country, the crime of kidnapping?
This Government has, at its disposal, the various intelligence agencies: the
Strategic Services Agency (SSA). What is the SSA doing with respect to
kidnapping, sleeping? [Crosstalk] This Government has, at its disposal, another
ntelligence agency, the Strategic Intelligence Agency (SIA). This Government
has, at its disposal, the Army Intelligence Unit. This Government also has, at its
disposal, the Special Branch. But do you know what this Government is doing
with these various intelligence units? Monitoring the conversations of Opposition
politicians and ministers of Government, under the behest of the Prime Minister
as the Chairman of the National Security Council. [Desk thumping] [Crosstalk]

Dr. Rowley: Nonsense!

Mr. G. Singh: I know for a fact that these agencies have the technical, human
resource and technological capability to tap and trace cellular phones and
telephones lines. I cannot understand why that capability is not made available to
the Anti-Kidnapping Squad to solve the kidnappings in Trinidad and Tobago.
Why is that not made available? Why are these resources not deployed in the
interest of the citizens of this country? I know for a fact that there is technology
within the embrace of these intelligence agencies, these so-called spy agencies to
pinpoint, within 20 feet, a person making a call from a cellular phone; it was used
previously. That is why Zimmerman Beharry was caught by the police forces and
subsequently extradited. .......

ANTI-TERRORISM BILL
Friday, February 18, 2005
http://www.ttparliament.org/hansards/hh20050218.pdf

Mr. G. Singh:
Secondly, the hon. Member wanted to find out what was the
role and function of the Security Intelligence Agency (SIA). It is headed by former
Captain Lynn Ann Williams, with a small team of intelligence analysts and
surveillance personnel. The staff is about 150. It is housed in a commercial office
building at the Corner of Park and St. Vincent Streets, in the former Vistarama
Cinema building, under the cover name Caribbean Research Institute. It has
responsibility for gathering intelligence of national security significance.

Mr. Valley: Do you understand what he is doing?

Mr. G. Singh: The head reports to Joan Massiah, secretary to the NSC, and
has received significant training from the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) and
liaises with the CIA on a regular basis. The SIA has the capability to monitor
cellular and land lines conversation. You want to find out more? I will tell you
about the SSA. [Crosstalk]

Mr. Ramnath: You talk man!

Mr. Speaker: Order!

There's lots more from the Hansard Reports for those who are interested in educating themselves.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » November 17th, 2010, 2:48 am

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,87372.html
watch that article from 2008

kaylex

Postby kaylex » November 17th, 2010, 6:52 pm

Turth ne told>>> Kamla had a case of foot in mouth disease!!!!
She went to the US right... for an award right.....
you all happy with that>>
subsequent to this visit to the US......
1>an apology to caribbean from Kamla.
2> notice the change in her tone about arrests vis a vis the existence of SIA.

Fools and Scholars be sure about one thing... no man is without sin... impsbert wasnt on the list, so too rowley.. Dont you not think that this is beyond out state?
Where does Trinidad exist in the world order.. You all really think we govern our own affairs.
Havent you noticed we now have persns from these foreign countries "helping with investigations"
and you imps here thinking is a UNC,PNM thing...
perhaps.. you should remind yourself ....
Fact. Trinidad and Tobago remains the number 1 supplier of natural gas in the western hemisphere.. to whom again???? who buys most of it?

and all of a sudden everyone hearing cracking on their phones.. dont fool yourself .. you are not that important.
Lets see Kamla's new approach to politics come friday..
wait nah.. isnt the creature just being legitimised.. isnt the sia remaining..
imps and fools be sure to see whats happening around you and really not buy the foolishness in the media being fed to you.. to keep your mind in a state of local politics

Postby wagonrunner » November 18th, 2010, 7:48 am

http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2010/11/18/pm-compromised-national-security
PM compromised national security
Published: 18 Nov 2010

Vernon de Lima

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar was ill-advised to make last week’s “wiretapping” revelations since she may have compromised T&T’s national security, Congress of the People vice chairman Vernon de Lima has said. The COP is a minority People’s Partnership partner in the Government. COP chairman Joseph Toney on Tuesday, noting tomorrow’s debate of Government’s “wiretapping” bill, said: “We urge restraint... we’re dealing with the delicate issue of T&T’s security and that should be in mind uppermost—let’s not make this into a political football.”

De Lima added: “I’m aghast at the number of people who were listed last Friday as being ‘tapped.’ That was wrong and the mechanisms employed there are indefensible. So Mr Manning and the PNM are not blamless since one of these so-called spy agencies existed since 2004.” “Why is it that they did not move with alacrity to ensure these agencies were given legal cover?” He said: “It seemed they neglected to do that on purpose because maybe if they had, there would have been certain strictures they were not prepared to abide by.
“However, the Prime Minister’s unfortunate decision to reveal details etc of the modus operandi of these agencies could compromise national security.

“We’ve heard a lot about local vessels being intercepted in various parts of the world with drug hauls, who is to know whether or not this was as a result of these agencies’ work—and now you come and blow their cover? “When you come to matters like national security one should always err on the side of caution and the uppermost consideration of any anything should be T&T’s security. “Therefore I wonder if it was right to do what was done in Parliament last week and I think it was not. If someone has been advising the PM on this, it was clearly not prudent advice. If I’m wrong, I’ll accept that but we are a small state and we must guard our security closely.”

De Lima also said the PM’s idea for a commission of enquiry on the issue would be wrong. “That would certainly compromise security even further due to what information might flow from this probe,” he said. “We have this week’s example of what took place in the UK where the UK government refused such an inquiry on the same grounds where the issue of several Guantanamo prisoners was concerned.”

Amazing what the flock can't see. and kaylex this bunch can see no wrong done by their people, yet they talk about accountability. :|

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » November 18th, 2010, 9:19 am

wagonrunner wrote:http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2010/11/18/pm-compromised-national-security
PM compromised national security
Published: 18 Nov 2010

Vernon de Lima

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar was ill-advised to make last week’s “wiretapping” revelations since she may have compromised T&T’s national security, Congress of the People vice chairman Vernon de Lima has said. The COP is a minority People’s Partnership partner in the Government. COP chairman Joseph Toney on Tuesday, noting tomorrow’s debate of Government’s “wiretapping” bill, said: “We urge restraint... we’re dealing with the delicate issue of T&T’s security and that should be in mind uppermost—let’s not make this into a political football.”

De Lima added: “I’m aghast at the number of people who were listed last Friday as being ‘tapped.’ That was wrong and the mechanisms employed there are indefensible. So Mr Manning and the PNM are not blamless since one of these so-called spy agencies existed since 2004.” “Why is it that they did not move with alacrity to ensure these agencies were given legal cover?” He said: “It seemed they neglected to do that on purpose because maybe if they had, there would have been certain strictures they were not prepared to abide by.
“However, the Prime Minister’s unfortunate decision to reveal details etc of the modus operandi of these agencies could compromise national security.

We’ve heard a lot about local vessels being intercepted in various parts of the world with drug hauls, who is to know whether or not this was as a result of these agencies’ work—and now you come and blow their cover? “When you come to matters like national security one should always err on the side of caution and the uppermost consideration of any anything should be T&T’s security. “Therefore I wonder if it was right to do what was done in Parliament last week and I think it was not. If someone has been advising the PM on this, it was clearly not prudent advice. If I’m wrong, I’ll accept that but we are a small state and we must guard our security closely.”

De Lima also said the PM’s idea for a commission of enquiry on the issue would be wrong. “That would certainly compromise security even further due to what information might flow from this probe,” he said. “We have this week’s example of what took place in the UK where the UK government refused such an inquiry on the same grounds where the issue of several Guantanamo prisoners was concerned.”

Amazing what the flock can't see. and kaylex this bunch can see no wrong done by their people, yet they talk about accountability. :|

Without additional info present i am pretty sure i could have figured this out. Remove the wool ppl. plz!

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » November 18th, 2010, 10:17 am

Kamla is ah TUNTZ!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby RASC » November 18th, 2010, 11:13 am

The COP must feel ashamed with themselves.

<=xjemler=>

Postby <=xjemler=> » November 19th, 2010, 6:53 pm

Gibbs made improvements in the country.

Postby UML » November 19th, 2010, 7:27 pm

CJ SLAMS EX-PM
...wants illegal spy information destroyed
By by Ria Taitt Political Editor

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/CJ_ ... 08639.html

Story Created: Nov 19, 2010 at 12:53 AM ECT

Story Updated: Nov 19, 2010 at 12:53 AM ECT

The Judiciary, headed by Chief Justice Ivor Archie, yesterday slapped down the position taken by former prime minister Patrick Manning that no law-abiding citizen had anything to fear (from wire-tapping by the (Strategic Intelligence Agency) SIA), saying that this "bold assertion" (by Manning) was "insulting" and "displayed a shocking disregard for the rule of law".

In a statement which also vigorously denounced the "systematic and widespread electronic surveillance of private citizens by an agency known as the SIA", Archie called on the Government to "take steps to ensure the destruction of all illegally obtained material under the supervision of an independent third party".

The Judiciary statement did not name Manning but referred to statements the former prime minister made during a press conference last Friday at the Red House in which Manning sought to defend the activities of the SIA.

The statement said the partial list of subjects revealed by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar made it clear that the SIA's activities went beyond the boundaries of criminal investigations.

"Given the broad sweep of the SIA's surveillance, one is driven to the conclusion that the only rational explanation for some of the "wiretapping" is that it was conducted with the hope of acquiring 'negative' personal information that might be used as leverage," it said.

It added: "In the case of the Judiciary, the inevitable consequence would be an undermining of its independence and the proper administration of justice."

The Judiciary noted that judges were subject to Special Branch vetting before appointment and were not exempt from legitimate enquiry by lawfully constituted agencies where that is warranted and duly authorised.

"What cannot be tolerated is any arbitrary intrusion into anyone's private affairs with no legal or legislative foundation," it said.

"The Judiciary is appalled by the apparent nonchalance with which it has been asserted that law abiding citizens had nothing to fear and that a mandate had been given to the SIA to monitor only those who came to its attention as a result of genuine criminal investigations," the statement said.

It said the implication of that assertion, "which the Judiciary strongly rejects", was that if anyone was the subject of surveillance, then it must have been for a "justifiable reason".

The Judiciary noted that there was no system in place of auditing or supervision to ensure that the SIA stayed within its "mandate".

"In the circumstances there can be no basis for the bold assertion, which is insulting and displays a shocking disregard for the rule of law. Instead the SIA was permitted unauthorised, unwarranted and untrammeled access to the private affairs and communications of a wide cross-section of the population, amounting to a most egregious violation of privacy," the Judiciary stated.

It said the Judiciary was encouraged that the Government had indicated its intention to bring legislation before Parliament to regulate wiretapping.

Last Friday, Persad-Bissessar stated in the House of Representatives that members of the Judiciary whose phones were bugged included then chief justice Sat Sharma, Herbert Volney, Justice of Appeal Rajendra Narine and Justice Carol Gobin.

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2010, 8:39 am

5onDfloor wrote:Kamla is ah TUNTZ!!!!!!!!!!!

This is the mind of a PNM. No respect for a woman

Postby RASC » November 20th, 2010, 8:53 am

This is the mind of a PNM. No respect for a beyotch

Fixord 8-)

Postby wagonrunner » November 20th, 2010, 11:29 am

RASC wrote:

This is the mind of a PNM. No respect for a dumb skunt

Fixord 8-)

no fella.

1st yuh start on the whores, now this. a beyotch is a good thing eh, just requires a little management.

Postby wagonrunner » December 1st, 2010, 7:06 am

so after the flock huff and puff
wagonrunner wrote:well look something to occupy the "flock"
taxpayer monies being spent for personal satisfaction, but......... see. i was really always a victim.

SIA gets okay to continue ‘spying’

Gibbs: Probe over, SIA back in business

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » December 1st, 2010, 7:18 am

:) :)
Last edited by evo-STI-k on January 31st, 2011, 12:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

douglaking

Postby douglaking » December 1st, 2010, 7:57 am

wagonrunner wrote:so after the flock huff and puff
taxpayer monies being spent for personal satisfaction, but......... see. i was really always a victim.

hmm........now all the wagonis.......no sorry......die har.........no not quiet right....."supporters" who initially supported the removal of the wiretapping will turn full circle as with the ATM comments and show their support.....

bunch of sheep...

kevcam

Postby kevcam » December 1st, 2010, 8:32 am

While I'm glad that they are at least talking about getting serious and lockdown etc. This whole episode is really interesting especially the parts below.

Asked about the involvement of the Criminal Intelligence Unit (CIU), an agency under the Police Service which has also been spying on citizens' telephone conversations, Gibbs refused to give a definite answer.

He said it was the work of CIU and other intelligence agencies, which leads the police on several exercises, which yield positive results.

"It (CIU) helps us to be able to narrow down and say, 'these are our targets here, these are the hot spots.' These are the areas that we need to work on criminally, .. they put those pieces together for us.

"And again, I won't either confirm or deny what they (CIU) do, they do their intelligence gathering, and how they do it is something that is not open to the public," Gibbs said.

Gibbs said interception of communication is a vital tool in the fight against crime, adding such methods must be employed when other avenues have failed.

"Those (interception) are police tactics; those are Government tactics in terms of dealing with criminal activities, security activities," he said.

Asked whether the elite Criminal Intelligence Unit (CIU) also was engaged in spying Gibbs said the unit was intelligence-driven, dealing primarily with criminal intelligence.

“That’s their function, to gather criminal intelligence and it helps us to narrow down on the targets and hotspots and in terms of anything national, in terms of security. They help us put those pieces together,” Gibbs said.Pressed further whether the CIU was involved in wiretapping Gibbs said: “Those are police tactics. Those are Government tactics in terms of dealing with criminal and security activities.

“I won’t go into detail of how they do things. I won’t confirm or deny what they do. They deal with intelligence-gathering which is not open to the public.”

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » December 1st, 2010, 8:54 am

douglaking wrote:

hmm........now all the wagonis.......no sorry......die har.........no not quiet right....."supporters" who initially supported the removal of the wiretapping will turn full circle as with the ATM comments and show their support.....

bunch of sheep...

^^^HAHAHHAH the PP Government P'WNED their own supporters on 3ne 2nr :drinking: :drinking: ..........
crab in barrel syndrome. now they would come and say well it "legal now" and they doin it in d right way.